DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 1/5/2026.
The Examiner notes claims 1-23 are currently pending and have been examined; claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 10-14, & 16 is/are currently amended; all other claims are original or previously presented. Please see the Response to Amendments and Response to Arguments sections below for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liscio (US 20150272412) in view of ZHANG et al. (CN 206586904 U) further in view of HYUN GI-TAK (KR 20110047532 A), hereinafter Liscio, Zhang, & Hyun, respectively.
Regarding claim 1 & 11. (Each claim status is listed above in the Status of Claims section) Liscio discloses a nozzle [Fig 1; 4 points to two portions of the apparatus (1) the lower portion pointed to is the nozzle] for a cleaner [1], the nozzle comprising:
a nozzle housing [Fig 1-2; 2 & 22 form a nozzle housing] having a first flow path extending in a left-right direction of the nozzle [Fig 1-4; 29 is a first flow path that extends along a left and right direction] and a second flow path extending in a front-rear direction of the nozzle [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 1-3; ¶49-¶50; 31 and the portion extending from 31 to 5 is a second flow path extending in a front-rear direction as it connects from 29 and extends in a front-rear direction as well as upwardly with respect to 29 as seen in Fig 1-3];
a first rotation cleaning unit and a second rotation cleaning unit disposed on a lower surface of the nozzle housing behind the first flow path [Fig 1-2; both 20s are behind the 29 below the nozzle housing], the first rotation cleaning unit being spaced apart from the second rotation cleaning unit in the left-right direction [Fig 2; ¶46; both 20s are arranged on opposite sides of the vertical middle plane (18)], the second flow path being positioned between the first rotation cleaning unit and the second rotation cleaning unit [Fig 2];
a first driving device accommodated in the nozzle housing and configured to rotate the first rotation cleaning unit [Fig 2; ¶47; each 20s has an electric motor (the second and third electric motors in ¶47) that is configured to rotate each respective 20], the first driving device including a first driving motor [¶47] … disposed to be spaced apart from a first side of the second flow path [Fig 2; ¶46-¶47; each motor is located above each motor and are therefore spaced apart from the second flow path on a first and second side of the second flow path];
a second driving device accommodated in the nozzle housing and configured to rotate the second rotation cleaning unit [Fig 2; ¶47; each 20s has an electric motor (the second and third electric motors in ¶47) that is configured to rotate each respective 20], the second driving device including a second driving motor [¶47] … disposed to be spaced apart from a second side of the second flow path, the second side being opposite to the first side [Fig 2; ¶46-¶47; each motor is located above each motor and are therefore spaced apart from the second flow path on a first and second side of the second flow path];
a first … attached to the first rotation cleaning unit and a second … attached to the second rotation cleaning unit to be rotated, each of the first … and the second … being configured to be rotated by a respective one of the first driving motor and the second driving motor [Fig 1-2; ¶47; each 20 is a brush attached to the rotation unit rotated by an electric motor], a water tank [15] provided on the nozzle housing [Fig 1; ¶48; 15 is disposed on 2 which is part of the nozzle housing] and having a … discharge port for supplying water to the first and second … [¶48; 15 is connected to a piping system to supply water to each of 20].
wherein an axis of rotation of the first driving motor and an axis of rotation of the second driving motor extend at a non-parallel angle with respect to a centerline of the second flow path [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 1-2] , …
Claim 11 further claims: “wherein an axis of rotation of the first driving motor and an axis of rotation of the second driving motor are disposed in a first direction [Fig 1-2; as electric motors rotate a shaft both motors therefore have an axis of rotation which are disposed in a direction], and wherein a rotation axis of the first rotation plate and a rotation axis of the second rotation plate are disposed in a second direction … [Fig 1-2; the axis of rotation (21) of both 20s extend in an up-down direction].”
Figure 1: Annotated Figure 1 of Liscio
Liscio may not explicitly disclose the first and second driving devices including a motor and gear; or a mop connected to each driving device; or the water tank having a single discharge port for supplying water; or wherein the single discharge port is disposed biased to one side with respect to the centerline of the second flow path, or in claim 11, wherein an axis of rotation of the first driving motor and an axis of rotation of the second driving motor are disposed in a first direction, and wherein a rotation axis of the first rotation plate and a rotation axis of the second rotation plate are disposed in a second direction different from the first direction.
However Zhang discloses another nozzle for a cleaner [Fig 15-20; It is noted that while it is a robot vacuum that still falls within the cleaner art]; wherein the nozzle includes:
a first driving device accommodated in the nozzle housing and configured to rotate the first rotation cleaning unit [Fig 17-20; 22121’ & 22122-22124 form a driving device], the first driving device including a first driving motor [Fig 20; 22121’] and a first gear [Fig 20; 22122] disposed to be spaced apart from a first side of the second flow path [Fig 15 & 17-18; each driving device is spaced apart from the second flow path (seen in Fig 15 extending from the nozzle (236) through the dustbin (231) to the fan (234)) on a first and second side of the second flow path];
a second driving device accommodated in the nozzle housing and configured to rotate the second rotation cleaning unit, the second driving device including a second driving motor and a second gear disposed to be spaced apart from a second side of the second flow path, the second side being opposite to the first side [Fig 15-20; there are two driving devices that are copies of each other (see the first driving device for item callouts) with each driving device spaced apart on opposite sides from the second flow path]; wherein an axis of rotation of the first driving motor and an axis of rotation of the second driving motor are disposed in a first direction [Fig 17-18; both motors are angled away from the centerline of the nozzle and extend in a front-rear direction; The Examiner notes that both axis’ of the Applicant extend in different direction but do from front-rear or both lie in the same plane], and wherein a rotation axis of the first rotation plate and a rotation axis of the second rotation plate are disposed in a second direction different from the first direction [Fig 17-18; both rotation plates have axis’ of rotation that extend in a second direction different from the motors’ axis’].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the driving device as disclosed by Liscio to have a gear with the motor and wherein an axis of rotation of the first driving motor and an axis of rotation of the second driving motor are disposed in a first direction, and wherein a rotation axis of the first rotation plate and a rotation axis of the second rotation plate are disposed in a second direction different from the first direction as taught by Zhang for the purpose of increasing the torque applied to the cleaning implement from the electric motor through gearing and changing the motor’s rotation axis’ to use a gearing system [Fig 17-18 & 20].
Zhang further teaches that the rotation plates [Fig 20; 22112] can have either brushes or mops [¶12 of the translation; 22111 can be a brush or type of fiber (i.e. mop)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace brush as disclosed by Liscio with the mop as disclosed by Zhang as a simple substitution of a known element to produce predictable result of using different cleaning implements for different purposes or surfaces; as Zhang teaches in ¶12 & ¶143.
Further Hyun teaches a nozzle for a cleaner with a water tank on top of the nozzle [Fig 1-3; 110]; the water tank having a single discharge port for supplying water [Fig 3; 110 has a single discharge port connected to 115]; and wherein the single discharge port is disposed biased to one side with respect to the centerline of the second flow path [Fig 2-4; 115 is connected to 120 which is adjacent to 125 which is biased to one side with respect to the centerline of 101 seen in Fig 4].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water tank as taught by Liscio as modified to have the water tank having a single discharge port for supplying water; and wherein the single discharge port is disposed biased to one side with respect to the centerline of the second flow path as taught by Hyun for the purpose of using a known structure for the discharge port as Liscio does not specify what the structure is.
Regarding claim 2. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 1, wherein the first flow path and the second flow path include openings provided in the lower surface of the nozzle housing [Liscio: Fig 1-4], wherein the second flow path extends in a rearward direction from a center area of the first flow path [Liscio: Fig 2-3], and wherein the centerline of the second flow path intersects a centerline of the first flow path [Liscio: Fig 2-3].
Regarding claim 3. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 1, wherein the centerline of the second flow path is disposed between a first rotation center of the first rotation cleaning unit and a second rotation center of the second rotation cleaning unit [Liscio: Fig 2; ¶46].
Regarding claim 4. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 3, wherein the nozzle housing includes: a first driving unit cover covering the first driving motor, the first driving unit cover having a center disposed between the axis of rotation of the first driving motor and the rotation center of the first rotation cleaning unit; and a second driving unit cover covering the second driving motor, the second driving unit cover including a center disposed between the axis of rotation of the second driving motor and the rotation center of the second rotation cleaning unit [Zhang: Fig 20; 2214 is a driving unit cover for each motor that has a center disposed between the motor axis and rotation cleaning unit axis].
Regarding claim 5 & 15. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 4, wherein the axis of rotation of the first driving motor and the axis of rotation of the second driving motor are symmetrical with respect to the centerline of the second flow path [Zhang: Fig 15 & 17-18].
Regarding claim 6 & 16. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 1, wherein the axis of rotation of the first driving motor and the axis of rotation of the second driving motor are angled towards the centerline of the second flow path as viewed moving in a frontward direction [Zhang: Fig 15 & 17-18; the rotations axis’s of both motors extend toward the centerline of the second flow path as view in a frontward direction; the angles are non-parallel with the centerline of the second flow path and intersect with said centerline], and wherein the second flow path extends from the first flow path in a rearward direction, the rearward direction being opposite to the frontward direction [Liscio: Figure 1 of this action & Fig 1-3; ¶46].
Regarding claim 7. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 1, wherein a width of the second flow path is smaller than a distance between the first driving motor and the second driving motor [Liscio: Fig 2; ¶47; the second flow path is between both 20 and their motors which are directly above 20; therefore the second flow path is smaller than a distance between the two motors].
Regarding claim 8. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 1, wherein the nozzle housing includes: a nozzle base on which the first driving device and the second driving device are seated [Liscio: Fig 2; 2 is a nozzle base that the motors are seated on]; and a nozzle cover coupled to an upper side of the nozzle base, the nozzle cover covering the first driving device and the second driving device Liscio: Fig 1 & 5; the water tank acts as a nozzle cover which is coupled to the upper side of the nozzle base].
Regarding claim 9 & 23. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 8, wherein the first driving motor includes a first transmission shaft passing through the nozzle base, the first transmission shaft being connected to the first rotation cleaning unit, and wherein the second driving motor includes a second transmission shaft passing through the nozzle base, the second transmission shaft being connected to the second rotation cleaning unit [Zhang: Fig 20-21a; each motor has a transmission shaft (22123) passing through the nozzle base].
Regarding claim 10 & 14. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 1, wherein the water tank is symmetrically disposed with respect to the centerline of the second flow path [Hyun: Fig 1-2], wherein each of the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate include a mop for wiping a floor and for receiving water from the water tank via the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate, respectively [Liscio: Fig 2; ¶48; each rotation plate and mop (taught by Zhang) receive water from the water tank via a nozzle (45)].
Regarding claim 12. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 11, wherein the nozzle housing includes: a nozzle base Liscio: Fig 1-2; 2] through which the rotation axis of the first rotation plate and the rotation axis of the second rotation plate pass [Liscio: Fig 1-2; the rotation axis (21) of each rotation plate passes through the base]; and a nozzle cover coupled to an upper portion of the nozzle base to cover the first driving device and the second driving device [Liscio: Fig 1-2; the water tank is a cover for the nozzle and couples to the nozzle base and also covers the motors].
Regarding claim 13. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 12, wherein the first driving device and the second driving device are seated on the nozzle base and are spaced apart from each other in the left-right direction [Liscio: Fig 2], and wherein an imaginary line connecting the axis of rotation of the first driving motor and the axis of rotation of the second driving motor overlaps the second flow path in the front-rear direction [Zhang: Fig 15 & 17-18].
Regarding claim 17. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 11, wherein the first driving motor overlaps at least a portion of the first rotation plate in a vertical direction, wherein the second driving motor overlaps at least a portion of the second rotation plate in the vertical direction [Liscio: Fig 1-2; each motor is above and overlaps their respective 20], and wherein the first rotation plate and the second rotation plate are symmetrically disposed with respect to the second flow path [Liscio: Fig 2-3; ¶46].
Regarding claim 18. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 17, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction [Zhang: Fig 17-18 & 20].
Regarding claim 19. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 18, wherein the first direction is defined as the front-rear direction of the nozzle housing, and wherein the second direction is defined as a vertical direction of the nozzle housing [Zhang: Fig 17-18].
Regarding claim 20. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 19, wherein at least a portion of the first driving motor overlaps the first rotation plate in the vertical direction, wherein at least a portion of the second driving motor overlaps the second rotation plate in the vertical direction [Liscio: Fig 1-2; each motor is above and overlaps their respective 20], and wherein the first driving motor and the second driving motor are positioned behind the first flow path [Liscio: Fig 1-3].
Regarding claim 21. Liscio as modified teaches the nozzle of claim 11, wherein the nozzle housing further includes a flow path forming portion covering at least one of the first flow path and the second flow path [Liscio: Fig 1-3; the portion of 22 above 29 and the piping of 31 extending to 5 is the flow path forming portion and is covering the first flow path and the second flow path], the flow path forming portion partitioning a space in which the first driving motor and the second driving motor are positioned and a flow path space in which air flows [Liscio: Fig 1-3; The flow path forming portion separates the flow path from the motor area to keep the dirty air separate from the motors].
Regarding claim 22. The nozzle of claim 21, wherein the second flow path extends in a rearward direction from a central area of the first flow path [Liscio: Fig 2-3], and wherein the flow path forming portion extends along the second flow path [Liscio: Fig 1-3].
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Rejections
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 10-18, filed 1/5/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant arguments in regards to BIAN, ZHAUNG (CN 205268043 U) are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
The Applicant claims that Liscio is non-analogous art by claiming that the device of Liscio “is merely a large-scale cleaning device that does not present a technical solution for miniaturization/compactness which corresponds to a configuration taught by the current application.”However it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Liscio teaches a nozzle for a cleaner. This is the Applicant’s field of endeavor. Miniaturization/compactness is not claimed and the Specification should not be read into the claims. Therefore Liscio is analogous art.
The Applicant arguments in regards to KR1 (KR 100814507 B1) are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723