DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-5, 7-16 have been examined in this application. This communication is a final rejection in response to the “Amendments to the claims” and “Remarks” filed 6/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “a second control mode that performs a control in response to operations on the second operator in which the operator is not used and the propulsion force generated by the propulsion device is not limited to the predetermined value or less” fails to comply with the written description requirement because these limitations are not disclosed by the applicant’s specification. Applicant asserts that support for claim 15 is found in paragraph 47 of the specification and claim 13, but this limitation is not disclosed in either.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “the controller is configured or programmed to shift to the first boat maneuvering state to perform the hold control without changing the magnitude of the propulsion force generated by the propulsion device or the velocity of the boat” fails to comply with the written description requirement because this limitation is not disclosed by the applicant’s specification. Applicant asserts that support for claim 16 is found in paragraph 49 of the specification, but this limitation is not disclosed in paragraph 49. As best understood, the closest section of paragraph 49 states “the controller 180 performs a hold control to hold the index (e.g., throttle valve opening degree, engine speed, or motor output) correlated with the magnitude of the propulsion force generated by the outboard motor”. This does not mention the velocity of the boat, and the indices being held are correlated with the magnitude of the propulsion force generated by the outboard motor, but this is not the same as holding or not changing the magnitude of propulsion force.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Number 2024/0025528 by Derginer.
Regarding claim 1, Derginer discloses a boat maneuvering system comprising:
An operating unit including an operator (joystick 40); and
A controller configured or programmed to control a magnitude and a direction of a propulsion force generated by a propulsion device of a boat in response to an operation on the operating unit (paragraph 89 discloses the correlation between the magnitude of joystick movement with the magnitude and direction of movement, and paragraph 90 discloses control system 33 controlling the propulsion system depending on the movements of the joystick); wherein
When a hold start operation is performed on the operating unit during boat maneuvering using the operator, the controller is configured or programmed to shift to a first boat maneuvering state to perform a hold control to hold a control index that is at least either one of an index correlated with the magnitude of the propulsion force generated by the propulsion device or a velocity of the boat while not holding a bearing and a course of the boat (paragraph 104 discloses “the system may be configured to receive a first user input (e.g., hold button 210a) to engage the full vessel control mode and a second user input to enable joystick adjustment of speed, heading, and/or attitude” using the second user input to enable the joystick to adjust the heading and not the speed holds the speed of the boat while not holding the bearing or course of the boat); and
When a steering operation is performed on the operator in the first boat maneuvering state, the controller is configured or programmed to change the direction of the propulsion force generated by the propulsion device while maintaining the first boat maneuvering state (paragraph 104 goes on to state “and controls trim appropriately based on user inputs and/or based on the commanded and/or measured thrust and/or turn values”); and
When an automatic boat maneuvering start operation is performed on the operating unit in the first boat maneuvering state, the controller is configured or programmed to shift to a second boat maneuvering state in which, in addition to the hold control, and automatic boat maneuvering control is performed to hold a bearing or a course of the boat (paragraph 109 discloses “Once the desired speed and heading are achieved, the user lets go of the joystick and/or trigger 210b (or other adjustment confirmation input), as illustrated at step 222. When the joystick is in the centered position and/or when the trigger 210b (or other adjustment confirmation input) is released, the control system 33 operates the propulsion system to hold the current commanded vessel velocity and heading”).
Regarding claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Derginer discloses the steering operation is at least one of a twisting operation of the operator or a tilting operation of the operator in a steering direction. Paragraph 65 discloses “the system may maintain vessel speed and heading while the joystick remains in the centered position and may interpret a joystick movement (deflection and/or twist) as an instruction to adjust the heading or speed”.
Regarding claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Derginer discloses the controller is configured or programmed to change the magnitude of the control index held during the hold control when an acceleration or deceleration operation is performed on the operator in the first boat maneuvering state. Paragraph 65 discloses “the system may maintain vessel speed and heading while the joystick remains in the centered position and may interpret a joystick movement (deflection and/or twist) as an instruction to adjust the heading or speed”. An adjustment to the speed comprises a change to the magnitude of the speed control index.
Regarding claim 4 (dependent on claim 3), Derginer discloses the controller being configured or programmed to change the magnitude of the control index held during the hold control stepwise in accordance with a number of times the acceleration or deceleration operation is performed in the first boat maneuvering state. Paragraph 65 discloses “the system may maintain vessel speed and heading while the joystick remains in the centered position and may interpret a joystick movement (deflection and/or twist) as an instruction to adjust the heading or speed”. Since there is a corresponding adjustment to the speed each time there is a joystick movement, additional adjustments using the joystick would compound, resulting in a net adjustment to the speed that corresponds to a net change in magnitude of the speed.
Regarding claim 5 (dependent on claim 3), Derginer discloses the acceleration operation is an operation to tilt the operator in a traveling direction of the boat, and the deceleration operation is an operation to tilt the operator in a direction opposite to the traveling direction of the boat. Paragraph 105 discloses “a forward/backward aspect of the joystick position may be associated with a thrust change command, where the magnitude and forward or backward direction dictate the magnitude and direction (increase or decrease) of the change in thrust command. For example, a small forward push of the joystick is associated with a smaller increase in the thrust command…Similarly, a small or large backward-direction push of the joystick may be associated with a small or large decrease in the commanded thrust”.
Regarding claim 7 (dependent on claim 1), Derginer discloses the controller being configured or programmed to shift to the first boat maneuvering state when the steering operation is performed on the operator in the second boat maneuvering state, and to return to the second boat maneuvering state when the steering operation of the operator is stopped. Paragraph 109 discloses “The controller operates in a hold mode 214’, which may be open-loop or closed-loop as described above, the maintain the vessel speed and heading and controls trim appropriately based on user inputs and/or based on the commanded and/or measured thrust and/or turn values. The autonomous speed and heading maintenance control is effectuated until a subsequent adjustment user input is received at the joystick 40 or user input is received to disengage the full vessel control mode”. The hold mode corresponds to the second boat maneuvering state, and a user input on joystick 40 to change the heading would place the boat in a first boat maneuvering state where the speed is maintained but the heading is changed.
Regarding claim 8 (dependent on claim 1), Derginer discloses the controller being configured or programmed to stop the hold control when a hold stop operation is performed on the operator in the first boat maneuvering state. Paragraph 109 discloses “user input is received to disengage the full vessel control mode” and paragraph 110 discloses the ways that full vessel control mode can be disengaged.
Regarding claim 10 (dependent on claim 1), Derginer discloses when the velocity of the boat is less than a predetermined value in the first boat maneuvering state, the controller is configured or programmed to shift to a third boat maneuvering state in which, in addition to the hold control, a pattern control is performed to alternately switch between an on state where the propulsion device generates the propulsion force and an off state where the propulsion device does not generate the propulsion force; and when the velocity of the boat is the predetermined value or more, the controller is configured or programmed to return to the first boat maneuvering state. Paragraph 122 discloses “the thrust commands are further calculated based on a comparison of the measured and target values…The controller 276 is configured to utilize such information to refine the thrust command values to accurately effectuate the desired velocity and acceleration”. When the measured and target values don’t match, this corresponds to a third boat maneuvering state with thrust command values to effectuate the desired velocity, and when the values do match, this corresponds to the first boat maneuvering state which maintains the velocity.
Regarding claim 11 (dependent on claim 1), Derginer discloses the hold start operation is an operation to press a predetermined switch for a predetermined time or more. Paragraph 104 discloses “User input is received at step 212 to engage the full vessel control mode, which in the depicted example is pressing a top button 210a on the joystick handle 66”.
Regarding claim 12 (dependent on claim 1), Derginer discloses the operator is a joystick including a stick portion gripped and operable by a user (handle 66) and a support portion supporting the stick portion to enable a tilting operation and a twisting operation (base portion 68).
Regarding claim 13, Derginer discloses a boat maneuvering system comprising:
An operating unit including a first operator (joystick 40) and a second operator (steering wheel 12); and
A controller configured or programmed to control a magnitude and a direction of a propulsion force generated by a propulsion device of a boat in response to an operation on the operating unit (paragraph 89 discloses the correlation between the magnitude of joystick movement with the magnitude and direction of movement, and paragraph 90 discloses control system 33 controlling the propulsion system depending on the movements of the joystick); wherein
The controller includes a first control mode that performs a control in response to operations on the first operator, and a second control mode that performs a control in response to operations on the second operator in which the first operator is not used (paragraph 73 discloses “The rear marine drive 21 is rotated in response to an operator’s manipulation of the steering wheel 12 or joystick 40, which is communicatively connected to the steering actuator 13 to rotate the marine drive 21” and paragraph 83 discloses using the joystick 40 to control the various modes, as well as “engaging or switching between the low-speed and/or high-speed joysticking modes may depend on position(s) of the throttle/shift lever and/or steering wheel, and/or some other user input devices”, controlling the marine drive and the different modes by the joystick comprises a first control mode, and controlling them by the steering wheel comprises a second control mode);
During the first control mode, when a hold start operation is performed on the operating unit during boat maneuvering using the operator, the controller is configured or programmed to shift to a first boat maneuvering state to perform a hold control to hold a control index that is at least either one of an index correlated with the magnitude of the propulsion force generated by the propulsion device or a velocity of the boat while not holding a bearing and a course of the boat (paragraph 104 discloses “the system may be configured to receive a first user input (e.g., hold button 210a) to engage the full vessel control mode and a second user input to enable joystick adjustment of speed, heading, and/or attitude” using the second user input to enable the joystick to adjust the heading and not the speed holds the speed of the boat while not holding the bearing or course of the boat); and
When an operation is performed on the operator in the first boat maneuvering state, the controller is configured or programmed to change at least either one of the magnitude or the direction of the propulsion force generated by the propulsion device while maintaining the first boat maneuvering state (paragraph 104 goes on to state “and controls trim appropriately based on user inputs and/or based on the commanded and/or measured thrust and/or turn values”); and
When an automatic boat maneuvering start operation is performed on the operating unit in the first boat maneuvering state, the controller is configured or programmed to shift to a second boat maneuvering state in which, in addition to the hold control, and automatic boat maneuvering control is performed to hold a bearing or a course of the boat (paragraph 109 discloses “Once the desired speed and heading are achieved, the user lets go of the joystick and/or trigger 210b (or other adjustment confirmation input), as illustrated at step 222. When the joystick is in the centered position and/or when the trigger 210b (or other adjustment confirmation input) is released, the control system 33 operates the propulsion system to hold the current commanded vessel velocity and heading”).
Regarding claim 14 (dependent on claim 1), Derginer disclose a boat comprising:
A boat body (marine vessel 10);
A propulsion device attached to the boat body (marine drive 21); and
The boat maneuvering system according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 15 (dependent on claim 1), Derginer, as best understood, discloses
The operating unit includes the operator (joystick 40) and a second operator (steering wheel 12);
The controller includes a first control mode that performs a control in response to operations on the operator (paragraph 73 discloses “The rear marine drive 21 is rotated in response to an operator’s manipulation of the steering wheel 12 or joystick 40, which is communicatively connected to the steering actuator 13 to rotate the marine drive 21” and paragraph 83 discloses using the joystick 40 to control the various modes, as well as “engaging or switching between the low-speed and/or high-speed joysticking modes may depend on position(s) of the throttle/shift lever and/or steering wheel, and/or some other user input devices”) and the propulsion force generated by the propulsion device is limited to a predetermined value or less (paragraph 70 discloses “a docking control mode where output limits are engaged to prevent the vessel from exceeding a low-speed threshold appropriate for operating in marinas or other tight waterways”), and a second control mode that performs a control in response to operations on the second operator in which the operator is not used and the propulsive force generated by the propulsion device is not limited to the predetermined value or less (controlling the marine drive and the different modes by the steering wheel comprises a second control mode); and
When the hold start operation is performed on the operating unit during boat maneuvering in the first control mode, the controller is configured or programmed to shift to the first boat maneuvering state (paragraph 104 discloses “the system may be configured to receive a first user input (e.g., hold button 210a) to engage the full vessel control mode and a second user input to enable joystick adjustment of speed, heading, and/or attitude”).
Regarding claim 16 (dependent on claim 1), Derginer, as best understood, discloses when the hold start operation is performed on the operating unit during boat maneuvering using the operator, the controller is configured or programmed to shift to the first boat maneuvering state to perform the hold control without changing the magnitude of the propulsion force generated by the propulsion device or the velocity of the boat. Paragraph 104 discloses “the system may be configured to receive a first user input (e.g., hold button 210a) to engage the full vessel control mode and a second user input to enable joystick adjustment of speed, heading, and/or attitude”. Holding button 210a engages full vessel control mode but does not change the magnitude of the propulsion force generated by the propulsion device or the velocity of the boat without the second user input.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over US Patent Application Number 2024/0025528 by Derginer.
Regarding claim 9 (dependent on claim 8), Derginer does not disclose the hold stop operation is an operation to tilt the operator backward for a predetermined time or more while the boat is moving forward, or an operation to tilt the operator forward for a predetermined time or more while the boat is moving backward. However, paragraph 110 discloses “in other embodiments could be any of various user inputs at the joystick or other user interface elements preconfigured for disengaging the full vessel control mode and/or switching to another mode”. It would thus be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Derginer to use different user inputs at the joystick such as tilting the joystick backwards or forwards for a predetermined time or more.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the request that the examiner explain which parameter(s) are adjusted and which parameter(s) are held and/or not held, paragraph 104 discloses enabling joystick adjustment of speed, heading, and/or attitude, meaning the three can be adjusted independent or in combination. Parameter(s) being adjusted are changing and thus are not held, and parameter(s) not being adjusted are being held. You can thus adjust speed while holding bearing and attitude, or adjust bearing while holding speed and attitude, or adjust attitude while holding speed and bearing, or any combination thereof. Adjusting only the bearing of the boat reads on the claimed first boat maneuvering state, since the speed/velocity of the boat would be held while the bearing and the course of the boat is being adjusted, and thus not held.
Regarding the argument that Derginer only teaches two control modes, Derginer discloses (1) the low-speed control mode, corresponding to applicant’s basic maneuvering state, (2) a sub-mode within full vessel control mode with both first user input and second user input to enable joystick adjustment of speed, heading, and/or attitude, corresponding to applicant’s first boat maneuvering state, and (3) a second sub-mode within full vessel control mode where the user lets go of the joystick and trigger 210b is released where the control system holds the current commanded vessel velocity and heading, corresponding to applicant’s second boat maneuvering state.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL H. WANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/MICHAEL H WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642