DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asanuma 5,704,657.
In regard to claim 1, Asanuma discloses (fig. 2) a connecting device for a line system for passing through charged particles, the connecting device comprising:
a first flange 15 for connection to a first line 1 or chamber of the line system;
a second flange 15’ for connection to a second line or chamber of the line system;
a bellows (outer bellows 6), by which the first flange and the second flange are connected to each other;
the first flange and the second flange are movable relative to one another to compensate for displacements between the first line or chamber of the line system and the second line or chamber of the line system in a longitudinal direction of the connecting device and in at least one transverse direction of the connecting device angled relative to the longitudinal direction;
a line element 3 arranged in an interior space surrounded at least in some regions by the bellows 6, the line element connects the flanges 15, 15’ electrically conductively to one another and surrounds a line cavity (radially interior of 3) for passing through the charged particles; and
a respective connection element 2, 2’ is arranged on each of the first flange and the second flange for electrically connecting the line element to the respective flange, and the line element 3 is at least one of a) movably mounted in or on both connection elements 2, 2’.
In regard to claim 4, wherein the line element comprises a plurality of rods 3, and the rods are arranged extending parallel to each other and spaced apart from each other and jointly surrounding at least a partial region of the line cavity or an entirety of the line cavity.
In regard to claim 5, wherein the rods3 are mounted movably and electrically conductively in or on both said connection elements 2, 2’.
In regard to claim 6, wherein the rods 3 are mounted in rod-receiving cavities 2e, 2e’of the two connection elements.
Claim(s) 1 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Atanasoski et al. 6,902,204.
In regard to claim 1, Atanasoski et al. discloses (fig. 2) a connecting device for a line system for passing through charged particles, the connecting device comprising:
a first flange 33 for connection to a first line or chamber of the line system;
a second flange 16 for connection to a second line 34 or chamber of the line system;
a bellows 8, by which the first flange and the second flange are connected to each other;
the first flange and the second flange are movable relative to one another to compensate for displacements between the first line or chamber of the line system and the second line or chamber of the line system in a longitudinal direction of the connecting device and in at least one transverse direction of the connecting device angled relative to the longitudinal direction;
a line element 25 arranged in an interior space surrounded at least in some regions by the bellows 8, the line element connects the flanges electrically conductively to one another and surrounds a line cavity 5 for passing through the charged particles; and
a respective connection element 1, 4 is arranged on each of the first flange 33 and the second flange 16 for electrically connecting the line element to the respective flange, and the line element is at least one of comprised of at least one annular spring 25 or at least one helical spring 27.
In regard to claim 9, wherein an annular spring 25, which is part of the line element or forms the line element, includes a sequence of ring elements a25 arranged one behind the other, with the successive ring elements 26 being connected to one another by elastic elements and being movable relative to one another.
In regard to claim 10, wherein the line element is comprised of the at least one helical spring 27, which includes a plurality of turns arranged one behind the other, which are elastically movable relative to each other (see fig. 4).
In regard to claim 11, wherein the turns are arranged on an imaginary circular-cylinder lateral surface (see fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7-8 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
In regard to Asanuma, Applicant argues that bearing bars of Asanuma do not surround the line cavity as required in claim 1 in order to contain the charged particles that are passed through the connection.
The Examiner disagrees, as the language of claim 1 does not require the bars or “line element” contain the charged particles. Claim 1 is drawn to “A connecting device for passing through charged particles and “a line element arranged in an interior space surrounded at least in some regions by the bellows, the line element connects the flanges electrically conductively to one another and surrounds a line cavity for passing through the charged particles”. Asanuma discloses a line element 3 that is in contact with 2a, 2a’, which is in contact with 15 and 15, all of which are made of metal and therefore allowing for electrical conductivity. The line element 3 is surrounded by the bellows 5 and also surrounds a cavity (cavity on the interior of 1, 1’ and 19, as best shown in fig. 1) that is capable of passing through charged particles. Therefore the Asanuma rejection has been maintained.
In regard to Atanasoski et al., Applicant argues that Atanasoski et al. fails to disclose two flanges. The Examiner disagrees, as Atanasoski et al. discloses a flange at 33 and a flange at 16 (element 16 is flanged as it steps radially outward from surface 17 to surface 16).
Applicant argues that the wave spring 25 is not connected to the flange in a electrically conductive manner. Again, the Examiner disagrees, as Atanasoski et al. discloses 25 in contact with 23 and 4 through other elements 24 and 25 and 23 and 4 are in contact with 33 and 16 and 25 is connected to the flanges as it is part of the entire assembly shown in fig. 2. Additionally the connection of Atanasoski et al. is capable of passing charged particles, as it has a flow channel 2 or 5 that is capable of allowing charged particles to flow through the interior of the connection. Therefore the Atanasoski et al. rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679