DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202211210477.3, filed on 09/30/2022.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation "FIG." must not appear (See MPEP 1.84(u)). Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Additionally, please change all references to “FIG. 1” in the specification to recite “the Figure”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Characters L1 and L2 are divalent organic moieties, however, in the instant claim, they are referred to by their monovalent analogues. In the art of organic chemistry, divalent phenyl is referred to as phenylene and divalent biphenyl is referred to as biphenylene.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 4-5 and 19-20, they comprise the proviso that a position analogous to L1 and L2 of parent formula (I) may be absent when m or n is 0, which is outside the scope of the parent claim which requires that L1 and L2 are always present.
In continuing examination, when are m or n are 0, it will be interpreted as L1 or L2 being present in the form of a single bond.
Claims 4-5 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With respect to claims 4-5 and 19-20, they comprise the proviso that a position analogous to L1 and L2 of parent formula (I) may be absent when m or n is 0, which is outside the scope of the parent claim which requires that L1 and L2 are always present.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (WO 2018/095384 A1, using the provided translation for references).
With respect to claims 1 and 2, Pan discloses the compound below (paragraph 0087).
This compound is derived from Pan Formula (V-3) (paragraph 0023), which is pictured below.
Pan also teaches that R545 is a heteroaromatic ring system (paragraph 0078), such as dibenzofuran (paragraph 0056).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of instant formula (I) when Q is represented by either of (A-1) or (A-2), X is oxygen, R1, R2 and R3 are all hydrogen atoms, and L1 and L2 are both a phenylene group.
Pan includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Pan being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a dibenzofuran substituent from the finite list of possible substituents and arrive at a compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a deuterated fused-ring compound which can be used as a host material to prepare organic electroluminescent devices with blue light emission which, when compared with non-deuterated fused-ring compounds, have longer device lifetime (paragraph 0035), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 3, Pan teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Pan also teaches that the heteroaromatic ring system can be deuterated (paragraph 0078, see also the compounds in paragraph 0086).
Pan includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Pan being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a deuterated dibenzofuran substituent from the finite list of possible substituents and arrive at a compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a deuterated fused-ring compound which can be used as a host material to prepare organic electroluminescent devices with blue light emission which, when compared with non-deuterated fused-ring compounds, have longer device lifetime (paragraph 0035), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 4, Pan teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound has the structure of either Formula (II-1) or (II-2) because the bonding position of the dibenzofuran is not specified, and m and n are both 1.
With respect to claim 5, Pan teaches the compound of claim 4, and Pan also teaches that L can be a single bond (paragraph 0079).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when R1 or R3 are hydrogen atoms and m+n is 1.
Pan includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Pan being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a single bond from the finite list of possible linking groups and arrive at a compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a deuterated fused-ring compound which can be used as a host material to prepare organic electroluminescent devices with blue light emission which, when compared with non-deuterated fused-ring compounds, have longer device lifetime (paragraph 0035), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 6, Pan teaches the compound of claim 1 and Q is represented by either of (B-1) or (B-3), as discussed above.
With respect to claims 7, 8, and 9 Pan teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Pan also teaches that the heteroaromatic ring system can be deuterated (paragraph 0078, see also the compounds in paragraph 0086).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of any of instant (B-5), (B-7), (B-24), (B-26), (B-44), and (B-46).
Pan includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Pan being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a deuterated dibenzofuran substituent from the finite list of possible substituents and arrive at a compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a deuterated fused-ring compound which can be used as a host material to prepare organic electroluminescent devices with blue light emission which, when compared with non-deuterated fused-ring compounds, have longer device lifetime (paragraph 0035), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 10, Pan teaches the compound of claim 1, and each of L1 and L2 is p-phenylene (C-1), as pictured above.
With respect to claim 11, Pan teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound may be represented by at least the structure below (page 71, row 3, column 1 of the instant claims).
With respect to claims 12, 13, and 14, Pan teaches the compound of claim 1, and Pan also teaches a mixture comprising the deuterated fused-ring compound and a second organic functional material, such as a singlet emitter (a singlet emitter, paragraph 0091), and examples of singlet emitter include the diamine compound below (paragraph 0133-0134).
This compound meets the requirements of instant Formula (III-1) when Ar1 is represented by (D-2), and Ar2 through Ar5 are an aromatic group containing 6 ring atoms (phenyl). In Formula (D-2), R6 through R9 are a C1 alkyl (methyl) group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a mixture of the singlet light emitting guest material of Pan and the deuterated fused-ring compound of Pan, as taught by Pan.
With respect to claim 17, Pan teaches the compound of claim 1, and Pan also teaches an organic electronic device (paragraphs 0177-0178), comprising an anode, a cathode, an organic layer between the electrodes, and the organic (functional) layer comprises the deuterated fused-ring compound (paragraph 0184).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound of Pan in the organic layer of a device with the claimed structure, as taught by Pan.
With respect to claim 18, Pan teaches the device of claim 17, and Pan also teaches that the heteroaromatic ring system can be deuterated (paragraph 0078, see also the compounds in paragraph 0086).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of the claim when one of R1, R2, and R3 is deuterium, and the other two are hydrogen atoms.
Pan includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Pan being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a deuterated dibenzofuran substituent from the finite list of possible substituents and arrive at a compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a deuterated fused-ring compound which can be used as a host material to prepare organic electroluminescent devices with blue light emission, which compared with non-deuterated fused-ring compounds, have longer device lifetime (paragraph 0035), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 19, Pan teaches the device of claim 17, and the compound has the structure of either Formula (II-1) or (II-2) because the bonding position of the dibenzofuran is not specified, and n and m are both 1.
With respect to claim 20, Pan teaches the device of claim 17, and Pan also teaches that L can be a single bond (paragraph 0079).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when R1 or R3 are hydrogen atoms and m+n is 1.
Pan includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Pan being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a single bond from the finite list of possible linking groups and arrive at a compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a deuterated fused-ring compound which can be used as a host material to prepare organic electroluminescent devices with blue light emission, which compared with non-deuterated fused-ring compounds, have longer device lifetime (paragraph 0035), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (WO 2018/095384 A1, using the provided translation for references) as applied above, and further in view of Nakamura et al. (US 2021/0242419 A1).
With respect to claims 13, 14, 15, and 16, Pan teaches the mixture of claim 12, as discussed above.
Pan also teaches that the second organic compound can be a singlet emitter (fluorescent emitter), or hole injection/hole transport material (paragraph 0091), and examples of hole injection or hole transport materials are compound represented by the formula below (paragraph 0100).
In this formula, Ar1 can be a pyrene (Formula D-1), and Ar2 through Ar5 can be a benzene (paragraph 0102, lines 1-2).
However, Pan does not fairly suggest use of a pyrene-bridged diamine as a compound of the mixture.
In analogous art, Nakamura teaches an organic electroluminescent device and composition for forming an emitting layer in the device which contains a blue fluorescent compound (abstract).
In the device examples, Nakamura uses compound BD-1 as a dopant in the emitting layer with an anthracene derivative host (BH) (paragraph 0364, and page 26). The dopant is pictured below to facilitate discussion.
This compound meets the requirements of instant formula (III-1) when Ar2 and Ar5 are a substituted (t-butyl) heteroaromatic (dibenzofuran) group, Ar3 and Ar4 are a substituted (methyl) aromatic (phenyl) group, and Ar-1 is represented by Formula D-1. In Formula D-1, R4 and R5 are hydrogen atoms.
This compound is also pictured on page 81 of the instant claims (row 6, column 3).
Nakamura also teaches Example 6 wherein compound BD-3 is used as a dopant in the emitting layer with an anthracene derivative host (BH) (paragraphs 0438-0446, page 26, and Table 1 on page 31). The dopant is pictured below to facilitate discussion.
This compound meets the requirements of instant formula (III-2) when Ar6 through Ar10 are substituted (methyl or t-butyl) aromatic groups (benzene).
This compound is also pictured on page 84 of the instant claims (row 1, column 5).
Nakamura teaches that in these examples, the drive voltage is reducible and lifetime improvable. Further an improvement in luminous efficiency and blue fluorescence is expected (paragraph 0262).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one of BD-1 or BD-3 as a singlet emitter compound in combination with the anthracene-derivative host material of Pan and achieve reduced drive voltage, improved lifetime, improved luminous efficiency, and improved blue fluorescence, as taught by Nakamura.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fujita (US 2019/0165279 A1) – teaches relevant mixtures.
Hwang et al. (US 2023/0200217 A1) – teaches anthracene derivatives.
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786