DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the scope of the claims is unclear with the recitation of the term “correspond”. In particular, it is not clear how the accommodating spaces correspond because there is no technical definition for such a term. The metes and bounds of the claim are not properly defined and thus the recitation renders the scope of the claims unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2021/0139215 to Gilligan et al. (Gilligan).
Regarding claim 1, Gilligan discloses a beverage container packing assembly (Fig 1) comprising a bottom tray (200), comprising one or more first support columns (204) and defining a plurality of first compartments (202), wherein each of the first compartments are configured to receive a first portion of a beverage container therein, a center support (106), defining a plurality of through holes and configured to accommodate a thermo pack (abstract) in a first thermo pack accommodating space (between a first row and second row, abstract), wherein each of the plurality of through holes is configured to receive a second portion of a beverage container (abstract), a top tray (104, 1400) defining a plurality of second compartments (1406), wherein each of the second compartments are configured to receive a third portion of a beverage container therein, wherein the top tray is configured to accommodate the thermo pack between a first row of second compartments and a second row of second compartments (abstract) since it has the structure as recited, wherein the top tray (1400) includes at least one second thermo pack accommodating space (A, Fig 14 below) comprising a plurality of vertical posts (1402, 1404) forming a boundary of the second thermo pack accommodating space. In particular, Gilligan discloses space between vertical posts that can serve as accommodating space. Furthermore, the first and second thermos pack accommodating space correspond in one or more of size, location, and orientation in that both accommodating spaces are located within the outer perimeter of the top tray and center support and oriented upwards.
Regarding claim 2, Gilligan discloses top tray configured to accommodate the thermo pack such that the pack extends between a plurality of beverage containers installed in the first row and plurality of beverage containers installed in second row (abstract) since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 3, Gilligan further discloses both thermo pack accommodating space comprising a surface to accommodate thermo pack (Fig 14).
Regarding claim 4, Gilligan further discloses top tray comprising the second thermo pack accommodating space that can house a thermo pack between first and second row of second compartments (Fig 14).
Regarding claim 6, Gilligan further discloses the plurality of vertical posts (1402, 1404) configured to contact thermo pack since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Gilligan further discloses plurality of vertical posts capable of contacting a thermo pack as recited since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 8, Gilligan further discloses a thermo pack capable of being installed in the accommodating space as recited since Gilligan discloses the top tray having the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 9, Gilligan further discloses packing assembly configured so that bottom tray (200), center support (106), and top tray (104) are configured to be disposed in a shipping container (€0009).
Regarding claim 10, Gilligan further discloses the bottom tray (200), center support (106), top tray (104) capable of extending to inner surface of the shipping container (Figs 21-22) since it has structure as recited.
Regarding claim 11, Gilligan further discloses bottom tray (200), center support (106), top tray (104) comprise molded paper pulp (€0010).
Regarding claim 12, Gilligan further discloses bottom tray (200), center support (106), top tray (104) comprise a water-resistant coating (€0010).
Regarding claim 13, Gilligan further discloses center support (106) defines a through hole corresponding to first compartments (202) (abstract).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2019/0100347 to Carrier et al. (Carrier).
Regarding claim 1, Carrier discloses a beverage container packing assembly (Fig 1) comprising a bottom tray (100), comprising one or more first support columns (140) and defining a plurality of first compartments (110), wherein each of the first compartments are configured to receive a first portion of a beverage container therein, a center support (200), defining a plurality of through holes (210) and configured to accommodate a thermo pack in a first thermos pack accommodating space (at 230), wherein each of the plurality of through holes (210) is configured to receive a second portion of a beverage container (400, Fig 8), a top tray (300) defining a plurality of second compartments (310), wherein each of the second compartments are configured to receive a third portion of a beverage container (400) therein (Fig 8), wherein the top tray (300) is configured to accommodate the thermo pack between a first row of second compartments and a second row of second compartments (Figs 8-9) since it has the structure as recited, wherein the top tray (300) includes at least one thermo pack accommodating space (A, Fig 10 below) comprising a plurality of vertical posts (B) forming a boundary of the thermo pack accommodating space. In particular, Carrier discloses space between vertical posts that can serve as accommodating space. Furthermore, the first and second thermos pack accommodating space correspond in one or more of size, location, and orientation in that both accommodating spaces are located within the outer perimeter of the top tray and center support and oriented upwards.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2012/0037529 to Hall.
Regarding claim 1, Hall discloses a beverage container packing assembly (Fig 1) comprising a bottom tray (102), comprising one or more first support columns (130) and defining a plurality of first compartments (116), wherein each of the first compartments (116) are configured to receive a first portion of a beverage container therein, a center support (106), defining a plurality of through holes (114) and configured to accommodate a thermo pack in a first thermopack accommodating space (114 center), wherein each of the plurality of through holes is configured to receive a second portion of a beverage container (108, Fig 3), a top tray (104) defining a plurality of second compartments (158), wherein each of the second compartments are configured to receive a third portion of a beverage container (108) therein (Fig 1), wherein the top tray (104) is configured to accommodate the thermo pack between a first row of second compartments and a second row of second compartments (Fig 1) since it has the structure as recited, wherein the top tray (104) includes at least one thermo pack accommodating space (A, Fig 7 below) comprising a plurality of vertical posts (170) forming a boundary of the thermo pack accommodating space. In particular, Hall discloses space between vertical posts that can serve as accommodating space. Furthermore, the first and second thermos pack accommodating space correspond in one or more of size, location, and orientation in that both accommodating spaces are located within the outer perimeter of the top tray and center support and oriented upwards.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, it is noted that applicant does not argue the rejection of the dependent claims. Applicant argues that prior art does not teach the first accommodating space and second accommodating space correspond in one or more of size, location and orientation. This is not persuasive because both spaces are located within the perimeter of the center support and top tray respectively and thus correspond to each other.
Conclusion
/ROBERT POON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735