DETAILED ACTION
The status of the 05/22/2026 claims, is as follows: Claims 1 and 15 have been amended; Claim 3 has been canceled; Claims 1-2, and 4-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cadima (US 20210172607) in view of Zhang (US 20210234302)
Regarding Claim 1, Cadima discloses a gas cooktop (cooktop appliance 100; fig. 1) defining a vertical direction (vertical direction V), a lateral direction (lateral direction L), and a transverse direction (traverse direction T), the gas cooktop comprising:
a gas burner (burner 110; fig. 2) for selectively generating a flow of heated air (para. 0029-0030); and
a griddle (all of fig. 2 except for the burners 110’s) defining an outer side (top surface 104; fig. 2) and a probe receptacle (panel 102; fig. 2) defined in the outer side (it is noted the panel 102 is configured for receiving the temperature sensor 310) (according to Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/griddle, “griddle” is interpreted to mean an appliance with a flat area over a heat source); and
a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 310) configured for receipt within the probe receptacle (panel 102) (fig. 4), the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 310) comprising:
a sensor housing (base 314; fig. 6) (para. 0053);
a temperature probe (probe 316; fig. 6) extending from the sensor housing (base 314);
a probe switch (spring-loaded pins; figs. 6-7) positioned on the sensor housing (“base 314 of the first embedded temperature sensor 310 may include connectors, such as pogo pin connectors, e.g., contact pads or spring-loaded pins, for example”, para. 0054. Also, the spring-loaded pins are probe switch because they are part of the temperature sensor and allow the controller to determine temperature based on input from temperature sensor 310 and automatically enters the griddle mode based on temperature, para. 0068-0069), wherein the probe switch (spring-loaded pins shown in fig. 6 as 322’s) and the temperature probe (probe 316) are offset relative to a center of the sensor housing (base 314) (the pins 154/322 are offset from the probe 316 relative to the center of the base 314) (para. 0054. As annotated in fig. 6, the pins 322’s are offset from probe 316 with respect to the center of the base 314. If pins 322’s and probe 316 were not offset from each other with respect to the center of the base 314, they would be found positioned along the center of the base 314, which is not the case here).
Cadima does not disclose:
a griddle magnet positioned within the probe receptacle; and
a probe magnet positioned on the sensor housing, the probe magnet engaging and griddle magnet to secure the temperature sensor and trigger the probe switch when the temperature probe is installed in the probe receptacle.
However, Zhang discloses a male connector 30 is electrically coupled to a female connector 20 via magnetic attraction of the second magnet 303 of the male connector 30 and the first magnet 202 of the female connector 20 (para. 0056; figs. 3A, 2A, and 4A-4D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the griddle (i.e. modify terminal block 150 of the panel 102 of Cadima to be enclosed by magnet) to include the griddle magnet positioned within the probe receptacle and the modify the sensor housing (i.e. modify the base 314 of Cadima to be enclosed by magnet) to include the probe magnet as taught by Zhang, such that the probe magnet engages the griddle magnet to secure the temperature sensor to the griddle. Doing so would secure the sensor housing to the griddle using magnetic force between the probe magnet and the griddle magnet to form electrical connection between the temperature sensor and the terminal block 150 of the plate 120 of the griddle (para. 0056 of Zhang).
The modification would result in structure in which the probe magnet (magnet 203 of Zhang) engaging with the griddle magnet (magnet 303 of Zhang) to secure the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 310 of Cadima) and trigger the probe switch (spring-loaded pins of Cadima) when the temperature probe (probe 316 of Cadima) is installed in the probe receptacle (panel 102 of Cadima) (it is noted the magnetic attraction between the two magnets helps secure the temperature sensor 310 of Cadima to the terminal block 150 of the plate 102, thereby facilitates the triggering of the probe switch/spring-loaded pins that allow the temperature sensor to be in communication with the controller ) (para. 0035 and 0068-0069 of Cadima).
Regarding Claim 2, Cadima discloses the gas cooktop (cooktop appliance 100; fig. 1), wherein the probe switch (spring-loaded pins; fig. 6) is a plunger switch (para. 0054, and 0068) (“The base 314 of the first embedded temperature sensor 310 may include connectors, such as pogo pin connectors”, para. 0054) (it is noted the spring-loaded pins is the pogo pin that comprises of plunger, tube, and spring, see non-patent literature, What is a pogo pin and what are pogo pins used for? - Top-Link, “What is a pogo pin and what are pogo pins used for?”, published on 11/03/2022).
Regarding Claim 4, the modification discloses the griddle (all of fig. 2 except for the burners 110’s of Cadima) defines a magnet recess (space within sleeve 222) in a contact wall of the probe receptacle (panel 102) (para. 0041; fig. 3 of Cadima. It is noted that the sleeve 222 defines a wall that is contact with the panel 102), and wherein the griddle magnet (magnet 303 of Zhang) is received within the magnet recess (space within sleeve 222) (annotated fig. 2. It is noted the magnet of Zhang would enclose the terminal block 150 and the sleeve 222 would enclose both the magnet and the terminal block 150).
Regarding Claim 5, the modification discloses the magnet recess (space within sleeve 222 of Cadima) and the griddle magnet (magnet 303 of Zhang) are annular (fig. 2 of Cadima and fig. 4A of Zhang respectively) and surround a contact pin (spring-loaded pins 154 of terminal block 150) for engaging the probe switch (spring-loaded pins of the temperature sensor) in an installed position (para. 0054 and 0068 of Cadima).
Regarding Claim 6, Cadima discloses the gas cooktop (cooktop appliance 100; fig. 1), further comprising a controller (controller 130) in operative communication with the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 310) (para. 0035), the controller being configured to:
determine that the probe switch (spring-loaded pins) has been triggered (para. 0035 and 0068-0069. It is noted the connection between the temperature sensor and the terminal block is made possible via spring-loaded pins, which allows the controller to determine the temperature and controls the burners 110 based on the temperature); and
initiate a closed loop cooking process by regulating operation of the gas burner (burner 110) based at least in part on temperature measurements obtained by the temperature probe (probe 316) (para. 0034-0035 and 0068-0069).
Regarding Claim 7, the modification discloses the probe magnet (magnet 203 of Zhang) is concentric about the probe switch (tongue assembly 201 of Zhang/spring-loaded pins of Cadima) (fig. 2A of Zhang).
Regarding Claim 9, the modification discloses the griddle magnet (magnet 303 of Zhang) and the probe magnet (magnet 203 of Zhang) align the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 310 of Cadima) such that a gap is defined between sides of the sensor housing (sides of base 314; annotated fig. 4) and sidewalls of the probe receptacle (sidewalls of panel 102; annotated fig. 4) (“such that the housing 153 elevates the respective connectors 154, 156 of each pogo pin terminal block 150 or 152 above the top surface 104 of the panel 102”, para. 0036; also para. 0054; fig. 5 of Cadima).
Regarding Claim 12, Cadima discloses the gas cooktop (cooktop appliance 100; fig. 1), wherein the outer side (top surface 104) is a front of the griddle (all of fig. 2 except for the burners 110’s) along the transverse direction (fig. 2) (it is noted the top surface 104 is the front of the griddle with respect to the bottom surface 106).
Regarding Claim 15, Cadima discloses a griddle assembly (all of fig. 2 excluding burners 110’s) for a gas cooktop (cooktop appliance 100), the gas cooktop comprising a gas burner (burners 110’s; fig. 2) for selectively generating a flow of heated air (para. 0029-0030), the griddle assembly (all of fig. 2 excluding burners 110’s) comprising:
a griddle (all of fig. 2 excluding burners 110’s) defining an outer side (top surface 104) and a probe receptacle (panel 102) defined in the outer side (it is noted the panel 102 is configured for receiving the temperature sensor 310) (according to Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/griddle, “griddle” is interpreted to mean an appliance with a flat area over a heat source);
a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 310) configured for receipt within the probe receptacle (panel 102) (fig. 4), the temperature sensor comprising:
a sensor housing (base 314; fig. 6) (para. 0053);
a temperature probe (probe 316; fig. 6) extending from the sensor housing;
a probe switch (spring-loaded pins; figs. 6-7) positioned on the sensor housing (“base 314 of the first embedded temperature sensor 310 may include connectors, such as pogo pin connectors, e.g., contact pads or spring-loaded pins, for example”, para. 0054. Also, the spring-loaded pins are probe switch because they are part of the temperature sensor and allow the controller to be in communication with the temperature sensor and controls the burners based on the temperature, para. 0069), wherein the probe switch (spring-loaded pins shown in fig. 6 as 322’s) and the temperature probe (probe 316) are offset relative to a center of the sensor housing (base 314) (the pins 154/322 are offset from the probe 316 relative to the center of the base 314) (para. 0054. As annotated in fig. 6, the pins 322’s are offset from probe 316 with respect to the center of the base 314. If pins 322’s and probe 316 were not offset from each other with respect to the center of the base 314, they would be found positioned along the center of the base 314, which is not the case here).
Cadima does not disclose:
a griddle magnet positioned within the probe receptacle; and
a probe magnet positioned on the sensor housing, the probe magnet engaging and griddle magnet to secure the temperature sensor and trigger the probe switch when the temperature probe is installed in the probe receptacle.
However, Zhang discloses a male connector 30 is electrically coupled to a female connector 20 via magnetic attraction of the second magnet 303 of the male connector 30 and the first magnet 202 of the female connector 20 (para. 0056; figs. 3A, 2A, and 4A-4D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the griddle (i.e. modify terminal block 150 of the panel 102 of Cadima to be enclosed by magnet) to include the griddle magnet positioned within the probe receptacle and the modify the sensor housing (i.e. modify the base 314 of Cadima to be enclosed by magnet) to include the probe magnet as taught by Zhang, such that the probe magnet engages the griddle magnet to secure the temperature sensor to the griddle. Doing so would secure the sensor housing to the griddle using magnetic force between the probe magnet and the griddle magnet to form electrical connection between the temperature sensor and the terminal block 150 of the plate 120 of the griddle (para. 0056 of Zhang).
The modification would result in structure in which the probe magnet (magnet 203 of Zhang) engaging with the griddle magnet (magnet 303 of Zhang) to secure the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 310 of Cadima) and trigger the probe switch (spring-loaded pins of Cadima) when the temperature probe (probe 316 of Cadima) is installed in the probe receptacle (panel 102 of Cadima) (it is noted the magnetic attraction between the two magnets helps secure the temperature sensor 310 of Cadima to the terminal block 150 of the plate 102, thereby facilitates the triggering of the probe switch/spring-loaded pins that allow the temperature sensor to be in communication with the controller ) (para. 0035 and 0068-0069 of Cadima).
Regarding Claim 16, Cadima discloses the gas cooktop (cooktop appliance 100; fig. 1), wherein the probe switch (spring-loaded pins; fig. 7) is a plunger switch (para. 0038 and 0054) (it is noted the spring-loaded pins is the pogo pin that comprises of plunger, tube, and spring, see non-patent literature as evidence, What is a pogo pin and what are pogo pins used for? - Top-Link, “What is a pogo pin and what are pogo pins used for?”, published on 11/03/2022).
Regarding Claim 17, the modification discloses the griddle assembly (all of fig. 2 except for the burners 110’s of Cadima) defines a magnet recess (space within sleeve 222) in a contact wall of the probe receptacle (panel 102) (para. 0041; fig. 3 of Cadima. It is noted that the sleeve 222 defines a wall that is contact with the panel 102), and wherein the griddle magnet (magnet 303 of Zhang) is received within the magnet recess (space within sleeve 222) (annotated fig. 2. It is noted the magnet of Zhang would enclose the terminal block 150 and the sleeve 222 would enclose both the magnet and the terminal block 150).
Regarding Claim 18, the modification discloses the magnet recess (space within sleeve 222 of Cadima) and the griddle magnet (magnet 303 of Zhang) are annular (fig. 2 of Cadima and fig. 4A of Zhang respectively) and surround a contact pin (spring-loaded pins 154 of terminal block 150) for engaging the probe switch (spring-loaded pins of the temperature sensor) in an installed position (para. 0054 and 0068 of Cadima).
Regarding Claim 19, the modification discloses the probe magnet (magnet 203 of Zhang) is concentric about the probe switch (tongue assembly 201 of Zhang/spring-loaded pins of Cadima) (fig. 2A of Zhang).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Cadima (US 20210172607) and Zhang (US 20210234302) as applied to claim 1 and claim 15 above, further in view of Hansen (US 20230007382)
Regarding Claim 8, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the griddle magnet and the probe magnet are polymagnets configured to position and align the sensor housing within the probe receptacle in an installed position.
However, Hansen discloses an interface between a detachable arm 20 and a headset 10, wherein a section 54 is configured to attach to a section of the headset 10. Hansen discloses the magnets 37, 38 and the magnets 40, 42 are polymagnets (“third magnet 40 is arranged so that the polarity match with the polarity of the first magnet 37, and, the fourth magnet 42 is arranged so that the polarity match with the second magnet 38”, para. 0054), configured to position and align the section 54 within the section of the headset in an installed position (para. 0054; fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the griddle magnet and the probe magnet of Zhang to be polymagnets configured to align the sensor housing within the probe receptacle in the installed position as taught by Hansen, in order to secure the sensor housing to the terminal block 150 of the panel 102 in place with sufficient retention force between the magnets (para. 0054 of Hansen).
Regarding Claim 20, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except the griddle magnet and the probe magnet are polymagnets configured to position and align the sensor housing within the probe receptacle in an installed position such that a gap is defined between sides of the sensor housing and sidewalls of the probe receptacle.
However, Hansen discloses an interface between a detachable arm 20 and a headset 10, wherein a section 54 is configured to attach to a section of the headset 10. Hansen discloses the magnets 37, 38 and the magnets 40, 42 are polymagnets (“third magnet 40 is arranged so that the polarity match with the polarity of the first magnet 37, and, the fourth magnet 42 is arranged so that the polarity match with the second magnet 38”, para. 0054), configured to position and align the section 54 within the section of the headset in an installed position (para. 0054; fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the griddle magnet and the probe magnet of Zhang to be polymagnets configured to align the sensor housing within the probe receptacle in the installed position as taught by Hansen, in order to secure the sensor housing 314 of Cadima to the terminal block 150 of the panel 102 in place with sufficient retention force between the magnets of Zhang (para. 0054 of Hansen).
The modification would result in the sensor housing (base 314 of the temperature sensor 310 of Cadima) is aligned within the probe receptacle (panel 102 of Cadima) such that a gap is defined between sides of the sensor housing (sides of base 314; annotated fig. 4) and sidewalls of the probe receptacle (sidewalls of panel 102; annotated fig. 4) (“such that the housing 153 elevates the respective connectors 154, 156 of each pogo pin terminal block 150 or 152 above the top surface 104 of the panel 102”, para. 0036; also para. 0054; fig. 5 of Cadima).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Cadima (US 20210172607) and Zhang (US 20210234302) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Bhogal (US 20230314237)
Regarding Claim 10, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the sensor housing is formed using high temperature thermosets.
However, Bhogal discloses the sensor housing (housing of the thermometer 100) is formed using high temperature thermosets (plastic) (para. 0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor housing of Cadima (i.e. base 314 of Cadima) to be formed using high temperature thermosets as taught by Bhogal, because plastic can withstand high temperature and generally safe for use with food.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Cadima (US 20210172607) and Zhang (US 20210234302) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Wehring (US 20240219245)
Regarding Claim 11, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the temperature sensor further comprises:
a ceramic contact insert defining a rear wall of the sensor housing.
However, Wehring discloses the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 1) further comprises:
a ceramic contact insert (ceramic) defining a rear wall of the sensor housing (sensor housing 8) (para. 0105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor housing of Cadima (i.e. base 314 of Cadima) to be formed of ceramic as taught by Wehring because ceramic is known for its strength and can withstand high temperature.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Cadima (US 20210172607) and Zhang (US 20210234302) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Mehler (US 20140261379)
Regarding Claim 13, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the griddle is formed from a nonferrous material.
However, Mehler discloses the griddle (griddle) is formed from a nonferrous material (aluminum alloys) (para. 0010) (according to para. 0043 of the published specification of the instant application, “nonferrous material” may include aluminum alloy).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the griddle of Cadima to be formed from nonferrous material as taught by Mehler, in order to reduce abrasion when used with metal cooking utensils (para. 0010 of Mehler).
Regarding Claim 14, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the griddle is formed from aluminum alloy.
However, Mehler discloses the griddle (griddle) is formed from aluminum alloy (aluminum alloys) (para. 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the griddle of Cadima to be formed from aluminum alloy as taught by Mehler, in order to reduce abrasion when used with metal cooking utensils (para. 0010 of Mehler).
Response to Amendment
With respect to claim objections: since amendment to claim 1, therefore claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are respectfully not persuasive because:
Applicant’s Arguments: with respect to claim 1 on p. 6-7 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that the modification fails to teach “a probe magnet positioned on the sensor housing, the probe magnet engaging the griddle magnet to ... trigger the probe switch when the
temperature probe is installed in the probe receptacle. The Office Action cites Zhang as teaching
the use of a magnet to trigger a probe switch. Applicant respectfully disagrees and notes that
Cadima's switch is a pogo pin, triggered by physical depression against a contact pad. The
magnetic force in Zhang provides coupling and alignment, not switch actuation. In addition, the
combination of Cadima and Zhang changes the principle of operation of Cadima or provides a redundant function. In this regard, Cadima's probe is already secured by frictional fit and its pogo
pins make electrical contact upon insertion. Zhang's magnets do not actuate a switch, they
merely hold connectors together. The modification would not result in the magnet triggering the
switch, but merely holding the sensor in a position where the switch is already triggered by physical contact, as in the original Cadima design.”
Examiner’s Responses:
The applicant’s arguments are respectfully not persuasive because the modification of Cadima and Zhang would result in the probe magnet (magnet 203 of Zhang) encloses the sensor housing 314 of Cadima and the griddle magnet (magnet 303 of Zhang) encloses the terminal block 150 of the panel 102 such that the probe magnet (magnet 203 of Zhang) engaging with the griddle magnet (magnet 303 of Zhang) to secure the temperature sensor (temperature sensor 310 of Cadima) and trigger the probe switch (spring-loaded pins of Cadima) when the temperature probe (probe 316 of Cadima) is installed in the probe receptacle (panel 102 of Cadima). It is noted the magnetic attraction between the two magnets 203 and 303 of Zhang helps secure the temperature sensor 310 of Cadima to the terminal block 150 of the plate 102 of Cadima, thereby facilitates the triggering of the probe switch/spring-loaded pins that allow the temperature sensor to be in communication with the controller (para. 0035 and 0068-0069 of Cadima). In other words, the two magnets of the sensor housing 314 and of the terminal block 150 of the plate 102/probe receptacle assist in triggering the probe switch i.e. spring-loaded pins 322’s due to magnetic attraction that secures the sensor housing 314 to the terminal block 150 of the plate 102. Furthermore, according to para. 0047 and 0040 of the published specification of the instant application, it is stated that the configuration of the griddle magnet 160 and probe magnet 162 may facilitate the triggering of the probe switch 180. In other words, the magnets facilitate removable attachment between the temperature sensor and probe receptacle of the griddle and facilitate to some degrees the triggering of the probe switch. Para. 0040 states “the attachment features described herein may effortlessly engage a trigger mechanism”. In other words, the magnet is not a trigger mechanism.
With regards to the Applicant’s argument that the combination of Cadima and Zhang changes the principle of operation of Cadima or provide redundant function, Examiner respectfully disagrees because the magnets of Zhang would enhance physical attachment between the sensor housing 314 of Cadima and the terminal block 150 of the probe receptacle, thereby securing the electrical connection between spring-loaded pins of the temperature sensor 310 and contact pads of the block 150 of the probe receptacle such that the temperature sensor is electrically connected to the controller. The modification would not change operation of Cadima nor provide redundant function. The magnets of Zhang would enhance the physical attachment between the sensor housing 314 and terminal block 150 of the probe receptacle due to magnetic attraction while facilitating the electrical connection between the spring-loaded pins of the temperature sensor 310 and contact pads of the block 150 of the probe receptacle.
Applicant’s Arguments: with respect to temperature probe offset of claim 1, on p. 7 of the Remarks, Applicant argues “FIG. 6 of Cadima clearly illustrates probe 316 being positioned directly in the center of base 314.”
Examiner’s Responses:
The applicant’s arguments are respectfully not persuasive because it is Examiner’s position that the limitation is interpreted to mean the probe switch and temperature probe are offset from each other relative to a center of the sensor housing. In this case, the pins 154/322 are offset from the probe 316 relative to the center of the base 314) (para. 0054 of Cadima. As annotated in fig. 6, the pins 322’s are offset from probe 316 with respect to the center of the base 314. If pins 322’s and probe 316 were not offset with respect to the center of the base 314, they would be found positioned along the center of the base 314, which is not the case here).
For the above reasons, the rejections to all of the claims are respectfully sustained by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761