DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 1/14/2026 have been entered.
102 rejections have been withdrawn based on applicant’s remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaben et al (US 2016/0013513 A1) in view of Kato et al (US 20150147659 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Gaben teaches an all-solid state battery that comprises anode layer, cathode layer and electrolyte layer/s. Gaben teaches that the electrolyte layer is deposited on at least one of the two layers – anode layer and cathode layer (Paragraph 0011-0012). Gaben teaches the use of metalized polymer films used as substrate to coat the electrolyte layers (Paragraph 0101; transfer film layers). Gaben also teaches the method to obtain these layers by several deposition techniques (Paragraph 0082 – examiner notes that the reference teaches that the layers of anode, cathode AND electrolyte materials may be obtained by at least one of the deposition techniques described). This is akin to the electrolyte layer being disposed on the transfer film layer. Gaben teaches electrophoretic deposition technique (Paragraph 0089), which can be directly implemented on metal conducting substrates to produce electrolyte layers (Paragraph 0095).
Gaben also teaches that the electrolyte layer is deposited on the anode 21 and the cathode 24 respectively (annotated Figure 4; Paragraph 0148). Gaben does not specifically teach that the electrolyte layer on a cathode or anode part is formed by transferring the electrolyte part on the transfer film layer onto the cathode or anode part.
However, Kato teaches an all-solid state battery wherein the first solid electrolyte layer and the second solid electrolyte layer are made on a surface of a base material; followed by transferring the first solid electrolyte layer made on the surface of the base material to either one of the cathode layer and the anode layer (at this time, the base material is peeled off from the transferred first solid electrolyte layer); thereafter transferring the second solid electrolyte layer made on the surface of the base material to either one of the cathode layer and the anode layer, to which the first solid electrolyte layer is not transferred (Paragraph 0058). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transfer the electrolyte layers made in Gaben onto the anode or cathode part per the process step in Kato’s configuration in order to manufacture an all-solid state battery which can inhibit a short circuit together with reducing resistance (Paragraph 0062).
The Ms bonding layer in Gaben is made of sulfide based materials such as Li2S, 70Li2S-30P2S5 (Paragraph 0029) which are also solid electrolyte materials as shown in Paragraph 0078. Hence, the Ms Layer can be considered to be an extension of the electrolyte layer. The layer obtained after the addition of Ms layer is then stacked face-to-face with solid electrolyte layer stacked on the other electrode (paragraph 0013).
Regarding Claim 2 and Claim 4,
Gaben teaches that the substrate materials are metalized polymer films made of polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), and polyimide such as Kapton. These substrate materials are used for both electrolyte layers to be applied to the cathode and anode respectively.
Claim(s) 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaben et al (US 2016/0013513 A1) in view of Kato et al (US 20150147659 A1) as evidenced by Ku et al (US 20210242490 A1).
Gaben teaches that the electrolyte layer can be obtained by one of several deposition techniques (Paragraph 0082). One of the methods stated involves producing a suspension of electrolyte material, and using techniques such as inking, dip-coating, spin coating (Paragraph 0088). This is akin to forming a slurry that is applied on the transfer film layer. The suspension in Gaben consists of electrolyte particles which are sulfide solid electrolytes such as Li2S, 70Li2S-30P2S5 (Paragraph 0078), and solvent. The use of binder is well known in the art, and is evidenced by Ku wherein the first/second solid electrolyte and a binder form the first and second compositions (Paragraph 0016 and 0017). Examples of commonly used binders are provided in Paragraph 0129.
Claim(s) 6, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaben in view of Kato; and further in view of Ouchi et al (US 2014/0120421A1).
Regarding Claim 6,
Gaben teaches that when the nanoparticle electrolyte deposit is produced on a metal substrate, uniaxial pressure (with or without heating) is advantageously applied on the deposit so as to prevent lateral shrinkage during the consolidation step (Paragraph 0088). Gaben and Kato do not teach a specific stacking method for the transfer of the electrolyte layer to the cathode layer. Further, Gaben does not teach that the first layer (electrolyte layer) is transferred onto a cathode by stacking, and then applying pressure of about 130 MPa to 140 MPa at a temperature of 120 ˚C to 130 ˚C.
However, Ouchi teaches a method of manufacturing all-solid state battery that consists of forming green sheet with electrolyte material (Paragraph 0016), and then stacking with another green sheet of a positive electrode layer (Paragraph 0016 and 0017). The stacked body is then isostatically pressed at a pressure of 500 kg/cm3 to 5000 kg/cm3. This pressure translates to a range of 49-490 MPa. This range includes the claimed pressure range and hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pressure of Ouchi in order to prevent the elongation of the green sheets and improve the internal resistance of the battery (Paragraph 0008).
Similarly, the temperature in Ouchi is between 20C to 100 C (Paragraph 0023). The claimed temperature range does include the term ‘about’ whereby it is reasonable to state that a temperature of 100 C is about 120 -130 C especially in the art related to sulfide battery stack pressing and related operating conditions. Furthermore, the instant specification also provides a description of the term ‘about’ used in the disclosure (Paragraph 0052; US20230369654 A1). The instant specifications states that “the term "about" means modifying, for example, lengths, degrees of errors, dimensions, the quantity of an ingredient in a composition, concentrations, volumes, process temperature, process time, yields, flow rates, pressures, and like values, and ranges thereof, refers to variation in the numerical quantity that may occur, for example, through typical measuring and handling procedures used for making compounds, compositions, concentrates or use formulations; through inadvertent error in these procedures; through differences in the manufacture, source, or purity of starting materials or ingredients used to carry out the methods; and like considerations. The term "about" further may refer to a range of values that are similar to the stated reference value.”
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed temperature for forming the cathode-electrolyte layer.
Regarding Claim 10,
Gaben teaches that when the nanoparticle electrolyte deposit is produced on a metal substrate, uniaxial pressure (with or without heating) is advantageously applied on the deposit so as to prevent lateral shrinkage during the consolidation step (Paragraph 0088). Gaben and Kato do not teach a specific stacking method for the transfer of the electrolyte layer to the anode layer. Further, Gaben does not teach that the first layer (electrolyte layer) is transferred onto an anode by stacking, and then applying pressure of about 140 MPa to 150 MPa at a temperature of 100C to 110 C.
However, Ouchi teaches a method of manufacturing all-solid state battery that consists of forming green sheet with electrolyte material (Paragraph 0016), and then stacking with another green sheet of a negative electrode layer (Paragraph 0016 and 0017). The stacked body is then isostatically pressed at a pressure of 500 kg/cm3 to 5000 kg/cm3. This pressure translates to a range of 49-490 MPa. This range includes the claimed pressure range and hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pressure of Ouchi in order to prevent the elongation of the green sheets and improve the internal resistance of the battery (Paragraph 0008).
Similarly, the temperature in Ouchi is between 20C to 100 C (Paragraph 0023). The claimed temperature does include the use of the term ‘about’ 100 -110 C. The temperature of 100 C in Ouchi reads on the claimed range. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed temperature range for forming the anode-electrolyte layer.
Claim(s) 7-9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaben, in view of Kato and further in view of Ku et al (US 20210242490 A1).
Regarding Claim 7,
Gaben and Kato do not teach that the thickness of the first electrolyte layer ranges from 15 to 25 µm.
However, Ku teaches an all-solid state battery comprising a second electrolyte layer/composition that bonds with a cathode layer (Paragraph 0017 and 0019). Ku also teaches that a range of thickness of the electrolyte layer is between 10 to 60 µm (Paragraph 0091). This range includes the claimed range. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a thickness of 15 to 25 µm for the first electrolyte layer in order to facilitate movement of lithium ions, and has better mechanical and electrochemical stability (Paragraph 0063 and 0064).
Regarding Claim 8,
Gaben and Kato do not teach the volumetric ratio of equation 1 (see image below from instant specification) that compares the ratio of volume of first layer and volume of first solid electrolyte layer to range between 15 and 20 %.
Instant specification states that when the thickness of the first solid electrolyte layer exceeds 25 um, there is a possibility that the transfer product warps. Bending of the transfer product is effectively prevented by satisfying Equation 1. Since Equation 1 compares the volume of first layer with the volume of first electrolyte layer, it is alluding to the volume shrinkage after pressing. A change in volume can be likened to be around the same as change in thickness since the stacked layers have similar cross-sectional area. Gaben does not provide a numerical value of change in thickness of the electrolyte layer.
However, Ku teaches that the thickness of the electrolyte layer after pressing may be reduced to about 60% to about 80% of the thickness of the electrolyte before pressing. This means that the thickness reduces by about 20% to 40%. The value of reduction in Ku of about 20% overlaps with the claimed range of 15 to 20 %. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to experience a volume ratio as claimed. This is further corroborated by Ku teaching the thickness within the claimed ranges, and a pressure of about 200 MPa or less (Paragraph 0090) similar to the conditions of claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9,
Gaben and Kato do not teach that the thickness of the second electrolyte layer ranges from 30 to 40 µm.
However, Ku teaches an all-solid state battery comprising an electrolyte layer/composition that bonds with a anode layer (Paragraph 0017 and 0019). Ku also teaches that a range of thickness of the electrolyte layer is between 1 to 35 µm (Paragraph 0091). This range overlaps with the claimed range. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a thickness within the 30 to 40 µm range for the first electrolyte layer in order to facilitate movement of lithium ions, and has better mechanical and electrochemical stability (Paragraph 0063 and 0064).
Regarding Claim 11,
Gaben and Kato do not teach the volumetric ratio of equation 2 that compares the ratio of volume of second layer and volume of second solid electrolyte layer to range between 20 and 25 %.
Instant specification states that warpage of the transfer product is effectively prevented by satisfying Equation 2. Since Equation 2 compares the volume of second layer with the volume of second electrolyte layer, it is alluding to the volume shrinkage after pressing. A change in volume can be likened to be around the same as change in thickness since the stacked layers have similar cross-sectional area. Gaben does not provide a numerical value of change in thickness of the electrolyte layer.
However, Ku teaches that the thickness of the electrolyte layer after pressing may be reduced to about 60% to about 80% of the thickness of the electrolyte before pressing. This means that the thickness reduces by about 20% to 40%. The value of reduction in Ku of about 20-40% overlaps with the claimed range of 20 to 25 %. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to experience a volume ratio as claimed. This is further corroborated by Ku teaching the thickness within the claimed ranges, and a pressure of about 200 MPa or less (Paragraph 0090) similar to the conditions of claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 12,
Gaben and Kato do not teach a step of isostatically pressing the stack at a pressure of about 400 to 500 MPa and temperature of about 60 to 100 C.
However, Ku shows in an embodiment that the cathode layer, second solid electrolyte layer, first solid electrolyte layer, and the anode layer are sequentially stacked, and warm isostatic press (WIP) was applied at 85C and 490 MPa (Paragraph 0110 and 0207). These values lie within the claimed range. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the pressing conditions of Ku in order to obtain a stacked, all-solid battery with improved mechanical and electrochemical stability (Paragraph 0063 and 0064).
References of Interest
Examiner notes the following references of interest pertinent to the subject of the claimed invention.
Debe et al - US 6319293 B1
Kashima et al - US 20210238392 A1
Lee et al - US 20210175565 A1
Ito et al – US 20240421351 A1
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 5 of Remarks, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to Claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 102 rejection of Claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues for Claim 1 that Gaben merely discloses the metalized polymer films used as substrates for an electrophoresis technique, and that Gaben explicitly states that the strip used for electrophoresis is directly used as an anode substrate and a cathode substrate. Gaben does not teach a process in which a solid electrolyte layer is formed on a transfer film layer and then transferred onto a cathode part or an anode part. Instead, Gaben merely teaches a technique in which a solid electrolyte layer is directly deposited on a cathode substrate or an anode substrate.
Examiner agrees with this argument. Gaben teaches depositing the electrolyte layer on the anode and cathode respectively, but does not specifically teach transferring the electrolyte layer on the cathode or anode. Hence, Examiner has issued a second non-final action that rejects claim 1 based on 35USC 103 over Gaben in view of Kato. Kato teaches the method of transferring the electrolyte layers with a base material onto the cathode and anode parts respectively.
Claims 2-12 are dependent on rejected Claim 1 per this office action.
Conclusion
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783