DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 09/17/2026 which amended claims 1, 7 and 11. Claims 1-19 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 13, 14, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose (US 2015/0226417) in view of Millero et al (US 2007/0048550; hereinafter referred to as Millero).
Regarding Claim 1, Hirose discloses a heat diffuser (see Figure 4; Laser Light Source Device 90B) comprising:
a body section (Figure 4; Laser Light Source Cluster 11) including a heat receiver (Figure 4; Base 15) that receives heat from a heat source (see Paragraph [0068]; wherein it is disclosed that the laser light source cluster base 15 is thermally joined to a heat block 30 so that temperatures of the plurality of laser light source modules 10 are maintained at a fixed temperature);
a heat dissipater (Figure 2; Condenser 22) that dissipates the heat received by the heat receiver (see Paragraph [0038]); and
a housing compartment (Figure 4; Heat Block 30) that houses and seals an operating fluid (see Figure 4 and Paragraphs [0028]-[0029]; wherein the pipe 20 is a member through which a cooling refrigerant is made to flow and wherein the pipe 20 is made to penetrate the plurality of heat blocks 30),
wherein the operating fluid is water (see Paragraph [0055]; wherein it is disclosed that cold water is produced using a vapor compression refrigerating machine, and the produced cold water is made to flow in the inside of the pipe 20),
the housing compartment (Figure 4; Heat Block 30) is made of a metal material having specific gravity smaller than specific gravity of copper (see Paragraph [0045]; wherein it is disclosed that the heat block 30 is made of aluminum alloy which inherently has a specific gravity smaller than the specific gravity of copper),
an inner surface of the housing compartment (Figure 4; Heat Block 30) is covered with a coating layer (see Figure 4 and Paragraph [0059]; wherein it is disclosed that a thermal bonding material 31 is filled in a space defined between the heat block 30 and the pipe 20),
the coating layer (Figure 4; Thermal Bonding Material 31) is a resin coat containing any of alkyd resin, silicone resin, ethylene- chlorotrifluoroethylene copolymer resin, and tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoro alkyl vinyl ether copolymer resin (see Paragraph [0059]; wherein it is disclosed that the thermal bonding material 31 made of a solder, a silicone resin, an epoxy resin or the like), and
the heat from the heat receiver (Figure 4; Base 15) vaporizes the operating fluid in a liquid form, and the heat dissipation performed by the heat dissipater (Figure 2; Condenser 22) condenses the operating fluid (see Paragraph [0038]; wherein the condenser 22 implicitly releases heat from the system to the outside air by converting the refrigerant from a high-pressure gas back into a liquid).
Hirose does not expressly disclose that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm, wherein the coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface, the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment.
Millero discloses a coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface (see Tables 47, 49 and 51 as well as Paragraph [0110]), the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment (see Tables 47, 49 and 51 as well as Paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the coating layer of Hirose such that the coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface, the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment, as taught by Millero, because doing so would aid in inhibiting corrosion (see Millero Paragraph [0005]). Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Hirose as modified by Millero does not expressly disclose that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm. However, modifying the coating layer of Hirose as modified by Millero such that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Regarding Claim 2, Hirose as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hirose further discloses the silicone resin is any of pure silicone resin, modified silicone resin, and inorganic-filler-added silicone resin (see Paragraph [0059]; wherein it is disclosed that the thermal bonding material 31 made of a solder, a silicone resin, an epoxy resin or the like).
Regarding Claim 13, Hirose as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hirose further discloses a light source apparatus (Figure 2) comprising: a light source (Figure 2; Laser Light Source Modules 10); and a vapor chamber (Figure 4; Laser Light Source Device 90B) that cools the light source (see Paragraphs [0028]-[0029]), wherein the vapor chamber (Figure 4; Laser Light Source Device 90B) is the heat diffuser according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 14, Hirose as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Hirose further discloses the light source (Figure 2; Laser Light Source Modules 10) includes a light emitter (Figure 2; Laser Light Source Modules 10a, 10b and 10c) that outputs light (see Paragraph [0034]) and a mounting substrate (Figure 4; Electric Terminal Portion 12) at which the light emitter (Figure 2; Laser Light Source Modules 10a, 10b and 10c) is mounted (see Figures 2 and 4), and the mounting substrate (Figure 4; Electric Terminal Portion 12) of the light source (Figure 2; Laser Light Source Modules 10) is provided at the light receiver (Figure 4; Base 15) of the vapor chamber (see Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Hirose as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hirose further discloses a light source apparatus (Figure 2) comprising: a light source (Figure 2; Laser Light Source Modules 10); and a heat pipe (Figures 2 and 4; Pipe 20) that cools the light source (see Paragraph [0029]; wherein it is disclosed that the plurality of laser light source modules 10 and the pipe 20 are thermally joined to each other so that the laser light source modules 10 are cooled by a cooling refrigerant which flows in the inside of the pipe 20), wherein the heat pipe (Figures 2 and 4; Pipe 20) is the heat diffuser according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 17, Hirose as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 16 as detailed above.
Hirose further discloses the light source (Figure 2; Laser Light Source Modules 10) includes a light emitter (Figure 2; Laser Light Source Modules 10a, 10b and 10c) that outputs light (see Paragraph [0034]), a mounting substrate (Figure 4; Electric Terminal Portion 12) at which the light emitter (Figure 2; Laser Light Source Modules 10a, 10b and 10c) is mounted (see Figures 2 and 4), and a support member (see Figure 4; Groove Portions 32) that supports the mounting substrate (see Figure 4 and Paragraph [0068]), and the heat receiver (Figure 4; Base 15) of the heat pipe (Figure 4; Pipe 20) is coupled to the support member (see Figure 4; Groove Portions 32) of the light source (see Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 19, Hirose as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Hirose further discloses a projector (Figure 2; Projector Device 91) comprising: the light source apparatus according to claim 13 (see Claim 13 rejection above); a light modulator (Figure 2; Image Light Generating Part 93) that modulates light from the light source apparatus in accordance with image information to form image light (see Paragraph [0037]; wherein it is disclosed that the image light generating part 93 generates an image light by spatially modulating the laser beams outputted from the laser light source device 90); and a projection optical apparatus (Figure 2; Projection Optical System 94) that projects the image light (see Paragraph [0037]; wherein it is disclosed that the projection optical system 94 projects the image light generated by the image light generating part 93 to the outside).
Claims 1-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al (US 2022/0154895; hereinafter referred to as Maeda) in view of Millero et al (US 2007/0048550; hereinafter referred to as Millero).
Regarding Claim 1, Maeda teaches a heat diffuser (Figure 1; Housing 20 and Heat Dissipation Member 23) comprising:
a body section (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0056]; wherein the body section corresponds to the portion of the storage section 21 which is adjacent to the surface 11S2 of the phosphor layer 11) including a heat receiver that receives heat from a heat source (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0061]; wherein the surface of storage section 21 adjacent to the surface 11S2 of phosphor layer 11 receives heat therefrom);
a heat dissipater (Figure 1; Heat Dissipation Members 23) that dissipates the heat received by the heat receiver (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that the heat dissipation member 23 is for cooling the storage section 21); and
a housing compartment (Figure 1; Housing 20) that houses and seals an operating fluid (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0052]; wherein it is disclosed that the inner wall of the housing 20 defines the internal space in which the refrigerant transport member 12, and the refrigerant 13 are encapsulated),
wherein the operating fluid (Figure 1; Refrigerant 13) is water (see Paragraph [0059]; wherein it is disclosed that examples of the refrigerant 13 include water),
the housing compartment (Figure 1; Housing 20) is made of a metal material having specific gravity smaller than specific gravity of copper (see Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that the material included in the housing 20 is aluminum, which inherently has a specific gravity smaller than the specific gravity of copper),
an inner surface of the housing compartment (Figure 1; Housing 20) is covered with a coating layer (see Paragraph [0052]; wherein it is disclosed that the protective layer 24 is provided on at least a portion of the inner wall of the housing 20),
the coating layer (Figure 1; Protective Layer 24) is a resin coat containing any of alkyd resin, silicone resin, ethylene- chlorotrifluoroethylene copolymer resin, and tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoro alkyl vinyl ether copolymer resin (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein it is disclosed that a material of the protective layer 24 includes an oxide such as silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), and titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2) having high hydrophilicity), and
the heat from the heat receiver (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0061]; wherein the surface of storage section 21 adjacent to the surface 11S2 of phosphor layer 11 receives heat therefrom) vaporizes the operating fluid (Figure 1; Refrigerant 13) in a liquid form (see Paragraph [0069]; wherein it is disclosed that the refrigerant 13 is evaporated by that heat and concurrently takes the latent heat away), and the heat dissipation performed by the heat dissipater (Figure 1; Heat Dissipation Members 23) condenses the operating fluid (see Paragraph [0115]; wherein it is disclosed that the heat dissipation member 23 is for cooling the storage section 21 which condenses the vapor of the refrigerant 13 on the inner surface side of the storage section 21 to bring about a phase change into liquid and the liquid is transported to the phosphor layer 61 by the refrigerant transport member 12).
Maeda does not expressly disclose that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm, wherein the coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface, the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment.
Millero discloses a coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface (see Tables 47, 49 and 51 as well as Paragraph [0110]), the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment (see Tables 47, 49 and 51 as well as Paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the coating layer of Maeda such that the coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface, the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment, as taught by Millero, because doing so would aid in inhibiting corrosion (see Millero Paragraph [0005]). Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Maeda as modified by Millero does not expressly disclose that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm. However, modifying the coating layer of Maeda as modified by Millero such that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Regarding Claim 2, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses the silicone resin is any of pure silicone resin, modified silicone resin, and inorganic-filler-added silicone resin (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein it is disclosed that a material of the protective layer 24 includes an oxide such as silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), and titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2) having high hydrophilicity).
Regarding Claim 3, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses the silicone resin contains a metal oxide (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein it is disclosed that the silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2 may be formed on the surface of a metal film).
Regarding Claim 4, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses the coating layer (Figure 1; Protective Layer 24) has a multilayer structure in which a plurality of the resin coats are laminated on each other (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein it is disclosed that the protective layer 24 may be a stacked film) to form the thickness of at least 300 μm (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 5, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses the coating layer (Figure 1; Protective Layer 24) incorporates a plurality of particles (see Paragraph [0063]), and
the plurality of particles are so provided as to be exposed via a surface of the coating layer (Figure 1; Protective Layer 24) and produce a capillary force in the coating layer (see Paragraph [0064]; wherein it is disclosed that providing the surface of the protective layer 24 with a concave and convex structure facilitates the refrigerant 13 to enter the surface of the protective layer 24 by capillary force as with the refrigerant transport member 12 described above and increases the affinity (wettability)).
Regarding Claim 6, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses the plurality of particles are titania particles (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein it is disclosed that a material of the protective layer 24 includes an oxide such as silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), and titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2) having high hydrophilicity).
Regarding Claim 7, Maeda discloses a heat diffuser (Figure 1; Housing 20 and Heat Dissipation Member 23) comprising:
a body section (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0056]; wherein the body section corresponds to the portion of the storage section 21 which is adjacent to the surface 11S2 of the phosphor layer 11) including a heat receiver that receives heat from a heat source (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0061]; wherein the surface of storage section 21 adjacent to the surface 11S2 of phosphor layer 11 receives heat therefrom);
a heat dissipater (Figure 1; Heat Dissipation Members 23) that dissipates the heat received by the heat receiver (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that the heat dissipation member 23 is for cooling the storage section 21); and
a housing compartment (Figure 1; Housing 20) that houses and seals an operating fluid (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0052]; wherein it is disclosed that the inner wall of the housing 20 defines the internal space in which the refrigerant transport member 12, and the refrigerant 13 are encapsulated),
wherein the operating fluid (Figure 1; Refrigerant 13) is water (see Paragraph [0059]; wherein it is disclosed that examples of the refrigerant 13 include water),
the housing compartment (Figure 1; Housing 20) is made of a metal material having specific gravity smaller than specific gravity of copper (see Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that the material included in the housing 20 is aluminum, which inherently has a specific gravity smaller than the specific gravity of copper),
an inner surface of the housing compartment (Figure 1; Housing 20) is covered with a coating layer (see Paragraph [0052]; wherein it is disclosed that the protective layer 24 is provided on at least a portion of the inner wall of the housing 20),
at least a surface of the coating layer (Figure 1; Protective Layer 24) is formed of a plated layer made of a metal having an ionization tendency smaller than an ionization tendency of hydrogen (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein it is disclosed that the material of the protective layer 24 includes titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2) having high hydrophilicity and/or a metal material such as gold (Au), silver (Ag), or stainless steel), and
the heat from the heat receiver (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0061]; wherein the surface of storage section 21 adjacent to the surface 11S2 of phosphor layer 11 receives heat therefrom) vaporizes the operating fluid (Figure 1; Refrigerant 13) in a liquid form (see Paragraph [0069]; wherein it is disclosed that the refrigerant 13 is evaporated by that heat and concurrently takes the latent heat away), and the heat dissipation performed by the heat dissipater (Figure 1; Heat Dissipation Members 23) condenses the operating fluid (see Paragraph [0115]; wherein it is disclosed that the heat dissipation member 23 is for cooling the storage section 21 which condenses the vapor of the refrigerant 13 on the inner surface side of the storage section 21 to bring about a phase change into liquid and the liquid is transported to the phosphor layer 61 by the refrigerant transport member 12).
Maeda does not expressly disclose that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm, wherein the coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface, the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment.
Millero discloses a coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface (see Tables 47, 49 and 51 as well as Paragraph [0110]), the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment (see Tables 47, 49 and 51 as well as Paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the coating layer of Maeda such that the coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface, the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment, as taught by Millero, because doing so would aid in inhibiting corrosion (see Millero Paragraph [0005]). Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Maeda as modified by Millero does not expressly disclose that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm. However, modifying the coating layer of Maeda as modified by Millero such that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Regarding Claim 8, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses the coating layer (Figure 1; Protective Layer 24) has a multilayer structure in which a plurality of the plated layers are laminated on each other (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein it is disclosed that the protective layer 24 may be a stacked film).
Regarding Claim 9, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses the coating layer (Figure 1; Protective Layer 24) includes a first plated layer provided on the resin coat (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein the first plated layer would correspond to the zinc metal material in the stacked film configuration wherein the metal material would be provided on the innermost layer) and a second plated layer that is laminated on the first plated layer and forms an outermost layer in contact with the operating fluid (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein the second plated layer would correspond to the aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3) layer in the stacked film configuration wherein the oxide film would be provided on the outermost layer),
the first plated layer is formed of a plated layer made of a metal having an ionization tendency greater than an ionization tendency of hydrogen (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein the first plated layer would be configured with zinc which has an ionization tendency greater than an ionization tendency of hydrogen), and
the second plated layer is formed of a plated layer made of a metal having an ionization tendency smaller than the ionization tendency of hydrogen (see Paragraph [0063]; wherein the second plated layer would be configured with aluminum which has an ionization tendency smaller than an ionization tendency of hydrogen).
Regarding Claim 10, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses the coating layer (Figure 1; Protective Layer 24) incorporates a plurality of particles (see Paragraph [0063]), and
the plurality of particles are so provided as to be exposed via a surface of the coating layer (Figure 1; Protective Layer 24) and produce a capillary force in the coating layer (see Paragraph [0064]; wherein it is disclosed that providing the surface of the protective layer 24 with a concave and convex structure facilitates the refrigerant 13 to enter the surface of the protective layer 24 by capillary force as with the refrigerant transport member 12 described above and increases the affinity (wettability)).
Regarding Claim 11, Maeda discloses a heat diffuser (Figure 20; Housing 20 and Heat Dissipation Member 23) comprising:
a body section (see Figure 20; Storage Section 21) including a heat receiver that receives heat from a heat source (see Figure 20 and Paragraph [0061]; wherein the storage section 21 receives heat from the phosphor layer 11);
a heat dissipater (Figure 20; Heat Dissipation Members 23) that dissipates the heat received by the heat receiver (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that the heat dissipation member 23 is for cooling the storage section 21); and
a housing compartment (Figure 20; Housing 20) that houses and seals an operating fluid (see Figure 20 and Paragraph [0100]; wherein it is disclosed that refrigerant 13 is circulated to the phosphor layer 11 through gaps in the refrigerant transport member 52 provided along the inner wall of the housing 20),
wherein the operating fluid (Figure 20; Refrigerant 13) is water (see Paragraphs [0100] and [0059]; wherein it is disclosed that the refrigerant 13 is circulated to the phosphor layer 11 through gaps in the refrigerant transport member 52 provided along the inner wall of the housing 20 and that examples of the refrigerant 13 include water),
the housing compartment (Figure 20; Housing 20) is made of a metal material having specific gravity smaller than specific gravity of copper (see Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that the material included in the housing 20 is aluminum, which inherently has a specific gravity smaller than the specific gravity of copper),
an inner surface of the housing compartment (Figure 20; Housing 20) is covered with a coating layer (see Figure 20 and Paragraph [0102]; wherein the fibrous structure 52F is provided at an inner surface of the housing 20),
the coating layer is a glass coating containing silicon dioxide incorporated in the interior of the resin coat (see Paragraph [0102]; wherein it is disclosed that the material of the fibrous structure 52F include metal such as aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), and stainless steel, a resin, glass, ceramic, or the like), and
the heat from the heat receiver (see Figure 20 and Paragraph [0061]; wherein the storage section 21 receives heat from the phosphor layer 11) vaporizes the operating fluid (Figure 20; Refrigerant 13) in a liquid form (see Paragraph [0069]; wherein it is disclosed that the refrigerant 13 is evaporated by that heat and concurrently takes the latent heat away), and the heat dissipation performed by the heat dissipater (Figure 20; Heat Dissipation Members 23) condenses the operating fluid (see Paragraph [0115]; wherein it is disclosed that the heat dissipation member 23 is for cooling the storage section 21 which condenses the vapor of the refrigerant 13 on the inner surface side of the storage section 21 to bring about a phase change into liquid and the liquid is transported to the phosphor layer 61 by the refrigerant transport member 12).
Maeda does not expressly disclose that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm, wherein the coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface, the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment.
Millero discloses a coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface (see Tables 47, 49 and 51 as well as Paragraph [0110]), the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment (see Tables 47, 49 and 51 as well as Paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the coating layer of Maeda such that the coating layer is a resin coat formed by applying a paint containing a solvent of xylene or toluene and an additive of zinc phosphate onto the inner surface and drying the paint the zinc phosphate increasing adhesion between the inner surface and the resin coat and suppressing separation of the resin coat from the inner surface, the coating layer prevents the water from directly contacting the metal material of the housing compartment, as taught by Millero, because doing so would aid in inhibiting corrosion (see Millero Paragraph [0005]). Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Maeda as modified by Millero does not expressly disclose that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm. However, modifying the coating layer of Maeda as modified by Millero such that the coating layer has a thickness of at least 300 μm would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Regarding Claim 12, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses a wavelength converter (Figure 1; Wavelength Conversion Element 1A) comprising:
a phosphor wheel (Figure 1; Wavelength Conversion Element 1A) including a wheel substrate (see Figure 1; wherein the storage section 21 constitutes as the wheel substrate), a phosphor (Figure 1; Phosphor Layer 11) provided at a first surface of the wheel substrate (see Figure 1; wherein the phosphor layer 11 is provided at a top surface of the storage section 21), and a heat dissipating member (Figure 1; Heat Dissipation Members 23) provided at a second surface of the wheel substrate, the surface opposite from the first surface (see Figure 1; wherein the heat dissipation members 23 are provided at a bottom surface of the storage section 21); and
a vapor chamber (Figure 1; Housing 20 and Heat Dissipation Member 23) that is formed of the heat diffuser (Figure 1; Housing 20 and Heat Dissipation Member 23) according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above) and cools the phosphor (see Paragraph [0069]; wherein it is disclosed that in a case where the phosphor layer 11 is irradiated with the excitation light EL, the phosphor particles generate heat. The refrigerant 13 is evaporated by that heat and concurrently takes the latent heat away),
wherein the vapor chamber (Figure 1; Housing 20 and Heat Dissipation Member 23) is so provided as to be integrated with the wheel substrate (see Figure 1; wherein the phosphor layer 11 is provided at a top surface of the storage section 21) or provided between the wheel substrate (see Figure 1; wherein the phosphor layer 11 is provided at a top surface of the storage section 21) and the heat dissipating member (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses a light source apparatus (Figure 1; Wavelength Conversion Element 1A) comprising:
a light source (Figure 1; Phosphor Layer 11); and
a vapor chamber (Figure 1; Housing 20 and Heat Dissipation Member 23) that cools the light source (see Paragraph [0069]; wherein it is disclosed that in a case where the phosphor layer 11 is irradiated with the excitation light EL, the phosphor particles generate heat. The refrigerant 13 is evaporated by that heat and concurrently takes the latent heat away),
wherein the vapor chamber (Figure 1; Housing 20 and Heat Dissipation Member 23) is the heat diffuser according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 14, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses the light source (Figure 1; Phosphor Layer 11) includes a light emitter (Figure 1; Phosphor Layer 11) that outputs light (see Paragraph [0056] and Figure 1; wherein the phosphor layer 11 emits fluorescent light FL) and a mounting substrate (see Figure 1; wherein the storage section 21 constitutes as the mounting substrate) at which the light emitter (Figure 1; Phosphor Layer 11) is mounted (see Figure 1), and
the mounting substrate (see Figure 1; wherein the storage section 21 constitutes as the mounting substrate) of the light source (Figure 1; Phosphor Layer 11) is provided at the heat receiver of the vapor chamber (see Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses a surface of the heat dissipater (Figure 1; Heat Dissipation Members 23) of the vapor chamber forms a plurality of heat dissipating fins (see Figure 1; Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that a plurality of heat dissipation fins are used as the heat dissipation member 23).
Regarding Claim 18, Maeda as modified by Millero discloses the limitations of claim 12 as detailed above.
Maeda further discloses a light source apparatus (Figure 33; Light Source Module 100A) comprising:
the wavelength converter (Figure 1; Wavelength Conversion Element 1A) according to claim 12 (see claim 12 rejection above); and
a light source (Figure 33; Light Source Section 110) that outputs excitation light to the phosphor wheel (Figure 33; Wavelength Conversion Element 1) of the wavelength converter (see Figure 33; Paragraph [0141]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882