DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment received on 08/21/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 1, 4-12 and 15-20 are now pending.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/21/2025 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “HEULSDUNK merely discusses the determination of a present pose, and once that pose is determined, HEULSDUNK never contemplates going back and adjusting it based on another subset of images, much less to add a body part that was missing to the pose”.
Examiner's response: HEULSDUNK discloses (e.g., Fig. 1 and pg. [0113]) tracking all joints (i.e. pose) of a person in a video stream. The very act of tracking the joints of a person involves adjusting locations of the joints over time based on incoming new video frames.
It is to note that claim 1 does not require “going back and adjusting” the initial pose/shape. In fact, the Examiner believes the “going back and adjusting” feature is not supported by the original disclosure. Fig. 3 of the instant application shows that two separate sets of video sequence images (302 and 304) are input to neural network(s) to obtain two separate pose/shape parameters (308/309 and 312/314) and to generate their corresponding human models (316 and 318). According to Fig. 3, the second set of images are never used to adjust the first pose/shape parameters or the first human model.
In addition, HEULSDUNK discloses determining a skeletal representation of a person (Fig. 4) that represents both pose (i.e. “the 3D absolute location of each (or some) of the person's joints”, see pg. [0032]) AND shape (i.e., figure or build) of the person. The model of a human is updated over time and used to determine certain events/states (pg. [0228]-[0229])
In view of this reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the Examiner respectfully submits that the rejections set forth below are proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 10-12, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUELSDUNK et al. (US 2021/0192783), and in view of Morris et al. (US 2021/0059565), hereafter referred to as “HUELSDUNK” and “Morris”, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, HUELSDUNK discloses an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors (pg. [0030]) configured to:
obtain a video sequence depicting movements of a person (Fig. 1, operation 5 and pg. [0030], e.g. video of a person (“articulated object”) catches a ball (non-articulated object))
determine an initial two-dimensional (2D) or three-dimensional (3D) representation of the person based on at least a first subset of images from the video sequence, wherein the initial 2D or 3D representation of the person represents a first pose and a first body shape of the person (Fig. 1, operations 7&10 and pg. [0109]-[111], estimate 2d pose and derive estimation of relative 3D joint locations of the person. The skeletal model as shown in Fig. 4 represents both a pose and a shape of a human body. Also see pg. [0228]-[0229] the model of a human is updated over time and used to determine certain events/states)
adjust the initial 2D or 3D representation of the person based on at least a second subset of images from the video sequence (please refer to “Response to Arguments/Remarks” section Fig. 1, operations 20&40 and pg. [0113]-[0120], [0134]-[0138] “use object tracking or re-identification to track or recognize objects over time” tracking person’s handling of the ball results in adjustment to the positions of the joints of the person),
HUELSDUNK does not expressly disclose using the method in a medical environment, or that the adjusted 2D or 3D representation of the person includes a representation of a body part of the person that is missing from the initial 2D or 3D representation of the person.
However, HUELSDUNK’s method is clearly generic in nature and can be used in any applications that need to determine the absolute 3D locations of a person’s joints (HUELSDUNK, Figs. 1&4), including medical applications, as for example shown in Morris (Figs. 1&4). Morris’s system performs video-based tracking of a patient moving in a medical environment to obtain gait metrics for the patient.
In addition, given the fact that HUELSDUNK’s system is used to track a person playing a ball, there certainly will be times when some part of his body (e.g., hand) is blocked from view (e.g., by the ball, by his torso when his back is turned toward the camera, and/or by other obstacles/people). The same could apply to Morris’s system when the patient is moving around. Part of the patient could be blocked by other people or obstacles.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Morris with that of HUELSDUNK to yield the invention as described in claim 1. This combination (modification) could be made using known methods with no changes to the operating principles of either reference to produce the predictable results of more accurately determine joint positions/angles of a patent so as to improve assessment of neurodegeneration of the patient (Morris, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, HUELSDUNK in view of Morris discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to reconstruct the body part based on a depiction of the body part in the second subset of images (see analysis of claim 1. Both HUELSDUNK and Morris generate 3D skeletal representation of the whole body in a video stream. Different body parts could be blocked/missing or reappearing at certain times).
Regarding claim 5, HUELSDUNK in view of Morris discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the initial 2D or 3D representation of the person or the adjusted 2D or 3D representation of the person is determined based on a machine- learning (ML) model (HUELSDUNK, Fig. 1, operation 7 and pg. [0109] “the 2d pose is estimated, using … OpenPose”. OpenPose is a machine- learning (ML) model developed by CMU and uses a specialized, multi-stage CNN pipeline).
Regarding claim 6, HUELSDUNK in view of Morris discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are configured to implement the ML model via a convolutional neural network or a recurrent neural network (OpenPose uses a specialized, multi-stage CNN pipeline).
Regarding claim 10, HUELSDUNK in view of Morris discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the video sequence is captured by a single image capturing device (HUELSDUNK, Abstract and pg. [0155] “use the sensors of a mobile phone”). Most mobile phone cameras have red-green-blue (RGB) image sensor. Many smartphones also have depth sensor, infrared sensor, radar sensor, etc. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to yield the invention as described in claim 10 from the teachings of HUELSDUNK in view of Morris.
Regarding claim 11, HUELSDUNK in view of Morris discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Displaying on a computer/smartphone screen any useful information generated during image processing is well known and common practice in the art, as for example shown in HUELSDUNK (pg. [0076]) and Morris (Fig. 12, pg. [0050]). In a medical environment, using information obtained from patient to adjust medical procedure/device would have been quite obvious and expected.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to yield the invention as described in claim 11 from the teachings of HUELSDUNK in view of Morris.
Claims 12, 15-17 and 20 have been analyzed and are rejected for the same reasons as outlined above regarding claims 1, 4-6 and 10, respectively.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUELSDUNK (US 2021/0192783) in view of Morris (US 2021/0059565), and further in view of Ramesh et al. (hereafter referred to as “Ramesh”, US 2024/0185453).
Regarding claim 7, HUELSDUNK in view of Morris discloses the apparatus of claim 1. The HUELSDUNK and Morris combination as applied to claim 1 fails to further teach the remaining limitations of claim 7.
In the same field of tracking patient movement, Ramesh discloses using multiple machine-learning models trained to process different body parts of the patient (Figs. 2-3, pg. [0050] “to use a single machine learning model and/or multiple machine learning models that may be trained using a single and/or different training data sets for assessing presence of weakness in one or more body parts of the subject 102…( e.g., a left arm) versus another part of the body ( e.g., a right arm, a torso, a leg, etc.)”).
Using multiple specialized ML models leads to more precise processing of individual body parts. Combining results from these models is clearly needed to determine the posture/gait of the patient. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Ramesh with that of HUELSDUNK in view of Morris to yield the invention as described in claim 7.
Claim 18 has been analyzed and is rejected for the same reasons as outlined above regarding claim 7.
Claims 8-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUELSDUNK (US 2021/0192783) in view of Morris (US 2021/0059565), and further in view of Karanam et al. (hereafter referred to as “Karanam”, US 2021/0158107).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 19, HUELSDUNK in view of Morris fails to expressly disclose that 2D/3D representation of the person includes a 3D mesh model and the 3D mesh model includes a first plurality of parameters associated with a pose of the person a second plurality of parameters associated with a body shape of the person.
However, using a 3D mesh model that includes pose parameters and shape parameters to represent a human body is well known and common practice in the art, as for example disclosed in Karanam (Figs. 2-5, pg. [0022], “a human mesh model may be recovered based on a 2D image of a person … one or more pose parameters θ, and one or more shape parameters, β, that may respectively indicate the pose and shape of the person's body”). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Karanam with that of HUELSDUNK in view of Morris to yield the invention as described in claims 8-9 and 19.
Examiner’s note
Applicant is encouraged to schedule a telephone interview with the Examiner to discuss any issues related to the claimed invention and the references cited in the current/previous Office Action(s). The Examiner can be reaches at (571)270-5363 (email: Li.Liu2@USPTO.GOV).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666