DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/04/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 04/14/2026. Claims 1, 4-15 are pending in this application. As directed, claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11-13 have been amended; claims 2-3 cancelled.
With respect to Drawings Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Specification dated 04/14/2026 have overcome the Drawings Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 01/27/2026.
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have not overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 01/27/2026. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation will be maintained in this Office Action, see details in the Claim Interpretation section below.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Claim Rejections: Applicant(s)’ arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendments. Specifically, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 04/14/2026 have changed the scope of the claims; therefore, the claim interpretation has changed.
However, Examiner would like to note that in response to Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art on records Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, previously cited) and Huang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0084497 A1, previously cited), Applicant(s)’ arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant(s)’ Arguments: (Regarding the independent claim 1 – see details on pages 10-13 of the Remarks dated 04/14/2026)
Applicant alleged that the prior art on record Akahori does not teach the limitation “a discharge chamber including an outlet and configured to, after the steam flows through the through-hole included in the upper plate, mix the steam with outside air and then discharge the steam mixed with outside air though the outlet” as recited in the independent claim 1.
Additionally, Applicant alleged that the prior art Akahori does not disclose the specification combination of the screen, the upper plate, and the lower plate, in combination with the discharge chamber, as recited in the amended claim 1; specifically, Applicant alleged that the annular partition 13 of the prior art Akahori does not have a through-hole, and that Akahori does not teach the upper plate including a through-hole in a central portion of the upper plate as required by the amended claim 1.
Furthermore, Applicant alleged that neither the steam collecting member 15 nor the concave face 151 of the prior art Huang guides steam as recited for the upper plate in the amended claim 1, thus, the prior art Huang does not teach the limitation “an upper plate, inside the guide chamber, disposed above and spaced apart from the screen, and including a through-hole in a central portion of the upper plate such that the steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole included in the upper plate” as recited in the independent claim 1.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant(s)’ arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
In response to Applicant’s arguments that the primary reference Akahori does not teach the lower plate includes a through-hole as required by the independent claim 1, specifically, Applicant alleged that the annular partition 13 of the prior art Akahori does not have a through-hole, Examiner respectfully disagrees because Figs.1-2 of Akahori clearly show a through-hole in the lower plate, see Akahori annotated Fig.1 below. Furthermore, Fig.2 of Akahori shows airflow entering from cooling-air suction port 9 and flowing upward toward the upper portion of the steam ventilation cylinder 14, as indicated by the arrows. For that airflow path to exist, the structure associated with the partition plate 13 must necessarily permit communication between the lower side and the upper side of the plate. Akahori Translated Par.0011 explains that the steam vent tube 14 is provided on partition plate 13, and that steam communicates through the steam vent 15 to the steam outlet 11. As shown in Figs.1-2 of Akahori, the partition plate 13 divides the upper portion of steam guide cylinder 2 into upper and lower chambers. Steam vent tube 14 is disposed on the partition plate 13 and extends upward therefrom. The illustrated flow path in Fig.2 demonstrates that fluid from the lower portion of the steam guide cylinder 2 first enters the interior the steam vent tube 14 at the location where the steam vent tube 14 is mounted on the partition plate 13, and thereafter exits through vent hole 15 towards the steam outlet 11. Thus, the fluid path passes though the central though-hole region formed in the partition plate 13 that communicates with the steam vent tube 14. If there were no through-hole in the partition plate 13, then the steam vent tube 14 would merely be closed up sitting on top of the solid plate, and no fluid could enter it at all. Therefore, the prior art Akahori properly discloses the limitation “a lower plate, inside the guide chamber, and including a through-hole in a central portion of the lower plate such that the steam is guided by the lower plate to pass through the through- hole included in the lower plate” as recited in the independent claim 1, see detailed rejections of the independent claim 1 in the 35 U.S.C. 103 Claim Rejections section below.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that the primary reference Akahori does not teach the upper plate including a through-hole in a central portion of the upper plate, Examiner would like to note that the limitation “an upper plate, inside the guide chamber, disposed above and spaced apart from the screen, and including a through-hole in a central portion of the upper plate such that the steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole included in the upper plate” as recited in the independent amended claim 1 is taught by the secondary reference Huang, see details in the rejections of claim 1 in the 35 U.S.C. 103 Claim Rejections section below.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that neither the steam collecting member 15 nor the concave face 151 of the prior art Huang guides steam as recited for the upper plate in the amended claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees because Examiner interpreted the upper plate as to include the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150. As shown in Fig.2 of Huang and explained in Par.0015 of Huang, the inner circumferential side 150 of the upper plate containing the through hole [see the annotated through-hole in the Huang annotated Fig.2 below] of the upper plate surrounds the steam outlet 10; therefore, the steam is configured to be guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole included in the upper plate. It is noted that the collecting steam feature as Applicant alleged is after the steam is guided though the through-hole included in the upper plate. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments that neither the steam collecting member 15 nor the concave face 151 of the prior art Huang guides steam as recited for the upper plate in the amended claim 1 are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the primary reference Akahori discloses substantially all limitations recited in the independent claim 1, including a guide chamber, a lower plate, a screen, and a discharge chamber including an outlet and configured to, after the steam flows through the through-hole included in the lower plate and the screen, mix the steam with outside air and then discharge the steam mixed with outside air though the outlet. It is noted that since the discharge chamber has the outlet that is in contact with outside/ambient environment, thus, it contains ambient/outside air, and also contains outside air that got suctioned by the blower 8, see the arrows in Fig.2 of Akahori & Akahori Translated Par.0002 discloses: “9 a cooling air suction port that serves as a path for drawing in outside air by the blower 8”. Therefore, the primary reference Akahori properly teaches a discharge chamber including an outlet and configured to, after the steam flows through the through-hole included in the lower plate and screen, mix the steam with outside air and then discharge the steam mixed with outside air though the outlet. However, the primary reference Akahori does not explicitly disclose “an upper plate, inside the guide chamber, disposed above and spaced apart from the screen, and including a through-hole in a central portion of the upper plate such that the steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole included in the upper plate” as recited in the independent claim 1. In this case, the secondary reference Huang is applied to teach an upper plate, inside the guide chamber, disposed above and spaced apart from the screen, and including a through-hole in a central portion of the upper plate such that the steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole included in the upper plate. See the Huang annotated Fig.2 below. It is noted that the primary reference Akahori teaches a humidifying apparatus comprising a guide chamber having a lower plate, inside the guide chamber, and including a through-hole in a central portion of the lower plate such that the steam is guided by the lower plate to pass through the through-hole included in the lower plate; a screen, inside the guide chamber at a central portion of the guide chamber, disposed above and spaced apart from the lower plate; see Akahori annotated Fig.1 below. Furthermore, the secondary reference Huang teaches a humidifying apparatus comprising a guide chamber having a lower plate, inside the guide chamber and including a through-hole in a central portion of the lower plate, and a screen, inside the guide chamber, disposed above and spaced apart from the lower plate. Thus, the locations in the vertical direction of the lower plate and the screen of the primary reference Akahori and the secondary reference Huang are equivalent. Furthermore, both references are directed to the same technical field, which is humidifying apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine them. It is further noted that by adding the Huang upper plate to the Akahori guide chamber, wherein the upper plate is disposed above and spaced apart from the screen, as taught by Huang, in combination, Akahori in view of Huang teaches that steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole and then into the discharge chamber, and also in combination, Akahori in view of Huang teaches that the discharge chamber configured to, after the steam flows through the through-hole included in the upper plate, mix the steam with outside air and then discharge the steam mixed with outside air though the outlet.
According, Akahori in view of Huang properly teaches all limitations recited in the independent claim 1, see detailed rejections of the independent claim 1 in the 35 U.S.C. 103 Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heating device configured to heat the water held in the water tank to generate steam” in claim 1 (line 3), and “heating device” in claim 11 (line 4) & claim 14 (line 3). This limitation uses generic placeholder “device” (Prong A); the term “device” is modified by functional language “configured to heat the water held in the water tank to generate steam”/ “heating” (Prong B); and the term “device” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, the limitation “heating device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “heating device” will be interpreted as “heater” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification on page 5 – lines 24-25: “a heater configured to heat the water in the water tank”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, previously cited) in view of Huang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0084497 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Akahori discloses a humidifying apparatus (humidifier, Akahori Abstract, Translated Par.0001 & as shown in Figs.1-2) comprising:
a water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1; the evaporating dish 3 is water tank because it is configured to hold water, Akahori Translated Pars.0004-0005) configured to hold water (as shown in Akahori Fig.1 & indicated by Akahori Translated Par.0004: “Reference numeral 22 denotes a water level maintaining portion that maintains the water level in the evaporating dish 3 and the tank water receiving portion 19 at a predetermined value.”, and Akahori Translated Par.0005 discloses: “The water in the evaporating dish 3 heated by the heater 5 boils and evaporates”);
a heating device (heater 5, Akahori Fig.1) configured to heat the water held in the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) to generate steam (Akahori Translated Par.0005 discloses: “The water in the evaporating dish 3 heated by the heater 5 boils and evaporates”, and Akahori Translated Par.0012 discloses: “The water in the evaporating dish 3 continuously evaporates due to heat conduction from the heater 5, turns into steam, rises inside the steam guide cylinder 2”);
a guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below);
a lower plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1) (Akahori Translated Abstract discloses: “A steam guide cylinder 2 which works as an ascending passage of steam generated in an evaporating tray 5 is divided into an upper chamber and a lower chamber with an annular partition 13, and a steam passage cylinder 14 the upper end opening of which is closed with a top plate 16 is provided on the partition 13.”), inside the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below), and including a through-hole (through-hole of the partition 13, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) in a central portion of the lower plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1) such that the steam is guided by the lower plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1) to pass through the through-hole (through-hole of the partition 13, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) included in the lower plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1);
a screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1), inside the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) at a central portion of the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (it is noted that the Instant Application defines “central portion of the guide chamber” as the central portion of the circumference of the inside of the guide chamber because Specification of the Instant Application on page 12 – lines 15-16 describes: “the guide chamber 300 may include a first guide chamber portion 310 and a second guide chamber portion 320”, and Fig.5 of the Instant Application shows that the screen 430 is located inside the second guide chamber portion 320 and at the central portion of the circumference of the inside of the guide chamber 300 including the first guide chamber portion 310 and the second guide chamber portion 320; in other words, the Instant Application defines the screen 430 is located at the central portion of the guide chamber 300 in horizontal direction, the screen 430 is not located at the central portion of the guide chamber 300 in vertical direction because the screen 430 is located inside the second guide chamber portion 320, which is the top portion of the guide chamber 300. Thus, the locations of the screen in the Instant Application and the prior art Akahori are equivalent. Therefore, in this case, the top plate 16 is located at the central portion of the guide chamber) disposed above and spaced apart from the lower plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1), and spaced apart from an inner sidewall of the guide chamber (inner side wall of the guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) to form a gap (gap, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) between the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1) and the inner sidewall (inner side wall of the guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below), such that the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1) interferes with the steam that passed through the through-hole included in the lower plate (through-hole of the partition 13, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) to guide the steam to flow through the gap (gap, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (Akahori Translated Par.0005 discloses: “The water in the evaporating dish 3 heated by the heater 5 boils and evaporates, rises in the steam guide tube 2, and is discharged to the outside through the steam outlet 11, increasing the humidity in the room.”, and see the flow path in Akahori Fig.2; therefore, top plate 16 that is inside the guide chamber at the central portion of the guide chamber, disposed above and spaced apart from the annular partition 13, and spaced apart from an inner sidewall of the guide chamber to form a gap between the top plate 16 and the inner sidewall, such that the top plate 16 interferes with the steam that passed through the through-hole included in the partition 13 to guide the steam to flow through the gap);
a discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (It is noted that the Instant Application defines the discharge chamber as an opened top and opened bottom chamber (see the chamber 500 in Figs.5-6 of the Instant Application), and the Instant Application further shows the discharge chamber 500 is coupled to and in fluid communication with the guide chamber 300 (i.e., second guide chamber portion 320 of the guide chamber 300) [see Figs.5-6 of the Instant Application]. In this case, the prior art Akahori annotated Fig.1 below shows the discharge chamber is an opened top and opened bottom chamber, and is coupled to and in fluid communication with the guide chamber. It is further noted that the prior art Akahori discloses: “The same or corresponding parts as those in the conventional example of FIG. 3 are denoted by the same reference numerals, and the description thereof will be omitted.” in Akahori Translated Par.0011. Akahori Fig.3 shows the outlet 11 has the outlet port portion with side walls extended from the body of the humidifier. Therefore, the outlet 11 as shown in Akahori Fig.1 also has side walls as shown in Akahori annotated Fig.1 below and thus, form the discharge chamber.) including an outlet (opening of the steam outlet 11, Akahori Fig.1) and configured to, after the steam flows through the through-hole included in the lower plate (through-hole of the partition 13, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1), mix the steam with outside air and then discharge the steam mixed with outside air though the outlet (opening of the steam outlet 11, Akahori Fig.1) (It is noted that since the discharge chamber has the outlet that is in contact with outside/ambient environment, thus, it contains ambient/outside air, and also contains outside air that got suctioned by the blower 8, see the arrows in Fig.2 of Akahori & Akahori Translated Par.0002 discloses: “9 a cooling air suction port that serves as a path for drawing in outside air by the blower 8”. Therefore, Akahori discloses the discharge chamber including an outlet and configured to, after the steam flows through the through-hole included in the lower plate and screen, mix the steam with outside air and then discharge the steam mixed with outside air though the outlet.)
Akahori does not disclose:
an upper plate, inside the guide chamber, disposed above and spaced apart from the screen, and including a through-hole in a central portion of the upper plate such that the steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole included in the upper plate, and
the steam flows through the through-hole included in the upper plate
Huang teaches a humidifier (Huang Fig.2) comprising:
an upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2) (it is noted that the upper plate herein includes the Huang concave face 151 and the Huang inner circumferential side 150 because the Huang outer circumferential side 152 is equivalent with the Akahori side wall of the top portion of the guide chamber, see Akahori annotated Fig.1 in the rejection above), inside the guide chamber (guide chamber, Huang annotated Fig.2 below) (it is further noted that in combination, by adding the Huang upper plate to the upper opening of the Akahori guide chamber, the Huang upper plate is inside the Akahori guide chamber), disposed above and spaced apart from the screen (screen, Huang annotated Fig.2 below), and including a through-hole (through hole, Huang annotated Fig.2 below) in a central portion of the upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2) such that the steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole (through-hole, Huang annotated Fig.2 below) included in the upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2) (It is noted that in combination, by adding the Huang upper plate to the Akahori guide chamber, wherein the upper plate is disposed above and spaced apart from the screen, in combination, Akahori in view of Huang teaches that steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole and then into the discharge chamber and also in combination, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the discharge chamber configured to, after the steam flows through the through-hole included in the upper plate, mix the steam with outside air and then discharge the steam mixed with outside air though the outlet because there must be ambient air/outside air in the discharge chamber of Akahori; it is noted that since the discharge chamber has the outlet that is in contact with outside/ambient environment, thus, it contains ambient/outside air [see the discharge chamber in Akahori annotated Fig.1 above], and the discharge chamber also contains outside air that got suctioned by the blower 8, see the arrows of air flow in Fig.2 of Akahori & Akahori Translated Par.0002 discloses: “9 a cooling air suction port that serves as a path for drawing in outside air by the blower 8”)
the steam flows through the through-hole included in the upper plate (It is further noted that by adding the Huang upper plate to the Akahori guide chamber, wherein the upper plate is disposed above and spaced apart from the screen, as taught by Huang, in combination, Akahori in view of Huang teaches that the discharge chamber configured to, after the steam flows through the through-hole included in the upper plate, mix the steam with outside air and then discharge the steam mixed with outside air though the outlet)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori, by adding upper plate, inside the guide chamber, disposed above and spaced apart from the screen, and including a through-hole in a central portion of the upper plate such that the steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole included in the upper plate, as taught by Huang, in order to collect steam and then convey it into a room, as recognized by Huang [Huang, Pars.0015-0016]. The modification would separate condensate, ensure safety, maintain air quality, and regulate output. By allowing steam to collect, the humidifier ensures that only dry steam is released, while liquid water (i.e., condensate) and minerals are kept out of the room. Thus, improve air quality.
Regarding claim 4, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori also discloses further comprising:
a blower fan (blower 8, Akahori Fig.1) including a suction portion (suction portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) configured to suction the outside air and a discharge portion (discharge portion, Akahori annotated Fig.2 below) communicating with the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (Akahori annotated Fig.2 below shows the discharge portion is in fluid communication with the discharge chamber) to deliver the outside air suctioned by the suction portion (suction portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) to the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) to be mixed with the steam in the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (Akahori Translated Par.0002 discloses: “8 a steam cooling blower that draws cooling air from the outside air, 9 a cooling air suction port that serves as a path for drawing in outside air by the blower 8”, & see Akahori Fig.2).
Regarding claim 8, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Huang also teaches:
wherein the upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above) is inclined downward and toward the through-hole (through hole, Huang annotated Fig.2 below) of the upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above) such that condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward by the upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) and away from the discharge chamber (It is noted that in combination, by adding the Huang upper plate to the Akahori guide chamber, in combination, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward by the upper plate and away from the discharge chamber because of the inclined portion of the upper plate (see Huang Fig.2 and see Akahori annotated Fig.1 above in the rejection of claim 1)).
Regarding claim 12, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori also discloses
wherein a size of an internal cross-sectional area of the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) in a direction in which the steam flows is non-uniform (Akahori Translated Abstract discloses: “A steam guide cylinder 2 which works as an ascending passage of steam generated in an evaporating tray 5 is divided into an upper chamber and a lower chamber with an annular partition 13”, and Akahori annotated Fig.1 below shows the size of internal cross-sectional area of the guide chamber in vertical direction in which the steam flows is non-uniform) such that a pressure of the steam that is guided through the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) is changed relative to a previous pressure of the steam (since the size of internal cross-sectional area of the guide chamber in vertical direction in which the steam flows is non-uniform, thus, the pressure of the steam that is guided through the guide chamber is changed relative to a previous pressure of the steam).
Regarding claim 13, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and Akahori also discloses wherein the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) includes:
a first guide chamber portion (first guide chamber portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) coupled to an upper side of the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1), wherein the lower plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1) and the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1) are inside the first guide chamber portion (first guide chamber portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below), and
a second guide chamber portion (second guide chamber portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) coupled to an upper side of the first guide chamber portion (first guide chamber portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) to communicate with the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below), and the humidifying apparatus (humidifying apparatus as shown in Akahori Figs.1-2) further includes:
a connecting rib (connecting rib, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below), inside the first guide chamber portion (first guide chamber portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below), connecting the lower plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1) to the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1).
Akahori does not explicitly disclose:
the first guide chamber portion detachably coupled to an upper side of the water tank; and
the second guide chamber portion detachably coupled to an upper side of the first guide chamber portion, wherein the upper plate is inside the second guide chamber portion
Huang teaches a humidifier (Huang Fig.2) comprising:
the first guide chamber portion (lower base 22, Huang Fig.2) detachably coupled to an upper side of the water tank (upper side of the water box 6, Huang Fig.2) (Huang Par.0022 teaches: “The water box 6 is formed with an annular wall 60 having an upper end combined with the lower annular combination side 223 of the lower base 22.”, and Huang Fig.2 shows connection mechanism between the water box 6 and the lower base 22; thus, the lower base 22 detachably coupled to the upper side of the water box 6, as shown in Huang Figs.2-3); and
the second guide chamber portion (second guide chamber portion includes the outer side wall 214 and the steam-collecting member 15, Huang Fig.2) detachably coupled to an upper side of the first guide chamber portion (upper side of the lower base 22, Huang annotated Fig.2 below), wherein the upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2) is inside the second guide chamber portion (second guide chamber portion includes the outer side wall 214 and the steam-collecting member 15, Huang Fig.2) (Huang Par.0018 teaches: “an annular combination projection 215 at a lower side of the end of the outer sidewall 214 for combining a lower base 22”, Huang Fig.2 shows connection mechanism between the lower base 22 and the second guide chamber portion includes the outer side wall 214 and the steam-collecting member 15; thus, the second guide chamber portion includes the outer side wall 214 and the steam-collecting member 15 detachably coupled to the upper side of the lower base 22, as shown in Huang Fig.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akahori in view of Huang, by making the first guide chamber portion detachably coupled to an upper side of the water tank, and the second guide chamber portion detachably coupled to an upper side of the first guide chamber portion, wherein the upper plate is inside the second guide chamber portion, as taught by Huang, in order to offer easier and more convenient way to clean the humidifier to prevent the buildup of bacteria, mold, and mineral deposits that can be dispersed into the air. Thus, the modification would improve the overall air quality.
Regarding claim 14, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori also discloses wherein:
the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) includes a bottom (bottom, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and a sidewall (sidewall, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) extending upward from the bottom (bottom, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below); and
the heating device (heater 5, Akahori Fig.1) is disposed on the sidewall (sidewall, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) of the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, previously cited) in view of Huang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0084497 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Chiu (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0035044 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 4, Akahori also discloses wherein the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) further includes:
a base (base, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) coupled to an upper portion of the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (Akahori annotated Fig.1 below shows the baser of the discharge chamber is coupled to the upper portion of the guide chamber); and
a mixing tower (mixing tower, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below; it is noted that the mixing tower is formed by the height of the discharge chamber) extending from the base (base, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) in a direction in which the steam flows (steam flow in vertical direction from bottom to top of the Akahori humidifier) and that is configured to mix the steam introduced from the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and the outside air introduced from the blower fan (blower 8, Akahori Fig.1) (see the air path that is drawn from outside air by the blower 8 in Akahori Fig.2; therefore, since both steam and outside air enter the mixing tower, the mixing tower is configured to mix the steam introduced from the guide chamber and the outside air introduced from the blower 8).
Akahori in view of Huang does not explicitly teach:
the base detachably coupled to the upper portion of the guide chamber
Chiu teaches a humidifier (100, Chiu Figs.3, 6)
the base (base of the nozzle 131, Chiu annotated Fig.3 below) detachably (as shown in Chiu Figs.3, 6) coupled to the upper portion (upper portion, Chiu annotated Fig.3 below) of the guide chamber (water hood 180 with liquid mist passage 181, Chiu Figs.3, 6) (Chiu Par.0022 teaches: “the water hood 180 includes a liquid mist passage 181 disposed at the center of the water hood 180 and interconnected with the nozzle 131 and the water storage tank 111.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the humidifier of Akahori in view of Huang, by making the base detachably coupled to the upper portion of the guide chamber, as taught by Chiu, in order to allow thorough cleaning to prevent mold and bacteria buildup. Thus, improve air quality and reduce infection risk.
Regarding claim 6, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori in view of Huang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the screen is inclined downward and away from the central portion of the guide chamber such that condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward and away from the discharge chamber.
Chiu teaches a humidifier (100, Chiu Fig.6):
wherein the screen (screen, Chiu annotated Fig.6 below) is inclined downward and away from the central portion of the guide chamber (guide chamber, Chiu annotated Fig.6 below)
It is noted that the primary reference Akahori already discloses the screen is located at the central portion of the guide chamber, and the guide chamber is configured to guide the steam generated from the water tank to the discharge chamber (see details in the rejection of claim 1 above); therefore, in combination, by making the screen of Akahori to be inclined downward and away from the central portion of the guide chamber, as taught by Chiu, the condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward and away from the discharge chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the humidifier of Akahori in view of Huang, by making the screen of Akahori to be inclined downward and away from the central portion of the guide chamber, as taught by Chiu, in order to guide the condensed water downward for efficient operation, preventing blockages in the misting mechanism, maintaining optimal humidity levels by avoiding over-saturation, and ensuring the humidifier operates as intended by keeping water in the water tank for continuous vaporization.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, previously cited) in view of Huang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0084497 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Lin et al. (CN 212619192 U, previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori in view of Huang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the lower plate is inclined downward and toward the through-hole of the lower plate such that condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward by the lower plate and away from the discharge chamber.
Lin teaches a humidifier (Lin Fig.1):
wherein the lower plate (lower plate, Lin annotated Fig.1 below) is inclined downward and toward the through-hole (through-hole, Lin annotated Fig.1 below) of the lower plate (lower plate, Lin annotated Fig.1 below)
It is noted that in combination, by making the Akahori lower plate to be inclined downward and toward the through-hole, as taught by Lin, in combination, Akahori in view of Huang and Lin teaches the lower plate is inclined downward and toward the through-hole so that condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward by the lower plate and away from the discharge chamber (see Lin annotated Fig.1 below and see Akahori annotated Fig.1 above in the rejection of claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori in view of Huang, by making lower plate to be inclined downward and toward the through-hole, as taught by Lin, in order to allow the condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward to maximize efficiency, reduce mineral buildup, and prevent water wastage. Returning condensed water to the water tank reduces the overall amount of water needed, and reusing already warmed water can reduce the energy needed to turn it back into vapor. Thus, save water usage.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, previously cited) in view of Huang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0084497 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Honda et al. (JP 2004020109 A, previously cited)
Regarding claim 9, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 4, Akahori in view of Huang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the blower fan is configured to turn off after passage of a predetermined amount of time after a humidifying operation by the humidifying apparatus ends.
Honda teaches a humidifier (Honda Translated Abstract):
wherein the blower fan is configured to turn off after passage of a predetermined amount of time after a humidifying operation by the humidifying apparatus ends (Honda Translated Par.0010 teaches: “The humidifier of the present invention, when the operation of the humidifier is stopped, stopped the rotation drive of the rotary element, heating means for indoor air, and without stopping the operation of the blower, continued these operations for a certain period of time Since the setting for stopping these operations is included later, the growth of bacteria in the humidifier can be suppressed, and the release of bacteria into the room can be prevented.”; therefore, Honda teaches the blower fan is configured to turn off after passage of a predetermined amount of time after a humidifying operation by the humidifying apparatus ends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori in view of Huang, by adding the teaching of the blower fan is configured to turn off after passage of a predetermined amount of time after a humidifying operation by the humidifying apparatus ends, as taught by Honda, in order to suppress the growth of bacteria and prevent release of bacteria into the room, as recognized by Honda [Honda, Translated Par.0010]. Thus, improve air quality and reduce infection risk.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, previously cited) in view of Huang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0084497 A1, previously cited), Chiu (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0035044 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Hitzler et al. (DE 102020112867 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, Akahori in view of Huang and Chiu teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 5, but does not teach:
the blower fan further includes a first blower fan and a second blower fan; and the mixing tower of the discharge chamber is disposed between the first blower fan and the second blower fan.
Hitzler teaches a humidifier (Hitzler Fig.6):
the blower fan (two fans V, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below) further includes a first blower fan (left fan V, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below) and a second blower fan (right fan V, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below) (Hitzler Translated Document on page 6 paragraph 4 teaches: “6th shows an air treatment device 1 with a container 3 and a lid 6th . In the container 3 a functional module such as a humidifier is used. In the lid 6th are two air inlets LE , each with a fan V , and an air outlet LA integrated.”); and
the mixing tower of the discharge chamber (mixing tower of the discharge chamber, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below) is disposed between the first blower fan (left fan V, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below) and the second blower fan (right fan V, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Akahori air suction system & its location (see the Akahori blower 8 in Akahori Fig.1) with the Hitzler air suction system & its location (see the Hitzler fans V in Hitzler Fig.6), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of sucking outside air to provide air to the humidifier. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, previously cited) in view of Huang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0084497 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Yoojin (KR 19990005256 U, previously cited).
Regarding claim 11, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori in view of Huang does not teach further comprising:
a perforated plate disposed between the guide chamber and the water tank so that noise generated when the heating device heats the water held in the water tank is attenuated.
Yoojin teaches a humidifying device (Yoojin Fig.2) comprising:
a perforated plate (noise prevention plate 40 has plurality of through-holes 41, Yoojin Figs.2-3 & Translated Abstract) is formed and installed on upper surface of the water surface (as shown in Yoojin Fig.2 & Yoojin Translated Abstract teaches: “a plurality of through-holes in the plate 40 to pass only atomized water vapor (41) is formed and installed on the upper surface of the water surface (21), but it is characterized in that it is spaced apart from the water surface (21) to a level that does not generate noise while dripping water.”)
Therefore, in combination, by adding the noise prevention plate 40 of Yoojin to the Akahori in view of Huang humidifier, Akahori in view of Huang and Yoojin teaches:
the perforated plate (noise prevention plate 40, Yoojin Fig.2) disposed between the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and the water tank (evaporation dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) so that noise generated when the heating device (heater 5, Akahori Fig.1) heats the water held in the water tank (evaporation dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) is attenuated (it is noted that Yoojin teaches the noise prevention plate 40 is formed and installed on the upper surface of the water surface, thus, in combination, by adding the noise prevention plate 40 of Yoojin to the Akahori in view of Huang humidifier, Akahori in view of Huang and Yoojin teaches the noise prevention plate 40 is disposed between the Akahori evaporation dish 3 and Akahori guide chamber, see Akahori annotated Fig.1 below. Furthermore, Yoojin Translated Abstract teaches: “a plurality of through-holes in the plate 40 to pass only atomized water vapor (41) is formed and installed on the upper surface of the water surface (21), but it is characterized in that it is spaced apart from the water surface (21) to a level that does not generate noise while dripping water.”; therefore, in combination, the noise prevention plate 40 attenuates the noise generated when the heater 5 heats the water held in the evaporation dish 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori in view of Huang, by adding the perforated plate and install the perforated plate on upper surface of the water surface, as taught by Yoojin, in order to reduce noise generated when the heater heats the water held in the water tank; thus, soothing atmosphere, reducing disturbance, and improving sleep quality and enabling use in quiet environments like nurseries or home offices.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, previously cited) in view of Huang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0084497 A1, previously cited), and further in view of Kong (KR 101415220 B1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 15, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori in view of Huang does not teach further comprising:
a supply pump connected to the water tank to supply water to the water tank; and
a drain pump connected to the water tank to drain the water held in the water tank.
Kong teaches a humidifier (Kong Figs.1-7) comprising
a supply pump (first pump 510, Kong Fig.6) connected to the water tank (water receptable 300, Kong Fig.6) to supply water to the water tank (water receptable 300, Kong Fig.6) (Kong Translated Document on page 6 – second paragraph teaches: “The first pump 510 supplies the water in the water receptacle 300 to the upper chamber 230 of the humidifying and inducing means 200 so that the waterflows down the humidifying filter medium 210, The second pump 520 drains the water in the water receptacle 300 to the outside”); and
a drain pump (second pump 520, Kong Fig.6) connected to the water tank (water receptable 300, Kong Fig.6) to drain the water held in the water tank (water receptable 300, Kong Fig.6) (Kong Translated Document on page 6 – second paragraph teaches: “The first pump 510 supplies the water in the water receptacle 300 to the upper chamber 230 of the humidifying and inducing means 200 so that the waterflows down the humidifying filter medium 210, The second pump 520 drains the water in the water receptacle 300 to the outside”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori in view of Huang, by adding supply pump connected to the water tank to supply water to the water tank, and drain pump connected to the water tank to drain the water held in the water tank, as taught by Kong, in order to ensure consistent, automated operation without manual water management. The supply pump maintains optimal water levels for continuous operation, while the drain pump removes old water, preventing stagnant water and reducing mineral buildup, ultimately ensuring cleaner air, preventing mold, and extending the humidifier’s lifespan.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Glucksman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,636,319 A) discloses warm air humidifiers for delivering a steam air mixture having a uniform moisture at a temperature that does not cause a sensation of pain. A steam ejector is used to mix the steam from an evaporation chamber with the air entering the humidifier.
Ohdou et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0354988 A1) discloses a humidifier including a humidification section which vaporizes water to produce humidified air, and a fan which produces in an air passage an air flow delivering the humidified air to the outside.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 07/06/2026