DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed December 22, 2025.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed December 22, 2025, the rejections of claims 1, 3-6, 13, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) previously presented in the Office Action sent September 4, 2025 have been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed December 22, 2025, the rejections of claims 1, 3-6, 13, and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent September 4, 2025 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1, 3-6, 13, and 14 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-6, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 3 recite, “wherein the solar cell is a bulk heterojunction solar cell comprising polymers, small molecules, oligomers, and combinations thereof”.
The specification, as originally filed, does not evidence applicant had in possession an invention including wherein the solar cell is a bulk heterojunction solar cell comprising polymers, small molecules, oligomers, and combinations thereof.
The specification teaches preferred materials for forming the solar cells include organic semiconductors (e.g. polymers, small molecules, oligomers) but does not teach wherein the solar cell is a bulk heterojunction solar cell comprising polymers, small molecules, oligomers, and combinations thereof. Dependent claims are rejected for dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forrest et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0297234 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Forrest et al. discloses a method for reducing solar cell degradation comprising:
intermittently applying a reverse bias voltage during a current-voltage sweep of the solar cell (see Fig. 2a and [0034]), and wherein
the solar cell is a bulk heterojunction solar cell comprising polymers, small molecules, oligomers, and combinations thereof (see [0046] “organic semiconductor heterojunctions”).
With regard to claim 4, Forrest et al. discloses wherein
the current-voltage sweep occurs at least once per day (see Fig. 2a and [0034] cited to read on the claimed “at least once per day” as the cited sweep occurs at least once a day on the day it was performed).
With regard to claim 6, Forrest et al. discloses wherein
the current-voltage sweep occurs every time the solar cell has been irradiated with a predetermined wattage (such as when the solar cell was irradiated with a predetermined wattage during the cited sweep).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0297234 A1).
With regard to claim 3, Forrest et al. discloses a method for reducing solar cell degradation comprising:
intermittently applying a reverse bias voltage during a current-voltage sweep of the solar cell (see Fig. 2a and [0034]), and wherein
the solar cell is a bulk heterojunction solar cell comprising polymers, small molecules, oligomers, and combinations thereof (see [0046] “organic semiconductor heterojunctions”).
Forrest et al. teaches the current-voltage sweep scans up to +1V (see Fig. 2a) but does not disclose wherein the current-voltage sweep scans from less than -7V to +1V.
However, the range of voltages for the current-voltage sweep scans is a result effective variable and Forrest et al. teaches the lower end voltage range effects the slope during reverse bias which is due to the field dependent dissociation of thermally generated polaron pairs (see [0034]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the lower end voltage range in the method of Forrest et al. and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to obtaining the slope during reverse bias across the range which is due to the field dependent dissociation of thermally generated polaron pairs.
With regard to claim 5, independent claim 1 is anticipated by Forrest et al. under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as discussed above.
Forrest et al. does not disclose wherein the current-voltage sweep is performed in at most 15 seconds.
However, the time of the current-voltage sweep is a result effective variable directly affecting the time required to obtain the current-voltage curve depicted in Fig. 2a.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the current-voltage sweep time in the method of Forrest et al. and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the time required to obtain the current-voltage curve.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0297234 A1) in view of Moon et al. (“Nanomorphology of PCDTBT:PC70BM Bulk Heterojunction Solar Cells” Adv. Energy Mater. 2, 304-308 (2012)).
With regard to claim 13, independent claim 1 is anticipated by Forrest et al. under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as discussed above.
Forrest et al. teaches a heterojunction pi-conjugate organic semiconductor but does not specifically teach PCDTBT and PC70BM.
However, Moon et al. teaches a solar cell (see Title) and teaches a pi-conjugate organic semiconductor can include PCDTBT and PC70BM (see Title).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the PCDTBT and PC70BM material of Moon et al. for the heterojunction pi-conjugate organic semiconductor of Forrest et al. because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, in the instant case a heterojunction pi-conjugate organic semiconductor for a solar cell, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0297234 A1), and in further view of Moon et al. (“Nanomorphology of PCDTBT:PC70BM Bulk Heterojunction Solar Cells” Adv. Energy Mater. 2, 304-308 (2012)).
With regard to claim 14, independent claim 3 is obvious over Forrest et al. under 35 U.S.C 103 as discussed above.
Forrest et al. teaches a heterojunction pi-conjugate organic semiconductor but does not specifically teach PCDTBT and PC70BM.
However, Moon et al. teaches a solar cell (see Title) and teaches a pi-conjugate organic semiconductor can include PCDTBT and PC70BM (see Title).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the PCDTBT and PC70BM material of Moon et al. for the heterojunction pi-conjugate organic semiconductor of Forrest et al. because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, in the instant case a heterojunction pi-conjugate organic semiconductor for a solar cell, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the sweeps in Forrest et al. are typically performed for device characterization and not as apart of a recurring conditional protocol. However, the claims do not require performing any sweeps as a recurring conditional protocol and the rejections of the claims do not allege or rely on Forrest et al. to teach performing sweeps for a recurring conditional protocol.
Applicant argues that Forrest et al. does not provide any teaching or motivation for additional, intermittent sweeps to be carried out over time in the context of device characterization, nor is any such protocol disclosed or suggested. However, the claims do not require any additional, intermittent sweeps to be carried out over time in the context of device characterization or any such protocol and the rejections of the claims do not allege or rely on Forrest et al. to teach any additional, intermittent sweeps to be carried out over time in the context of device characterization or any such protocol.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 February 27, 2026