DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the “first portion” and the “second portion” of the spacer as described in the specification ¶ 0090 and claim 9.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Objections
Claims 11, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11, lines 14-15 and claim 19, lines 16-17, the term may be amended as “the second elongated member”.
In claim 17, lines 2-3, the terms may be amended as “the [[first]]third vane and fourth vane of the second elongated member”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, the phrase “the spacer comprises a first portion and a second portion, wherein the first portion and the second portion are removably coupled to one another” renders claim vague and indefinite. As Examiner stated in the drawing objection above, figures do not show this feature. Specification of the instant application states this feature in ¶ 0090, but it does not elaborate how the spacer is divided into the first and second portions whether the space is divided horizontally, vertically, or in other directions. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted the spacer is removable such that the first elongated member and second elongated member of the roller can be separated from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (EP 3766399A1, cited on 03/01/2024 IDS, hereinafter Zheng), in view of Ortmann et al. (DE 102017120800A1, hereinafter Ortmann).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses a roller for a mobile cleaning robot (fig. 2 and ¶ 0011, a brushroll 100 for a robot vacuum cleaner 1000), the roller comprising:
a roller core extending along a longitudinal axis of the roller (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 below);
a first elongated member engageable with a floor surface, the first elongated member at least partially surrounding a first portion of the roller core; a second elongated member engageable with a floor surface, the second elongated member at least partially surrounding a second portion of the roller core (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 below and ¶ 0029, the brushroll 100 having sub-brush bodies 31, 41 [correspond to the recited elongated members] is to clean a floor, thus the sub-brush bodies are engageable with the floor. Each sub-brush body at least partially surrounds each portion of the roller core); and
a spacer (connecting member 50) at least partially surrounding the roller core between the first elongated member and the second elongated member (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 below), but does not disclose the spacer is engageable with the floor surface and is configured to prevent debris collection between the first elongated member and the second elongated member.
Ortmann teaches, in an analogous vacuum cleaner field of endeavor, the spacer is engageable with the floor surface and is configured to prevent debris collection between the first elongated member and the second elongated member (see annotated Ortmann fig. 2 below, a diameter of a spacer is greater than a roller core and similar to heights of bristles 14, thus the spacer is engageable with a floor surface. The spacer also prevents debris collection at a center of the roller. The prevention of the debris collection is an intended use. When the spacer of Ortmann is combined with the roller of Zheng, it would prevent the debris collection between the first and second elongated members).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spacer of Zheng to replace it with a bigger spacer as taught by Ortmann. The spacer is used for connecting two parts of the roller together. The bigger connector enables holding the two parts of the roller securely so that the roller can withstand high-speed rotation during the cleaning operation.
Annotated Zheng Figure 1
Annotated Ortmann Figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the roller as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first elongated member comprises: a first shell; a first fletch extending radially outward from the first shell and extending along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis; and a second fletch extending radially outward from the first shell and extending at least a portion of the longitudinal axis, wherein the first fletch and the second fletch are circumferentially spaced from one another to define a first fletch gap therebetween (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above, first sub-brush bodies 31 [correspond to the recited first and second fletches] extend radially are circumferentially spaced and a first fletch gap is defined between the first sub-brush bodies 31. The first sub-brush bodies are formed on and along a body of the brushroll 100 [corresponds to the recited first shell]).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the roller as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the second elongated member further comprises: a second shell; a third fletch extending radially outward from the second shell and extending along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis; and a fourth fletch extending radially outward from the second shell and extending along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis, wherein the third fletch and the fourth fletch are circumferentially spaced from one another to define a second fletch gap therebetween (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above, as discussed similarly in claim 2 above, third sub-brush bodies 41 [correspond to the recited third and fourth fletches] extend radially are circumferentially spaced and a second fletch gap is defined between the third sub-brush bodies 41. The third sub-brush bodies are formed on and along a body of the brushroll 100 [corresponds to the recited second shell]).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the roller as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the first fletch and the second fletch extend around the first elongated member in a first helical pattern, the third fletch and the fourth fletch extend from the spacer in a second helical pattern, and wherein the second helical pattern is symmetric to the first helical pattern about the spacer (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above for the helical patterns of the fletches and symmetrical disposition of the fletches).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the roller as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the spacer comprises: a base connected to the roller core and extending circumferentially around the roller core and extending radially outward from the roller core; and a body extending circumferentially around the base and radially outward from the base (see annotated Zhang fig. 1 above and ¶ 0039, the connecting member 50 [corresponds to the recited spacer] may have a circular ring shape, thus it would have a base extending circumferentially around the roller core and a disc body 52 [corresponds to the recited body] extending circumferentially around the base).
Regarding claim 6, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the roller as in the rejection of claim 5, wherein the body of the spacer further comprises:
a first wing extending axially from a first surface of the body, the first wing also extending axially from a second surface of the body such that the first wing extends at least partially into the first fletch gap from the first surface and the second surface (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above, a first snap block 54 and a second snap block 56 [correspond to the recited first wing] extend from each side of the disc body 52. The first snap block 56 extends partially into the first fletch gap); and
a second wing circumferentially spaced from the first wing and extending axially from the first surface, the second wing also extending axially from the second surface such that the second wing extends at least partially into the second fletch gap from the first surface and the second surface (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above, another first and second snap blocks are designated as the second wing. The second wing extend from each side of the disc body 52 and also extend partially into the second fletch gap).
Regarding claim 9, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the roller as in the rejection of claim 5, wherein the spacer comprises a first portion and a second portion, wherein the first portion and the second portion are removably coupled to one another (see annotated Ortmann fig. 2 above, the spacer is shown to be comprised of two portions. The two portions of an object can be removable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spacer of Zheng to comprise the first portion and the second portion as taught by Ortmann so that the first elongated member and the second elongated member can be separated for maintenance or replacement conveniently.
Regarding claim 11, Zheng discloses a mobile cleaning robot (fig. 7, robot vacuum cleaner 1000) comprising:
a body including a suction duct (fig. 7 and ¶ 0048, a cleaner body 300 includes a dust suction port [corresponds to the recited suction duct]); and
a cleaning assembly operable to ingest debris from a surface of an environment (fig. 7 and ¶ 0044, 0048, a brushroll 100 including the sub-brush bodies 31, 34 and the connecting member 50 is mounted to the cleaner and a motor is used to drive the brushroll to rotate. A vacuum motor generates a negative pressure to ingest debris from a surface of an environment), the cleaning assembly comprising:
a roller rotatable with respect to the body and engageable with the surface to direct debris toward the suction duct (fig. 7 and ¶ 0044, 0048, a brushroll 100 is mounted to the cleaner and a motor is used to drive the brushroll to rotate to direct debris toward the suction port), the roller including:
a roller core extending along a longitudinal axis of the roller (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above);
a first elongated member circumferentially surrounding a first portion of the roller core; a second elongated member circumferentially surrounding a second portion of the roller core (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above and ¶ 0029, the brushroll 100 has sub-brush bodies 31, 41 [correspond to the recited elongated members]. Each sub-brush body circumferentially surrounds each portion of the roller core); and
a spacer (connecting member 50) at least partially circumferentially surrounding the roller core between the first elongated member and the second elongated (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above), but does not disclose the spacer is engageable with the surface and configured to prevent debris collection between the first elongated member and the second elongated member.
Ortmann teaches, in the analogous vacuum cleaner field of endeavor, the spacer is engageable with the surface and configured to prevent debris collection between the first elongated member and the second elongated member (see annotated Ortmann fig. 2 above, a diameter of a spacer is greater than a roller core and similar to heights of bristles 14, thus the spacer is engageable with a floor surface. The spacer also prevents debris collection at a center of the roller. The prevention of the debris collection is an intended use. When the spacer of Ortmann is combined with the roller of Zheng, it would prevent the debris collection between the first and second elongated members).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spacer of Zheng to replace it with a bigger spacer as taught by Ortmann. The spacer is used for connecting two parts of the roller together.
Regarding claim 12, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the first elongated member comprises: a first shell; a first vane extending radially outward from the first shell and extending along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis; and a second vane extending radially outward from the first shell and extending along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis, wherein the first vane and the second vane are circumferentially spaced from one another to define a first vane gap therebetween (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above, first sub-brush bodies 31 [correspond to the recited first and second vanes] extend radially are circumferentially spaced and a first vane gap is defined between the first sub-brush bodies 31. The first sub-brush bodies are formed on and along a body of the brushroll 100 [corresponds to the recited first shell]. Examiner notes that the same elements are referred differently in this and subsequent claims. The first vane is the first fletch, the second vane is the second fletch, and the first vane gap is the first fletch gap recited in claim 2 and annotated in the annotated Zheng fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein the first vane and the second vane extend around the first elongated member in a helical pattern (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above for the helical patterns of the vanes).
Regarding claim 14, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 13, wherein the second elongated member further comprises: a second shell; a third vane extending radially outward from the second shell and extending along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis; and a fourth vane extending radially outward from the second shell and extending at least a portion of the longitudinal axis, wherein the third vane and the fourth vane are circumferentially spaced from one another to define a second vane gap therebetween (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above, as discussed similarly in claim 12 above, third sub-brush bodies 41 [correspond to the recited third and fourth vanes] extend radially are circumferentially spaced and a second vane gap is defined between the third sub-brush bodies 41. The third sub-brush bodies are formed on and along a body of the brushroll 100 [corresponds to the recited second shell]. As discussed above regarding nomenclature, the third vane is the third fletch and the fourth vane is the fourth fletch recited in claim 3 and annotated in the annotated Zheng fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 15, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 14, wherein the spacer comprises: a base connected to the roller core and extending circumferentially around at least a portion of the roller core and extending radially outward from the roller core; and a body extending circumferentially around at least a portion of the base and radially outward from the base (see annotated Zhang fig. 1 above and ¶ 0039, as discussed in claim 5 above, the connecting member 50 [corresponds to the recited spacer] may have a circular ring shape, thus it would have a base extending circumferentially around the roller core and a disc body 52 [corresponds to the recited body] extending circumferentially around the base), and
wherein the body comprises: a first surface extending circumferentially around the body; and a second surface extending circumferentially around the body opposite the first surface (Zheng fig. 1, a circumferential surface toward the first vane can be defined as a first surface and the other circumferential surface toward the third vane can be defined as a second surface).
Regarding claim 16, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 15, wherein the body of the spacer further comprises: a first wing extending axially from the first surface, the first wing also extending axially from the second surface such that the first wing extends at least partially into the first vane gap from the first surface and the second surface(see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above, as discussed in claim 6 above, a first snap block 54 and a second snap block 56 [correspond to the recited first wing] extend from each side of the disc body 52. The first snap block 56 extends partially into the first vane gap); and
a second wing circumferentially spaced from the first wing and extending axially from the first surface, the second wing also extending axially from the second surface such that the second wing extends at least partially into the second vane gap from the first surface and the second surface (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above, another first and second snap blocks are designated as the second wing. The second wing extend from each side of the disc body 52 and also extend partially into the second vane gap).
Regarding claim 19, Zheng discloses a method of operating a mobile cleaning robot comprising:
operating a drive wheel of the mobile cleaning robot to navigate the mobile cleaning robot about an environment (fig. 1 and ¶ 0049, Two wheels and an omni-directional wheel are provided for the robot cleaner to navigate. The two wheels are driven by separate drive motors); and
operating a cleaning assembly to ingest debris from a surface of the environment, to operate the mobile cleaning robot in a cleaning mode (fig. 7 and ¶ 0044, 0048, a brushroll 100 including the sub-brush bodies 31, 34 and the connecting member 50 is mounted to the cleaner and a motor is used to drive the brushroll to rotate. A vacuum motor generates a negative pressure to ingest debris from a surface of an environment), the cleaning assembly including:
a roller rotatable with respect to a body of the mobile cleaning robot and engageable with the surface to direct debris toward a suction duct (fig. 7 and ¶ 0044, 0048, a brushroll 100 is mounted to the cleaner and a motor is used to drive the brushroll to rotate to direct debris on the surface toward the suction port), the roller including:
a roller core extending along a longitudinal axis of the roller (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above);
a first elongated member circumferentially surrounding a first portion of the roller core; a second elongated member circumferentially surrounding a second portion of the roller core (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above and ¶ 0029, the brushroll 100 has sub-brush bodies 31, 41 [correspond to the recited elongated members]. Each sub-brush body circumferentially surrounds each portion of the roller core); and
a spacer (connecting member 50) at least partially circumferentially surrounding the roller core between the first elongated member and the second elongated (see annotated Zheng fig. 1 above), but does not disclose the spacer is engageable with the surface and configured to prevent debris collection between the first elongated member and the second elongated member.
Ortmann teaches, in the analogous vacuum cleaner field of endeavor, the spacer is engageable with the surface and configured to prevent debris collection between the first elongated member and the second elongated member (see annotated Ortmann fig. 2 above, a diameter of a spacer is greater than a roller core and similar to heights of bristles 14, thus the spacer is engageable with a floor surface. The spacer also prevents debris collection at a center of the roller. The prevention of the debris collection is an intended use. When the spacer of Ortmann is combined with the roller of Zheng, it would prevent the debris collection between the first and second elongated members).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spacer of Zheng to replace it with a bigger spacer as taught by Ortmann. The spacer is used for connecting two parts of the roller together.
Regarding claim 20, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 19, further comprising: blocking debris within the first elongated member and within the second elongated member from collecting between the first elongated member and the second elongated member; directing debris wrapped around the first elongated member to the second elongated member; and directing debris wrapped around the second elongated member to the first elongated member (specification of instant application states these operations in ¶ 0077, 0101-03. However, specification does not present if there were involvement of a user or additional component for blocking the debris within each elongated member and directing the debris/hairs to the other elongated member. Because Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the roller having the spacer as recited, it would perform the same as the instant application).
Claims 7, 8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Ortmann, as applied to claims 6 and 16 above respectively, and in further view of Wörwag (CA 2169812A1, hereinafter Worwag).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the roller as in the rejection of claim 6, but does not disclose explicitly the first fletch and second fletch of the first elongated member and the third fletch and the fourth fletch of the second elongated member compress radially inward on condition that the first elongated member or the second elongated member contacts a flooring, the first fletch, the second fletch, the third fletch, and the fourth fletch together defining a deflected diameter at a position of maximum deflection when any of the first fletch, the second fletch, the third fletch, and the fourth fletch deflect from engagement with the floor surface.
Although the sub-brush body 31, 41 of Zheng is configured to clean a floor surface, it may contact the floor surface and a tip of the sub-brush body would be compressed, but Zheng does not disclose it explicitly.
Worwag teaches, in an analogous vacuum cleaner field of endeavor, the first fletch and second fletch of the first elongated member and the third fletch and the fourth fletch of the second elongated member compress radially inward on condition that the first elongated member or the second elongated member contacts a flooring (p. 1:14-15, Worwag teaches a roller for a suction head of a vacuum cleaning device. The roller comprises a plurality of wiper blades 4, 14, 5, 15 [correspond to the recited first, second, third, and fourth fletches] as shown in fig.1. The wiper blade is comprised of an elastic material, i.e. rubber. Thus, the wiper blade would be compressed inward when the wiper blade contacts a flooring),
the first fletch, the second fletch, the third fletch, and the fourth fletch together defining a deflected diameter at a position of maximum deflection when any of the first fletch, the second fletch, the third fletch, and the fourth fletch deflect from engagement with the floor surface (fig. 1, the wiper blades 4, 14, 5, 15 can define a deflected diameter when the wiper blade has a maximum deflection upon contacting the floor surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fletches of Zheng as modified by Ortmann to be compressed as taught by Worwag in order to ensure deflection of the wiper blade to contact a large area of an object for effective cleaning (Worwag, p. 1:15-16).
Regarding claim 8, Zheng as modified by Ortmann and Worwag teaches the roller as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein the spacer comprises a major diameter such that the spacer is within the major diameter, and wherein the major diameter of the spacer is less than or equal to the deflected diameter (Worwag, fig. 1, a diameter connecting tips of the wiper blades is greater than a diameter of a ring flange 7 [corresponds to the recited spacer]. The diameter of the ring flange 7 would be less than or at least equal to a diameter formed by deflected tips of the wiper blades as the tip of the wiper blade contacts the floor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller of Zheng as modified by Ortmann and Worwag to provide the recited spacer diameter and deflected diameter as taught by Worwag so that a large area of the wiper blade contacts the floor for greater dedusting and effective cleaning.
Regarding claim 17, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 16, but does not disclose explicitly the first vane and the second vane of the first elongated member and the first vane and second vane of the second elongated member compress radially inward on condition that the first elongated member or the second elongated member contacts a surface of an environment, the first vane, the second vane, the third vane, and the fourth vane together defining a deflected diameter at a position of maximum deflection when any of the first vane, the second vane, the third vane, and the fourth vane deflect from engagement with the surface of the environment.
As discussed in claim 7 above, although the sub-brush body 31, 41 of Zheng is configured to clean a floor surface, it may contact the floor surface and a tip of the sub-brush body would be compressed, but Zheng does not disclose it explicitly.
Worwag teaches, in an analogous vacuum cleaner field of endeavor, the first vane and second vane of the first elongated member and the third fletch and the fourth fletch of the second elongated member compress radially inward on condition that the first elongated member or the second elongated member contacts a surface of an environment (p. 1:14-15, Worwag teaches a roller for a suction head of a vacuum cleaning device. The roller comprises a plurality of wiper blades 4, 14, 5, 15 [correspond to the recited first, second, third, and fourth vanes] as shown in fig.1. The wiper blade is comprised of an elastic material, i.e. rubber. Thus, the wiper blade would be compressed inward when the wiper blade contacts a surface of an environment. Note that Examiner considers the first vane and the second vane recited in second time as the third vane and the fourth vane as discussed in claim objection),
the first vane, the second vane, the third vane, and the fourth vane together defining a deflected diameter at a position of maximum deflection when any of the first vane, the second vane, the third vane, and the fourth vane deflect from engagement with the floor surface (fig. 1, the wiper blades 4, 14, 5, 15 can define a deflected diameter when the wiper blade has a maximum deflection upon contacting the floor surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vanes of Zheng as modified by Ortmann to be compressed as taught by Worwag in order to ensure deflection of the wiper blade to contact a large area of an object for effective cleaning (Worwag, p. 1:15-16).
Regarding claim 18, Zheng as modified by Ortmann and Worwag teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein the spacer comprises a major diameter at a periphery of the spacer, wherein the major diameter of the spacer is less than or equal to the deflected diameter of the first elongated member and the second elongated members (Worwag, fig. 1, as discussed in claim 8 above, a diameter connecting tips of the wiper blades is greater than a diameter of a ring flange 7 [corresponds to the recited spacer]. The diameter of the ring flange 7 would be less than or at least equal to a diameter formed by deflected tips of the wiper blades as the tip of the wiper blade contacts the floor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller of Zheng as modified by Ortmann and Worwag to provide the recited spacer diameter and deflected diameter as taught by Worwag so that a large area of the wiper blade contacts the floor for greater dedusting and effective cleaning.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Ortmann, as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Yuan et al. (CN 114424915A, hereinafter Yuan).
Regarding claim 10, Zheng as modified by Ortmann teaches the roller as in the rejection of claim 5, but does not disclose the body of the spacer comprises a plurality of bristles extending radially outward from the body of the spacer.
Yuan teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the body of the spacer comprises a plurality of bristles extending radially outward from the body of the spacer (fig. 1, a roller brush 100 for cleaning comprises bristles 30, 40 on either side of the roller brush. Bristles 20 are located at a center of the roller by extending radially outward from a body of the roller. Thus, the center bristles 20 of Yuan can be combined with the roller of Zheng, wherein the connecting member 50 [corresponds to the recited spacer] is located at the center of the roller, to dispose the bristles on the body of the spacer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the roller of Zheng as modified by Ortmann to provide the bristles on the spacer as taught by Yuan so that an entire roller including the center of the roller can clean dust on the floor surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hu et al. (US 2018/0263441) discloses a vacuum cleaner having a brushroll. The brushroll includes baffle plates which works as a spacer.
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723