DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on November 25, 2021 and September 30, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on February 12, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of species Group 1 wherein ring E1 is selected from a 6 membered ring and Species Group 2 wherein ring R is selected from a substituent other than a 5 or 6 membered ring in the reply filed on February 12, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the specific core scaffold structure claimed constitute a single class of compounds and do not impose an undue search burden. In light of the prior art search conducted, this argument is found persuasive.
The requirement for election of species set forth on December 18, 2025 is hereby withdrawn and all species/claims are rejoined.
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 1 – 16 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on February 12, 2026 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Objection
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites that “the organic layer is a charge generation layer and disposed between the at least two light-emitting units.” Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite “the organic layer is a charge generation layer and is disposed between the at least two light-emitting units.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 19 of copending Application No. 19/346340 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in instant claim 1 overlap in scope with compounds of Formula I in claim 1of the ‘340 application as evidenced by at least compound P-4 in claim 13 which contains a linking group with the ortho substitution claimed in the instant applicaiton.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 – 7 and 12 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 – 7, 12 and 13, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected as being dependent on claims 12 and 13.
For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted as not requiring the limitations following the phrase “preferably.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding (US20210296594A1).
As per claims 1 – 3, 7 and 16, Ding teaches:
A compound having a structure of Formula I
(Ding teaches compounds of Formula I
([0013]). A particular compound taught by Ding is compound 975, wherein Z1 and Z2 are N, X and Y are a group represented by A1
, R is a group represented by B99
and RN is a group represented by B14
([0121]). This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Z is selected from NRN, Z’ and Z” are each C; Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl having 6 carbon atoms; R1 represents nonsubstitution; ring E1 is an aromatic ring having 6 carbon atoms; R’ and R” are a cyano group; R is a substituted aryl having 6 carbon atoms; RN is an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom. The compound is represented by Formula 1-1 in claim 2. As the composition of claim 16 only requires a compound of Formula 1, the compound of Ding is interpreted as the claimed composition.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 10 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (US20210296594A1) as applied to claims 1 – 3, 7 and 16 above.
As per claim 10, Ding teaches compound 975 above, but Ding does not specifically teach the use of the compound in a device. Ding teaches:
An electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises the compound ([0022]: “According to yet another embodiment, an organic light-emitting device is also disclosed, which comprises an anode, a cathode, and organic layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises a compound having Formula 1.”)
Ding teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Ding as Ding demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 11, Ding teaches:
Wherein the organic layer is a hole injection layer or a hole transporting layer and the hole injection layer or the hole transporting layer is formed by the compound alone ([0136]: “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, in the device, the organic layer is a hole injection layer or a hole transporting layer, and the hole injection layer or the hole transporting layer are formed from a compound of Formula 1 alone.”)
As per claim 12, Ding teaches:
Wherein the organic layer is a hole injection layer or a hole transporting layer, the hole injection layer or the hole transporting layer further comprises at least one hole transporting material and a molar doping ratio of the compound to the at least one hole transporting material is 10,000:1 to 1:10,000 ([0137]: “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, in the device, the organic layer is a hole injection layer or a hole transporting layer, and the hole injection layer or the hole transporting layer further comprise at least one hole transporting material; and wherein the molar doping ratio of the compound of Formula 1 to the hole transporting material is from 10000:1 to 1:10000.”)
As per claim 13, Ding teaches:
Wherein the electroluminescent device comprises at least two light-emitting units and the organic layer is a charge generation layer and disposed between the at least two light-emitting units, wherein the charge generation layer comprises a p-type charge generation layer and an n-type charge generation layer([0140]: “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the electroluminescent device comprises a plurality of stacks disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the stacks comprise a first light-emitting layer and a second light-emitting layer, wherein the first stack comprises a first light-emitting layer, and the second stack comprises a second light-emitting layer, and a charge generation layer is disposed between the first stack and the second stack, wherein the charge generation layer comprises a p-type charge generation layer and an n-type charge generation layer.”)
As per claim 14, Ding teaches:
Wherein the hole transporting material is selected from a compound having a triarylamine unit…([0139]: “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the hole injection layer or the hole transporting layer further comprise at least one hole transporting material, wherein the hole transporting material comprises a compound having a triarylamine unit.”)
As per claim 15, Ding teaches:
Wherein the charge generation layer further comprises a buffer layer disposed between the p-type charge generation layer and the n-type charge generation layer, and the buffer layer comprises the compound ([0144]: “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the charge generation layer further includes a buffer layer disposed between the p-type charge generation layer and the n-type charge generation layer, wherein the buffer layer comprises a compound of Formula 1.”)
Claims 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (US20200062778A1).
As per claims 1 – 9 and 16, Cui teaches:
A compound having a structure of Formula I
Ding teaches compounds of Formula I
(Claim 11). A particular compound taught by Cui is compound 72 in claim 11, wherein Z1 and Z2 are O, X and Y are a group represented by A1
, R is a group represented by B72
. While group B72 contains a phenyl group in a meta position instead of the claimed ortho position, the group is a positional isomer of the claimed substituent.)
The Office points out that sections 2144.09 I and II of the MPEP state “A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities.” An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, paragraph II.A.4.(c). and “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). Homology and isomerism involve close structural similarity which must be considered with all other relevant facts in determining the issue of obviousness. In re Mills, 281 F.2d 218, 126 USPQ 513 (CCPA 1960); In re Wiechert, 370 F.2d 927, 152 USPQ 247 (CCPA 1967).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to move the phenyl substituent of group B72 to the ortho position as claimed, based on the close structural similarity of the compounds and the expectation that they would possess similar properties. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Z is selected from O, Z’ and Z” are each C; Ar1 is a substituted aryl having 6 carbon atoms; R1 represents one substitution of a substituted alkyl group of 1 carbon atom, namely a group represented by A3 in claim 8; ring E1 is an aromatic ring having 6 carbon atoms; R’ and R” are a cyano group; R is a substituted aryl having 6 carbon atoms, namely a group represented by compound B250 in claim 8. The compound is represented by Formula 1-1 in claim 2 and Formula 2-1 in claim 4, wherein X1 to X4 are each CR1. This compound is compound H1-1736 in claim 9. As the composition of claim 16 only requires a compound of Formula 1, the modified compound of Cui is interpreted as the claimed composition.
As per claim 10, Cui teaches:
An electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises the compound ([0021]: “According to yet another embodiment, an organic light-emitting device is also disclosed, which comprises an anode, a cathode, and organic layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises a compound having Formula 1.”)
Cui teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Cui as Cui demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 11, Cui teaches:
Wherein the organic layer is a hole injection layer or a hole transporting layer and the hole injection layer or the hole transporting layer is formed by the compound alone ([0131]: “According to an embodiment of the present invention, in the device, the organic layer is a hole injection layer, and the hole injection layer is formed from the compound alone.”)
As per claim 12, Cui teaches:
Wherein the organic layer is a hole injection layer or a hole transporting layer, the hole injection layer or the hole transporting layer further comprises at least one hole transporting material, and a molar doping ratio of the compound to the at least one hole transporting material is 10,000:1 to 1:10,000 ([0132]: “According to an embodiment of the present invention, in the device, the organic layer is a hole injection layer, and the hole injection layer is formed from the compound comprising a dopant which comprises at least one hole transporting material; wherein the hole transporting material comprises a compound having a triarylamine unit, a spirobifluorene compound, a pentacene compound, an oligothiophene compound, an oligophenyl compound, an oligophenylene vinyl compound, an oligofluorene compound, a porphyrin complex or a metal phthalocyanine complex, and wherein the molar doping ratio of the compound to the hole transporting material is from 10000:1 to 1:10000.”)
As per claim 13, Cui teaches:
Wherein the electroluminescent device comprises at least two light-emitting units and the organic layer is a charge generation layer and disposed between the at least two light-emitting units, wherein the charge generation layer comprises a p-type charge generation layer and an n-type charge generation layer ([0134]: “According to an embodiment of the present invention, the electroluminescent device comprises a plurality of stacks disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the stacks comprise a first light-emitting layer and a second light-emitting layer, wherein the first stack comprises a first light-emitting layer, and the second stack comprises a second light-emitting layer, and a charge generation layer is disposed between the first stack and the second stack, wherein the charge generation layer comprises a p-type charge generation layer and an n-type charge generation layer.”)
As per claim 14, Cui teaches:
Wherein the hole transporting material is selected from a compound having a triarylamine unit… ([0132]: “Wherein the hole transporting material comprises a compound having a triarylamine unit…”)
As per claim 15, Cui teaches:
Wherein the charge generation layer further comprises a buffer layer disposed between the p-type charge generation layer and the n-type charge generation layer, wherein the buffer layer comprises the compound ([0136]: “According to an embodiment of the present invention, the charge generation layer further includes a buffer layer disposed between the p-type charge generation layer and the n-type charge generation layer, wherein the buffer layer comprises the compound.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789