DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibata [DE 202020002216].
Regarding clam 1: Shibata discloses a handcart comprising: a prime mover (150, see fig 21); a first ground-contact part and a second ground-contact part (140, 142) that are configured to be driven by the prime mover; a clutch mechanism (206) configured to switch between a transmission state and a non- transmission state, wherein the transmission state is a state in which torque from the prime mover (150) is transmitted to the first ground-contact part and to the second ground-contact part (140, 142) and the non- transmission state is a state in which the torque from the prime mover (150) is not transmitted to the first ground-contact part nor to the second ground-contact part; a differential mechanism (208) configured to distribute the torque from the prime mover (150) to the first ground-contact part and the second ground-contact part (140, 142) and configured to switch between a non-locking state and a locking state, wherein the non-locking state is a state allowing a rotation difference to occur between the first ground-contact part (140) and the second ground-contact part (142) and the locking state is a state prohibiting the rotation difference from occurring between the first ground-contact part and the second ground-contact part (140, 142); a switching unit (216) configured to switch a state of the clutch mechanism (206) and a state of the differential mechanism; and an operation unit (40), wherein the switching unit (210) is configured to: in response to a user's first operation on the operation unit (40), switch the state of the clutch mechanism (206) between the transmission state and the non-transmission state without switching the state of the differential mechanism (208), and in response to a user's second operation on the operation unit (40), switch the state of the differential mechanism (208) between the non-locking state and the locking state without switching the state of the clutch mechanism (206).
Regarding clam 2: Shibata discloses wherein the state of the clutch mechanism and/or the state of the differential mechanism are/is switched by movement of the switching unit (210) along a first direction.
Regarding clam 3: Shibata discloses a handle (18) configured to be gripped by a user, wherein the operation unit (40) is disposed on the handle.
Regarding clam 4: Shibata discloses wherein the switching unit (216) comprises a position indicator configured to indicate a position of the switching unit relative to the clutch mechanism and the differential mechanism (68d, 68e).
Regarding clam 5: Shibata discloses a handcart comprising: a prime mover (150); a first ground-contact part and a second ground-contact part (140, 142) that are configured to be driven by the prime mover (150); a clutch mechanism (206) configured to switch between a transmission state and a non- transmission state, wherein the transmission state is a state in which torque from the prime mover is transmitted to the first ground-contact part and to the second ground-contact part (140, 142) and the non- transmission state is a state in which the torque from the prime mover is not transmitted to the first ground-contact part nor to the second ground-contact part (140, 142); a differential mechanism (208) configured to distribute the torque from the prime mover (150) to the first ground-contact part and the second ground-contact part (140, 142) and configured to switch between a non-locking state and a locking state, wherein the non-locking state is a state allowing a rotation difference to occur between the first ground-contact part and the second ground-contact part and the locking state is a state prohibiting the rotation difference from occurring between the first ground-contact part and the second ground-contact part (140, 142); a switching unit (216) configured to switch a state of the clutch mechanism (206) and a state of the differential mechanism; and an operation unit (40), wherein, the switching unit (216) is configured to move between a first position, a second position, and a third position in response to a user's operation on the operation unit (40), wherein when the switching unit (216) is at the first position, the differential mechanism (208) is in the non-locking state and the clutch mechanism is in the transmission state, when the switching unit is at the second position, the differential mechanism is in the non- locking state and the clutch mechanism is in the non-transmission state, and when the switching unit (216) is at the third position, the differential mechanism (208) is in the locking state and the clutch mechanism (206) is in the transmission state.
Regarding clam 6: Shibata discloses wherein the state of the clutch mechanism and/or the state of the differential mechanism are/is switched by movement of the switching unit (216) along a first direction.
Regarding clam 7: Shibata discloses further comprising a handle (18) configured to be gripped by a user, wherein the operation unit is disposed on the handle.
Regarding clam 8: Shibata discloses wherein the switching unit (216) comprises a position indicator configured to indicate a position of the switching unit relative to the clutch mechanism and the differential mechanism (68d, 68e).
Regarding clam 9: Shibata discloses a handcart comprising: a prime mover (105); a first ground-contact part and a second ground-contact part (140, 142) that are configured to be driven by the prime mover; a clutch mechanism (206) configured to switch between a transmission state and a non- transmission state, wherein the transmission state is a state in which torque from the prime mover (105) is transmitted to the first ground-contact part and to the second ground-contact part (140, 142) and the non- transmission state is a state in which the torque from the prime mover (105) is not transmitted to the first ground-contact part nor to the second ground-contact part; a differential mechanism (208) configured to distribute the torque from the prime mover (105) to the first ground-contact part and the second ground-contact part (140, 142) and configured to switch between a non-locking state and a locking state, wherein the non-locking state is a state allowing a rotation difference to occur between the first ground-contact part and the second ground-contact part (140, 142) and the locking state being a state prohibiting the rotation difference from occurring between the first ground-contact part and the second ground-contact part; a switching unit (216) configured to switch a state of the clutch mechanism and a state of the differential mechanism (208); and an operation unit (40), wherein the switching unit (216) is configured to: in response to a user's first operation on the operation unit, switch the state of the clutch mechanism (206) between the transmission state and the non-transmission state without switching the state of the differential mechanism (208), and in response to a user's second operation on the operation unit, switch the state of the differential mechanism between the non-locking state and the locking state without switching the state of the clutch mechanism, wherein the state of the clutch mechanism (206) and/or the state of the differential mechanism (208) are/is switched by movement of the sux itching unit along a first direction, wherein the handcart further comprises a handle configured to be gripped by a user, wherein the operation unit (40) is disposed on the handle (18), and wherein the switching unit comprises a position indicator (68d, 68e) configured to indicate a position of the switching unit relative to the clutch mechanism and the differential mechanism.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant argument Shibata fails to disclose “a switching unit configured to switch a state of the clutch mechanism and a state of the differential mechanism”
Figure 21 shows position of the switching unit (216) changes the state of the clutch mechanism (206) from engaging position and disengaging position and vice versa.
In response to applicant argument that Shibata failed to disclose “…the switching unit is configured to: in response to a user's first operation on the operation unit, switch the state of the clutch mechanism between the transmission state and the non-transmission state without switching the state of the differential mechanism…”
Shibata discloses the following “…When the clutch lever 210 the clutch mechanism 206 as in 21st is brought into the tilted state, the rod moves 214 and the voter 216 to the left, and the convex engagement portion 205a of the Claw coupling 205 moves away from the engaging concave portion 203a of the first gear 203. Even if the first gear is in this state 203 rotates, the second gear rotates 204 Not. The driving force of the motor shaft 198 is therefore not on the ring gear 208a of the differential mechanism 208 transfer. If there is one of the right drive shaft 160 and the left drive shaft 166 rotates, causes the differential mechanism 208 in this case that the other is from the right drive shaft 160 and the left drive shaft 166 rotates at the same speed in the opposite direction.”
“…When the clutch lever 210 the clutch mechanism 206 as in 22nd shown is raised, the bar will move 214 and the voter 216 to the right, and the convex engagement portion 205a the claw coupling 205 engages the concave engaging portion 203a of the first gear 203 a. When in this state the first gear 203 rotates, the second gear also rotates 204. The driving force of the motor shaft 198 is therefore via the intermediate shaft 202 on the ring gear 208a of the differential mechanism 208 transfer. In this case, the differential mechanism rotates 208 the right drive shaft 160 and the left drive shaft 166 corresponding to that on the ring gear 208a transmitted driving force…”
The differential shafts rotate regardless of the position of the switch unit (lever 216) state/ position and whether in clutch mechanism in engagement position or disengagement position.
In response to applicant argument that Shibata does not discloser “…in response to a user's second operation on the operation unit, switch the state of the differential mechanism between the non-locking state and the locking state without switching the state of the clutch mechanism.”
Shibata disclose the following “…By using the dead man's brake 154 the rotation of the motor shaft 198 is braked and thereby the rotation of the ring gear 208a is braked, the rotation of the right drive shaft is also 160 and the left drive shaft 166 braked…”.
The locking and non-locking state of the differential mechanism is controlled by the brake independent of the clutch mechanism.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAKARIA ELAHMADI/
Examiner, Art Unit 3618