DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the response filed on February 3, 2026. In that response, claim 15 was amended. Claims 15-17 and 20-25 are treated on the merits in this action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (GB 2414666A) in view of Yeung (US 2019/0174749) and Al-Niaimi (Al-Niaimi, F., et al., Topical Vitamin C and the Skin: Mechanisms of Action and Clinical Applications, J Clin Aesthet Dermatol. 2017 Jul 1;10(7):14–17).
Brown teaches a sanitizing composition in the form of a viscous liquid or gel suitable for use in handwashing, comprising alcohol, water, and a thickener wherein the viscous liquid or gel has particles suspended therein (abstract). The particles may deliver one or more agents to the skin, e.g., antimicrobial, antibacterial or antiviral agents, emollients and/or moisturizers among others (p.9 lines 14-20). The particles may be made of natural or synthetic polymers (p.9 lines 7-9; claim 11). Brown teaches the stabilizing agents in claim 17 (p.5 line 30-p.7 line 29). The particles deliver various active agents directly to skin such as antimicrobials and emollients, including those in instant claim 16 (p.9 lines 14-p.14 line 8). Brown teaches tocopheryl acetate or vitamin E, an emollient and moisturizer, as a suitable active agent for the particles, and claims combining particles that contain an emollient and/or moisturizer with those containing antimicrobial agents (p.11 line 28, claims 17, 34).
Brown does not specifically teach the disinfecting capsules comprising the polymer shell defining a hollow core and comprising an antimicrobial material in the shell as recited in claims 15 and 20-25, or a skin care agent comprising vitamin C now in claim 15.
Yeung teaches antimicrobial and anti-biofouling coatings comprising: a hollow round colloidal structure, comprising: an active polymer shell; and an active or inert core; wherein the active polymer shell comprises one or more polymers with antimicrobial and anti-biofouling activities selected from the group consisting of polyethylenimine (PEI), functionalized chitosan (CHI), polyquaternium, poly(diallyldimethylammonium chloride) (PDDA) and polyhexamethylene biguanide (PHMD); wherein the active or inert core contains one and more disinfectants, biocides, fragrances or inert solvent; and wherein the hollow round colloidal structure is stable for at least 3 months (title; abstract; para.0008; claim 1). The concentration of antimicrobial material such as PEI can be 10%, 20%, etc. (paras.0071, 0079, 0085-86). The core may comprise active agents such as those in claims 16 and 23-25 (paras. 0074, 0112-21; claims 11-15).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to combine the teachings of Brown and Yeung and use Yeung’s particles in Brown’s composition as recited in the instant claims. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both references are drawn to cleansing compositions that comprise active agent-containing polymeric particles, and Yeung also teaches polymeric particles that are “designed for a variety of applications…and other surfaces in contact with water,…solid …surfaces exposed to air” and are “capable of storing and releasing disinfectants, biocides, and fragrances” (para.0007).
Regarding the vitamin C, Al-Niaimi teaches “antioxidative, photoprotective, antiaging, and antipigmentary effects of topical vitamin C on the skin (title; abstract; p.15 middle col.-p.16 left col.). “[V]itamin C is also known to be the primary replenisher of vitamin E”, producing a “synergistic antioxidant effect of vitamins C and E in photoprotection” (p.16 left col.). “[A]scorbyl-6-palmitate and magnesium ascorbyl phosphate (maP) are lipophilic, esterified forms of vitamin C, which are stable at neutral pH” (p.15 left col.).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Brown and Al-Niaimi and include vitamin C as a skin care agent as recited in the instant claim(s). The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because Brown teaches tocopheryl acetate or vitamin E, an emollient and moisturizer, as a suitable active agent for the particles, and claims combining particles that contain an emollient and/or moisturizer with those containing antimicrobial agents (p.11 line 28, claims 17, 34), and Al-Niaimi teaches that vitamin C confers “antioxidative, photoprotective, antiaging, and antipigmentary effects” when applied topically (title; abstract; p.15 middle col.-p.16 left col.), as well as producing a synergistic antioxidant or photoprotective effect when combined with vitamin E (p.16 left col.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-17 and 20-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614