DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show details of the modular tip as described in the specification (Figure 2b missing). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,533,902. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both the current claims and the patented claims disclose an application stem with a modular hollow shaft, modular tip receiver and modular tip however the current claims are broader than the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (6,308,454) in view of Schuster (8,677,680).
Regarding claim 1, Powell discloses an application stem for a system for exterminating ants (column 2 line 66 through column 3 line 2), the application stem comprising:
A modular hollow shaft (12) comprising a first end and a second end and defining one or more perforations (16) adjacent the second end and modular tip receiver opening (open end that receives 26 – Figure 3) formed at the second end
A modular tip receiver (threads that mate with threads 23 – not shown) positioned within the modular tip receiver opening
A modular tip (24) removably coupled to the modular tip receiver, wherein fluid exits the application stem through the one or more perforations via an outlet line
While Powell discloses the invention as described above including a fluid line for providing fluid to the perforations, it fails to disclose a heat exchanger for providing heated fluid to the hollow shaft via an outlet line. Like Powell, Schuster also discloses an application system for exterminating ants including a hollow shaft with a fluid line for delivering fluid to the ground. Unlike Powell, Schuster discloses that the outlet line can be connected to a heat exchanger for providing heated fluid to the ground to exterminate ants. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the shaft and fluid lines of Powell to a heat exchanger to provide heated fluid to the ground as taught by Schuster as it would be combining prior art devices according to known methods to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claims 2-3, the combination discloses that the application stem comprises a t-handle extension grip (18).
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses a redirection pipe (31) to which the modular shaft is removably coupled at the first end of the shaft, wherein the redirection pipe (30) is couplable to the fluid outlet line (30), and the fluid is redirected as it flows through the redirection pipe from a first direction to a second direction substantially perpendicular (Figure 2) to the first direction and a grip (18) comprising a t-handle extension mounted to the redirection pipe at a transition between the first and second direction.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses that the line is rated to hold water at temperatures between 190 degrees F to 200 degrees F (Schuster discloses steam at higher temperatures which is water in a gaseous fluid form, therefore it would also be rated for lower temperatures).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell (6,308,454) in view of Schuster (8,677,680) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Barber (2,224,010).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses that a modular tip received by a modular tip receiver (threads) in the tip receiver opening. The combination fails to disclose that the modular tip receiver and the modular tip comprise a sloping external profile. Like the combination, Barber also discloses a tip (30) and a receiver (12) for a wand/stem mounted nozzle with a penetrating tip similar to the combination. Unlike the combination, Barber discloses that the modular tip can be mounted to an adapter type element (12) (modular tip receiver) and that both the tip and the receiver can have sloping external profiles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the tip and receiver arrangement of Barber in place of the arrangement in the combination as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ryan (9,949,449) also discloses a ground injecting liquid device.
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671