DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 08/29/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-16 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 11-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1 (on pages 9-10), applicant argues that Fu does not disclose the amended feature “wherein the second message is a radio resource control (RRC) message, and when the at least one PDU session is re-mapped or falls back, the second message further comprises a configuration parameter of a network slice to which the at least one PDU session is re-mapped or a configuration parameter of the default network slice.” Applicant contends that Fu’s “cause value” is not a configuration parameter and that Gao’s RRC message disclosure is generic.
1. Claim Construction – “or” Alternatives
- Claim 1 recites two alternative forms of the “second message” content, separated by “or”:
[Symbol font/0x6F] Identifier of source slice(s), identifier of PDU session(s), and identifier of a target slice (remapping).
[Symbol font/0x6F] Identifier of source slice(s), identifier of PDU session(s), and indication of fallback to default slice, with additional conditional configuration parameter language.
- Under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation and MPEP § 2111.05, the examiner may rely on either alternative to meet the limitation. If the first alternative is taught by the prior art, the second alternative’s extra “configuration parameter” language does not limit the scope of the claim.
2. Fu Teaches the First Alternative in Full
- Fu discloses that during handover, the network slice identifier corresponding to the PDU session is updated to a new slice (paragraphs [0205], [0198]-[0205]), meeting “identifier of a network slice to which … PDU sessions … are re-mapped.”
- Fu also teaches that the handover command sent to the terminal via the source base station includes the remapped PDU session information (paragraphs [0181]-[0182], [0230]), meeting the “second message” requirement.
- Fu identifies specific slice identifier formats (S-NSSAI, NSSAI list, NSID) (paragraphs [0157], [0355]), satisfying the “identifier” elements.
3. RRC Message Aspect
- In NR/5G handover, the “handover command” delivered to the UE is an RRC message (e.g., RRCConnectionReconfiguration), In fact, GAO paragraph [0127] teaches at step 424, the source gNB send Handover command message ( e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message – corresponds to second message) to UE to provide configuration for accessing the target gNB to modify Fu’s disclosure of the handover command to the UE (paragraphs [0182], [0230]) meeting “second message” of the limitation.
4. Patentable Weight of the Configuration Parameter Clause
- Because the configuration parameter clause appears only in the second alternative, and the claim is met by the first alternative without that clause, the clause does not impart patentable weight when the examiner maps to the first alternative.
- Therefore, the examiner does not need to show that Fu or Gao teaches the configuration parameter feature to sustain the rejection - Fu’s disclosure of the first alternative alone anticipates/obviously renders the claim.
With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 8 (on pages 10-12), applicant argues that Fu does not teach: (i) inclusion in the first handover message of an indication whether at least one PDU session of each source slice supports remapping or fallback; and (ii) obtaining, by the source RAN node, network slice remapping information and/or default network slice information that comprises explicit identifiers for source and target/default slices, allegedly “in advance.” The arguments are not persuasive under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), for the reasons below:
1. Indication included in the handover message
- Fu discloses that the first handover request sent from the source base station to the first network side device “may carry related information of a PDU session,” including “slice information” (paragraph[026]). Fu further explains that the handover behavior is determined “based on the slice information” (paragraphs [027], [028], [0221]-[0222]).
- Fu describes the content of “slice information” to include indications of slice support, remapping support, fallback support, and default slice support at the target base station (paragraphs [0144]-[0145], [0151], [0354]). Under BRI, an “indication indicating whether at least one PDU session of each of the at least one source network slice supports network slice re-mapping or fallback” is encompassed by the “slice information” included in the handover request.
- Additionally, Fu explicitly shows handover signaling that carries remapping/fallback indications and related fields: the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request includes “PDU Session Is To Be Remapped indication (and remapped cause)” (paragraphs [0223], [0236]), and the handover request/acknowledge pair and subsequent handover command carry “PDU session Remapped with a remapped Cause” and related information (paragraphs [0225]-[0226], [0229]-[0230]). These teachings demonstrate that indications tied to remapping/fallback are indeed included in the handover messaging between the source base station and the first network side device and onward to other nodes.
Therefore, Fu teaches or at least suggests the claimed “indication” in the first handover message.
2. Obtaining network slice remapping information and/or default slice information comprising explicit identifiers
- Fu teaches that the network nodes feed back information indicating remapping/fallback success, corresponding PDU session lists, and “an identifier/indication for slice remapping or slice fallback” (paragraphs [0084]-[0089], [0090]-[0092]). The source RAN node participates in receiving/forwarding these messages (see paragraphs [0220]-[0231], especially paragraphs [0226], [0229]-[0230], [0231]), thereby “obtaining” the remapping/fallback information as claimed.
- Fu also discloses updating the “network slice identifier corresponding to the PDU session” as part of the PDU session modification procedure and context update signaling, and that such updates are provided “to at least one of the terminal, the first network side device, and a base station” (paragraphs [0198]-[0205], [0224], [0227]-[0228]). This update constitutes a correspondence between the original/source slice identifier for a PDU session and the remapped target slice identifier, which satisfies the claim’s requirement that the “network slice re-mapping information comprises an identifier of at least one source network slice, and an identifier of a network slice to which an identifier of each source network slice can be correspondingly mapped.”
- Fu explicitly identifies concrete slice identifier types, including S-NSSAI, NSSAI (or NSSAI list), and a network slice identifier (NSID) (paragraphs [0157], [0355]). These disclosures of specific identifier fields meet the claim’s “explicit identifiers” requirement.
- Regarding default slice information: Fu teaches “an indication of whether the default slice of the target base station is supported” and “an indication of whether the target base station supports or allows a slice identified by a default slice identifier” as part of the slice information (paragraphs [0144], [0151], [0353], [0354]). Under BRI, the default slice information “comprises an identifier of the default network slice,” and Fu’s explicit mention of a “default slice identifier” satisfies this limitation.
3. On the timing point raised by Applicant (“in advance”)
- The amended claim 8 recites “obtaining, by the source RAN node, network slice re-mapping information and/or default network slice information…” but does not require that such information be obtained “in advance” of the handover procedure or stored prior to the messaging. Under BRI, obtaining the information during the handover signaling suffices. Fu shows that the source base station/source RAN node is involved in sending/receiving handover request/ack/command messages that carry the PDU session lists, remapping/fallback identifiers/indications, and updated slice identifiers (paragraphs [0225]-[0231], [0084]-[0092], [0198]-[0205]). Thus, Fu meets the “obtaining” limitation without needing pre-handover storage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fu et al. (US 2023/0056120 A1), hereinafter “FU”.
Regarding claim 8, FU teaches, ‘A handover method, comprising:’:
‘sending, by a source radio access network (RAN) node, a first handover message to a first
network node, wherein the first handover message comprises an identifier of at least one source network slice, and the first handover message further comprises at least one of the following:’ (Paragraph [0026], in step S102, a first network side device obtains a first handover request sent by a source base station. In this embodiment, the source base station (source gNB) sends the first handover request to the first network side device, and the first network side device receives the first handover request. The first handover request in this embodiment may carry related information of a PDU session. The related information may include slice information):
‘an indication indicating whether at least one protocol data unit (PDU) session of each of
the at least one source network slice supports network slice re-mapping, or an indication indicating whether at least one PDU session of each of the at least one source network slice supports network slice fallback;’ (Paragraphs [0027]-[0028], Paragraph [0027], In step S104, the first network side device determines a handover behavior based on the slice information. After the first network side device obtains the first handover request sent by the source base station, the first network side device may determine the handover behavior based on the slice information. The first network side device may determine the handover behavior based on a certain rule. The handover behavior may include at least one of: whether handover is supported, whether a slice is supported, whether to perform slice remapping, whether to perform slice fallback, whether to feed a handover request acknowledgment (ACK) message back, and whether to feed a handover command message back. Paragraphs [0221]-[0222], In step S202, the AMF determines the handover behavior according to the slice information. In step S203, the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request to SMF. The Nsmf_
PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request of this embodiment includes PDU session Remapped with a remapped Cause, PDU Session Is To Be Remapped indication (and remapped Cause). Paragraph [0144], slice information includes at least one of the following: a slice identifier supported by the source base station; a slice identifier corresponding a PDU session currently established by a terminal (User Equipment, UE); an indication of whether the target base station supports or allows a slice identified by a default slice identifier. Paragraph [0145], the slice information is used to determine the handover behavior, and the slice information may include information about the slice support capability of the target base station… a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice, a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice remapping, or a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice fallback. Paragraph [0151], the slice information may also be an indication of whether the default slice of the target base station is supported. Paragraph [0354], the slice support capability includes at least one of: whether the slice is supported, whether the slice remapping is supported, and whether the slice fallback is supported. Paragraph [0223], for a PDU session to be remapped, SMF triggers the PDU session modification/establishment
procedure and adds the remapped PDU session (if the PDU session establishment procedure is triggered, the SMF notifies the application server, and the application server notifies the application layer of UE, and the application layer of UE notifies the UE NAS to establish the corresponding PDU
session). The SMF triggers the PDU session modification procedure to update the network slice identifier corresponding to the PDU session to the UE, AMF, and the base station. Paragraph [0236], In step S303, the AMF sends an Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request to the SMF. The Nsmf_
PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request of this embodiment includes PDU session Remapped with a remapped Cause, PDU Session Is To Be Remapped indication (and a remapped Cause). Paragraphs [0225]-[0226], In step S205, the AMF sends a handover request message to the target base station. The handover request may include PDU session Remapped with a remapped Cause. In step S206, the target base station sends a Handover Request Acknowledge to the AMF. The Handover
Request Acknowledge in this embodiment may include PDU session Remapped with a remapped Cause. The target base station may also include a Data forwarding tunnel of the PDU session (original session) that needs to be remapped. Paragraphs [0229]-[0230], In step S209, the AMF sends the handover command to the source base station. The handover command includes PDU session Remapped with a remapped Cause. In step S210, the source base station sends a handover command to the UE);
‘receiving, by the source RAN node, a first response message from the first network node,’
(Paragraph [0029], the handover request ACK message or the handover command message is further used to indicate that the slice remapping or fallback is not supported, or to indicate that the slice remapping or fallback is supported),
‘obtaining, by the source RAN node, network slice re-mapping information and/or default network slice information, wherein the network slice re-mapping information comprises an identifier of at least one source network slice, and an identifier of a network slice to which an identifier of each source network slice can be correspondingly mapped, and the default network slice information comprises an identifier of the default network slice,’ (Paragraphs [0084]-[0089], [0090]-[0092], Paragraph [0089], when the first network side device determines that the handover behavior is to perform slice remapping or to perform slice fallback, the first network side device may feed back a message indicating that the slice remapping is successful or a message indicating that the slice fall back is successful, and the first network side device may also feed back corresponding PDU session list, and the first network side device may also feed back an identifier/indication for slice remapping or slice fallback. Paragraphs [0220]-[0231], Paragraph [0226], In step S206, the target base station sends a Handover Request Acknowledge to the AMF. The Handover Request Acknowledge in this embodiment may include PDU session Remapped with a remapped Cause. The target base station may also include a Data forwarding tunnel of the PDU session (original session) that needs to be
remapped. Paragraph [0231], In step S211, the source base station forwards the data packet corresponding to the source PDU session to the target base station through the data forwarding tunnel. Paragraphs [0198]-[0205], [0224], [0227]-[0228], Paragraph [0205], the second network side device triggers a PDU session modification procedure, and updates the network slice identifier corresponding to the PDU session to at least one of the terminal, the first network side device, and the base station. Paragraph [0157], [0355], the slice identifier includes at least one: Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) or a NSSAI list, and a network slice identifier (NSID). Paragraphs [0144], [0151], [0353], [0354], Paragraph [0144], slice information includes at least one of the following: a slice identifier supported by the source base station; a slice identifier corresponding a PDU session currently established by a terminal (User Equipment, UE); an indication of whether the target base station supports or allows a slice identified by a default slice identifier).
‘wherein when the first handover message comprises the indication indicating whether
the PDU session supports network slice re-mapping, the first response message comprises the identifier of the at least one source network slice, an identifier of the at least one PDU session of each of the at least one source network slice, and an identifier of a network slice to which a part or all PDU sessions of the at least one PDU session are re-mapped;’ (Paragraph [0084], determining, by the first network side device, to perform the slice remapping or slice fallback, wherein the handover response message includes at least one of: a slice remapping success or slice fallback success, a corresponding Packet Data Unit (PDU) session list, and an identifier/indication for the slice remapping or slice fallback; Paragraph [0085], when the first network side device determines that the slice is supported, determining, by the first network side device, to perform the slice remapping or slice fallback, wherein the handover response message includes at least one of: a slice remapping success or slice fallback success, a corresponding PDU session list, an identifier/indication for slice support, and an identifier/indication for the slice remapping or slice fallback; Paragraph [0087], when the first network side device determines that the slice is not supported, determining, by the first network side device, not to perform the slice remapping or slice fall back, wherein the handover response message includes at least one of: a cause that the slice remapping fails or the slice fallback fails or the slice is not supported, a corresponding PDU session list, and an identifier/indication for non-supported slice remapping or slice fallback;);
‘when the first handover message comprises the indication indicating whether the PDU
session supports network slice fallback, the first response message comprises the identifier of the at least one source network slice, an identifier of the at least one PDU session of each of the at least one source network slice, and an indication indicating whether a part or all PDU sessions of the at least one PDU session fall back to a default network slice; or when the first handover message comprises the indication indicating whether the PDU session supports network slice re-mapping and the indication indicating whether the PDU session supports network slice fallback, the first response message comprises the identifier of the at least one source network slice, an identifier of the at least one PDU session of each of the at least one source network slice, and an identifier of a network slice to which a part or all PDU sessions of the at least one PDU session are re-mapped, or the first response message comprises the identifier of the at least one source network slice, an identifier of the at least one PDU session of each of the at least one source network slice, and an indication indicating whether a part or all PDU sessions of the at least one PDU session fall back to a default network slice.’ (Paragraph [0084], determining, by the first network side device, to perform the slice remapping or slice fallback, wherein the handover response message includes at least one of: a slice remapping success or slice fallback success, a corresponding Packet Data Unit (PDU) session list, and an identifier/indication for the slice remapping or slice fallback; Paragraph [0085], when the first network side device determines that the slice is supported, determining, by the first network side device, to perform the slice remapping or slice fallback, wherein the handover response message includes at least one of: a slice remapping success or slice fallback success, a corresponding PDU session list, an identifier/indication for slice support, and an identifier/indication for the slice remapping or slice fallback; Paragraph [0088], wherein the handover response message includes information about whether the slice remapping is supported, or information about whether the slice fallback is supported).
Regarding claim 11, FU teaches, the method according to claim 8, ‘wherein before sending the first handover message to a first network node, the method further comprises:’ (Paragraph [0093], as an example implementation, when the first network side device determines that the slice is supported and determines to perform the slice remapping or slice fallback, the method further includes: sending, by the first network side device, a notification message for notifying that the slice remapping or slice fallback is performed to a second network side device):
‘receiving, by the source RAN node from a core network node, an establishment request for the
at least one PDU session, wherein the establishment request for the at least one PDU session comprises an indication indicating whether at least one established PDU session supports network slice re-mapping, and/or an indication indicating whether the at least one established PDU session supports network slice fallback.’ (Paragraph [0094], when the first network side device determines that the handover behavior is that the slice is supported, and slice remapping or slice fallback needs to be performed, the first network side device may continue the existing handover procedure and notifies the second network side device to perform slice remapping, or to perform slice fallback. The second network side device may be a Session management Function (SMF – corresponds to core network; Paragraph [0229]: the AMF sends the handover command to the source base station; Paragraph [0244]: the AMF sends a handover command to the source base station. The handover command includes PDU session Remapped with a remapped Cause).
Regarding claim 12, FU teaches, the method of according to claim 8, ‘wherein the first network node is a target RAN node, and sending the first handover message to a first network node comprises:’ (Paragraph [0097], as an example implementation … sending by the first network side device, a notification message for notifying that the slice is not supported to the target base station):
‘sending, by the source RAN node, a handover request message to the target RAN
node;’(Paragraph [0097], sending by the first network side device, a notification message for notifying that the slice is not supported to the target base station);
‘and receiving the first response message from the first network node comprises:’ (Paragraph
[0097], wherein upon receiving of the notification message for notifying that the slice is not supported):
‘receiving, by the source RAN node, a handover request acknowledgement message from the
target RAN node;’ (Paragraph [0098], The target base station needs to generate information that the slice is not supported, and finally notify the source base station of the information that the slice is not supported through the first network side device. if following the current handover procedure, the handover request ACK is finally considered, and indication information indicating that the slice is not
supported is carried in this message (such as the slice is not supported, remapping is not supported, or fallback is not supported, etc.));
‘or the first network node is the core network node, and sending the first handover message to
a first network node comprises; sending, by the source RAN node, a handover required message to the core network node (Fig. 2 S201; Fig. 3 S301);’and
receiving the first response message from the first network node comprises: receiving, by the source RAN node, a handover command from the core network node’ (Fig. 2 S209; Fig. 3 S310).
Regarding claim 13, FU teaches, the method according to claim 8, further comprising:
‘sending, by the source RAN node, a second message to a terminal device,’ (Paragraph [0230], in step S210, the source base station sends a handover command (corresponds to second message) to the UE. Paragraph [0182], sending the handover command to a terminal via the source base station, wherein the handover command includes the remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with the cause value for remapping or fallback),
‘wherein the second message comprises the identifier of the at least one source network slice, the identifier of the at least one PDU session of each of the at least one source network slice, and the identifier of the network slice to which a part or all PDU sessions of the at least one PDU session are re-mapped; or the second message comprises the identifier of the at least one source network slice, the identifier of the at least one PDU session of each of the at least one source network slice, and the indication indicating whether a part or all PDU sessions of the at least one PDU session fall back to the default network slice.’ (Paragraph [0144], slice information includes at least one of the following: a slice identifier supported by the source base station; a slice identifier corresponding a PDU session currently established by a terminal (User Equipment, UE); an indication of whether the target base station supports or allows a slice identified by a default slice identifier. Paragraph [0145], in an embodiment, the slice information is used to determine the handover behavior, and the slice information may include information about the slice support capability of the target base station… a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice, a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice remapping, or a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice fallback. Paragraph [0146], the slice information may also be a slice identifier supported by the source base station. Paragraph [0147], the slice information may also include a slice identifier corresponding to the PDU session currently established by the terminal. Paragraph [0205], the second network side device triggers a PDU session modification procedure, and updates the network slice identifier corresponding to the PDU session to at least one of the terminal, the first network side device, and the base station. Paragraph [0181], the handover command includes at least one of: the remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with the cause value for remapping or fallback and the data forwarding tunnel corresponding to PDU session that needs to be remapped or fallbacked).
Regarding claim 14, FU teaches claim 1, ‘A handover apparatus, comprising a processor, configured to execute a program stored in a memory, which when the program is executed, cause the handover apparatus to perform the method according to claim 8.’ (Paragraph [0389], apparatus … FIG. 5 and paragraph [0391], a processor may call and run a computer program from a memory to perform the method in embodiments of the present disclosure).
Regarding claim 15, FU teaches, the handover apparatus according to claim 14,
‘wherein the memory is located outside the handover apparatus.’ (Paragraph [0408],
the volatile memory may be a Random Access Memory (RAM), which is used as an external cache).
Regarding claim 16, FU teaches, ‘A computer-readable storage medium, storing
instructions, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 8.’ (Paragraph [0407], the storage medium is located in the memory, and the processor reads the information in the memory to perform the steps of the above methods in combination with hardware).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention
and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the
claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention
was made.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU in view of Gao et al. (US 2023/0054288 A1), hereinafter “GAO”
Regarding claim 1, FU teaches, ‘A handover method, comprising:’ (FIG. 2 and paragraph
[0232], method … during the handover procedure):
‘receiving, by a terminal device, a second message from a source radio access network (RAN) node,’ (Paragraph [0230], in step S210, the source base station sends a handover command (corresponds to second message) to the UE. Paragraph [0182], sending the handover command to a terminal via the source base station, wherein the handover command includes the remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with the cause value for remapping or fallback),
‘wherein the second message comprises an identifier of at least one source network slice, an identifier of at least one protocol data unit (PDU) session of each of the at least one source network slice, and an identifier of a network slice to which a part of or all PDU sessions of the at least one PDU session are re-mapped; or the second message comprises an identifier of at least one source network slice, an identifier of at least one PDU session of each of the at least one source network slice, and an indication indicating whether a part or all PDU sessions of the at least one PDU session fall back to a default network slice,’ (Paragraph [0144], slice information includes at least one of the following: a slice identifier supported by the source base station; a slice identifier corresponding a PDU session currently established by a terminal (User Equipment, UE); an indication of whether the target base station supports or allows a slice identified by a default slice identifier. Paragraph [0145], in an embodiment, the slice information is used to determine the handover behavior, and the slice information may include information about the slice support capability of the target base station… a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice, a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice remapping, or a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice fallback. Paragraph [0146], the slice information may also be a slice identifier supported by the source base station. Paragraph [0147], the slice information may also include a slice identifier corresponding to the PDU session currently established by the terminal. Paragraph [0157], [0355], the slice identifier includes at least one: Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) or a NSSAI list, and a network slice identifier (NSID). Paragraphs [0198]-[0205], Paragraph [0205], the second network side device triggers a PDU session modification procedure, and updates the network slice identifier corresponding to the PDU session to at least one of the terminal, the first network side device, and the base station. Paragraph [0181], the handover command includes at least one of: the remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with the cause value for remapping or fallback and the data forwarding tunnel corresponding to PDU session that needs to be remapped or fallbacked).
‘wherein …, and when the at least one PDU session is re-mapped or falls back, the second message further comprises a configuration parameter of a network slice to which the at least one PDU session is re-mapped or a configuration parameter of the default network slice.’ (Paragraph [0181], the handover command includes at least one of: the remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with the cause value for remapping or fallback and the data forwarding tunnel corresponding to the PDU session that needs to be remapped or fallbacked; Paragraph [0182], sending the handover command to a terminal via the source base station, wherein the handover command includes the remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with the cause value for remapping or fallback. Paragraph [0230], in step S210, the source base station sends a handover command (corresponds to second message) to the UE);
FU does not explicitly teach but GAO teaches, ‘… the second message is a radio resource control (RRC) message’ (GAO – paragraph [0127], at step 424, the source gNB send Handover command message ( e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message – corresponds to second message) to UE to provide configuration for accessing the target gNB),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of GAO with FU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of GAO into FU is that GAO provides techniques related to supporting service continuity during a network handover. The method includes receiving a first message from a second network node, the first message including slice remapping assistance information. The method also includes handing over, based on a handover procedure, a network service for a terminal from the first network node to a target network node using the slice remapping assistance information or initiate a terminal context retrieve procedure using the slice remapping assistance information. (See paragraphs [0004]-[0005], GAO)
Regarding claim 2, FU and GAO teach, the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
‘randomly accessing, by the terminal device, a target RAN node, and communicating with the
target RAN node based on the configuration parameter of the network slice to which the at least one PDU session is re-mapped; or randomly accessing, by the terminal device, a target RAN node, and communicating with the target RAN node based on the configuration parameter of the default network slice.’ (Fig. 2, 3; Paragraph [0183], the first network side device sends a first context update request to the second network side device. The first context update request may be a first network slice management function packet data unit session context update request (Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request), which may include a remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with a cause value for remapping or fallback (PDU session Remapped with a remapped Cause), an indication that remapping or fall back is needed (PDU Session Is To Be Remapped/Fallback), a PDU session that needs to be remapped or fallbacked, or a cause value for the remapping or fallback (remapped/fallback Cause).
Regarding claim 3, FU and GAO teach claim 1, ‘A handover apparatus, comprising a processor, configured to execute a program stored in a memory, which when the program is executed, cause the handover apparatus to perform the method according to claim 1.’ (Paragraph [0389], apparatus … FIG. 5 and paragraph [0391], a processor may call and run a computer program from a memory to perform the method in embodiments of the present disclosure).
Regarding claim 4, FU and GAO teach, the handover apparatus according to claim 3,
‘wherein the memory is located outside the handover apparatus.’ (Paragraph [0408],
the volatile memory may be a Random Access Memory (RAM), which is used as an external cache).
Regarding claim 5, FU and GAO teach claim 1, ‘A computer-readable storage medium, storing
instructions, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1.’ (Paragraph [0407], the storage medium is located in the memory, and the processor reads the information in the memory to perform the steps of the above methods in combination with hardware).
Regarding claim 6, FU teaches, ‘A handover apparatus, comprising:’ (FIG. 5 communication device (corresponds to apparatus). Paragraph [0397], the communication device may specifically be the mobile terminal/terminal device in embodiments of the present disclosure, and the communication device may implement the corresponding processes implemented by the mobile terminal/terminal device in the method embodiments of the present disclosure):
‘a transceiver configured to receive a second message from a source radio access network (RAN) node,’ (Paragraph [0394], FIG. 5, the communication device may further include a transceiver, and the processor may control the transceiver to communicate with other devices. Paragraph [0230], in step S210, the source base station sends a handover command (corresponds to second message) to the UE. Paragraph [0182], sending the handover command to a terminal via the source base station, wherein the handover command includes the remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with the cause value for remapping or fallback);
‘wherein the second message comprises an identifier of at least one source network slice, an identifier of at least one protocol data unit (PDU) session of each of the at least one source network slice, and an identifier of a network slice to which a part or all PDU sessions of the at least one PDU session are re-mapped; or the second message comprises an identifier of at least one source network slice, an identifier of at least one PDU session of each of the at least one source network slice, and an indication indicating whether a part or all PDU sessions of the at least one PDU session fall back to a default network slice,’ (Paragraph [0144], slice information includes at least one of the following: a slice identifier supported by the source base station; a slice identifier corresponding a PDU session currently established by a terminal (User Equipment, UE); an indication of whether the target base station supports or allows a slice identified by a default slice identifier. Paragraph [0145], in an embodiment, the slice information is used to determine the handover behavior, and the slice information may include information about the slice support capability of the target base station… a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice, a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice remapping, or a capability of whether the target base station supports the slice fallback. Paragraph [0146], the slice information may also be a slice identifier supported by the source base station. Paragraph [0147], the slice information may also include a slice identifier corresponding to the PDU session currently established by the terminal. Paragraph [0157], [0355], the slice identifier includes at least one: Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) or a NSSAI list, and a network slice identifier (NSID). Paragraphs [0198]-[0205], Paragraph [0205], the second network side device triggers a PDU session modification procedure, and updates the network slice identifier corresponding to the PDU session to at least one of the terminal, the first network side device, and the base station. Paragraph [0181], the handover command includes at least one of: the remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with the cause value for remapping or fallback and the data forwarding tunnel corresponding to PDU session that needs to be remapped or fallbacked).
‘wherein …, and when the at least one PDU session is re-mapped or falls back, the second message further comprises a configuration parameter of a network slice to which the at least one PDU session is re-mapped or a configuration parameter of the default network slice.’ (Paragraph [0181], the handover command includes at least one of: the remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with the cause value for remapping or fallback and the data forwarding tunnel corresponding to the PDU session that needs to be remapped or fallbacked; Paragraph [0182], sending the handover command to a terminal via the source base station, wherein the handover command includes the remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with the cause value for remapping or fallback. Paragraph [0230], in step S210, the source base station sends a handover command (corresponds to second message) to the UE);
FU does not explicitly teach but GAO teaches, ‘… the second message is a radio resource control (RRC) message’ (GAO – paragraph [0127], at step 424, the source gNB send Handover command message ( e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message – corresponds to second message) to UE to provide configuration for accessing the target gNB),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of GAO with FU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of GAO into FU is that GAO provides techniques related to supporting service continuity during a network handover. The method includes receiving a first message from a second network node, the first message including slice remapping assistance information. The method also includes handing over, based on a handover procedure, a network service for a terminal from the first network node to a target network node using the slice remapping assistance information or initiate a terminal context retrieve procedure using the slice remapping assistance information. (See paragraphs [0004]-[0005], GAO)
Regarding claim 7, FU and GAO teach, the apparatus according to claim 6,
‘further comprising a processor coupled to the transceiver, the processing being configured to:’
(Paragraph [0394], FIG. 5, the communication device may further include a transceiver, and the processor may control the transceiver to communicate with other devices):
‘randomly access a target RAN node using the transceiver, and communicate with the target
RAN node based on the configuration parameter of the network slice to which the at least one PDU session is re-mapped; or randomly access a target RAN node using the transceiver, and communicate with the target RAN node based on the configuration parameter of the default network slice’ (Fig. 2, 3; Paragraph [0183], the first network side device sends a first context update request to the second network side device. The first context update request may be a first network slice management function packet data unit session context update request (Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request), which may include a remapped or fallbacked packet data unit session with a cause value for remapping or fallback (PDU session Remapped with a remapped Cause), an indication that remapping or fall back is needed (PDU Session Is To Be Remapped/Fallback), a PDU session that needs to be remapped or fallbacked, or a cause value for the remapping or fallback (remapped/fallback Cause).
Regarding claim 10, FU and GAO teach, the method according to claim 1, ‘wherein obtaining
the network slice re-mapping information and/or default network slice information comprises: receiving, by the source RAN node, a first message comprising the network slice re-mapping information and/or the default network slice information.’ (Paragraph [0090], when the first network side device determines that the handover behavior is that the slice is supported, the first network side device may determine to perform slice remapping or slice fallback, and the first network side device may
feed back a message indicating that the slice remapping or slice fallback is successful, and the first network side device may also feed back the corresponding PDU session list, and the first network side device may also feed back an identifier/indication indicating that the slice is supported, and the first network side device may also feed back an identifier/indication for slice remapping or slice fallback).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479