The Examiner of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Supervisory Patent Examiner Julie Wu.
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 8, and 14-21 are pending and being examined on the merit.
Rejections - 35 USC § 103
All previous rejections of claims 6, 7, and 13 are moot in view of claim cancellation.
All previous rejections of claims 1, 8, and 13-15 under 35 USC 112a for lacking written description is withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
Previous rejection of claims 1, 8, and 14 under 35 USC 102a2 over Pinheiro et al. (WO2016153839) is withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
Previous rejection of claims 1, 8, and 14 under 35 USC 102a2 over Goodenow et al. (WO2017004092) is withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
Previous rejection of claims 1, 8, and 14 under 35 USC 102a2 over Ordentlich et al. (WO2017117196) is withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
Previous rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102a2 over Woods et al. (Cancer Research, 2014, 74:abstract 4090) is withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
Previous rejection of claims 1, 8, and 14 under 35 USC 103 over Pinheiro et al. (WO2016153839) in view of Appendix A, B and C is withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
Previous rejection of claims 1, 8, and 14 under 35 USC 103 over Pinheiro et al. (WO2016153839) in view of Dubinett (WO2016073759) and Feldman (US20160200815), and Murriel et al. (US20160176962) and Appendix A, B and C is withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
Previous rejection of claim 1 and 8 under 35 USC 103 over Woods et al. (Cancer Research, 2014, 74:abstract 4090) in view of Dubinett (WO2016073759) and Feldman (US20160200815), and Murriel et al. (US20160176962) and Appendix A, B and C is withdrawn in view of claim amendments.
New Rejections Necessitated by Claim Amendments/Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 14, and 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. (WO2016153839, of record) and Dong et al. (Cancer Chemother Pharmacol vol. 69 p. 1413 (2012), of record).
Pinheiro teaches a method of treating cancer comprised of administering a combination of PD-1 antagonists and HDAC inhibitor SAHA (vorinostat), wherein the cancer includes renal cell carcinoma (instant claim 20), melanoma (instant claim 18), NSCLC (instant claims 16 and 17), colorectal cancer, bladder cancer (instant claim 21), and urothelial cancer (instant claim19) (abstract, summary; para 0076; pages 32-33, points 1 and 20). Pinheiro teaches that the PD-1 antagonist inhibits the binding of PD-L1 to PD1 or PD-L1 to PD1 (para 0011). Regarding claim 8, Pinheiro teaches a method of treating cancer comprised of administering a PD-L1 antibody, including BMS-936559 or AMP-514, as the PD-1 antagonist in combination with vorinostat (para 00100; page 34, point 9, 10 and 12). Pinheiro teaches that administration of vorinostat and an anti-PD-1 antibody synergistically reduced tumor volume of colon cancer (example 1; figure 8), and renal cortical adenocarcinoma (example 2; figure 9). Regarding claim 14, Pinheiro further teaches that administration of the PD-1 antagonist and vorinostat is given following prior radiation therapy (para 00134).
Pinheiro does not teach that the method of treating NSCLC, melanoma, urothelial cancer, renal cell carcinoma, and bladder cancer comprised of administering an HDAC inhibitor of formula I and BMS-936559 or AMP-514.
Dong et al. teaches that chidamide (which has a structure which reads on applicant’s formula I) is a HDAC inhibitor that has enhanced metabolic stability when compared to other family of HDAC inhibitors (page 1415, left column, last paragraph). Dong et al. teaches a method of treating solid tumor comprised of administering chidamide (title, abstract, page 1417 and discussion). Dong et al. teaches that chidamide treatment of colorectal cancer, lung adenocarcinoma, and renal cell carcinoma resulted in stable disease (page 1418, left column, 2nd paragraph). Dong et al. teaches that chidamide is a promising candidate to sue in combination with other anti-cancer agents (page 1420, right column, last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the PD-1 antagonist and vorinostat in the method of treating cancer, including NSCLC, melanoma, urothelial cancer, and renal cell carcinoma, comprised of administering PD-1 antagonist and vorinostat of Pinheiro et al. with another PD-1 antagonist, BMS-9936559 or AMP-514 (PD-L1 antibody) of Pinheiro, and chidamide of Dong et al. Pinheiro et al. disclose that PD-L1 antibody, BMS-9936559 or AMP-514, is an PD-1 antagonist that can be administered with Vorinostat for treating cancer. Dong et al. teaches that chidamide is a stable HDAC inhibitor that is effective at treating a variety of solid tumors, and can be used with other anti-tumor agents. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have had a reasonable expectation of success for forming a method of treating a variety of cancers, including NSCLC, melanoma, urothelial cancer, and renal cell carcinoma, comprised of administering BMS-9936559 or AMP-514 and chidamide, because Pinheiro teaches that combining a PD-1 antagonist with an HDAC inhibitor resulted in synergistic inhibition of tumor growth and that BMS-9936559 or AMP-514 is also an PD-1 antagonist, and Dong et al. teaches that Dong et al. teaches that chidamide is a stable HDAC inhibitor that is effective at treating a variety of solid tumors, and can be used with other anti-tumor agents.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinheiro et al. (WO2016153839, of record) and Dong et al. (Cancer Chemother Pharmacol vol. 69 p. 1413 (2012), of record) as applied to claim 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Massari et a (Cancer Treatment Reviews, 2015, 41:114-121).
The teachings of Pinheiro et al. and Dong et al. are described above. Pinherio
The combined teachings of Pinheiro et al. and Dong et al. does not teach that the subject being treated was previously treated with a PD-1 inhibitor.
Massari et al. teaches that subjects with renal carcinoma are being treated with both anti-PD-1 antibody, MEDI0680, and Anti-PD-L1 antibody (MEDI4736 or AMP-514) (page 117, table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of treating renal carcinoma comprised of administering AMP-514 and chidamide of Pinheiro et al. and Dong et al. to include administering MDI0680 of Massari in order to aggressively treat renal carcinoma. The combined teachings of Pinheiro et al. and Dong et al. teaches a method of treating renal carcinoma comprised of administering AMP-514 and chidamide. Massari teaches that renal cell carcinoma can be treated with both anti-PD-1 antibody, MEDI0680, and anti-PD-L1 antibody (MEDI4736 or AMP-514). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have had a reasonable expectation of success for forming an aggressive method of treating renal cell carcinoma comprised of administering MEDI0680, AMP-514 and chidamide, because the combined teachings of Pinheiro et al. and Dong et al. teaches a method of treating renal carcinoma comprised of administering AMP-514 and chidamide; and Massari teaches that renal cell carcinoma can be treated with both anti-PD-1 antibody, MEDI0680, and AMP-514.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 14, and 16-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10385131B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The patented claims are directed to a method of treating cancer comprised of administering formula 1 (claims 1 and 7) and a PD-L1 antibody (claim 1), wherein the PD-L1 antibody is BMS-936559 (claim 6), and wherein the cancer that is being treated in the patented method is NSCLC, melanoma, urothelial cancer, renal cell carcinoma, or bladder cancer (claim 8). The patented claim is a species of the instant claimed method. A species anticipates a genus (MPEP 2131.02).
Claims 1, 8, 16, 17 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18421171 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The copending claims are directed to a method of treating cancer, including melanoma, renal cell carcinoma, NSCLC, comprised of administering chidamide (claim 8) and a PD-L1 antibody (claims 17 and 18), which is overlapping in scope with the instant claims 1, 16, 17 and 20.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 8, 14, and 16-21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11535670B2 in view of Pinheiro et al. (WO2016153839).
The patented claims are directed to a method of treating colorectal cancer comprised of administering formula 1 and a PD-L1 antibody (claim 1), wherein the PD-L1 antibody is BMS-936559 (claim 9).
The patented claimed method does not teach treating NSCLC, melanoma, urothelial cancer, renal cell carcinoma, or bladder cancer.
The teachings of Pinheiro et al. are described above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patented method of treating colon cancer comprised of administering BMS-9936559 and formula I to treat other types of cancer including, including NSCLC, melanoma, urothelial cancer, and renal cell carcinoma of Pinheiro et al. Pinheiro et al. disclose treating NSCLC, melanoma, urothelial cancer, and renal cell carcinoma with a PD-1 antagonist and Vorinostat. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have had a reasonable expectation of success for forming a method of treating a variety of cancers, including NSCLC, melanoma, urothelial cancer, and renal cell carcinoma, comprised of administering BMS-9936559 and formula, because the patented claims are directed to a method of treating colorectal cancer comprised of administering formular I and an anti-PD-L1 antibody, including BMS-9936559, and Pinheiro et al. teaches that NSCLC, melanoma, urothelial cancer, and renal cell carcinoma can be treated with a PD-1 antagonist with an HDAC inhibitor, vorinostat.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11535670B2 and Pinheiro et al. (WO2016153839) as applied to instant claim 1 above and further in view of Massari et a (Cancer Treatment Reviews, 2015, 41:114-121).
The modified patented claims of are described above.
The modified patented claims are not directed to further administering a PD-1 antibody. However, this deficiency is made up in Massari.
Massari et al. teaches that subjects with renal carcinoma are being treated with both anti-PD-1 antibody, MEDI0680, and Anti-PD-L1 antibody (MEDI4736 or AMP-514) (page 117, table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patented claimed method of treating renal carcinoma comprised of administering BMS-9936559 and formula I, to include administering the anti-PD-1 antibody, MEDI0680 of Massari in order to aggressively treat renal carcinoma. The modified patented method is directed to method of treating renal carcinoma comprised of administering BMS-9936559 and formula I, and Massari teaches that renal cell carcinoma can be treated with both PD-1 and PD-L1 antibodies. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have had a reasonable expectation of success for forming an aggressive method of treating renal cell carcinoma comprised of administering MEDI0680, AMP-514 and chidamide.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10385131B2 as applied to instant claim 1 above and further in view of Massari et a (Cancer Treatment Reviews, 2015, 41:114-121).
The modified patented claims of are described above.
The modified patented claims are not directed to further administering a PD-1 antibody. However, this deficiency is made up in Massari.
Massari et al. teaches that subjects with renal carcinoma are being treated with both anti-PD-1 antibody, MEDI0680, and Anti-PD-L1 antibody (MEDI4736 or AMP-514) (page 117, table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified patented claimed method of treating renal carcinoma comprised of administering BMS-9936559 and formula I, to include administering the anti-PD-1 antibody, MEDI0680 of Massari in order to aggressively treat renal carcinoma. The modified patented method is directed to method of treating renal carcinoma comprised of administering BMS-9936559 and formula I, and Massari teaches that renal cell carcinoma can be treated with both PD-1 and PD-L1 antibodies. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have had a reasonable expectation of success for forming an aggressive method of treating renal cell carcinoma comprised of administering MEDI0680, AMP-514 and chidamide.
Claims 14 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18421171 as applied to instant claim 1 above and further in view of Massari et a (Cancer Treatment Reviews, 2015, 41:114-121).
The copending claims of are described above.
The copending claims are not directed to further administering a PD-1 antibody. However, this deficiency is made up in Massari.
Massari et al. teaches that subjects with renal carcinoma are being treated with both anti-PD-1 antibody, MEDI0680, and Anti-PD-L1 antibody (MEDI4736 or AMP-514) (page 117, table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified copending claimed method of treating renal carcinoma comprised of administering BMS-9936559 and formula I, to include administering the anti-PD-1 antibody, MEDI0680 of Massari in order to aggressively treat renal carcinoma. The copending method is directed to method of treating renal carcinoma comprised of administering BMS-9936559 and formula I, and Massari teaches that renal cell carcinoma can be treated with both PD-1 and PD-L1 antibodies. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have had a reasonable expectation of success for forming an aggressive method of treating renal cell carcinoma comprised of administering MEDI0680, AMP-514 and chidamide.
Claims 18 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18421171 as applied to instant claim 1, and further in view of Pinheiro et al. (WO2016153839).
The copending claimed method is described above.
The copending claimed method does not teach treating urothelial cancer, or renal cell carcinoma.
The teachings of Pinheiro et al. are described above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending method of treating cancer comprised of administering BMS-9936559 and formula I to treat other types of cancer, including urothelial cancer, and renal cell carcinoma of Pinheiro et al. Pinheiro et al. disclose treating urothelial cancer, and renal cell carcinoma with a PD-1 antagonist and Vorinostat. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have had a reasonable expectation of success for forming a method of treating a variety of cancers, including urothelial cancer, and renal cell carcinoma, comprised of administering BMS-9936559 and formula I, because the patented claims are directed to a method of treating different types of solid cancer comprised of administering formular I and an anti-PD-L1 antibody, including BMS-9936559, and Pinheiro et al. teaches that urothelial cancer, and renal cell carcinoma can be treated with a PD-1 antagonist with an HDAC inhibitor, vorinostat.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643