Response to Amendments
Claims 1-3, 5-19, 21-35 and 37-53 are pending.
Claims 1-3, 5-19, 21-35 and 37-53 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 13, 15-19, 21-23, 29, 31-35, 37-39, 45, 47-48, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chowdhry et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0074067 A1) in view of Smyk et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0218902 A1).
As per claim 1, Chowdhry discloses a method comprising: - receiving, by a device (Chowdhry, Fig 1 item 100), via a first virtual machine (Chowdhry, Fig 1 item 100, teaches a multimodal computing device having at least two VM wherein the work VM can be the first virtual machine. Paragraph 0021, wherein “The work operating system 108 may be self-contained and isolated from the home operating system 106. The work operating system 108 may form a work virtual machine adapted for work use scenarios) providing cellular network access (Chowdhry, Paragraph 0043, “3G/4G network”), data associated with an application (Chowdhry, paragraph 0021, wherein “In the work virtual machine, an information technology ("IT") manager or other authorized representative of an enterprise (also referred to as a non-user entity) may have control of and access to the work applications 116 and the work data 118. The IT manager may also restrict the user's access to the work applications 116 and/or the work data 118”. Paragraph 0043, wherein “the activity manager 210 may be configured to connect, via the connection manager 202, the work virtual machine to a VPN using a 3G/4G network”; Paragraph 0031, wherein “The shared applications 214 may include applications that are utilized by both the home operating system 106 and the work operating system 108 … The shared applications 214 may be associated with separate home data and work data and/or shared data”; Thus, work/shared data associated with a shared application can be received by the multimodal computing device vi the work VM providing 3G/4G network);- receiving, by the device (Chowdhry, Fig 1 item 100), via a second virtual machine (Chowdhry, Fig 1 item 100, teaches a multimodal computing device having at least two VM wherein the home VM can be the second virtual machine. Paragraph 0020, wherein “The home operating system 106 may be self-contained and isolated from the work operating system 108. The home operating system 106 may form a home virtual machine adapted for personal use scenarios) providing non-cellular network access (Chowdhry, Paragraph 0044, “WI-FI network”; “ the activity manager 210 may also be configured to connect, via the connection manager 202, the home virtual machine to the WI-FI network”) associated with a gateway (Chowdhry, Paragraph 0024, wherein “The smart arbitrator server 120 may serve as an intelligent gateway to either the home virtual machine or the work virtual machine”), the data associated with the application (Chowdhry, Paragraph 0031, wherein “The shared applications 214 may include applications that are utilized by both the home operating system 106 and the work operating system 108 … The shared applications 214 may be associated with separate home data and work data and/or shared data”; Paragraph 0057-0058, wherein “a user may access a streaming application on the first computing device 316A (the first/work virtual machine) … The user may then pause the streaming application … The streaming application synchronization server 310 may be configured to provide the state of the streaming application and the associated data at the time of the pause to the second computing device 316B (the first/home virtual machine))” Thus, the work/shared data associated with a shared application (streaming application) can be received by the multimodal computing device vi the home VM providing WI-FI network); and - processing, the data on the device via the application (Chowdhry, Paragraph 0058, wherein “The second computing device 316B may be configured to resume the streaming application at the state of the streaming application and the associated data at the time of the pause”; wherein the resuming of the application at the state of the streaming application and the associated data at the time of the pause can be the processing of the data as claimed). Chowdhry example of the streaming application involves pausing the streaming application and Thus Chowdhry does not explicitly disclose that the processing od the data is such that a user of the device is not interrupted by the change in network access to provide seamless switchover between the cellular network interface and the non-cellular network interface associated with the gateway. However, Smyk discloses that the processing of the data is such that a user of the device is not interrupted by the change in network access to provide seamless switchover between the cellular network interface and the non-cellular network interface associated with the gateway (Smyk, paragraph 0026 wherein “Note that the composite device may take two forms: actual physical device with devices X and Y embedded inside of it or just a logical grouping of the two physical devices. In the former case, devices X and Y are invisible to the user and are implemented as components of a single composite device (e.g. dual-mode phone)”; Paragraph 0003 wherein “This patent application pertains to the emerging wireless dual-mode phones which enable users to roam between WiFi and cellular (CDMA/GSM) access networks. … When the dual-mode phone user returns to their home/building's WiFi network after being on the cellular network, the phone automatically starts using the WiFi network, i.e., dual-mode phone switches from cellular mode to WiFi mode”; Paragraph 0005, wherein “The objective of this patent application is to describe adaptive seamless mobility mechanism which will enable dual-mode phone's users to fully utilize available access network by adjusting communications session/call attributes to fit the capabilities of the access network. For example, let's assume that a video capable phone establishes a call with a video capable dual-mode phone, while the dual-mode phone is in cellular mode. Assuming that the cellular network does not provide sufficient access bandwidth to adequately support real-time video communications, the dual-mode phone will establish audio only call. However, according to this invention when dual-mode phone switches mode to broadband WiFi mode, after obtaining user(s) permission the dual-mode phone will automatically add one or two way video communication without interrupting the audio call”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify Chowdhry in view of Smyk so that the adaptive seamless mobility mechanism of Smyk is applied to Chowdhry multimodal computing device to achieve the claimed limitation above because this would have provided a better user experience when switching form the work VM using 3G/4G network to the home VM using WI-FI network such that the user does not experience any interruption. Other benefits are also achieved see (Smyk, paragraph 0006).
As per claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry further discloses wherein the processing the data further comprises: processing, by the device configured to communicate via the second virtual machine and via the non-cellular network access, the data (Chowdhry, Paragraph 0031, wherein “The shared applications 214 may include applications that are utilized by both the home operating system 106 and the work operating system 108 … The shared applications 214 may be associated with separate home data and work data and/or shared data”; Paragraph 0057-0058, wherein “a user may access a streaming application on the first computing device 316A (the first/work virtual machine) … The user may then pause the streaming application … The streaming application synchronization server 310 may be configured to provide the state of the streaming application and the associated data at the time of the pause to the second computing device 316B (the first/home virtual machine))” Thus, the work/shared data associated with a shared application (streaming application) can be received by the multimodal computing device vi the home VM providing WI-FI network);
As per claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry further discloses processing, by the device and based on receiving via the first virtual machine, the data (Chowdhry, Paragraph 0031, wherein “The shared applications 214 may include applications that are utilized by both the home operating system 106 and the work operating system 108 … The shared applications 214 may be associated with separate home data and work data and/or shared data”; Paragraph 0057-0058, wherein “a user may access a streaming application on the first computing device 316A (the first/work virtual machine) … The user may then pause the streaming application … The streaming application synchronization server 310 may be configured to provide the state of the streaming application and the associated data at the time of the pause to the second computing device 316B (the first/home virtual machine))” Thus, the work/shared data associated with a shared application (streaming application) can be received by the multimodal computing device vi the home VM providing WI-FI network);
As per claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated and Smyk further discloses modifying, based on the data received via the second virtual machine, a prior output of a user interface of the device, wherein the prior output is based on the data received via the first virtual machine (Smyk, paragraph 0030, wherein “The gist of the adaptive transformation, and the key to our invention, is the use of the Adaptive Seamless Mobility Controller 50 to enable the communication session expands automatically to include the new attributes (such as the video component) that were not possible before the user gained access to network X 20”; Paragraph 0006, wherein “Please note, that the above mechanism could be generalized to other access networks, e.g. EDGE, and to applications other than two-way video communication, e.g., live video streaming where the video quality/size adapts to available access network”);
As per claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry further discloses receiving the via a user interface of the device, an indication of a request for the data (Chowdhry, paragraph 0048, wherein “the welcome screen may be a graphical user interface that includes a work icon and a home icon. If the user is closer to work based on the location of the multimodal computing device 100, then the work icon may be shown larger than the home icon. If the user is farther away from work based on the location of the multimodal computing device 100, then the home icon may be shown as the same size as or larger than the work icon. If the user selects the work icon through the graphical user interface, then the activity manager 210 may be configured to activate the work virtual machine. If the user selects the home icon through the graphical user interface, then the activity manager 210 may be configured to activate the home virtual machine”; Paragraph 0071, wherein “The computer 500 further includes user input devices 590 through which a user may enter commands and data. Input devices can include an electronic digitizer, a microphone, a keyboard and pointing device, commonly referred to as a mouse, trackball or touch pad. Other input devices may include a joystick, game pad, satellite dish, scanner, or the like”; Thus, by inherence, a user clicking on a stream application to start streaming is an indication of the request for the data);
As per claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry further discloses generating, via the second virtual machine, an indication of the request for the data (Chowdhry, paragraph 0048, wherein “the welcome screen may be a graphical user interface that includes a work icon and a home icon. If the user is closer to work based on the location of the multimodal computing device 100, then the work icon may be shown larger than the home icon. If the user is farther away from work based on the location of the multimodal computing device 100, then the home icon may be shown as the same size as or larger than the work icon. If the user selects the work icon through the graphical user interface, then the activity manager 210 may be configured to activate the work virtual machine. If the user selects the home icon through the graphical user interface, then the activity manager 210 may be configured to activate the home virtual machine”; Paragraph 0071, wherein “The computer 500 further includes user input devices 590 through which a user may enter commands and data. Input devices can include an electronic digitizer, a microphone, a keyboard and pointing device, commonly referred to as a mouse, trackball or touch pad. Other input devices may include a joystick, game pad, satellite dish, scanner, or the like”;);
As per claim 13, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry further discloses wherein the device comprises a mobile virtualization platform configuring the first virtual machine and the second virtual machine (Chowdhry, paragraph 0017-0019, wherein “a multimodal computing device configured to provide at least two self-contained, individually managed, and isolated environments. In some implementations, the multimodal computing device may be configured to operate in either one of and transition between two modes: a personal or home mode adapted to provide a home virtual machine and a work mode adapted to provide a work virtual machine”).
As per claim 15, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry further discloses wherein the device comprises a wireless device, comprising: a first wireless receiver configured to receive via a cellular wireless protocol; and a second wireless receiver configured to receive via a non-cellular wireless protocol, wherein the first virtual machine is associated with the first wireless receiver, and the second virtual machine is associated with the second wireless receiver (Chowdhry, Fig 1, Fig 2, paragraph 0018, 0025, the multimodal computing device 100 may be implemented as a tablet, a smart phone, a laptop computer, an in-car computer, or other computing devices that have at least dual usage. Some examples of the radios 124 may include a 3G radio configured to access 3G networks, a 4G radio configured to access 4G networks, a WI-FI radio configured to access WI-FI networks, or a BLUETOOTH radio configured to access BLUETOOTH networks. The radios 124 may enable the multimodal computing device 100 to communicate with other computing devices via various public and private networks as well as the Internet).
As per claim 16, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry further discloses wherein the first virtual machine and the second virtual machine are concurrently available on the device; and wherein the receiving via the first virtual machine and the receiving via the second virtual machine occur concurrently (Chowdhry, Fig 1, Fig 2, paragraph 0018, 0025, the multimodal computing device 100 may be implemented as a tablet, a smart phone, a laptop computer, an in-car computer, or other computing devices that have at least dual usage. Some examples of the radios 124 may include a 3G radio configured to access 3G networks, a 4G radio configured to access 4G networks, a WI-FI radio configured to access WI-FI networks, or a BLUETOOTH radio configured to access BLUETOOTH networks. The radios 124 may enable the multimodal computing device 100 to communicate with other computing devices via various public and private networks as well as the Internet).
Claims 17-19, 21-23, 29, 31-35, 37-39, 45, and 47-48 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1-3, 5-7, 13 and 15-16.
As per claim 50, claim 1 is incorporated and Smyk further discloses wherein the data received via the first virtual machine comprises a first portion of a data set and the data received via the second virtual machine comprises a second portion of the data set (Smyk, paragraph 0026 wherein “Note that the composite device may take two forms: actual physical device with devices X and Y embedded inside of it or just a logical grouping of the two physical devices. In the former case, devices X and Y are invisible to the user and are implemented as components of a single composite device (e.g. dual-mode phone)”; Paragraph 0003 wherein “This patent application pertains to the emerging wireless dual-mode phones which enable users to roam between WiFi and cellular (CDMA/GSM) access networks. … When the dual-mode phone user returns to their home/building's WiFi network after being on the cellular network, the phone automatically starts using the WiFi network, i.e., dual-mode phone switches from cellular mode to WiFi mode”; Paragraph 0005, wherein “The objective of this patent application is to describe adaptive seamless mobility mechanism which will enable dual-mode phone's users to fully utilize available access network by adjusting communications session/call attributes to fit the capabilities of the access network. For example, let's assume that a video capable phone establishes a call with a video capable dual-mode phone, while the dual-mode phone is in cellular mode. Assuming that the cellular network does not provide sufficient access bandwidth to adequately support real-time video communications, the dual-mode phone will establish audio only call. However, according to this invention when dual-mode phone switches mode to broadband WiFi mode, after obtaining user(s) permission the dual-mode phone will automatically add one or two way video communication without interrupting the audio call”).
Claims 8, 24 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over C Chowdhry et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0074067 A1) in view of Smyk et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0218902 A1) and Aswani al (Pub. No.: US 2011/0239213 A1).
As per claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry and Smyk do not further disclose determining, by a second virtual machine, that the data is not stored on the device; and generating, by the second virtual machine, an indication of a request for the data. However Aswani discloses determining, by a second virtual machine, that the data is not stored on the device; and generating, by the second virtual machine, an indication of a request for the data (Aswani, claim 6, wherein “determining by the guest driver whether an indication of the active path associated with the identified a virtual storage device is provided in a cache storage associated with the guest driver; and performing the act of requesting by the guest driver from the virtualization intermediary when the cache storage does not contain an indication of the active path”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify Chowdhry and Smyk in view of Aswani to achieve the claimed limitation above because this would have improved the performance of the system by avoiding requesting data that is already stored locally within the device.
Claim 24 and 40 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Claims 9, 25, 41 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over C Chowdhry et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0074067 A1) in view of Smyk et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0218902 A1) and Mao al (Pub. No.: US 2010/0184440 A1).
As per claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry and Smyk do not further disclose wherein receiving the data via a second virtual machine is further based on at least one of: a determination that data access speed via the non-cellular network access is greater than data access speed via the cellular network access; a determination that cost per unit sent via the non-cellular network access is less than cost per unit sent via the cellular network access. However Mao discloses determining, by a second virtual machine, that the data is not stored on the device; and generating, by the second virtual machine, an indication of a request for the data wherein receiving the data via a second virtual machine is further based on at least one of: a determination that data access speed via the non-cellular network access is greater than data access speed via the cellular network access; a determination that cost per unit sent via the non-cellular network access is less than cost per unit sent via the cellular network access (Mao, paragraph 0016, wherein “At block 104, the method evaluates whether to configure the mobile device to accomplish data communication over an identified Wi-Fi network or a cellular network. The evaluation can be based upon one or more network selection criteria. Non-limiting examples of network selection criteria can include, location information, battery usage, speed (i.e., data communication rate) and/or data communication cost, among others”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify Chowdhry and Smyk in view of Mao to achieve the claimed limitation above because this would have allow selecting a network based on more favorable network chrematistics.
As per claim 49, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry and Smyk do not further disclose wherein the receiving the data via the second virtual machine is further based on determining, the non-cellular network access is available and based on a configuration of the device to not minimize data received via the non-cellular network access, to receive the data via the second virtual machine. However Mao discloses wherein the receiving the data via the second virtual machine is further based on determining, the non-cellular network access is available and based on a configuration of the device to (Mao, paragraph 0014-0016, 0036, wherein “At block 104, the method evaluates whether to configure the mobile device to accomplish data communication over an identified Wi-Fi network or a cellular network. The evaluation can be based upon one or more network selection criteria. Non-limiting examples of network selection criteria can include, location information, battery usage, speed (i.e., data communication rate) and/or data communication cost, among others”). Mao, does not literally disclose to minimize data. However, Mao already discloses that using cellular data incurs a per-nuit charge while using the WI-FI is often free. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify Chowdhry and Smyk in view of Mao to configure the device not to minimize data when using WI-FI since the WI-FI network is free because this would have allow to get the full advantage of the free WI-FI connection by disabling any setting that cause minimizing the data which in WI-FI connection.
Claim 25 and 41 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Claims 10, 26 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over C Chowdhry et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0074067 A1) in view of Smyk et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0218902 A1) and Hsu al (Pub. No.: US 2010/0291863 A1).
As per claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry and Smyk do not further disclose - receiving, by the first virtual machine, an indication of a request for additional data; - determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible;- based on receiving the indication, determining, after determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible, that the non-cellular network access is accessible; and - receiving, based on determining that the non-cellular network access is accessible after determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible and via the non-cellular network access, the additional data. Chowdhry already teaches receiving, by the first virtual machine, an indication of a request for data. In addition, Hsu discloses - receiving, (Hsu, paragraph 0052, wherein “In an alternate embodiment, the user instructs the MS to request the location information of APs from an application server. The server in this case may reside in the backend of the operator network, so the MS uses higher-layer protocols (e.g., IP) to communicate with the server and obtain the location information of APs”); - determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible (Hsu, Fig 5B, paragraph 0053, wherein “At step 252 the user selects the map display function for identifying WLAN locations on the wireless device. The WLAN is identified within range at step 254. If an automated scan is enabled at decision diamond 256, processing continues to step 258 for the device to scan for WLANs. Else, processing continues to step 260 for the user to scan for WLANs. If a WLAN is accessible at decision diamond 262, the wireless device then sends a WLAN registration request at step 264. Else, processing returns to step 254 to await a WLAN identified in range”);- based on receiving the indication, determining, after determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible, that the non-cellular network access is accessible (Hsu, paragraph 0028, 0053, wherein “In one embodiment, the system selection criterion considers the availability of wireless access and selects WLAN when available. In one example, if the system 50 is currently communicating via the cellular network, such as a cdma2000 network, the system 50 is instructed to continue such communication but to continue to try to detect the availability of WLAN”); and - receiving, based on determining that the non-cellular network access is accessible after determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible and via the non-cellular network access, the additional data (Hsu, paragraph 0082, wherein “After the MS 300 detects WLAN coverage, receives the WLAN beacon, the MS 300 uses certain criteria to handover a packet data session from the cellular network to the WLAN. The criteria may include whether the MS is idle in cellular network (i.e., no dedicated channel) or whether the WLAN signal strength is stable, etc. The MS 300 may wait for a pending packet data session to go dormant in the cellular network. The MS 300d then performs packet data session handover (i.e., sending Mobile IP registration via WLAN). This may be useful to minimize service interruption. Similarly, the MS 300 may perform packet data session handover when the WLAN signal strength is above an acceptable threshold for a specified period of time”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify Chowdhry and Smyk in view of Hsu to achieve the claimed limitation above because this would have allow to ensure switching to the WI-FI network as soon as the network is available to reduce the cost of using the 3G/4G network.
Claims 26 and 42 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 10.
Claims 11, 27 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over C Chowdhry et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0074067 A1) in view of Smyk et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0218902 A1) and Abbott al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0035138 A1).
As per claim 11, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry and Smyk do not further disclose - receiving, by the first virtual machine, an indication of a request for additional data; - determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible;- based on receiving the indication, determining, after determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible, that the non-cellular network access is accessible; and - uploading, based on determining that the non-cellular network access is accessible after determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible and via the non-cellular network access, the additional data. Chowdhry already teaches receiving, by the first virtual machine, an indication of a request for data. In addition, Abbott discloses - receiving, (Abbott, paragraph 0021, 0036, wherein “ The user may be about to execute a particular application (such as a browser or streaming audio/video) and the user may want to enable the particular application via a particular WLAN access point”, “The user selects content from an application source (e.g., e-mail, browser or data cloud) for data transfer to or from the mobile device”); - determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible (Abbott, paragraph 0037-0038, 0041, wherein “If WLAN is not connected, the user can choose to select to queue the file for data transfer”, “FIG. 4A illustrates successive exemplary additional screens of one embodiment of the invention which may be presented when a user is about to download or upload files over a WLAN and the user's mobile device is not connected to a WLAN”);- based on receiving the indication, determining, after determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible, that the non-cellular network access is accessible (Abbott, paragraph 0044, 0046, wherein “In another embodiment, the mobile device may be configured to automatically start a download (or upload) when a WLAN is available, in which case when multiple WLANs are available at the point the attachment currently on hold is received, the WLAN to which the mobile device is currently connected may be selected as the default without giving the user the option to change WLANs”); and - uploading, based on determining that the non-cellular network access is accessible after determining that the non-cellular network access is inaccessible and via the non-cellular network access, the additional data (Abbott, paragraph 0041, 0046, wherein “In another embodiment, the mobile device may be configured to automatically start a download (or upload) when a WLAN is available, in which case when multiple WLANs are available at the point the attachment currently on hold is received, the WLAN to which the mobile device is currently connected may be selected as the default without giving the user the option to change WLANs”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify Chowdhry and Smyk in view of Abbott to achieve the claimed limitation above because this would have allow to ensure switching to the WI-FI network as soon as the network is available to reduce the cost of using the 3G/4G network.
Claims 27 and 43 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 11.
Claims 12, 28 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chowdhry et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0074067 A1) in view of Smyk et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0218902 A1) and Pearson al (Pub. No.: US 2011/0314467 A1).
As per claim 12, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry and Smyk do not explicitly disclose wherein the data received via the first virtual machine comprises a first portion of an electronic address book and the data received via the second virtual machine comprises a second portion of the electronic address book. However Pearson discloses wherein the data received via the first virtual machine comprises a first portion of an electronic address book (Pearson, paragraph 0037, wherein “Each virtual machine operates a separate guest operating system having its own user interface, contacts, applications, business rules, security models, and virtual address”) and the data received via the second virtual machine comprises a second portion of the electronic address book (Pearson, paragraph 0039, claim 15, wherein “For instance, a business contact would have a stored entry in the enterprise operating guest system address book, but would be absent from the personal guest operating system address book. The choice is easy--the proxy server diverts the call to the enterprise virtual machine to be handled by a call management application on the enterprise guest operating system. Other rules are possible, for instance, depending on a time of day the connection request is received, or using geo-location features. For instance, when a user is in the office, all incoming calls are routed to the enterprise virtual machine unless this feature is overridden by the user (as described below). Alternatively, any outgoing calls placed after 5 PM will be initiated by the personal guest operating system”, “retrieving an address book from each guest operating system and determining a frequency of occurrence of the remote device network address in the address book”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify Chowdhry and Smyk in view of Pearson to achieve the claimed limitation above because this would have allowed a single device such as the multi modal computing device to manage address books residing in two different virtual machines which allow preserving context-specific personal and work contact information.
Claims 28 and 44 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 12.
Claims 14, 30 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chowdhry et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0074067 A1) in view of Smyk et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0218902 A1) and McCorkendale al (Patent. No.: US 8,977,842 B1).
As per claim 14, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry and Smyk do not explicitly disclose communicating, via a virtual machine container, between the first virtual machine and the second virtual machine. However McCorkendale discloses communicating, via a virtual machine container, between the first virtual machine and the second virtual machine (McCorkendale, col 6 lines: 7-19, claim 2, wherein “As illustrated in FIG. 3, a secure component communication management system 101 provides trusted communication between a hypervisor security extension container 301 (such as a VMsafe.RTM. API security container or a similar component in the case of a similar hypervisor extended VM environment), service providing VMs 303.sub.SERVING and served VMs 303.sub.SERVED (including for example, companion components within VMs). As illustrated, at least one service providing VM 303.sub.SERVING, at least one served VM 303.sub.SERVED, a hypervisor 309 and the hypervisor security extension container 301 all run in the computer memory 217 of a host 210, which can be in the form of a physical computer 210, for example of the type illustrated in FIG. 2”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify Chowdhry and Smyk in view of McCorkendale to achieve the claimed limitation above because this would have provided a secure way of mediating data between the work and home VMs and thus improving the performance and security of te system.
Claims 30 and 46 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 14.
Claims 51-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chowdhry et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0074067 A1) in view of Smyk et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0218902 A1) and Shultz et al (Pub. No.: US 2005/0223005 A1).
As per claim 51, claim 1 is incorporated and Chowdhry and Smyk do not explicitly disclose wherein the receiving the data via the first virtual machine comprises receiving the data to a local cache accessible by the first virtual machine and the second virtual machine of the device ;wherein the receiving the data via the second virtual machine comprises the receiving the data to the local cache; and wherein the processing the data comprises accessing the data from the local cache. However Shultz discloses wherein the receiving the data via the first virtual machine comprises receiving the data to a local cache accessible by the first virtual machine and the second virtual machine of the device (Shultz, paragraph 0026, wherein “Computer 10 also includes a shared memory area 25 (typically semiconductor RAM) which is shared by all of the virtual machines 12, 14 and 16. (RAM provides very fast access, much faster than access to disk storage.) Being "shared" each virtual machine 12, 14 and 16 can directly access the shared memory 25 and its shared data and shared data structures by appropriate address. The shared data structures include shared filesystem cache 51 … All the virtual machines 12, 14 and 16 (and their programs 22, 32, 24, 34, 26 and 36) can read from and write to the shared filesystem cache 51 to read from and write to the shared cached file data 53 and shared cache file system metadata 55”) ;wherein the receiving the data via the second virtual machine comprises the receiving the data to the local cache (Shultz, paragraph 0026, wherein “Computer 10 also includes a shared memory area 25 (typically semiconductor RAM) which is shared by all of the virtual machines 12, 14 and 16. (RAM provides very fast access, much faster than access to disk storage.) Being "shared" each virtual machine 12, 14 and 16 can directly access the shared memory 25 and its shared data and shared data structures by appropriate address. The shared data structures include shared filesystem cache 51 … All the virtual machines 12, 14 and 16 (and their programs 22, 32, 24, 34, 26 and 36) can read from and write to the shared filesystem cache 51 to read from and write to the shared cached file data 53 and shared cache file system metadata 55”); and wherein the processing the data comprises accessing the data from the local cache (Shultz, paragraph 0029, wherein “In step 300, application 32 within the virtual machine 12 invokes DAF 62 (within operating system 22) to request to read from the shared filesystem cache 51 … Then, DAF 62 requests to read the cached filesystem metadata 55 to determine if the file portion/page which application 32 wants to read currently resides in cached file data 53 (step 304). If not (decision 306, no branch), then DAF 62 invokes LAF 72 to obtain an exclusive write lock for shared filesystem cache 51 (step 307). The purpose of the exclusive write lock is to allow outpaging from the shared cache. After obtaining the shared write lock, LAF 52 returns to DAF 62 which invokes CAF 52 to outpage the least recently used ("LRU") page (i.e. both the LRU cached file data page and cached filesystem metadata for the LRU page) from shared filesystem cache 51 to storage 59 to make room for the requested page to be read (step 310). Next, CAF 52 allocates a page (location) in shared filesystem cache 51 for both the new cached file data to be read and the associated filesystem metadata, and reads the requested page of file data and associated metadata from storage 59 into shared filesystem cache 51 (step 312)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to modify Chowdhry and Smyk in view of Shultz to achieve the claimed limitation above because this would have improved the speed and performance of the system by using a common cache between the home and work VMS which eliminate the need for separate cache for each VM and eliminate redundant data.
Claims 52-53 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 51.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/11/2025 have been considered but are now moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.Additionally, Applicant argues in remarks:
(1) Chowdhry does not disclose non-cellular network access "associated with a gateway" as claims 1, 17 and 33 recite. Chowdhry describes the smart arbitrator server 120 as "an intelligent gateway to either the home virtual machine or the work virtual machine" (Chowdhry, paragraph [0024]), which is a server serving as a gateway to the virtual machines themselves, not network access provided via a gateway as the claims require.
(1) Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the current language and the specification do not require the gateway to provide the non-cellular network access. Instead, the claim only requires some kind of association between the gateway and the non-cellular network. Second, Chowdhry describes the smart arbitrator server 120 as "an intelligent gateway to either the home virtual machine or the work virtual machine" (Chowdhry, paragraph [0024]). In addition, Chowdhry discloses that the smart arbitrator server 120 may include a connection manager 202 (Chowdhry, paragraph [0024]); the IT manager may register various networks (including the WI-FI network) with the connection manager 202 (Chowdhry, paragraph [0039]); The activity manager 210 (which is also part of the smart arbitrator server 120) may be configured to connect the work virtual machine and the home virtual machine to particular networks based on a location of the multimodal computing device 100 (Chowdhry, paragraph [0042]).
Thus, under the BRI and in light of the specification, Chowdhry WI-FI network access is associated with the smart arbitrator server 120.
(2) As a further point, no virtual machine in Chowdhry is dedicated to cellular access or to non-cellular access. Paragraph [0044] discloses that if a WI-Fl network is available the work virtual machine is connected to a VPN using the WI-Fl network and the home virtual machine to the WI-Fl network, but if WI-Fl is not available the work virtual machine is connected to a VPN using a 3G/4G network and the home virtual machine to the 3G/4G network, so the same virtual machine may be connected to either type of network, and both may be connected to cellular. Thus, no virtual machine in Chowdhry is dedicated to cellular access and none is dedicated to gateway- associated non-cellular access, as recited by claims 1, 17 and 33 as amended.
(2) Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The current language does not state and/or require the virtual machine to be dedicated to a specific network type. Thus, it does not matter whether no virtual machine in Chowdhry is dedicated to cellular access or not.All of the other arguments are now moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/HAMZA N ALGIBHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457