DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 5, 11, 15, and 21 have been amended, and Claims 6, 9, 10, 12, 16, 19, 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, 13-15, 17, 18, and 21 are pending and prosecuted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mu et al., US Patent Publication 2012/0320385, in further view of Brosnan et al., US Patent Publication 2010/0302208, and in further view of Han, US Patent Publication 2017/0336910, and in further view of He et al., US Patent Publication 2021/0318782, henceforth known as He, and in further view of Lin et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0026534, henceforth known as Lin, in further view of Han et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0197288, henceforth known as Han ‘288.
Regarding Claim 1, Mu discloses a signal integration system (Abstract; An optical navigation module with capacitive sensor), comprising:
an optical finger navigation (OFN) device, configured to sense images of a finger to generate OFN sensing data (Figure 1; [0020-0021]; an optical finger navigation module 102 for sensing relative movement of a tracking surface 104); and
a capacitive touch control circuit configured to receive touch sensing data from the capacitive touch sensor (Figure 1C; [0024]; a capacitive sensor array 138 is connected to a capacitive sensor control circuitry 132, that is used for receiving touch sensing data, that can be imbedded in an IC 112 or in the controller 132 of the OFN module 102).
However, Mu doesn’t explicitly disclose a capacitive touch control circuit, configured to receive the OFN sensing data, configured to generate first control signals for a capacitive touch sensor, and configured to receive touch sensing data from the capacitive touch sensor;
wherein the capacitive touch control circuit integrates the OFN sensing data and a touch sensing result corresponding to the touch sensing data to output integrated data;
wherein the OFN device is a fingerprint sensing device and is configured to encrypt the fingerprint to generate an encrypted fingerprint,
wherein the capacitive touch control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint.
Brosnan et al., US Patent Publication 2010/0302208, teaches wherein an optical finger navigation device can be operated in a optical navigation mode and a fingerprint imaging mode ([0039]).
It would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Mu to further include the teachings of Brosnan in order to provide wherein the optical finger navigation module is used for both fingerprint sensing and for optical navigation. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Brosnan teaches an optical finger navigation device can be operated in a optical navigation mode and a fingerprint imaging mode (Brosnan: [0039]).
However, Mu and Brosnan doesn’t explicitly teach a capacitive touch control circuit, configured to receive the OFN sensing data, configured to generate first control signals for a capacitive touch sensor, and configured to receive touch sensing data from the capacitive touch sensor;
wherein the capacitive touch control circuit integrates the OFN sensing data and a touch sensing result corresponding to the touch sensing data to output integrated data,
wherein the OFN device is configured to encrypt the fingerprint to generate an encrypted fingerprint,
wherein the capacitive touch control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint.
Han, US Patent Publication 2017/0336910, teaches the use of a read-out IC that is used to control a fingerprint/touch sensor, by providing both fingerprint driving signals and a plurality of touch driving signals, and receives touch signals and fingerprint signals that have been sensed. The read-out IC integrated the touch sensing signals and the fingerprint sensing signals and converts the integrated analog signals into digital signals and outputs the digital signals to a fingerprint/touch controller FTC that can recognized a touch point and recognize a registered fingerprint ([0022-0026]; [0064];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date the of claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Mu and Brosnan to further include the teachings of Han in order to provide a capacitive touch control circuit, configured to receive the OFN sensing data, configured to generate first control signals for a capacitive touch sensor, and configured to receive touch sensing data from the capacitive touch sensor; wherein the capacitive touch control circuit integrates the OFN sensing data and a touch sensing result corresponding to the touch sensing data to output integrated data. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Han teaches the use of a read-out IC that is connected to both a fingerprint and capacitive touch sensor, integrated the signals from these sensors, and outputs them to an FTC that can recognize a touch point and registered fingerprint (Han: [0064];).
However, the combination of Mu, Brosnan, and Han doesn’t explicitly teach the capacitive control circuit configured to generate first control signals for a capacitive touch sensor,
wherein the OFN device is configured to encrypt the fingerprint to generate an encrypted fingerprint,
wherein the capacitive touch control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint.
He et al., US Patent Publication 2021/0318782, teaches an apparatus with fingerprint recognition and touch detection. Where apparatus 100 is operated in a fingerprint sensing mode so as to recognize a fingerprint of a user, thereby determining authentication of the user. Then, in step 1200 of the method 1000, the apparatus 100 determines whether authentication of the user is passed. When the authentication of the user is passed, the step 1300 is performed. When the authentication of the user is failed, the step 1200 is performed again to recognize the fingerprint of a user. In step 1300 of the method 1000, the apparatus 100 is operated in the touch sensing mode so as to recognize the touch event, such that the apparatus 100 performs cursor control by recognizing the touch event (Figure 3; [0048-0049];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Mu, Brosnan, and Han to further include the teachings of He such that the optical finger navigation module detects a fingerprint to authenticate a user and, in response to the authentication, controls the operation of the touch sensing to recognize a touch event in order to provide the capacitive control circuit configured to generate first control signals for a capacitive touch sensor. The motivation to combine these arts is because He teaches wherein authentication of a user through fingerprint sensing is needed in order to operate in a touch sensing mode (He: [0048-0049];).
However, the combination of Mu, Brosnan, Han, and He doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the OFN device is configured to encrypt the fingerprint to generate an encrypted fingerprint,
wherein the capacitive touch control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint.
Lin et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0026534, teaches a fingerprint sensing device that can be an optical fingerprint sensing device includes an encryption unit that is utilized for encrypting fingerprint data that is detected by the fingerprint sensing device to generate encrypted data and transmitting it (Figure 2; [0012];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Mu, Brosnan, Han, and He to further include the teachings of Lin in order to provide wherein the OFN device is configured to encrypt the fingerprint to generate an encrypted fingerprint. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is provide encrypted fingerprint data to be prevent it from being stolen (Lin: [0003];).
However, the combination of Mu, Brosnan, Han, He, and Lin doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the capacitive touch control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint.
Han et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0197288 discloses a sensor 105 used for encrypted fingerprint data that it detects and provides it to an application processor 120. However, application processor 120 is unable to decrypt the fingerprint data, so the application processor 120 provides the encrypted fingerprint data to a secure enclave processor 122, which decrypts the fingerprint data and searches for a match in a template library 214 (Figure 1; [0031]; [0034-0035];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions, to modify the combinational disclosure of Mu, Brosnan, Han, He, and Lin to further include the teachings of Han in order to provide wherein the capacitive touch control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint. The motivation to combine these arts is to utilize an a secure enclave processor that is used for decrypting fingerprint data to determine a fingerprint match (Han: [0034-0035];)
Regarding Claim 21, Mu discloses a capacitive touch control device (Abstract; An optical navigation module with capacitive sensor), comprising:
a capacitive touch sensor (Figure 1C; [0024]; a capacitive sensor array 138)
an optical finger navigation (OFN) device, configured to sense images of a finger to generate OFN sensing data (Figure 1; [0020-0021]; an optical finger navigation module 102 for sensing relative movement of a tracking surface 104); and
a control circuit configured to receive touch sensing data from the capacitive touch sensor (Figure 1C; [0024]; a capacitive sensor array 138 is connected to a capacitive sensor control circuitry 132, that is used for receiving touch sensing data, that can be imbedded in an IC 112 or in the controller 132 of the OFN module 102).
However, Mu doesn’t explicitly disclose a control circuit, configured to receive the OFN sensing data, configured to generate first control signals for the capacitive touch sensor, and configured to receive touch sensing data from the capacitive touch sensor;
wherein the control circuit integrates the OFN sensing data and a touch sensing result corresponding to the touch sensing data to output integrated data;
wherein the OFN device is a fingerprint sensing device configured to encrypt the fingerprint to generate an encrypted fingerprint,
wherein the control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint.
Brosnan et al., US Patent Publication 2010/0302208, teaches wherein an optical finger navigation device can be operated in a optical navigation mode and a fingerprint imaging mode ([0039]).
It would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the disclosure of Mu to further include the teachings of Brosnan in order to provide wherein the optical finger navigation module is used for both fingerprint sensing and for optical navigation. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Brosnan teaches an optical finger navigation device can be operated in a optical navigation mode and a fingerprint imaging mode (Brosnan: [0039]).
However, Mu and Brosnan doesn’t explicitly teach a control circuit, configured to receive the OFN sensing data, configured to generate first control signals for the capacitive touch sensor, and configured to receive touch sensing data from the capacitive touch sensor;
wherein the control circuit integrates the OFN sensing data and a touch sensing result corresponding to the touch sensing data to output integrated data,
wherein the OFN device is a fingerprint sensing device configured to encrypt the fingerprint to generate an encrypted fingerprint,
wherein the control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint.
Han, US Patent Publication 2017/0336910, teaches the use of a read-out IC that is used to control a fingerprint/touch sensor, by providing both fingerprint driving signals and a plurality of touch driving signals, and receives touch signals and fingerprint signals that have been sensed. The read-out IC integrated the touch sensing signals and the fingerprint sensing signals and converts the integrated analog signals into digital signals and outputs the digital signals to a fingerprint/touch controller FTC that can recognized a touch point and recognize a registered fingerprint ([0022-0026]; [0064];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date the of claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Mu and Brosnan to further include the teachings of Han in order to provide a control circuit, configured to receive the OFN sensing data, configured to generate first control signals for the capacitive touch sensor, and configured to receive touch sensing data from the capacitive touch sensor; wherein the control circuit integrates the OFN sensing data and a touch sensing result corresponding to the touch sensing data to output integrated data. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Han teaches the use of a read-out IC that is connected to both a fingerprint and capacitive touch sensor, integrated the signals from these sensors, and outputs them to an FTC that can recognize a touch point and registered fingerprint (Han: [0064];).
However, the combination of Mu, Brosnan, and Han doesn’t explicitly teach the control circuit configured to generate first control signals for the capacitive touch sensor,
wherein the OFN device is a fingerprint sensing device configured to encrypt the fingerprint to generate an encrypted fingerprint,
wherein the control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint.
He et al., US Patent Publication 2021/0318782, teaches an apparatus with fingerprint recognition and touch detection. Where apparatus 100 is operated in a fingerprint sensing mode so as to recognize a fingerprint of a user, thereby determining authentication of the user. Then, in step 1200 of the method 1000, the apparatus 100 determines whether authentication of the user is passed. When the authentication of the user is passed, the step 1300 is performed. When the authentication of the user is failed, the step 1200 is performed again to recognize the fingerprint of a user. In step 1300 of the method 1000, the apparatus 100 is operated in the touch sensing mode so as to recognize the touch event, such that the apparatus 100 performs cursor control by recognizing the touch event (Figure 3; [0048-0049];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Mu, Brosnan, and Han to further include the teachings of He such that the optical finger navigation module detects a fingerprint to authenticate a user and, in response to the authentication, controls the operation of the touch sensing to recognize a touch event in order to provide the capacitive control circuit configured to generate first control signals for the capacitive touch sensor. The motivation to combine these arts is because He teaches wherein authentication of a user through fingerprint sensing is needed in order to operate in a touch sensing mode (He: [0048-0049];).
However, the combination of Mu, Brosnan, Han, and He doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the OFN device is a fingerprint sensing device configured to encrypt the fingerprint to generate an encrypted fingerprint,
wherein the control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint.
Lin et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0026534, teaches a fingerprint sensing device that can be an optical fingerprint sensing device includes an encryption unit that is utilized for encrypting fingerprint data that is detected by the fingerprint sensing device to generate encrypted data and transmitting it (Figure 2; [0012];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Mu, Brosnan, Han, and He to further include the teachings of Lin in order to provide wherein the OFN device is configured to encrypt the fingerprint to generate an encrypted fingerprint. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is provide encrypted fingerprint data to be prevent it from being stolen (Lin: [0003];).
However, the combination of Mu, Brosnan, Han, He, and Lin doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint.
Han et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0197288 discloses a sensor 105 used for encrypted fingerprint data that it detects and provides it to an application processor 120. However, application processor 120 is unable to decrypt the fingerprint data, so the application processor 120 provides the encrypted fingerprint data to a secure enclave processor 122, which decrypts the fingerprint data and searches for a match in a template library 214 (Figure 1; [0031]; [0034-0035];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions, to modify the combinational disclosure of Mu, Brosnan, Han, He, and Lin to further include the teachings of Han in order to provide wherein the control circuit is connected to an auxiliary control circuit which decrypts the encrypted fingerprint. The motivation to combine these arts is to utilize an a secure enclave processor that is used for decrypting fingerprint data to determine a fingerprint match (Han: [0034-0035];)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mu et al., US Patent Publication 2012/0320385, in further view of Brosnan et al., US Patent Publication 2010/0302208, and in further view of Han, US Patent Publication 2017/0336910, and in further view of He et al., US Patent Publication 2021/0318782, henceforth known as He, and in further view of Lin et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0026534, henceforth known as Lin, in further view of Han et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0197288, henceforth known as Han ‘288, and in further view of Frame et al., US Patent Publication 2016/0117048, henceforth known as Frame.
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Mu, Brosnan, Han, He, Lin, and Han ‘288 doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the signal integration system is in a conveyance, wherein the capacitive touch control circuit is connected to other electronic devices of the conveyance via a first communication interface.
Frame et al., US Patent Publication 2016/0117048, discloses the use of a OFN system with capacitive sensing, that requires support for a communication interface 150, and that is used as part of a control console of a vehicle that needs to communicate with a higher level control system, which in turn controls other functions ([0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Mu, Brosnan, Han, He, Lin, and Han ‘288 to further include the teachings of Frame in order to provide wherein the signal integration system is in a conveyance, wherein the capacitive touch control circuit is connected to other electronic devices of the conveyance via a first communication interface. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Frame teaches than an OFN system can be used as part of a control console of a vehicle (Frame: [0023];)
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mu et al., US Patent Publication 2012/0320385, in further view of Brosnan et al., US Patent Publication 2010/0302208, and in further view of Han, US Patent Publication 2017/0336910, and in further view of He et al., US Patent Publication 2021/0318782, henceforth known as He, and in further view of Lin et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0026534, henceforth known as Lin, in further view of Han et al., US Patent Publication 2019/0197288, henceforth known as Han ‘288,in view of Frame et al., US Patent Publication 2016/0117048, henceforth known as Frame, in further view of Duenninger et al., US Patent Publication 2015/0371794, henceforth known a Duenninger.
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Mu, Brosnan, Han, He, Lin, and Han ‘288 doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the signal integration system is provided in a steering wheel of a conveyance.
Frame et al., US Patent Publication 2016/0117048, discloses the use of a OFN system with capacitive sensing, that requires support for a communication interface 150, and that is used as part of a control console of a vehicle that needs to communicate with a higher level control system, which in turn controls other functions ([0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure of Mu, Brosnan, Han, He, Lin, and Han ‘288 to further include the teachings of Frame. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Frame teaches than an OFN system can be used as part of a control console of a vehicle (Frame: [0023];)
However, the combination of Mu, Brosnan, Han, He, Lin, Han ‘288, and Frame doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the signal integration system is provided in a steering wheel of a conveyance.
Duenninger et al., US Patent Publication 2015/0371794, teaches an optical finger navigation module (OFN) can be integrated as a sensor for the detection of finger movements in the switch block of a motor vehicle steering wheel ([0003];).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combinational disclosure Mu, Brosnan, Han, He, Lin, Han ‘288, and Frame to further include the teachings of Duenninger in order to provide wherein the signal integration system is provided in a steering wheel of a conveyance. The motivation to combine these analogous arts is because Duenninger teaches that an optical finger navigation module can be integrated in a motor vehicle steering wheel (Duenninger: [0003];).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11, 13-15, 17 and 18 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, 13-15, 17, 18, and 21 have been fully considered, but they are directed to claims as amended, and therefore are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F MARINELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699