DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 07/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 and 13-22 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of newly discovered prior art Fujimoto (JPH1078371A) and newly discovered prior art Joynes (US20020073768).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (JPH1078371A) in view of Joynes (US20020073768).
In regards to Claim 1, Fujimoto teaches “a vibration sensor arranged in a position in which the vibration sensor can detect vibration signals caused by water flowing through the pipe, wherein the vibration sensor is attached to a structure (As shown in Figure 1, a vibration sensor 10, which is mounted in a roughly cylindrical case, is connected to a controller 12 via a signal cable 11, and vibration information generated in the target pipe (water pipe, etc.) detected by the vibration sensor 10 is supplied to the controller 12. The controller 12 then determines whether or not a liquid leak is occurring based on the vibration information provided by the vibration sensor 10, and outputs the determination result - [0013]), wherein the vibration sensor comprises an accelerometer (First, the vibration sensor 10 can be, for example, a contact-type acceleration pickup using a piezoelectric element - [0014]); and
a computer unit arranged (controller – 0013]) and configured to:
set a predefined amplitude level within the vibration sensor's detection range (Furthermore, the determination means can employ various methods, such as comprehensively judging the features and performing fuzzy inference, or setting a threshold [i.e. predefined amplitude level] for each feature and determining that liquid leakage has occurred when the number of features exceeding that threshold exceeds a certain value - [0012]; As shown in Figure 1, a vibration sensor 10, which is mounted in a roughly cylindrical case, is connected to a controller 12 via a signal cable 11, and vibration information generated in the target pipe (water pipe, etc.) detected by the vibration sensor 10 is supplied to the controller 12. The controller 12 then determines whether or not a liquid leak is occurring based on the vibration information provided by the vibration sensor 10, and outputs the determination result to the display unit 13 located on the front of the controller 12. In this example, the display unit 13 is configured to include an alarm lamp 13a that lights up when a liquid leak is detected, and a level indicator 13b that displays the degree of liquid leakage. The "degree of leakage" displayed on the level indicator 13b is determined by comparing it to a reference value when the controller 12 performs threshold processing to determine whether or not there is leakage- [0013]; The threshold value should be set to a value sufficiently greater than the vibration level when there is no liquid leakage. In other words, when a leak occurs, continuous vibrations that periodically exceed this threshold occur, causing the value of this feature to increase. On the other hand, when there is no liquid leakage, the threshold may be exceeded due to noise vibration, but since it is merely noise, the time during which the threshold is continuously exceeded is very short. Therefore, since the value of this feature differs significantly between cases of leakage and non-leakage, the two can be accurately distinguished.- [0021]);
receive a first vibration amplitude signal from the vibration sensor, wherein the first vibration amplitude signal is below the predefined amplitude level and indicates an absence of a leak (The threshold value should be set to a value sufficiently greater than the vibration level when there is no liquid leakage. In other words, when a leak occurs, continuous vibrations that periodically exceed this threshold occur, causing the value of this feature to increase. On the other hand, when there is no liquid leakage, the threshold may be exceeded due to noise vibration, but since it is merely noise, the time during which the threshold is continuously exceeded is very short. Therefore, since the value of this feature differs significantly between cases of leakage and non-leakage, the two can be accurately distinguished. - [0021]; As a result, the waveform during liquid leakage will be the waveform signal shown in Figure 11(A), and the waveform during non-liquid leakage will be as shown in Figure 11(B) – [0041]);
receive a second vibration amplitude signal from the vibration sensor, wherein the second vibration amplitude signal remains above the predefined amplitude level for a predefined time period and indicates existence of a leak (Threshold Overtime: This refers to the period of time during which the threshold is continuously exceeded. The threshold value should be set to a value sufficiently greater than the vibration level when there is no liquid leakage. In other words, when a leak occurs, continuous vibrations that periodically exceed this threshold occur, causing the value of this feature to increase. On the other hand, when there is no liquid leakage, the threshold may be exceeded due to noise vibration, but since it is merely noise, the time during which the threshold is continuously exceeded is very short. Therefore, since the value of this feature differs significantly between cases of leakage and non-leakage, the two can be accurately distinguished - [0021]; Furthermore, since the threshold is exceeded multiple times within the sampling time for testing, the time periods during which the threshold is exceeded consecutively are extracted. Therefore, when extracting features, the sum of the times the threshold is exceeded in each instance may be calculated, or the maximum of the consecutive times the threshold is exceeded in each instance within the sampling time (the first instance in the illustrated example) may be used as the threshold exceedance time - [0022]; As a result, the waveform during liquid leakage will be the waveform signal shown in Figure 11(A), and the waveform during non-liquid leakage will be as shown in Figure 11(B) – [0041]); and
transmit an existence of the leak (The controller 12 then determines whether or not a liquid leak is occurring based on the vibration information provided by the vibration sensor 10, and outputs the determination result - [0013])”
Fujimoto is silent with regards to the language of “a vibration sensor arranged in a position in which the vibration sensor can detect vibration signals caused by water flowing through the inlet pipe or through the water cistern, wherein the vibration sensor is attached to the water cistern or to a structure attached to the water cistern; transmit a communication signal indicating existence of the leak to a first external receiver”
Joynes teaches “a vibration sensor arranged in a position in which the vibration sensor can detect vibration signals caused by water flowing through the inlet pipe or through the water cistern, wherein the vibration sensor is attached to the water cistern or to a structure attached to the water cistern (“The flow sensor units 144, 146, 148, 150, 152, 154, 156, 158 are attached to the pipes 128, 130, 132, 134, 136, 138, 140 in the plumbing system 110 in such a way that flow of water along each part thereof is monitored” – [0067]; “A domestic plumbing system consists of several lengths of pipe joined together, and connecting various control devices, cisterns and output orifices as described above with reference to FIG. 10. Water flows into the system through one inlet pipe 24, and flows out via several outlets 112, 114, 116, 118, 120. Any outflow from the plumbing system must be produced either by an equal inflow in the inlet pipe 124 or from some cistern. For a part of the system with no cistern, measuring the flow through the inlet pipe 124 will detect any outflow, whether it be normal usage or a leak” – [0069]; Figure 10 shows flow sensor unit 152 attached to the pipe 134 that connects to the toilet in the picture which includes a water cistern); transmit a communication signal indicating existence of the leak to a first external receiver (“If the processing unit 14 determines that the presence and, ideally, the location of a leakage, this information is used to alert a consumer that there is a problem. This information could be used locally, or in the future considered for connecting to a micro-web server [i.e. external receiver], so that it could be made available to relatives, neighbours, the local police or other interested/responsible parties” – [0088])”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto to incorporate the teaching of Joynes to install the vibration sensors on pipes connected to water cisterns and to communicate the leak status to a server. By utilizing vibration sensors on pipes connected to cisterns and communicating the leak status this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the monitoring of vibration signals in pipes to determine leaks and prepare responses to said leaks.
In regards to Claim 10, Fujimoto teaches “attaching a vibration sensor to a structure in a position in which the vibration sensor can detect vibration signals caused by water flowing through the pipe; - detecting vibration signals caused by water flowing through the pipe by the vibration sensor (As shown in Figure 1, a vibration sensor 10, which is mounted in a roughly cylindrical case, is connected to a controller 12 via a signal cable 11, and vibration information generated in the target pipe (water pipe, etc.) detected by the vibration sensor 10 is supplied to the controller 12. The controller 12 then determines whether or not a liquid leak is occurring based on the vibration information provided by the vibration sensor 10, and outputs the determination result - [0013]);
- setting a predefined amplitude level within the vibration sensor's detection range (Furthermore, the determination means can employ various methods, such as comprehensively judging the features and performing fuzzy inference, or setting a threshold [i.e. predefined amplitude level] for each feature and determining that liquid leakage has occurred when the number of features exceeding that threshold exceeds a certain value - [0012]; As shown in Figure 1, a vibration sensor 10, which is mounted in a roughly cylindrical case, is connected to a controller 12 via a signal cable 11, and vibration information generated in the target pipe (water pipe, etc.) detected by the vibration sensor 10 is supplied to the controller 12. The controller 12 then determines whether or not a liquid leak is occurring based on the vibration information provided by the vibration sensor 10, and outputs the determination result to the display unit 13 located on the front of the controller 12. In this example, the display unit 13 is configured to include an alarm lamp 13a that lights up when a liquid leak is detected, and a level indicator 13b that displays the degree of liquid leakage. The "degree of leakage" displayed on the level indicator 13b is determined by comparing it to a reference value when the controller 12 performs threshold processing to determine whether or not there is leakage- [0013]; The threshold value should be set to a value sufficiently greater than the vibration level when there is no liquid leakage. In other words, when a leak occurs, continuous vibrations that periodically exceed this threshold occur, causing the value of this feature to increase. On the other hand, when there is no liquid leakage, the threshold may be exceeded due to noise vibration, but since it is merely noise, the time during which the threshold is continuously exceeded is very short. Therefore, since the value of this feature differs significantly between cases of leakage and non-leakage, the two can be accurately distinguished.- [0021]);
receiving a first vibration amplitude signal from the vibration sensor, wherein the first vibration amplitude signal is below the predefined amplitude level and indicates an absence of a leak (The threshold value should be set to a value sufficiently greater than the vibration level when there is no liquid leakage. In other words, when a leak occurs, continuous vibrations that periodically exceed this threshold occur, causing the value of this feature to increase. On the other hand, when there is no liquid leakage, the threshold may be exceeded due to noise vibration, but since it is merely noise, the time during which the threshold is continuously exceeded is very short. Therefore, since the value of this feature differs significantly between cases of leakage and non-leakage, the two can be accurately distinguished. - [0021]; As a result, the waveform during liquid leakage will be the waveform signal shown in Figure 11(A), and the waveform during non-liquid leakage will be as shown in Figure 11(B) – [0041]);
receiving a second vibration amplitude signal from the vibration sensor, wherein the second vibration amplitude signal remains above the predefined amplitude level for a predefined time period and indicates existence of a leak (Threshold Overtime: This refers to the period of time during which the threshold is continuously exceeded. The threshold value should be set to a value sufficiently greater than the vibration level when there is no liquid leakage. In other words, when a leak occurs, continuous vibrations that periodically exceed this threshold occur, causing the value of this feature to increase. On the other hand, when there is no liquid leakage, the threshold may be exceeded due to noise vibration, but since it is merely noise, the time during which the threshold is continuously exceeded is very short. Therefore, since the value of this feature differs significantly between cases of leakage and non-leakage, the two can be accurately distinguished - [0021]; Furthermore, since the threshold is exceeded multiple times within the sampling time for testing, the time periods during which the threshold is exceeded consecutively are extracted. Therefore, when extracting features, the sum of the times the threshold is exceeded in each instance may be calculated, or the maximum of the consecutive times the threshold is exceeded in each instance within the sampling time (the first instance in the illustrated example) may be used as the threshold exceedance time - [0022]; As a result, the waveform during liquid leakage will be the waveform signal shown in Figure 11(A), and the waveform during non-liquid leakage will be as shown in Figure 11(B) – [0041]); and
- transmitting a signal indicating existence of the leak (The controller 12 then determines whether or not a liquid leak is occurring based on the vibration information provided by the vibration sensor 10, and outputs the determination result - [0013]);
wherein the vibration sensor comprises an accelerometer (First, the vibration sensor 10 can be, for example, a contact-type acceleration pickup using a piezoelectric element - [0014].”
Fujimoto is silent with regards to the language of “attaching a vibration sensor to the water cistern or to a structure attached to the water cistern in a position in which the vibration sensor can detect vibration signals caused by water flowing through the inlet pipe or through the water cistern; detecting vibration signals caused by water flowing through the inlet pipe or through the water cistern by the vibration sensor; transmitting a communication signal indicating existence of the leak to an external receiver”
Joynes teaches “attaching a vibration sensor to the water cistern or to a structure attached to the water cistern in a position in which the vibration sensor can detect vibration signals caused by water flowing through the inlet pipe or through the water cistern; detecting vibration signals caused by water flowing through the inlet pipe or through the water cistern by the vibration sensor (“The flow sensor units 144, 146, 148, 150, 152, 154, 156, 158 are attached to the pipes 128, 130, 132, 134, 136, 138, 140 in the plumbing system 110 in such a way that flow of water along each part thereof is monitored” – [0067]; “A domestic plumbing system consists of several lengths of pipe joined together, and connecting various control devices, cisterns and output orifices as described above with reference to FIG. 10. Water flows into the system through one inlet pipe 24, and flows out via several outlets 112, 114, 116, 118, 120. Any outflow from the plumbing system must be produced either by an equal inflow in the inlet pipe 124 or from some cistern. For a part of the system with no cistern, measuring the flow through the inlet pipe 124 will detect any outflow, whether it be normal usage or a leak” – [0069]; Figure 10 shows flow sensor unit 152 attached to the pipe 134 that connects to the toilet in the picture which includes a water cistern); transmitting a communication signal indicating existence of the leak to an external receiver (“If the processing unit 14 determines that the presence and, ideally, the location of a leakage, this information is used to alert a consumer that there is a problem. This information could be used locally, or in the future considered for connecting to a micro-web server [i.e. external receiver], so that it could be made available to relatives, neighbours, the local police or other interested/responsible parties” – [0088])”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto to incorporate the teaching of Joynes to install the vibration sensors on pipes connected to water cisterns and to communicate the leak status to a server. By utilizing vibration sensors on pipes connected to cisterns and communicating the leak status this is an improvement that yields predictable results in the monitoring of vibration signals in pipes to determine leaks and prepare responses to said leaks.
In regards to Claim 20, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto further teaches “the accelerometer is attached to the inlet pipe (As shown in Figure 1, a vibration sensor 10, which is mounted in a roughly cylindrical case, is connected to a controller 12 via a signal cable 11, and vibration information generated in the target pipe (water pipe, etc.) detected by the vibration sensor 10 is supplied to the controller 12. The controller 12 then determines whether or not a liquid leak is occurring based on the vibration information provided by the vibration sensor 10, and outputs the determination result - [0013]; First, the vibration sensor 10 can be, for example, a contact-type acceleration pickup using a piezoelectric element - [0014]).”
In regards to Claim 22, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto further teaches “wherein one or more of the first vibration amplitude signal and the second vibration amplitude signal is an integrated value of vibration amplitudes over a measurement period (RMS Value (Effective Value), The effective value is obtained by the usual process of determining the effective value of the waveform signal generated during the sampling time. This feature then represents the average level of the amplitude. In other words, when there is a leak, the amplitude is larger than when there is no leak, and as mentioned above, the time and number of times the threshold is exceeded also increase. Therefore, it is possible to easily determine whether or not there is a leak from the effective value – [0028]).”
Claims 2-4, 8-9, 13-14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Joynes as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Salomon (US20140174186).
In regards to Claim 2, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the vibration sensor comprises a communication module configured to transmit signals to a second external receiver.”
Salomon teaches “the vibration sensor comprises a communication module configured to transmit signals to a second external receiver (the vibration detector 6a with transceiver 17a [i.e. communication module] to communicate over the communication network 14 [i.e. external receiver] – Figure 1a).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Salomon to utilize a sensor with a communication module incorporated therein. By incorporating a communication module with the sensor this yields predictable results for the gathering of data from the sensor.
In regards to Claim 3, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the vibration sensor comprises a satellite-based radio navigation unit.”
Salomon teaches “the vibration sensor comprises a satellite-based radio navigation unit (vibration detector receive signal from a common clock including a GPS [i.e. satellite-based radio navigation unit] – [0051]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Salomon to utilize a sensor with a communication module with GPS incorporated therein. By incorporating a communication module with the sensor this yields predictable results for the gathering of data from the sensor.
In regards to Claim 4, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the vibration sensor comprises a unique identification that is linked to the position of the toilet to which the vibration sensor is installed.”
Salomon teaches “the vibration sensor comprises a unique identification that is linked to the position of the toilet to which the vibration sensor is installed (communication is sent with the sensor ID and time stamp and each sensor is associated with the geographical position according to its installation – [0055]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Salomon to utilize a sensor with a sensor ID. By incorporating a utilizing a sensor ID with the timestamp to communicate the sensor data, this is an improvement that yields predictable results for the monitoring and evaluation of sensor data.
In regards to Claims 8 and 18, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the sensor comprises a setting unit by which a sampling rate of the sensor and/or a frequency with which the sensor sends signals can be set and/or changed.”
Salomon teaches “the sensor comprises a setting unit by which a sampling rate of the sensor and/or a frequency with which the sensor sends signals can be set and/or changed (the server can configure the sensor modules to measure vibration at a higher sensitive and lower frequency band by changing the sampling rate – [0044]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Salomon to be able to configure the sensor modules sampling rate. By adjusting the sampling rate, this is an improvement that yields predictable results to detect the operating conditions of fluid flow in a pipe.
In regards to Claim 9, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the system comprises a plurality of vibration sensors each arranged to detect vibration signals caused by water flowing through the inlet pipe or through the water cistern of different toilets.”
Salomon teaches “the system comprises a plurality of vibration sensors each arranged to detect vibration signals caused by water flowing through the inlet pipe or through the water cistern of different toilets (plurality of vibration detectors 6a, 6b, and 6c to detect vibration signals where each vibration meter is adapted to be attached to a pipe – [0038], Figure 1A).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Salomon to utilize a system that contains a plurality of vibration sensors, with each sensor associated with a pipe. By utilizing multiple vibration sensors this is an improvement that yields predictable results to narrow down the specific source of the leak.
In regards to Claim 13, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the vibration sensor applies satellite-based radio navigation to detect and send its position.”
Salomon teaches “the vibration sensor applies satellite-based radio navigation to detect and send its position (vibration detector receive signal from a common clock including a GPS [i.e. satellite-based radio navigation unit] – [0051]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Salomon to utilize a sensor with a communication module with GPS incorporated therein. By incorporating a communication module with the sensor this yields predictable results for the gathering of data from the sensor.
In regards to Claim 14, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the vibration sensor comprises a unique identification that is linked to the position of the toilet to which the vibration sensor is installed and the unique identification is included in the signals.”
Salomon teaches “the vibration sensor comprises a unique identification that is linked to the position of the toilet to which the vibration sensor is installed (communication is sent with the sensor ID and time stamp and each sensor is associated with the geographical position according to its installation – [0055]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Salomon to utilize a sensor with a communication module with GPS incorporated therein. By incorporating a communication module with the sensor this yields predictable results for the gathering of data from the sensor.
In regards to Claim 19, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto further teaches “wherein the method for each toilet determines when no vibration signals having a vibration amplitude below the predefined amplitude level have been detected by the plurality of vibration sensors in the predefined time period (Threshold Overtime: This refers to the period of time during which the threshold is continuously exceeded. The threshold value should be set to a value sufficiently greater than the vibration level when there is no liquid leakage. In other words, when a leak occurs, continuous vibrations that periodically exceed this threshold occur, causing the value of this feature to increase. On the other hand, when there is no liquid leakage, the threshold may be exceeded due to noise vibration, but since it is merely noise, the time during which the threshold is continuously exceeded is very short. Therefore, since the value of this feature differs significantly between cases of leakage and non-leakage, the two can be accurately distinguished - [0021]; Furthermore, since the threshold is exceeded multiple times within the sampling time for testing, the time periods during which the threshold is exceeded consecutively are extracted. Therefore, when extracting features, the sum of the times the threshold is exceeded in each instance may be calculated, or the maximum of the consecutive times the threshold is exceeded in each instance within the sampling time (the first instance in the illustrated example) may be used as the threshold exceedance time - [0022]; As a result, the waveform during liquid leakage will be the waveform signal shown in Figure 11(A), and the waveform during non-liquid leakage will be as shown in Figure 11(B) – [0041]).”
Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “applying a plurality of vibration sensors each arranged to detect vibration signals caused by water flowing through the inlet pipe or through the water cistern of different toilets”
Salomon teaches “applying a plurality of vibration sensors each arranged to detect vibration signals caused by water flowing through the inlet pipe or through the water cistern of different toilets (plurality of vibration detectors 6a, 6b, and 6c to detect vibration signals where each vibration meter is adapted to be attached to a pipe – [0038], Figure 1A).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Salomon to utilize a system that contains a plurality of vibration sensors, with each sensor associated with a pipe. By utilizing multiple vibration sensors this is an improvement that yields predictable results to narrow down the specific source of the leak.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Joynes as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Wilt (US20170254685).
In regards to Claims 5 and 15, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the predefined amplitude level corresponds to a flow of 5-1000 ml/min through the inlet pipe.”
Wilt teaches ““the predefined amplitude level corresponds to a flow of 5-1000 ml/min through the inlet pipe (minimum flow rate is 5 ml/min, low flow is 15 ml/min, high flow is 65 ml/min, and maximum flow of 79 ml/min – [0165]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Wilt to utilize a range of flow rates for the predefined amplitude. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Thus it would yield predictable results to use the a value within the range (as detailed in Wilt) as the threshold as taught by Mahaffey.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Joynes as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Sudy (US20090224927).
In regards to Claims 6 and 16, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the predefined time period is within a range of 10-600 minutes.”
Sudy teaches “the predefined time period is within a range of 10-600 minutes (when leak detection is running, the timer is preset with a time out of T1, normally about 20 minutes, although any other predetermined time can be selected – [0070]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to utilize a time period between 10 and 600 minutes. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Thus it would yield predictable results to use the a value within the range (as detailed in Sudy) as the time period taught by Mahaffey.
Claims 7, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto in view of Joynes as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Yang (TW201341777A).
In regards to Claims 7 and 17, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the sensor comprises a setting unit by which the predefined time period and/or the predefined amplitude level can be set and/or changed.”
Yang teaches “the sensor comprises a setting unit by which the predefined time period and/or the predefined amplitude level can be set and/or changed (“The detection time period and detection value can be set according to the water ecology. For example, for home users who are generally at home during the day, the detection period can be set to late at night (for example, 02:00-04:00) and the detection value can be set to a lower level. For office users who are generally not at home during the day, the detection period can be set to daytime (for example, 10:00-12:00) and the detection value can also be set to a lower level. Under the same working principle and function, the detection period set is not limited to only one, but can also be more than one. For example, for regular working users, the detection period can be set to once in the morning (e.g., 10:00-12:00), once in the afternoon (e.g., 14:00-16:00), and once late at night (e.g., 02:00-04:00)” – [0004]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Yang to utilize time periods that are associated with different time of day. By utilizing the time periods associated with different time of days, this is an improvement that allows for the detection of leaks even during times no one is using water.
In regards to Claim 21, Fujimoto in view of Joynes discloses the claimed invention as detailed above. Fujimoto in view of Joynes is silent with regards to the language of “the predefined time period has a first value for a first part of a day and a second value for a second part of the day.”
Yang teaches “the predefined time period has a first value for a first part of a day and a second value for a second part of the day (“The detection time period and detection value can be set according to the water ecology. For example, for home users who are generally at home during the day, the detection period can be set to late at night (for example, 02:00-04:00) and the detection value can be set to a lower level. For office users who are generally not at home during the day, the detection period can be set to daytime (for example, 10:00-12:00) and the detection value can also be set to a lower level. Under the same working principle and function, the detection period set is not limited to only one, but can also be more than one. For example, for regular working users, the detection period can be set to once in the morning (e.g., 10:00-12:00), once in the afternoon (e.g., 14:00-16:00), and once late at night (e.g., 02:00-04:00).” – [0004]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujimoto in view of Joynes to incorporate the teaching of Yang to utilize time periods that are associated with different time of day. By utilizing the time periods associated with different time of days, this is an improvement that allows for the detection of leaks even during times no one is using water.
Examiner’s Note
While the following prior art are not used in conjunction with the rejection, the teaching of the following prior art is of interest to the instant application.
Kinoshita (US20160282219) teaches a leakage determination system for a pipe and determines leakage when the vibration signal is above a threshold value.
Conclusion
/YOSSEF KORANG-BEHESHTI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857