DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed 11/28/2022, 05/11/2023, 04/01/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “414” is shown in Fig.7 of the drawings but not mentioned in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heating device configured to heat the water held in the water tank” in claim 1 (line 3) and “heating device” in claim 1 (line 6), claim 11 (line 3), claim 14 (line 4). This limitation uses generic placeholder “device” (Prong A); the term “device” is modified by functional language “configured to heat the water held in the water tank” (Prong B); and the term “device” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, the limitation “heating device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “heating device” will be interpreted as “heater” and equivalents, as indicated by Specification on page 5 – lines 24-25: “a heater configured to heat the water in the water tank”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, Published 1993, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Akahori discloses a humidifying apparatus (humidifier, Akahori Abstract, Translated Par.0001 & as shown in Figs.1-2) comprising:
a water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1; the evaporating dish 3 is water tank because it is configured to hold water, Akahori Translated Pars.0004-0005) configured to hold water (as shown in Akahori Fig.1 & indicated by Akahori Translated Par.0004: “Reference numeral 22 denotes a water level maintaining portion that maintains the water level in the evaporating dish 3 and the tank water receiving portion 19 at a predetermined value.”, and Akahori Translated Par.0005 discloses: “The water in the evaporating dish 3 heated by the heater 5 boils and evaporates”);
a heating device (heater 5, Akahori Fig.1) configured to heat the water held in the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) (Akahori Translated Par.0005 discloses: “The water in the evaporating dish 3 heated by the heater 5 boils and evaporates”);
a discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (It is noted that the Instant Application defines the discharge chamber as an opened top and opened bottom chamber (see the chamber 500 in Figs.5-6 of the Instant Application), and the Instant Application further shows the discharge chamber 500 is coupled to and in fluid communication with the guide chamber 300 (i.e., second guide chamber portion 320 of the guide chamber 300) [see Figs.5-6 of the Instant Application]. In this case, the prior art Akahori annotated Fig.1 below shows the discharge chamber is an opened top and opened bottom chamber, and is coupled to and in fluid communication with the guide chamber. It is further noted that the prior art Akahori discloses: “The same or corresponding parts as those in the conventional example of FIG. 3 are denoted by the same reference numerals, and the description thereof will be omitted.” in Akahori Translated Par.0011. Akahori Fig.3 shows the outlet 11 has the outlet port portion with side walls extended from the body of the humidifier. Therefore, the outlet 11 as shown in Akahori Fig.1 also has side walls as shown in Akahori annotated Fig.1 below and thus, form the discharge chamber.) disposed above the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) and including an outlet (opening of the steam outlet 11, Akahori Fig.1) configured to discharge steam generated in the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) due to the water being heated by the heating device (heater 5, Akahori Fig.1) (Akahori Translated Par.0005 discloses: “The water in the evaporating dish 3 heated by the heater 5 boils and evaporates, rises in the steam guide tube 2, and is discharged to the outside through the steam outlet 11, increasing the humidity in the room.”);
a guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) between the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) and the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and configured to guide the steam generated in the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) into the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (Akahori Translated Par.0005 discloses: “The water in the evaporating dish 3 heated by the heater 5 boils and evaporates, rises in the steam guide tube 2, and is discharged to the outside through the steam outlet 11, increasing the humidity in the room.”, and Akahori Translated Abstract discloses: “A steam guide cylinder 2 which works as an ascending passage of steam generated in an evaporating tray 5 is divided into an upper chamber and a lower chamber with an annular partition 13”); and
a screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1) at a central portion of an inside of the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (it is noted that the Instant Application defines “central portion of an inside of the guide chamber” as the central portion of the circumference of the inside of the guide chamber because Specification of the Instant Application on page 12 – lines 15-16 describes: “the guide chamber 300 may include a first guide chamber portion 310 and a second guide chamber portion 320”, and Fig.5 of the Instant Application shows that the screen 430 is located inside the second guide chamber portion 320 and at the central portion of the circumference of the inside of the guide chamber 300 including the first guide chamber portion 310 and the second guide chamber portion 320; in other words, the Instant Application defines the screen 430 is located at the central portion of the guide chamber 300 in horizontal direction, the screen 430 is not located at the central portion of the guide chamber 300 in vertical direction because the screen 430 is located inside the second guide chamber portion 320, which is the top portion of the guide chamber 300. Thus, the locations of the screen in the Instant Application and the prior art Akahori are equivalent. Therefore, in this case, the top plate 16 is located at the central portion of the inside of the guide chamber) and spaced apart from an inner sidewall of the guide chamber (inner side wall of the guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) to form a gap (gap, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) between the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1) and the inner sidewall (inner side wall of the guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below), so that the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1) interferes with a flow of the steam guided by the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) in the central portion (central portion of the circumference of the inside of the guide chamber, as explained previously) and allows the steam guided by the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) to flow through the gap (gap, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and to then be guided by the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) into the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (since the evaporating dish 3, the guide chamber, the discharge chamber are in fluid communication as shown in Akahori annotated Fig.1 below, and Akahori Translated Par.0005 discloses: “The water in the evaporating dish 3 heated by the heater 5 boils and evaporates, rises in the steam guide tube 2, and is discharged to the outside through the steam outlet 11, increasing the humidity in the room.”; therefore, top plate 16 that is located within the guide chamber interferes with flow of the steam guided by the guide chamber in the central portion of the circumference of the inside of the guide chamber and allows the steam guided by the guide chamber through the gap and to then be guided by the guide chamber into the discharge chamber, see Akahori annotated Fig.1 below).
Regarding claim 2, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori also discloses further comprising:
a lower plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1) (Akahori Translated Abstract discloses: “A steam guide cylinder 2 which works as an ascending passage of steam generated in an evaporating tray 5 is divided into an upper chamber and a lower chamber with an annular partition 13, and a steam passage cylinder 14 the upper end opening of which is closed with a top plate 16 is provided on the partition 13.”) inside the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) disposed below and spaced apart from the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1) and including a through-hole (through-hole, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) in a central portion of the lower plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1) so that the steam guided by the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) passes through the through-hole (through-hole, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and then into the gap (gap, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (Akahori Fig.2 shows direction of flow).
Regarding claim 4, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori also discloses further comprising:
a blower fan (blower 8, Akahori Fig.1) including a suction portion (suction portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) configured to suction outside air and a discharge portion (discharge portion, Akahori annotated Fig.2 below) communicating with the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Figs.1-2 below) (Akahori annotated Fig.2 below shows the discharge portion is in fluid communication with the discharge chamber) to deliver the outside air suctioned by the suction portion (suction portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) to the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Figs.1-2 below) (Akahori Translated Par.0002 discloses: “8 a steam cooling blower that draws cooling air from the outside air, 9 a cooling air suction port that serves as a path for drawing in outside air by the blower 8”, & see Akahori Fig.2).
Regarding claim 12, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori also discloses
wherein a size of an internal cross-sectional area of the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) in a direction in which the steam flows is non-uniform (Akahori Translated Abstract discloses: “A steam guide cylinder 2 which works as an ascending passage of steam generated in an evaporating tray 5 is divided into an upper chamber and a lower chamber with an annular partition 13”, and Akahori annotated Fig.1 below shows the size of internal cross-sectional area of the guide chamber in vertical direction in which the steam flows is non-uniform) so that a pressure of the steam that is guided through the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) is changed relative to a previous pressure of the steam (since the size of internal cross-sectional area of the guide chamber in vertical direction in which the steam flows is non-uniform, thus, the pressure of the steam that is guided through the guide chamber is changed relative to a previous pressure of the steam).
Regarding claim 14, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori also discloses wherein:
the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) includes a bottom (bottom, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and a sidewall (sidewall, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) extending upward from the bottom (bottom, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below); and
the heating device (heater 5, Akahori Fig.1) is disposed on the sidewall (sidewall, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) of the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, Published 1993, Translation is attached) in view of Huang (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0084497 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
an upper plate inside the guide chamber disposed above and spaced apart from the screen and including a through-hole in a central portion of the upper plate so that the steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole and then into the discharge chamber.
Huang teaches a humidifier (Huang Fig.2) comprising:
an upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2) (it is noted that the upper plate herein includes the Huang concave face 151 and the Huang inner circumferential side 150 because the Huang outer circumferential side 152 is equivalent with the Akahori side wall of the top portion of the guide chamber, see Akahori annotated Fig.1 in the rejection of claim 1 above) inside the guide chamber (guide chamber, Huang annotated Fig.2 below) (it is further noted that in combination, by adding the Huang upper plate to the upper opening of the Akahori guide chamber, the Huang upper plate is inside the Akahori guide chamber) and including a through-hole (through hole, Huang annotated Fig.2 below) in a central portion of the upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2)
It is noted that in combination, by adding the Huang upper plate to the upper opening of the Akahori guide chamber, in combination, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the upper plate disposed above and spaced apart from the screen so that the steam, after flowing through the gap, is guided by the upper plate to flow through the through-hole and then into the discharge chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori, by adding upper plate inside the guide chamber including a through-hole in a central portion of the upper plate, as taught by Huang, in order to collect steam and then convey it into a room, as recognized by Huang [Huang, Pars.0015-0016]. The modification would separate condensate, ensure safety, maintain air quality, and regulate output. By allowing steam to collect, the humidifier ensures that only dry steam is released, while liquid water (i.e., condensate) and minerals are kept out of the room. Thus, improve air quality.
Regarding claim 8, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 3, Huang also teaches:
wherein the upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) is inclined downward and toward the through-hole (through hole, Huang annotated Fig.2 below) so that condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward by the upper plate (upper plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 3 above) and away from the discharge chamber (It is noted that in combination, by adding the Huang upper plate to the upper opening of the Akahori guide chamber, in combination, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward by the upper plate and away from the discharge chamber because of the inclined portion of the upper plate (see Huang Fig.2 and see Akahori annotated Fig.1 above in the rejection of claim 1)).
Regarding claim 13, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori also discloses further comprising:
a first plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1) (Akahori Translated Abstract discloses: “A steam guide cylinder 2 which works as an ascending passage of steam generated in an evaporating tray 5 is divided into an upper chamber and a lower chamber with an annular partition 13, and a steam passage cylinder 14 the upper end opening of which is closed with a top plate 16 is provided on the partition 13.”) disposed below and spaced apart from the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1) inside the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and including a first through-hole (through-hole, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) in a central portion of the first plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1); and
wherein the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) further includes:
a first guide chamber portion (first guide chamber portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) coupled to an upper side of the water tank (evaporating dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) that includes the first plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1), the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1), and a connecting rib (connecting rib, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) configured to connect the first plate (annular partition 13, Akahori Fig.1) to the screen (top plate 16, Akahori Fig.1), and
a second guide chamber portion (second guide chamber portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) coupled to an upper side of the first guide chamber portion (first guide chamber portion, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) to communicate with the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below).
Akahori does not explicitly disclose:
a second plate disposed above and spaced apart from the screen inside the guide chamber and including a second through-hole in a central portion of the second plate,
the first guide chamber portion detachably coupled to an upper side of the water tank; and
the second guide chamber portion detachably coupled to an upper side of the first guide chamber portion and that includes the second plate.
Huang teaches a humidifier (Huang Fig.2) comprising:
a second plate (second plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2) (it is noted that the second plate herein includes the Huang concave face 151 and the Huang inner circumferential side 150 because the Huang outer circumferential side 152 is equivalent with the Akahori side wall of the top portion of the guide chamber, see Akahori annotated Fig.1 in the rejection of claim 1 above) disposed inside the guide chamber (guide chamber, Huang annotated Fig.2 below) (it is further noted that in combination, by adding the Huang upper plate to the upper opening of the Akahori guide chamber, the Huang upper plate is inside the Akahori guide chamber) and including a second through-hole (through hole, Huang annotated Fig.2 below) in a central portion of the second plate (second plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2),
the first guide chamber portion (lower base 22, Huang Fig.2) detachably coupled to an upper side of the water tank (upper side of the water box 6, Huang Fig.2) (Huang Par.0022 teaches: “The water box 6 is formed with an annular wall 60 having an upper end combined with the lower annular combination side 223 of the lower base 22.”, and Huang Fig.2 shows connection mechanism between the water box 6 and the lower base 22; thus, the lower base 22 detachably coupled to the upper side of the water box 6, as shown in Huang Figs.2-3); and
the second guide chamber portion (second guide chamber portion includes the outer side wall 214 and the steam-collecting member 15, Huang Fig.2) detachably coupled to an upper side of the first guide chamber portion (upper side of the lower base 22, Huang annotated Fig.2 below) and that includes the second plate (second plate includes the concave face 151 and the inner circumferential side 150, Huang Fig.2) (Huang Par.0018 teaches: “an annular combination projection 215 at a lower side of the end of the outer sidewall 214 for combining a lower base 22”, Huang Fig.2 shows connection mechanism between the lower base 22 and the second guide chamber portion includes the outer side wall 214 and the steam-collecting member 15; thus, the second guide chamber portion includes the outer side wall 214 and the steam-collecting member 15 detachably coupled to the upper side of the lower base 22, as shown in Huang Fig.2)
It is noted that in combination, by adding the Huang second plate to the upper opening of the Akahori guide chamber, in combination, Akahori in view of Huang teaches the second plate disposed above and spaced apart from the screen.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori, by adding second plate inside the guide chamber and including a second through-hole in a central portion of the second plate, and making the first guide chamber portion detachably coupled to an upper side of the water tank, and the second guide chamber portion detachably coupled to an upper side of the first guide chamber portion and that includes the second plate, as taught by Huang, in order to collect steam and then convey it into a room, as recognized by Huang [Huang, Pars.0015-0016]. The modification would separate condensate, ensure safety, maintain air quality, and regulate output. By allowing steam to collect, the humidifier ensures that only dry steam is released, while liquid water (condensate) and minerals are kept out of the room. Furthermore, by making the first guide chamber portion detachably coupled to an upper side of the water tank, and the second guide chamber portion detachably coupled to an upper side of the first guide chamber portion, the modification would offer easier and more convenient way to clean the humidifier to prevent the buildup of bacteria, mold, and mineral deposits that can be dispersed into the air. Thus, the modification would improve the overall air quality.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, Published 1993, Translation is attached) in view of Chiu (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0035044 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 4, Akahori also discloses wherein the discharge chamber (discharge chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) further includes:
a base (base, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) coupled to an upper portion of the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) (Akahori annotated Fig.1 below shows the baser of the discharge chamber is coupled to the upper portion of the guide chamber); and
a mixing tower (mixing tower, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below; it is noted that the mixing tower is formed by the height of the discharge chamber) extending from the base (base, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) in a direction in which the steam flows (steam flow in vertical direction from bottom to top of the Akahori humidifier) and that is configured to mix the steam introduced from the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and the outside air introduced from the blower fan (blower 8, Akahori Fig.1) (see the air path that is drawn from outside air by the blower 8 in Akahori Fig.2; therefore, since both steam and outside air enter the mixing tower, the mixing tower is configured to mix the steam introduced from the guide chamber and the outside air introduced from the blower 8).
Akahori does not explicitly disclose:
the base detachably coupled to the upper portion of the guide chamber
Chiu teaches a humidifier (100, Chiu Figs.3, 6)
the base (base of the nozzle 131, Chiu annotated Fig.3 below) detachably (as shown in Chiu Figs.3, 6) coupled to the upper portion (upper portion, Chiu annotated Fig.3 below) of the guide chamber (water hood 180 with liquid mist passage 181, Chiu Figs.3, 6) (Chiu Par.0022 teaches: “the water hood 180 includes a liquid mist passage 181 disposed at the center of the water hood 180 and interconnected with the nozzle 131 and the water storage tank 111.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the humidifier of Akahori, by making the base detachably coupled to the upper portion of the guide chamber, as taught by Chiu, in order to allow thorough cleaning to prevent mold and bacteria buildup. Thus, improve air quality and reduce infection risk.
Regarding claim 6, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the screen is inclined downward and away from the central portion of the guide chamber so that condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward and away from the discharge chamber.
Chiu teaches a humidifier (100, Chiu Fig.6):
wherein the screen (screen, Chiu annotated Fig.6 below) is inclined downward and away from the central portion of the guide chamber (guide chamber, Chiu annotated Fig.6 below)
It is noted that the primary reference Akahori already discloses the screen is located at the central portion of the guide chamber, and the guide chamber is configured to guide the steam generated from the water tank to the discharge chamber (see details in the rejection of claim 1 above); therefore, in combination, by making the screen of Akahori to be inclined downward and away from the central portion of the guide chamber, as taught by Chiu, the condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward and away from the discharge chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the humidifier of Akahori, by making the screen of Akahori to be inclined downward and away from the central portion of the guide chamber, as taught by Chiu, in order to guide the condensed water downward for efficient operation, preventing blockages in the misting mechanism, maintaining optimal humidity levels by avoiding over-saturation, and ensuring the humidifier operates as intended by keeping water in the water tank for continuous vaporization.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, Published 1993, Translation is attached) in view of Lin et al. (CN 212619192 U, Published 02/26/2021, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 7, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 2, Akahori does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the lower plate is inclined downward and toward the through-hole so that condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward by the lower plate and away from the discharge chamber.
Lin teaches a humidifier (Lin Fig.1):
wherein the lower plate (lower plate, Lin annotated Fig.1 below) is inclined downward and toward the through-hole (through-hole, Lin annotated Fig.1 below)
It is noted that in combination, by making the Akahori lower plate to be inclined downward and toward the through-hole, as taught by Lin, in combination, Akahori in view of Lin teaches the lower plate is inclined downward and toward the through-hole so that condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward by the lower plate and away from the discharge chamber (see Lin annotated Fig.1 below and see Akahori annotated Fig.1 above in the rejection of claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori, by making lower plate to be inclined downward and toward the through-hole, as taught by Lin, in order to allow the condensed water from the steam flowing inside the guide chamber is guided downward to maximize efficiency, reduce mineral buildup, and prevent water wastage. Returning condensed water to the water tank reduces the overall amount of water needed, and reusing already warmed water can reduce the energy needed to turn it back into vapor. Thus, save water usage.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, Published 1993, Translation is attached) in view of Honda et al. (JP 2004020109 A, Published 2004, Translation is attached)
Regarding claim 9, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 4, Akahori does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the blower fan is configured to turn off after passage of a predetermined amount of time after a humidifying operation by the humidifying apparatus ends.
Honda teaches a humidifier (Honda Translated Abstract):
wherein the blower fan is configured to turn off after passage of a predetermined amount of time after a humidifying operation by the humidifying apparatus ends (Honda Translated Par.0010 teaches: “The humidifier of the present invention, when the operation of the humidifier is stopped, stopped the rotation drive of the rotary element, heating means for indoor air, and without stopping the operation of the blower, continued these operations for a certain period of time Since the setting for stopping these operations is included later, the growth of bacteria in the humidifier can be suppressed, and the release of bacteria into the room can be prevented.”; therefore, Honda teaches the blower fan is configured to turn off after passage of a predetermined amount of time after a humidifying operation by the humidifying apparatus ends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori, by adding the teaching of the blower fan is configured to turn off after passage of a predetermined amount of time after a humidifying operation by the humidifying apparatus ends, as taught by Honda, in order to suppress the growth of bacteria and prevent release of bacteria into the room, as recognized by Honda [Honda, Translated Par.0010]. Thus, improve air quality and reduce infection risk.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, Published 1993, Translation is attached) in view of Chiu (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0035044 A1), and further in view of Hitzler et al. (DE 102020112867 A1, Published 11/18/2021, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 10, Akahori in view of Chiu teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 5, but does not teach:
the blower fan further includes a first blower fan and a second blower fan; and the mixing tower of the discharge chamber is disposed between the first blower fan and the second blower fan.
Hitzler teaches a humidifier (Hitzler Fig.6):
the blower fan (two fans V, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below) further includes a first blower fan (left fan V, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below) and a second blower fan (right fan V, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below) (Hitzler Translated Document on page 6 paragraph 4 teaches: “6th shows an air treatment device 1 with a container 3 and a lid 6th . In the container 3 a functional module such as a humidifier is used. In the lid 6th are two air inlets LE , each with a fan V , and an air outlet LA integrated.”); and
the mixing tower of the discharge chamber (mixing tower of the discharge chamber, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below) is disposed between the first blower fan (left fan V, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below) and the second blower fan (right fan V, Hitzler annotated Fig.6 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Akahori air suction system & its location (see the Akahori blower 8 in Akahori Fig.1) with the Hitzler air suction system & its location (see the Hitzler fans V in Hitzler Fig.6), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of sucking outside air to provide air to the humidifier. MPEP 2143 I (B).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, Published 1993, Translation is attached) in view of Yoojin (KR 19990005256 U, Published 1999, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 11, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori does not disclose further comprising:
a perforated plate disposed between the guide chamber and the water tank so that noise generated when the heating device heats the water held in the water tank is attenuated.
Yoojin teaches a humidifying device (Yoojin Fig.2) comprising:
a perforated plate (noise prevention plate 40 has plurality of through-holes 41, Yoojin Figs.2-3 & Translated Abstract) is formed and installed on upper surface of the water surface (as shown in Yoojin Fig.2 & Yoojin Translated Abstract teaches: “a plurality of through-holes in the plate 40 to pass only atomized water vapor (41) is formed and installed on the upper surface of the water surface (21), but it is characterized in that it is spaced apart from the water surface (21) to a level that does not generate noise while dripping water.”)
Therefore, in combination, by adding the noise prevention plate 40 of Yoojin to the Akahori humidifier, Akahori in view of Yoojin teaches:
the perforated plate (noise prevention plate 40, Yoojin Fig.2) disposed between the guide chamber (guide chamber, Akahori annotated Fig.1 below) and the water tank (evaporation dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) so that noise generated when the heating device (heater 5, Akahori Fig.1) heats the water held in the water tank (evaporation dish 3, Akahori Fig.1) is attenuated (it is noted that Yoojin teaches the noise prevention plate 40 is formed and installed on the upper surface of the water surface, thus, in combination, by adding the noise prevention plate 40 of Yoojin to the Akahori humidifier, Akahori in view of Yoojin teaches the noise prevention plate 40 is disposed between the Akahori evaporation dish 3 and Akahori guide chamber, see Akahori annotated Fig.1 below. Furthermore, Yoojin Translated Abstract teaches: “a plurality of through-holes in the plate 40 to pass only atomized water vapor (41) is formed and installed on the upper surface of the water surface (21), but it is characterized in that it is spaced apart from the water surface (21) to a level that does not generate noise while dripping water.”; therefore, in combination, the noise prevention plate 40 attenuates the noise generated when the heater 5 heats the water held in the evaporation dish 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori, by adding the perforated plate and install the perforated plate on upper surface of the water surface, as taught by Yoojin, in order to reduce noise generated when the heater heats the water held in the water tank; thus, soothing atmosphere, reducing disturbance, and improving sleep quality and enabling use in quiet environments like nurseries or home offices.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akahori et al. (JPH 0526483 A, Published 1993, Translation is attached) in view of Kong (KR 101415220 B1, Published 2014, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 15, Akahori discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Akahori does not disclose further comprising:
a supply pump connected to the water tank to supply water to the water tank; and
a drain pump connected to the water tank to drain the water held in the water tank.
Kong teaches a humidifier (Kong Figs.1-7) comprising
a supply pump (first pump 510, Kong Fig.6) connected to the water tank (water receptable 300, Kong Fig.6) to supply water to the water tank (water receptable 300, Kong Fig.6) (Kong Translated Document on page 6 – second paragraph teaches: “The first pump 510 supplies the water in the water receptacle 300 to the upper chamber 230 of the humidifying and inducing means 200 so that the waterflows down the humidifying filter medium 210, The second pump 520 drains the water in the water receptacle 300 to the outside”); and
a drain pump (second pump 520, Kong Fig.6) connected to the water tank (water receptable 300, Kong Fig.6) to drain the water held in the water tank (water receptable 300, Kong Fig.6) (Kong Translated Document on page 6 – second paragraph teaches: “The first pump 510 supplies the water in the water receptacle 300 to the upper chamber 230 of the humidifying and inducing means 200 so that the waterflows down the humidifying filter medium 210, The second pump 520 drains the water in the water receptacle 300 to the outside”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Akahori, by adding supply pump connected to the water tank to supply water to the water tank, and drain pump connected to the water tank to drain the water held in the water tank, as taught by Kong, in order to ensure consistent, automated operation without manual water management. The supply pump maintains optimal water levels for continuous operation, while the drain pump removes old water, preventing stagnant water and reducing mineral buildup, ultimately ensuring cleaner air, preventing mold, and extending the humidifier’s lifespan.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Nesbitt (U.S. Patent No. 3,193,261 A) discloses a humidifier having a humidifier housing with relatively spaced air inlet and outlet openings that are separated by a baffle member which obstructs the direct flow of air from the air inlet opening to the air outlet opening.
Son et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,161,643 B2) discloses a humidification and air cleaning apparatus includes a water tank storing water; a visual body forming at least a portion of the water tank and formed of a transparent material; a watering housing disposed in the water tank, drawing water stored in the water tank to pump water to an upper side, and spraying the pumped water; a nozzle disposed in the watering housing and spraying the pumped water; and a watering motor rotating the watering housing.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 01/24/2026