DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Preliminary amendment filed 24 January 2023 is acknowledged. Claims 12 and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed 23 November 2022 and 30 December 2025 have been fully considered.
Specification
The amendments to the specification were received on 24 January 2023. These amendments to the specification are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation, “the other one of plurality of the conductive contact structures.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 is rejected for merely containing the flaws of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10, 11, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poikonen et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0134854, hereinafter Poikonen ‘854).
With respect to claim 1, Poikonen ‘854 teaches (FIGs. 7N and 7P) an image sensing device as claimed, comprising:
a substrate (101) including a back side structured to receive incident light and a front side opposite to the back side ([0290-0292]);
imaging pixels (100) to receive the incident light from the back side and each imaging pixel structured to produce photocharge in response to received incident light ([0290-0292]);
a plurality of conductive contact structures (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) configured to generate a potential gradient in the substrate (101) and to capture photocharges that are generated in response to the incident light and move by the potential gradient ([0237, 0290-0292]); and
a well region (defined as portions of substrate 101 between plurality of conductive contact structures 102, 104, 1050, and 1051 having a depth substantially equivalent to detection node 104) disposed between the plurality of conductive contact structures (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) ([0290-0292]),
wherein each conductive contact structure (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) includes:
a control node (102) doped with impurities of a first conductivity type in the substrate (101) ([0237]);
a detection node (104) doped with impurities of a second conductivity type different from the first conductivity type in the substrate (101) ([0237]); and
a control gate (1050 and 1051) including a gate electrode (1050) and a gate insulation layer (1051) for electrically isolating the gate electrode and the substrate (101) from each other ([0290-0292]).
With respect to claim 2, Poikonen ‘854 teaches wherein: at least a portion of the well region (defined as portions of substrate 101 between plurality of conductive contact structures 102, 104, 1050, and 1051 having a depth substantially equivalent to detection node 104) is disposed to overlap the control gate (1050 and 1051) of each conductive contact structure (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) ([0290-0292]).
With respect to claim 3, Poikonen ‘854 teaches wherein: the control node (102) is disposed at one side of the detection node (104); and the control gate (1050 and 1051) is disposed at the other side of the detection node ([0237, 0290-0292]).
With respect to claims 4-6, Poikonen ‘854 teaches wherein: the control node (102) and the control gate (1050 and 1051) are configured to receive a same demodulation control signal for generating the potential gradient; wherein: the demodulation control signal applied to one of the plurality of conductive contact structures (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) corresponds to an activation voltage; and the demodulation control signal applied to the other one of plurality of the conductive contact structures corresponds to a deactivation voltage; and wherein: the well region (defined as portions of substrate 101 between plurality of conductive contact structures 102, 104, 1050, and 1051 having a depth substantially equivalent to detection node 104) is configured to receive a well voltage that is smaller than the activation voltage and is greater than the deactivation voltage ([0290-0292]).
Examiner notes that claims 4-6 recite intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
With respect to claim 7, Poikonen ‘854 teaches wherein: a depth of the control node (102) with respect to the front side is greater than a depth of the detection node (104) with respect to the front side ([0237]).
With respect to claim 8, Poikonen ‘854 teaches wherein: a depth of the well region (defined as portions of substrate 101 between plurality of conductive contact structures 102, 104, 1050, and 1051 having a depth substantially equivalent to detection node 104) with respect to the front side is smaller than a depth of the control node (102) with respect to the front side ([0237, 0290-0292]).
With respect to claim 10, Poikonen ‘854 teaches wherein: the detection node (104) is disposed to surround at least a portion of the control node (102) ([0237]).
With respect to claim 11, Poikonen ‘854 teaches wherein: the well region (defined as portions of substrate 101 between plurality of conductive contact structures 102, 104, 1050, and 1051 having a depth substantially equivalent to detection node 104) is doped with impurities of the first conductivity type ([0235]).
With respect to claim 17, Poikonen ‘854 teaches (FIGs. 7N and 7P) an image sensing device as claimed, comprising:
a substrate (101) including a back side structured to receive incident light and a front side opposite to the back side ([0290-0292]);
an imaging pixel (100) to receive the incident light from the back side and structured to produce photocharge in response to the received incident light ([0290-0292]);
a plurality of taps (102, 104, 1050, and 1051), each tap configured to generate a potential gradient in the substrate (101) and to capture photocharges that are generated in response to the incident light and move by the potential gradient ([0237, 0290-0292]); and
a well region (defined as portions of substrate 101 between plurality of taps 102, 104, 1050, and 1051 having a depth substantially equivalent to detection node 104) disposed between the plurality of taps such that at least a portion of the well region overlaps with each of the plurality of taps (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) ([0290-0292]),
wherein each of the plurality of taps (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) includes:
a control node (102) doped with impurities of a first conductivity type in the substrate (101) ([0237]);
a detection node (104) doped with impurities of a second conductivity type different from the first conductivity type in the substrate (101) ([0237]); and
a control gate (1050 and 1051) formed to include a gate electrode (1050) and a gate insulation layer (1051) for electrically isolating the gate electrode and the substrate (101) from each other ([0290-0292]),
wherein the control node (102), the detection node (104), and the control gate (1050 and 1051) of a tap (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) are sequentially arranged in a diagonal direction of a pixel (100) including the tap ([0237, 0290-0292]).
With respect to claim 18, Poikonen ‘854 teaches wherein the well region (defined as portions of substrate 101 between plurality of taps 102, 104, 1050, and 1051 having a depth substantially equivalent to detection node 104) has a portion overlapping the control gate (1050 and 1051) of each tap (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) ([0290-0292]).
With respect to claim 19, Poikonen ‘854 teaches (FIGs. 7N and 7P) an image sensing device as claimed, comprising:
a substrate (101) including a back side structured to receive incident light and a front side opposite to the back side ([0290-0292]);
a plurality of taps (102, 104, 1050, and 1051), each tap is configured to generate a potential gradient in the substrate (101) and to capture photocharges that are generated in response to the incident light and move by the potential gradient ([0237, 0290-0292]); and
a well region (defined as portions of substrate 101 between plurality of taps 102, 104, 1050, and 1051 having a depth substantially equivalent to detection node 104) disposed between the plurality of taps (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) ([0290-0292]),
wherein each of the plurality of taps (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) includes:
a control node (102) doped with impurities of a first conductivity type in the substrate (101) ([0237]);
a detection node (104) doped with impurities of a second conductivity type different from the first conductivity type in the substrate (101) ([0237]); and
a control gate (1050 and 1051) formed to include a gate electrode (1050) and a gate insulation layer (1051) for electrically isolating the gate electrode and the substrate (101) from each other ([0290-0292]),
wherein a depth of the well region (defined as portions of substrate 101 between plurality of taps 102, 104, 1050, and 1051 having a depth substantially equivalent to detection node 104) from the front side is smaller than a depth of the control node (102) from the front side ([0237, 0290-0292]).
With respect to claim 20, Poikonen ‘854 teaches wherein the well region (defined as portions of substrate 101 between plurality of taps 102, 104, 1050, and 1051 having a depth substantially equivalent to detection node 104) has a portion overlapping the control gate (1050 and 1051) of each tap (102, 104, 1050, and 1051) ([0290-0292]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poikonen ‘854 as applied to claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 9, Poikonen ‘854 teaches the device as described in claim 1 above, however the cited embodiment of Poikonen ‘854 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein: the detection node is disposed to contact or overlap the control gate.
However, Poikonen ‘854 teaches an image sensing device comprising a detection node (1040) disposed to contact or overlap a control gate (1043) ([0288]) in an arrangement that enables modulation of a quantum efficiency of charge-collection nodes within pixel elements for use in various applications, for example, such as Time-of-Flight (ToF) imaging ([0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the detection node of Poikonen ‘854 disposed to contact or overlap the control gate as taught by Poikonen ‘854 in an arrangement that enables modulation of a quantum efficiency of charge-collection nodes within pixel elements for use in various applications, for example, such as Time-of-Flight (ToF) imaging.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to teach the image sensing device of claim 12 in the combination of limitations as claimed, noting particularly the limitation, “wherein: the well region doped with impurities of the first conductivity type has a smaller doping density than the control node doped with impurities of the first conductivity type.” Poikonen ‘854 represents the closest prior art of record. See the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 above. However, Poikonen ‘854 is silent to the relative doping density of the well region. None of the other prior art references made of record cure this deficiency in combination with the other elements of the claim.
The prior art of record fails to teach the image sensing device of claim 13 in the combination of limitations as claimed, noting particularly the limitation, “wherein: the plurality of conductive contact structures includes a first conductive contact structure and a second conductive contact structure that are included in a first pixel among the imaging pixels and receive different demodulation control signals.” Poikonen ‘854 represents the closest prior art of record. See the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 above. However, Poikonen ‘854 is silent to a second conductive contact structure included in a first pixel among the imaging pixels and receiving a different demodulation control signals. Jang (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0118540, hereinafter Jang ‘540) teaches (FIGs. 2 and 4) an image sensor comprising two conductive contact structures in a first pixel region. However, Jang ‘540 is silent to a well region. Further, Jang ‘540 is not prior art. None of the other prior art references made of record cure this deficiency in combination with the other elements of the claim.
Claims 14-16 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter based merely upon their dependencies from claim 13 indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jin et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0029047); and Jang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0408094) teach image sensors comprising time-of-flight (ToF) pixels.
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893