DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10 September 2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Maintained Rejection)
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo et al. (US 2017/0290781 A1, 10/12/2017, ID reference) (hereinafter Mo).
Mo discloses a pharmaceutical preparation of a compound of formula (I) or a stereoisomer, pharmaceutically acceptable salt, or prodrug thereof:
,
where R1 and R2 are each independently selected from a C1-4 alkyl or a C3-6 cycloalkyl; and n is 1 or 2 ([0011]). Mo further discloses a specific embodiment wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is a fat emulsion comprising Compound 7:
as the following pharmaceutical formulation:
Compound 7 5 g (i.e. 0.5 w/v% of claimed active ingredient)
Soybean oil 50 g (i.e. 5 w/v% of claimed oil ingredient)
Medium-chain triglyceride 50 g (i.e. 5 w/v% of claimed oil ingredient)
Egg-yolk lecithin 12 g (i.e. 1.2 w/v% of claimed emulsifier)
Glycerol 22.5 g (i.e. 2.25 w/v% of claimed osmotic pressure regulator)
Sodium oleate 0.3 g (i.e. 0.03 w/v% of claimed stabilizer)
Sodium hydroxide appropriate amount (i.e. claimed pH-adjusting agent)
Water for injection, added up to 1000 ml ([0328]). The fat emulsion has a pH of 3.0 to 10.0 ([0037]).
Mo further discloses wherein the pharmaceutical formulation comprises one or more antibacterials including methyl benzoate, sodium pyrosulfite, disodium edetate, and calcium sodium edetate ([0039]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the various pharmaceutical preparations as instantly claimed since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding the claimed amount of bacteriostat, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Mo does not explicitly disclose the amount of disodium edetate (i.e. claimed bacteriostat). However, since antioxidants are pharmaceutical ingredients, it would have taken no more than the relative skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed amounts of antioxidant (i.e. 0.0005 to 0.005% w/v) through routine experimentation based on the level of antioxidant effect desired.
Regarding claims 2-4, the cited compound reads on the compounds of instant claim 2 when R1 and R2 are each methyl and n is 1; instant claim 3, row 1 second structure; and Compound 3 of claim 4.
Regarding claims 1, 7, 11, and 12 reciting various amounts of various ingredients, the claimed ranges would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since they overlap with the ranges of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, Mo further discloses wherein the prodrug of compound of formula (I) may be a compound of formula (II):
,
wherein R1, R2 and n are as defined for the compound of formula (I); and Z+ may be H+ ([0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the pharmaceutical formulations of Mo with the compound of formula (II) since it is a known and effective embodiment of formula (I) as taught by Mo.
Regarding claim 13, Mo further discloses wherein the pharmaceutical formulation may be used for inducing and maintaining anesthesia in an animal or human, for promoting sedative hypnosis of an animal or human, or for treating and/or preventing anxiety, depression, insomnia, nausea, vomiting, migraine, schizophrenia, convulsion, and epilepsy ([0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the pharmaceutical preparation of the present application comprises a bacteriostatic agent at a low concentration distinct from any proposed by Mo, who discloses a specific pharmaceutical preparation in the form of a fat emulsion lacking a bacteriostatic agent in Example 21. Mo separately generically states that a pharmaceutical preparation may additionally include additives such as a bacteriostat in para. [0039], thus there is no suggestion that a bacteriostat could be introduced into a fat emulsion.
The Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123(I). Here, Mo discloses in para. [0036] that the pharmaceutical formulation is a fat emulsion, and in para. [0038] that the pharmaceutical formulation may further contain any one of or a mixture of antioxidants and antibacterials. Mo does not limit the inclusion of antioxidants and/or antibacterials to only aqueous formulations. Applicant appears to be relying on a narrow interpretation of the prior art (e.g., based on example 21) and thus the argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues adding a small amount of bacteriostats to a fat emulsion containing the active ingredient unexpected inhibited bacterial growth, as seen in Examples 3 and 4. Applicants also argue that adding such small amount of bacteriostat not only achieves bacteriostatic effects but also significantly improves the stability of the active ingredient as confirmed by Examples 3, 4, and 6. There is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art, including Mo, that a bacteriostat can improve the stability of the active ingredient in a fat emulsion.
The Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. "Prior art is not limited just to the references being applied, but includes the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art. The prior art reference (or references when combined) need not teach or suggest all the claim limitations." See MPEP § 2141(III). In this instance, the usage of antioxidants and antibacterials including disodium edetate in fat emulsions is explicitly disclosed by Mo. From there, the determination of appropriate weight percentages of known components for their known function would seem to reasonably constitute no more than routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Applicant has not provided objective evidence to establish that the inclusion of the claimed bacteriostat concentrations are in fact really unexpected and of statistical and practical significance. See MPEP § 716.02. As such, the argument is unpersuasive.
Double Patenting (Previous Rejection)
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-54 of U.S. Patent No. 10,729,666 in view of Jansson et al. (“Propofol EDTA and Reduced Incidence of Infection”, 06/2006) (hereinafter Jansson). The patented claims differ from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing one of the instantly claimed bacteriostats. However, Jansson teaches that a water insoluble drug, such as propofol, formulated in a lipid vehicle (a soybean oil lipid emulsion), to support the growth of microorganisms (summary; p.362 left column). In order to reduce the risk of such bacterial contamination, anti-microbial additive EDTA (disodium edetate) is incorporated into the propofol formulation. EDTA is a suitable antimicrobial additive due to its ability to suppress the growth of microorganisms without compromising clinical safety, efficacy, or the stability of the emulsion (p.362 right column last ¶ to p.363 left column ¶1). The EDTA may be included in a concentration of 0.005% (p.364, right column, ¶3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included an additive, such as EDTA, in a disclosed concentration, to suppress the growth of microorganisms without comprising safety, efficacy, or the stability of an active-containing lipid emulsion (i.e. fat emulsion) of the patented compositions, as taught by Jansson.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues claims 1-54 of the ‘666 patent do not provide any teaching, suggestion or motivation to provide a fat emulsion comprising a bacteriostat in a concentration range of 0.0005 w/v% - 0.005 w/v%. as recited in claim 1 as amended. Moreover, one of skill in the art would have no expectation of success in inhibiting bacterial growth using such a low bacteriostat concentration, nor would one of skill in the art have any expectation of chemically stabilizing the compound of formula (I) as demonstrated in the present application. Janssen fails to remedy the failure of the claims of ‘666 patent as it provides no inkling that the stability of the compound of formula (I) would be improved in the present formulation.
The Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. As this is a 103 obviousness rejection, no one piece of prior art is required to teach each and every claim limitation. The ‘666 patent discloses a fat emulsion comprising a compound of formula (I) as claimed and an antibacterial such as disodium edetate. Jansson, discussed in detail above, provides the motivation to include the disodium edetate at a claimed amount in fat emulsions, such as those of propofol, to inhibit bacterial growth. See MPEP 2141(III).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY M TIEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/FREDERICK F KRASS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1612