DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2021/0181916).
In regard to claim 1, Kwon et al. teach an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (fig. 3A SUB); a plurality of first pads disposed on the substrate (elements 121); a plurality of sensing units (fig. 2 TE) disposed on the substrate and electrically connected to the plurality of first pads (fig. 6 touch electrodes connected to 121 through touch lines); and a plurality of test pads disposed on the substrate and electrically connected to the plurality of sensing units (fig. 4 element 410 and fig. 8); and a multiplexer connected between the plurality of first pads and one of the plurality of test pads (element 400), wherein the multiplexer comprises a plurality of thin film transistors (SWa-d) and a plurality of signal lines, and each of the plurality of signal lines is electrically connected to a gate of corresponding one of the plurality of thin film transistors su(see the individual signal lines connected to each set of transistors).
In regard to claim 2, Kwon et al. teach wherein the plurality of first pads are connected between the plurality of test pads and the plurality of sensing units (fig. 6, elements 121 are between touch electrodes and element 400).
In regard to claim 4, Kwon et al. teach wherein a number of the plurality of first pads is greater than a number of the plurality of test pads (fig. 8, there are 5 first pads for every test pad).
In regard to claim 5, Kwon et al. teach wherein, four of the plurality of first pads are electrically connected to one of the plurality of test pads (figs. 5 and 8. 5 first pads are connected to each test pad).
In regard to claim 6, Kwon et al. teach wherein the plurality of thin film transistors arranged in four transistor rows, and the four of the plurality of first pads are electrically connected to the one of the plurality of test pads through the plurality of thin film transistors in the four transistor rows (fig. 8).
In regard to claim 7, Kwon et al. teach wherein, two of the plurality of first pads are electrically connected to one of the plurality of test pads (fig. 8).
In regard to claim 8, Kwon et al. teach wherein the plurality of thin film transistors arranged in two transistor rows, and the two of the plurality of first pads are electrically connected to the one of the plurality of test pads through the plurality of thin film transistors in the two transistor rows (fig. 8, each test pad is connected to 5 first pads).
In regard to claim 9, Kwon et la. teach another multiplexer connected between the plurality of sensing units and the plurality of test pads (fig. 8 Kwon et al. teach 4 multiplexers).
In regard to claim 16, Kwon et al. teach wherein the substrate comprises a sensing region and a non-sensing region adjacent to the sensing region, and the plurality of first pads and the plurality of test pads are disposed in the non-sensing region (fig. 4, the first pads and touch pads are outside the active area AA).
In regard to claim 17, Kwon et al. teach a plurality of display units disposed on the substrate, and the plurality of display units and the plurality of sensing units are disposed in the sensing region (fig. 1 SP).
In regard to claim 18, Kwon et al. teach wherein the plurality of first pads and the plurality of test pads are disposed on a same side of the sensing region (fig. 4, both pads are on the top side of the active area).
In regard to claim 20, Kwon et al. teach a driving unit disposed in the non-sensing region, wherein the driving unit is connected to the plurality of first pads (element 120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0200365).
In regard to claim 10, Kwon et al. teach a plurality of display units (fig. 1 SP) but does not teach a plurality of second pads disposed on the substrate, and the plurality of second pads are electrically connected to the plurality of display units.
Lee et al. teach a plurality of second pads disposed on the substrate, wherein the plurality of second pads are electrically connected to the plurality of display units (fig. 3 D-PD and paragraph 59).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of touch displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Kwon et al. with the display control of Lee et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Kwon et al. with the display control of Lee et al. because the display controller and pads of Lee et al. would work equally as well in the apparatus of Kwon et al. as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the display controller and pads of Lee et al. would work predictably and would reduce manufacturing complexity and cost.
In regard to claim 11, Lee et al. teach a plurality of first conductive lines and a plurality of second conductive lines, wherein the plurality of first conductive lines are connected between the plurality of display units and the plurality of second pads (fig. 3 LK and paragraph 59), and the plurality of second conductive lines are connected between the plurality of sensing units and the plurality of first pads (RL1 and paragraph 67).
In regard to claim 12, Lee et al. teach a driving unit electrically connected to the plurality of first pads and the plurality of second pads (paragraph 48 and element 40).
In regard to claim 13, Lee et al. teach herein the plurality of second pads and the plurality of first pads are arranged in at least one row (fig. 3).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. in view of Gwon et al. (US 2018/0059855).
In regard to claim 14, Kwon et al. teach a plurality of display units disposed on the substrate (fig. 1 SP) but does not teach wherein the plurality of display units are electrically connected to the plurality of first pads.
Gwon et al. teach wherein the plurality of display units are electrically connected to the plurality of first pads (fig. 6 and paragraphs 127 and 128, both the touch line TL and the data line DL are connected to the pad IP).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of touch displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Kwon et al. with the combined pad of Gwon et al. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Kwon et al. with the combined pad of Gwon et al. because the combined pad of Gwon et al. would reduce the number of pads on the display.
In regard to claim 15, Gwon et al. teach a plurality of conductive lines connected between the plurality of sensing units and the plurality of first pads (fig. 6 TL and paragraph 125), and one of the plurality of sensing units and one of the plurality of display units are electrically connected to one of the conductive lines (LL link line and paragraph 126).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al.
In regard to claim 19, Kwon et al. teach all the elements of claim 19 except wherein the plurality of first pads are disposed on a first side of the sensing region, and the plurality of test pads are disposed on a second side of the sensing region, and the first side is opposite to the second side.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Kwon et al. with the test pads on the opposite side of the substrate. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Kwon et al. with the test pads on the opposite side of the substrate because, absent a showing of criticality, one ordinary skill in the art would recognize moving the test pads is a simple rearrangement of parts. The specification fails to state any advantage to moving the test pads. A skilled artisan could decide to move the test pads based on factors such as cost, size, manufacturing complexity, etc.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages that Kwon et al. shows all of the transistors connected to the same control line not the plurality of claimed signal lines. Applicant continues to argue the claimed invention allows the transistors to be controlled individually and not at the same time as shown in Kwon et al. Kwon et al. show four groups of transistors (fig. 8). Each group is connected to a different control line (the vertical lines attached to element 600). The claim does not state the transistors are controlled individually or that the lines carry different signals. Each group of transistors of Kwon et al. is connected to a different physical line which carries the same signal.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH R HALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621