DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-13 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 25 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2007/0078385 to Accisano et al. (Accisano hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Accisano teaches a drainage catheter (10) comprising: an elongated tubular body (16) comprising a flexible distal portion (26) and a proximal portion (24); a locking hub assembly (12) comprising: a connecting member (32, 34); and an actuation member (20) movably connected to the connecting member such that one or both of the actuation member and the connecting member move relative to the other of the actuation member and the connecting member; and a tensioning suture (14) that extends through a drainage lumen (52) of the tubular body and connected to the flexible distal portion; wherein opposite ends (loose end of suture 14 and end held by stylet 44) of the tensioning suture are connected to the actuation member (via 42, 50) such that movement of the one or both of the actuation member and the connecting member toward the other of the actuation member and the connecting member from an unlocked configuration (Fig. 1B) to a locked configuration (Fig. 1A) draws the opposite ends proximally relative to the flexible distal portion thereby causing the flexible distal end to move from a first configuration (Fig. 1A) to a second configuration (Fig. 1B), as part of a motion in which the stylet (44) and loose end of the suture (14) are simultaneously pulled on by the user (see e.g. paragraphs 11 and 42). The examiner notes that one-handed operation is not required by the claims.
Regarding claim 2, Accisano teaches an outer sliding shell (20) and the connecting member (32, 34) is received therein (see Fig. 3) and slides relative thereto in an at least partially telescoping fashion in an actuation channel (40).
Regarding claim 3, Accisano teaches an inner sliding shell (32, 44) and a suture hole (38) in communication with an inner drainage channel (of 32, into which 34 extends).
Regarding claim 4, Accisano teaches that the suture extends through the suture hole (38, see Fig. 2A) providing an anchor location for the tensioning suture.
Regarding claim 5, Accisano teaches that one of the opposite ends being threaded through the first suture hole, the inner sliding shell having a second suture hole (within 44) in communication with the inner drainage channel of the inner sliding shell, the other of the opposite ends of the tensioning suture threaded through the second suture hole providing a second anchor location (44) for the tensioning suture.
Regarding claim 6, Accisano teaches that movement of the actuation member (20) toward the connecting member at least somewhat lengthens the tensioning suture due to the rotation of the inner member (34) and friction between that member and the suture. Furthermore, Accisano teaches loose and tightly curled configurations (between 1A and 1B).
Regarding claim 7, Accisano teaches a strain relief member (36) connected at least indirectly to a distal end of the outer sliding shell (20) that cooperates with the actuation member to seal the suture hole (between 32, 34) in the locked configuration.
Regarding claim 14, Accisano teaches that the opposite ends of the suture (14) are embedded, at least by assembly, within an outer shell (20) of the actuation member.
Regarding claim 15, Accisano teaches a drainage catheter (10) comprising :an elongated tubular body (16) comprising a flexible distal portion (26) and a proximal portion (24); a locking hub assembly (12) comprising: a connecting member (32, 34); and an actuation member (20) movably connected to the connecting member such that one or both of the actuation member and the connecting member move relative to the other of the actuation member and the connecting member; and a tensioning suture (14) that extends through a drainage lumen (52) of the tubular body and connected to the flexible distal portion; wherein opposite ends (loose end of suture 14 and stylet 44) of the tensioning suture are connected to the actuation member (via 42, 50) such that movement of the one or both of the actuation member and the connecting member toward the other of the actuation member and the connecting member from an unlocked configuration (Fig. 1B) to a locked configuration (Fig. 1A) draws the opposite ends proximally relative to the flexible distal portion thereby causing the flexible distal end to move from a first configuration (Fig. 1A) to a second configuration (Fig. 1B), as part of a motion in which the stylet (44) and loose end of the suture (14) are simultaneously pulled on by the user (see e.g. paragraphs 11 and 42). Accisano further teaches that the suture extends through a suture hole (38, see Fig. 2A) in a shell (32), providing an anchor location for the tensioning suture within a drainage channel (within 32).
Regarding claim 16, Accisano teaches an outer sliding shell (20) and the connecting member (32, 34) is received therein (see Fig. 3) and slides relative thereto in an at least partially telescoping fashion in an actuation channel (40).
Regarding claim 17, Accisano teaches that movement of the actuation member (20) toward the connecting member increases a length of the tensioning suture extending proximally from the anchoring location.
Regarding claim 18, Accisano teaches a strain relief member (36) which is indirectly connected to the distal end of the outer sliding shell (20) and which cooperates with the rest of the actuation member to seal the suture hole (38) in a locked configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pre-Grant Publication 2003/0109874 to Dennis teaches a suture tension control apparatus (100) which could substitute for the locking mechanism of Accisano or another pigtail drainage catheter.
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 17 March 2026