DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 7/15/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/15/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-20 are listed as “withdrawn” however the claims themselves are not present. As such, technically this is an incomplete set of claims. “Withdrawn” claims must still be present and part of the claim listing. If applicant wishes to cancel these claims instead then the claims should no longer be included in the claim listing, however the status identifier would need to be changed to “cancelled” to reflect this. Upon applicant’s next response, applicant should either include the withdrawn claims to ensure a complete claim listing or cancel the claims and amend the status identifier to reflect this.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 recites “wherein the distance between…” however for clarity and consistency this should read --a distance between--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Pub No 2021/0320374 A1).
Re claim 1, Lee et al. show a flame arrestor (Figs. 1-16) configured for insertion in a battery chassis, the flame arrestor comprising:
a baffle (Fig. 3, 700) extending in a first direction and a second direction relative to the battery chassis (100) such that at least a cross-sectional portion of the baffle extends along a first plane; and
a mesh screen (600), wherein when the flame arrestor is positioned in the battery chassis (100) including a battery cell (110), the baffle (700) is positioned between the battery cell (110) and at least a portion of the mesh screen (600).
Re claim 2, Lee et al. show the mesh screen (600) extends along a second plane parallel to the first plane (paragraph 0067 – “the first mica plate 700 is arranged in parallel to the mesh plate 600”).
Re claim 3, Lee et al. show the baffle (700) has a first length and the mesh screen (600) has a second length, the first length being shorter than the second length (700 is demonstrated as separate plates which each have a length, a length of one plate is shorter than the length of the demonstrated mesh screen 600).
Re claim 4, Lee et al. disclose the mesh screen (600) comprises at least two layers of mesh (paragraph 0065 – “the mesh plate 600 is provided in a pair, and each mesh plate 600 is interposed between the side plate 320 and the cell stack assembly 100”).
Re claim 8, Lee et al. show the baffle (700) is affixed (Fig. 15) to the mesh screen (600).
Re claim 9, Lee et al. show the flame arrestor further comprises a connector portion (120/130) configured to couple the flame arrestor to the battery chassis (100), wherein a first end of the baffle (700) is affixed to the connector portion (Fig. 15, 122a) that is further affixed to a first end of the mesh screen (600).
Re claim 10, Lee et al. show the baffle (700) is positioned between layers of mesh of the mesh screen (Fig. 3, baffles 700 are shown on both sides of chassis 100 where upon an outer mesh screen 600 will enclose both sides and as such the baffle 700 is positioned between at least two different layers of mesh).
Re claim 11, Lee et al. show the send end (Fig. 3, top end of 700) of the baffle (700) is not affixed to the connector portion (120/130) of the flame arrestor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub No 2021/0320374 A1) in view of Barz (DE 102014116149 A1).
Re claim 5, Lee et al. discloses all aspects of the claimed invention including each layer of mesh includes a plurality of holes (paragraph 0065), but do not teach the holes of a first layer of mesh are vertically and laterally offset from the holes of a second adjacent layer of mesh.
However, Barz discloses the holes (Fig. 2, 3.1) of a first layer of mesh (3) are vertically (Fig. 3) and laterally offset (paragraphs 0039 & 0040) from the holes (2.1) of a second adjacent layer of mesh (2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the mesh layers of Lee et al. vertically and laterally offset as taught by Barz to aide in deflection (Barz – paragraph 0029).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub No 2021/0320374 A1) in view of Nash (US Pat No 4,484,690).
Re claim 6, Lee et al. disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach the distance between a first layer of mesh and a second layer of mesh is between 1 mm to 10 mm.
However, Nash shows a distance (Fig. 9, 4) between a first layer of mesh (2) and a second layer of mesh (3) is between 1 mm to 10 mm (col. 9, lines 24-25; separator sheets, element 4, are disclosed as 0.05” thick which converts to 1.27 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the mesh layers of Lee et al. separated by a distance between 1 mm to 10 mm as taught by Nash to allow for alternately expanding and contracting and speeding up and slowing down said gases in said flow channels as they alternately pass between the arrays of individual openings in the apertured sheets (Nash – col. 8, lines 56-58).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub No 2021/0320374 A1) in view of O’Neil (US Pat No 5,505,265).
Re claim 7, Lee et al. disclose all aspects of the claimed invention but do not teach the baffle is accordion shaped.
However, O’Neil shows a baffle that is accordion shaped (Figs. 2 & 3, 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the baffle of Lee et al. be accordion shaped as taught by O’Neil to provide strength as well as heat diffusion (O’Neil – abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752