DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendments filed on 06/10/2026.
Claims 1, 7, and 16 have been amended. Claims 8-15 and 17 have been canceled. Claims 1-7 and 16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 USC § 112:
Claim 1 has been amended to omit the terms “input unit” and “processing unit”. Accordingly, the interpretation under 35 USC § 112(f) and the corresponding rejections under 35 USC § 112(a) and 35 USC § 112(b) of claims 1-7 have been withdrawn. However, the term “processing unit” is still recited in claim 16, and thus the interpretation under 35 USC § 112(f) and the corresponding rejections under 35 USC § 112(a) and 35 USC § 112(b) of claim 16 are maintained.
Additionally, a new rejection of claims 1-7 and 16 under 35 USC § 112(b) has been introduced by the amendments, which include the indefinite relative term “significantly.”
Prior Art Rejections:
Applicant's arguments regarding the prior art rejections (pg. 12) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, or are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach or suggest selection of trajectories utilizing a sensitivity of the ML model, as recited by the amended independent claim. Examiner notes that the newly-cited Schulter reference has been brought in to teach this limitation.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach or suggest continuing training until the ML model does not significantly change, as recited by the amended independent claim. Examiner respectfully notes that, as can be seen in the rejection below, this limitation is taught by Burger.
The prior art rejections have been updated to include the amended limitations and to clarify the reasoning given for the limitations that were not amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a processing unit in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, the following claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
a processing unit in claim 16.
However, while the specification mentions the configuration of a processing unit as part of an industrial process model generation system (e.g., paragraphs 0005-0006), it is silent as to the structure of this ‘unit’. According to MPEP 2181(II)(B), "When a claim containing a computer-implemented 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim limitation is found to be indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for failure to disclose sufficient corresponding structure (e.g., the computer and the algorithm) in the specification that performs the entire claimed function, it will also lack written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “significantly” in claims 1 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “significantly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 2-7 are additionally rejected due to their dependence on independent claim 1 for the reasons outlined above.
Additionally, The following claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
a processing unit in claim 16.
However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, while the specification mentions the configuration of a processing unit as part of an industrial process model generation system (e.g., paragraphs 0005-0006), it is silent as to the structure of this ‘unit’. Therefore, claim 16 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For examination purposes, the processing unit will be interpreted as a computer-implemented functional block of code for performing its associated steps.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claims so that the claim limitations will no longer be interpreted as limitations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claims, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Alexopoulos et al. (hereinafter Alexopoulos), “Digital twin-driven supervised machine learning for the development of artificial intelligence applications in manufacturing” (published 04/08/2020) in view of
Burger et al. (hereinafter Burger), U.S. Patent Application Publication US-20200265301-A1 (filed 02/15/2019) and
Schulter et al. (hereinafter Schulter), U.S. Patent Application Publication US-20200094824-A1 (filed 11/26/2019).
Regarding Claim 1,
Alexopoulos teaches An industrial process model generation system, comprising:
an electronic processing device; a memory storing instructions that when executed, cause the processing device to: (Examiner notes that this limitation is interpreted as a generic computer. Pg. 8, section 3: “Training time, on the same laptop that performed images rendering, took approximately 18 minutes to complete.”)
receive a plurality of input value trajectories comprising operational input value trajectories and simulation input value trajectories relating to an industrial process, and wherein the input value trajectories are used to control the industrial process in a number of simulation runs to generate an initial training data set; (Pg. 4-5, section 2: “[T]he virtual model is timely combined with status datasets generated in the real environment (e.g. IoT data, image data, machine data and more) and can become available to the DT [digital twin] model through the underlying communication layer consisting of several protocols, such as HTTP and MQTT… a highly realistic DT is built and maintained by combining data captured through IoT technology (e.g. cameras, sensors), together with engineering data (e.g. kinematics, 3D geometry) from digital factory tools.” Pg. 5, section 3: “[T]he proposed concept can be applied in an industrially relevant use case” Pg. 5, section 2: “The DT framework described above may support the generation and labelling of virtually created datasets, via means of dynamic simulations over high fidelity and realistic DT models, for training ML models. Such virtually created training datasets are generated by a chain of Simulation and Dataset Generation and Labelling services acting upon the DT Model and Data. The Simulation service provides as an output a high-fidelity behaviour of a system (for example, a detailed and photorealistic animation of an industrial robotic cell environment).” The communication layer (i.e. input unit) receives data captured through IoT technology (i.e. simulation input value trajectories) and data from digital factory tools (i.e. operational input value trajectories) relating to an industrial process. This DT data (i.e. input value trajectories) is used by the simulation service to generate a labelled training dataset (i.e. an initial training data set).)
implement a simulator of the industrial process to generate a plurality of industrial process behavioral data, wherein the industrial process behavioral data is generated for at least some of the plurality of input value trajectories, and wherein the generation of the industrial process behavioral data for the at least some of the plurality of input value trajectories uses the simulator, (Pg. 5, section 2: “The DT framework described above may support the generation and labelling of virtually created datasets, via means of dynamic simulations over high fidelity and realistic DT models, for training ML models. Such virtually created training datasets are generated by a chain of Simulation and Dataset Generation and Labelling services acting upon the DT Model and Data. The Simulation service provides as an output a high-fidelity behaviour of a system (for example, a detailed and photorealistic animation of an industrial robotic cell environment).” The simulation service generates system behavior data (i.e. industrial process behavioral data) based on the DT data (i.e. input value trajectories).)
implement the machine learning algorithm that models the industrial process; (Pg. 4, figure 1 shows “[u]tilization of the digital twin for the development of ML-based applications for smart manufacturing.” The digital twin’s “Information Layer” and “Services Layer” (i.e. processing unit) include an “ML model” and “Training” and “ML Model Provider” services (i.e. implementation of the ML algorithm).)
train the machine learning algorithm using the initial training data set; (Pg. 5, section 2: “The labelled training datasets can be used by the Training service for training the ML model.” The ML model is trained using the labelled training dataset (i.e. initial training data set).)
use the final machine learning algorithm in an active industrial process. (Pg. 5, section 2: “The result of the Training service is a properly trained ML model, for example, an ANN. Finally, TL is applied since the ML model can be pushed down to an edge CPS node via the ML Model Provider service and used for decision-making by an AI service, for example, an ML-based classification of an image from the physical world enables the selection of the right pick strategy by a robotic arm controller, on runtime, thus, supporting operational production needs.” The final trained ML model is used for decision making by a robotic arm controller to support operational production needs (i.e. an active industrial process).)
Alexopoulos does not appear to explicitly disclose the remaining features of claim 1.
However, Burger teaches process a first behavioral data of the plurality of behavioral data with the machine learning algorithm to determine a first modelled result; (0002: “Technology related to incremental training of machine learning tools is disclosed… The machine learning tool can be a deep neural network [DNN]. Input data can be applied to the machine learning tool to generate an output of the machine learning tool.” Machine learning input data (i.e. first behavioral data) is fed into the machine learning algorithm to determine a machine learning output (i.e. a first modelled result).)
determine whether to train or not to train the machine learning algorithm using the first behavioral data, the determination comprising a comparison of the first modelled result with a performance condition; (0002: “A measure of prediction quality can be generated for the output of the machine learning tool. In response to determining the measure of prediction quality is below a threshold, incremental training of the operational parameters can be initiated using the input data as training data for the machine learning tool.” The quality of the model’s prediction (i.e. the first modelled result) is compared to a quality threshold (i.e. a performance condition) to determine whether to train the model using the input data (i.e. first behavioral data) as training data.)
process a second behavioral data of the plurality of behavioral data with the machine learning algorithm to determine a second modelled result; and (Examiner notes that this limitation is identical to the limitation above except that it operates on a second input to determine a second model output. The training method disclosed by Burger is iterative, and thus includes processing multiple inputs to generate multiple outputs. See, e.g., 0023: “As described herein, the accuracy of the DNN model can potentially be improved by selectively using input data collected by the edge devices to incrementally train the DNN model.”)
determine whether to train or not to train the machine learning algorithm using the second behavioral data, the determination to train comprising a comparison of the second modelled result with the performance condition; (Examiner notes that this limitation is identical to the limitation above except that it analyzes the second model output to determine whether to train using the second input. The training method disclosed by Burger is iterative, and thus includes analyzing multiple outputs to make multiple training determinations. See, e.g., 0023: “As described herein, the accuracy of the DNN model can potentially be improved by selectively using input data collected by the edge devices to incrementally train the DNN model.”)
continue to train the machine learning algorithm with behavioral data and associated modeled results until the machine learning algorithm does not significantly change and produce a final machine learning algorithm; (0042: “The DNN 200 can operate in at least two different modes. Initially, the DNN 200 can be trained in a training mode and then used as a classifier in an inference mode… When an architecture of the DNN 200 is appropriate for classifying the training data, the operating parameters of the DNN 200 will converge and the initial training can complete. After initial training, the DNN 200 can be distributed to edge devices and used in the inference mode…” The DNN (i.e. machine learning algorithm) is trained until its operating parameters converge (i.e. the machine learning algorithm does not significantly change), at which point training is complete and the model can operate in inference mode (i.e. a final machine learning algorithm is produced).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Alexopoulos and Burger. Alexopoulos teaches using a digital twin-based simulator to generate machine learning model training data for industrial manufacturing applications. Burger teaches incremental training of a machine learning model, where the model is only trained on new data when its performance on the new data is unsatisfactory. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Alexopoulos and Burger because “[t]his approach can potentially: improve an overall accuracy of the deployed DNN model; reduce a communication workload between edge devices and the server computer; reduce a cost of data labeling by reducing or minimizing redundancy and/or repetition in the training data; reduce a DNN retraining cost by only processing more informative samples; and recycle unlabeled data collected on the edge devices by looking for informative samples” (Burger, 0024).
Alexopoulos and Burger do not appear to explicitly disclose the remaining features of claim 1.
However, Schulter teaches wherein a selection is made of the at least some of the plurality of input value trajectories and the selection utilizes a sensitivity of a machine learning algorithm to at least a portion of the plurality of behavioral data; (0005: “The method also includes measuring, by the hardware processor, an accuracy of the trained machine learning model relative to learning a discriminative function for a given task. The discriminative function predicts a given label for a given image from the fully-annotated simulated training data. The method additionally includes adjusting, by the hardware processor, the computer-selected simulator-adjusting parameters and repeating said training and measuring steps responsive to the accuracy being below a threshold accuracy.” Input parameters of the simulator (i.e. input value trajectories) are selected based on the accuracy (i.e. sensitivity) of the machine learning model on the simulated training data (i.e. behavioral data).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Alexopoulos, Burger, and Schulter. Alexopoulos teaches using a digital twin-based simulator to generate machine learning model training data for industrial manufacturing applications. Burger teaches incremental training of a machine learning model, where the model is only trained on new data when its performance on the new data is unsatisfactory. Schulter teaches training a machine learning model using simulated training data, where the input parameters of the simulator can be modified to generate more informative training data based on the accuracy of the model. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Alexopoulos, Burger, and Schulter because “[b]y learning how to adjust the simulator's parameters, data can be generated more effectively in a sense that it is more useful for the actual machine learning algorithm that is being trained and then deployed. This means that eventually less data is required to properly train the model, which reduces computational costs” (Schulter, 0052).
Regarding Claim 2, Alexopoulos, Burger, and Schulter teach The system according to claim 1, as shown above.
Alexopoulos also teaches wherein the plurality of input value trajectories comprises one or more of: process data; temperature data; pressure data; flow data; level data; voltage data; current data; power data; actuator data; valve data; sensor data; and controller data. (Pg. 5, section 2: “[A] highly realistic DT is built and maintained by combining data captured through IoT technology (e.g. cameras, sensors), together with engineering data (e.g. kinematics, 3D geometry) from digital factory tools.” The input data (i.e. input value trajectories) received at the communication layer (i.e. input unit) includes sensor data.)
Regarding Claim 3, Alexopoulos, Burger, and Schulter teach The system according to claim 1, as shown above.
Burger also teaches wherein the determination to train or not to train the machine learning algorithm using the first behavioral data comprises a determination of a sensitivity of the trained machine learning algorithm to at least a portion of the plurality of behavioral data. (0002: “A measure of prediction quality can be generated for the output of the machine learning tool. In response to determining the measure of prediction quality is below a threshold, incremental training of the operational parameters can be initiated using the input data as training data for the machine learning tool.” The determination to train or not to train using input data (i.e. first behavioral data) is based on a measure of model prediction quality (i.e. sensitivity) on the input data (i.e. a portion of behavioral data).)
Regarding Claim 4, Alexopoulos, Burger, and Schulter teach The system according to claim 1, as shown above.
Burger also teaches wherein the determination to train or not to train the machine learning algorithm using the second behavioral data, comprises a determination of the sensitivity of the trained machine learning algorithm to at least a portion of the plurality of behavioral data. (See the portion of 0002 cited above in regard to claim 3. The determination to train or not to train using input data (i.e. second behavioral data) is based on a measure of model prediction quality (i.e. sensitivity) on the input data (i.e. a portion of behavioral data).)
Regarding Claim 5, Alexopoulos, Burger, and Schulter teach The system according to claim 1, as shown above.
Burger also teaches wherein the determination to further train or not to further train the machine learning algorithm using the second behavioral data, comprises a determination of the sensitivity of the trained machine learning algorithm to at least a portion of the plurality of behavioral data. (See the portion of 0002 cited above in regard to claim 3. The determination to further train or not to further train using input data (i.e. second behavioral data) is based on a measure of model prediction quality (i.e. sensitivity) on the input data (i.e. a portion of behavioral data).)
Regarding Claim 6, Alexopoulos, Burger, and Schulter teach The system according to claim 4, as shown above.
Burger also teaches wherein the determination of the sensitivity of the trained machine learning algorithm to at least a portion of the plurality of behavioral data comprises an analysis of a loss function of the trained machine learning algorithm with respect to at least the portion of the plurality of behavioral data. (0037-0039: “The quality analyzer 180 can also determine a quality of the results from the machine learning tool 170 in an unsupervised manner using mathematical and/or statistical properties of outputs of the machine learning tool 170. For example, the machine learning tool 170 can include a deep neural network and a perplexity of the outputs of the last layer can be used to determine the quality of the results. Perplexity can be calculated in various ways, but perplexity is a measure of a variability of a prediction model and/or a measure of prediction error… In some examples, a log of the perplexity value can be used for simplification. At a given training epoch, a low log-perplexity value implies that the sample is a typical sample and that the neural network model is not “surprised” with the particular sample. In other words, the sample has a relatively low loss value.” The determination of model result quality (i.e. sensitivity) can be based on an analysis of the perplexity value or loss value of the input data (i.e. portion of behavioral data).)
Regarding Claim 7, Alexopoulos, Burger, and Schulter teach The system according to claim 1, as shown above.
Burger also teaches wherein the processing device is configured to determine to stop training of the machine learning algorithm, the determination comprising a determination of a sensitivity of the trained machine learning algorithm to at least a portion of the plurality of behavioral data. (0002: “A measure of prediction quality can be generated for the output of the machine learning tool. In response to determining the measure of prediction quality is below a threshold, incremental training of the operational parameters can be initiated using the input data as training data for the machine learning tool.” The determination not to train (i.e. to stop training) is based on a measure of model prediction quality (i.e. sensitivity) on the input data (i.e. a portion of behavioral data).)
Claim 16 is a method claim containing substantially the same elements as system claim 1. Alexopoulos, Burger, and Schulter teach the elements of claim 1, as shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/VIKER A LAMARDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2147