DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action on the merits addressing the response provided 22 October 2025.
Claims 1 and 4-10 are pending and examined.
Claims 2 and 3 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement dated 22 October 2025, is entered.
Response to Arguments
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/arguments dated 22 October 2025. Applicant’s courtesies were appreciated.
Claim rejection – 35 USC 112 (response: page 4) -
Applicant’s amendment to the claims overcome the rejection previously raised under this heading and the rejection is withdrawn. New rejections arise in light of the amendments made, which are addressed below.
Claim rejections – 35 USC 102/103 (response: beginning page 4) -
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection. Applicant’s arguments are directed to the claims as amended, which the examiner addresses accordingly below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pylon form”, “polymer blend cradle extending through the passage of the pylon form”, and any language relating to the pylon form with respect to the bridge must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim rejections – 35 USC 112(a):
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The language “the polymer blend cradle extending through the passage of the pylon form” (claim 1, line 3) does not appear in the disclosure as originally filed. As a result, the examiner considers this language new matter.
Claim rejections – 35 USC 112(b):
Claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1: the language directed to the form and relationship of the form with the pylon and cradle are indefinite, as it is unclear how the cradle extends through the passage of the pylon form. The disclosure does not clearly state whether the form is removed after curing of the concrete or whether the form remains with the pylon. Therefore, it is unclear what the result is by having the cradle extend through the passage of the pylon. As claimed, if the form is removed, the ends of the cradle would extend beyond the face of the pylon, and if the form remains, it is unclear if there is any connection or other connecting relationship between the cradle and form. As a result, this language is considered indefinite.
Those claims listed under this heading but not directly addressed are rejected as being dependent from a rejected claim, either directly or indirectly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fei, et al. (CN 102912727 A), hereafter “Fei” and equivalent, as evidenced by, or in view of Figg, Jr. et al. (U.S. Publication 2003/0182739 A1), hereafter Figg Jr., and in view of Kitzmiller (U.S. Patent 4,953,280), hereafter “Kitzmiller” and Erdogan (U.S Publication 2020/0263355 A1), hereafter “Erdogan”.
Below is a substantial reproduction of applicant’s claims with the examiner’s comments in bold italics.
Claim 1: Fei discloses A cable-stayed bridge comprising:
a pylon (Fei: paragraph [0005] notes a bridge tower, which is the pylon, is incorporated; as evidenced by Figg. Jr., Fig. 2: 24), the pylon including a passage formed therethrough (portion of pylon receiving saddle of Fei: 3; see Figg, Jr., Fig. 1, generally);
a polymer blend cradle (Fei, paragraph [0010]) notes the cradle is plastic, which is a polymer) extending through the passage of the pylon (Figg, Jr.,: Fig. 1: 1 as serving as evidence); a deck (as evidenced by Figg, Jr.,: Fig. 2: 25); and
a cable stay (threaded through saddle), the cable stay coupled to the deck at each end of the cable stay (as evidenced by Figg Jr., Fig. 2) and passing through the passage through the pylon the polymer blend cradle (as shown in Fei and as evidenced in Figg, Jr.);
Should there be disagreement between the evidence of Figg, Jr. with respect to the teaching in Fei, the examiner takes the position that it would have been obvious at the time of filing to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the pylon with configuration in Figg, Jr. with the system in Fei, as the purpose of Fei is to be used in the manner as taught in Figg, Jr..
Fei further does not teach the pylon is formed from concrete, however, Figg, Jr. shows wherein a pylon is formed from concrete (compare cross hatch of 24 to the common cross hatches of MPEP 608.02.) Further, Kitzmiller is used as a generic teaching of using forms for forming post-tensioned concrete members (see, Fig. 3, generally). Further see where apertures (76) are used for passing the tendons through (see Col. 9, lines 44-49). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the concrete poured and cast around the polymer blend cradle positioned within the passage of the pylon form as the purpose of the forms in Kitzmiller serve as a generic teaching for noting how post-tensioned concrete members are made, which would include members as provided in Fei and Figg, Jr.. The result of the obvious modification of the prior art would have the pylon form with the pylon form including a passage formed through (as rendered obvious by Kitzmiller: 76), and the cradle would extend through the pylon form and the cable would pass through the passage through the pylon through the cradle as an obvious configuration at the time of filing to ensure the system is formed in the correct manner by aiding in keeping the tendon in alignment as needed.
Last, Fei in view of Figg, Jr, and Kitzmiller do not provide wherein the polymer blend cradle comprises a blend of polyethylene, high-density polyethylene, polypropylene, high-stiffness grades of polypropylene, and nylon, thought Fei is clear the member is plastic. Erdogan teaches a similar protection system for a similar cable that includes polyethylene (paragraph [0075]) among other materials, which would be a blend as best understood, that can be fiber-filled with carbon fiber (paragraph [0121]). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed materials because simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way is not considered a patentable advance. See MPEP 2143 citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). One having ordinary skill in the art would use the claimed materials to provide the desired strength and durability of the saddle system and to provide the desired protection for the cables.
Claims 4 and 5: The obvious modification of the prior art provides The cable-stayed bridge of claim 1, except wherein the polymer blend cradle further comprises glass, fiber, mineral beads, or sand (claim 4) or wherein the polymer blend cradle further comprises carbon fiber (claim 5). Erdogan teaches a similar protection system for a similar cable that includes polyethylene (paragraph [0075]) among other materials, which would be a blend as best understood, that can be fiber-filled with carbon fiber (paragraph [0121]). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed materials because simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results and use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way is not considered a patentable advance. See MPEP 2143 citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). One having ordinary skill in the art would use the claimed materials to provide the desired strength and durability of the saddle system and to provide the desired protection for the cables.
Claim 6: The obvious modification of the prior art provides The cable-stayed bridge of claim 1, wherein the polymer blend cradle is arcuate in profile (Fei: Fig. 1).
Claim 7: The obvious modification of the prior art provides The cable-stayed bridge of claim 1, wherein the polymer blend cradle is circular in cross-section (Fei: Figs 4 and 5, the outside perimeter is circular in shape).
Claims 8 - 10: Fei discloses The cable-stayed bridge of claim 1, except wherein the cross-section of the polymer blend cradle includes a V-shaped section (claim 8, though as shown in Fig. 5, interior space containing 8 is proximate a “V” shape), wherein the cross-section of the polymer blend cradle includes a circular upper portion which is open at the bottom into a downwardly extending slot (claim 9, though as shown in Fig. 5 upper section appears to be circular, and the bottom section can be interpreted as a slot using the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of applicant’s specification), or wherein the polymer blend cradle includes an upper circular path and a lower circular path, the upper and lower circular paths intersecting, the lower circular path having a diameter smaller than the diameter of the upper circular path (claim 10, though as shown in Fig. 5, interior space has an uppermost boundary that is circular and a lowermost boundary that is circular, and the lowermost boundary is smaller than the uppermost boundary). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to a person having ordinary skill in the art as a matter of design choice to have this limitation because a configuration of an invention is a matter of choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP §2144.04. One having ordinary skill in the art would have one of the claimed shapes in order to ensure proper placement of the cables to ensure the proper load is applied and distributed in accordance with structural engineering.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM V GILBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993