NON-FINAL REJECTION
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants' Amendments and Remarks, filed Jun. 4, 2026.
Claims 1, 16, and 35 have been amended.
Claims 5, 8, 9, 14, 15, 27, 28, 33, 34, 36, and 37 have been canceled.
New claims 38-40 have been added.
Thus, claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10-13, 16-26, 29-32, 35, and 38-40 now represent all claims currently pending and under consideration.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The rejections and/or objections set forth below are either maintained or newly applied, and constitute the complete set presently applied to the instant claims.
REQUEST FOR CONTINUED EXAMINATION
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on Jun. 23, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENTS & ARGUMENTS
The amendments to the claims filed Jun. 4, 2026 overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Irie et al., Hanazawa et al., and Oishi. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
PRIORITY
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Provisional Application No. 63/003,061 (filed Mar. 31, 2020) fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for one or more claims of this application.
Newly amended independent claim 1 is drawn to a method of treating a viral infection in a subject comprising orally administering a modified release solid oral dosage form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nafamostat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to the subject in need thereof, wherein the amount of nafamostat measurable in the plasma of the subject after 1 to 8 hours after administering is below about 5 ng/mL and wherein the oral administration delivers the nafamostat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to the gastrointestinal (GI) tract and is effective to reduce viral load in the gastrointestinal tract without achieving a therapeutically effective systemic plasma concentration.
Newly amended independent claim 16 is drawn to a method of inhibiting a viral infection in a subject, comprising orally administering a modified release solid oral dosage form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nafamostat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the amount of nafamostat measurable in the plasma of the subject after 1 to 8 hours after administering is below about 5 ng/mL and wherein the oral administration delivers the nafamostat or salt thereof to the gastrointestinal (GI) tract without achieving a therapeutically effective systemic plasma concentration.
Independent claim 35 is drawn to a method of reducing the risk of experiencing an
adverse event associated with intravenous administration of nafamostat mesylate in a subject
having a viral infection comprising orally administering a modified release solid oral dosage
form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nafamostat mesylate to the subject, and wherein the amount of nafamostat measurable in the plasma of the subject after 1 to 8 hours after administering is below about 5 ng/mL.
While provisional application 63/003,061 defines modified release pharmaceutical compositions (para. [0035]), and discloses that the claimed compositions can be modified release formulations (paras. [0069], [0075], [0076], [0078]), 63/003,061 fails to exemplify any solid oral dosage form; any method of administering a solid oral dosage form to a subject to treat or inhibit a viral infection; or any risk reduction relative to i.v. administration.
Specifically, the ‘061 provisional application discloses three examples.
Example 1 discloses the preparation of a drinkable aqueous liquid formulation comprising nafamostat mesylate, succinic acid, and D-mannitol.
Example 2 is a prophetic example of administering the drinkable aqueous liquid formulation of Example 1 to “infected subjects,” without specifying the nature of the infection, and with no experimental results reported.
Example 3 is a prophetic example of the beneficial effects in the treatment group of Example 2 as compared to control, with no experimental results reported.
Thus, provisional application 63/003,061 fails to exemplify any modified-release or solid dosage forms; any methods of treating or inhibiting a viral infection in a subject; or any reduction of risk of an adverse event associated with intravenous administration of nafamostat mesylate by oral administration, as recited by the independent claims.
In addition, in the Remarks filed Jun. 4, 2026, Applicant argues that “the amended claims now require more than mere oral administration – they require a modified release dosage form. A modified release formulation represents a deliberate pharmaceutical design choice that controls the rate, timing, and location of drug release within the GI tract. This is fundamentally different from the oral solutions of the specification's Examples” (¶ 1, p. 7; emphasis added).
Thus, Provisional Application No. 63/003,061 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for the newly amended claims.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Indefiniteness
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10-13, 16-26, 29-32, 35, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As recognized by MPEP § 2173.05(g), when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear.
Here, independent claims 1, 16, and 35 are drawn to methods of administering a modified release solid oral dosage form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nafamostat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof,
wherein the amount of nafamostat measurable in the plasma of the subject after 1 to 8 hours after administering is below about 5 ng/mL;
wherein the oral administration delivers the nafamostat or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof to the gastrointestinal (GI) tract; and
is effective to reduce viral load in the gastrointestinal tract without achieving a therapeutically effective systemic plasma concentration.
These limitations recite the intrinsic physiological effects that allegedly occur or naturally
flow from carrying out the active method step of administering to a subject with a viral infection a modified release solid oral dosage form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nafamostat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
As detailed in the final action dated Apr, 1, 2026 (pp. 10-12), the specification itself establishes that oral administration of nafamostat inherently results in delivery of nafamostat locally to the GI tract, which reduces the GI viral load and treats a viral infection via that GI-localized delivery; and inherently results in a plasma concentration of nafamostat at 1-8 hours post-dose below about 5 ng/ml. This is why nafamostat is usually administered intravenously rather than orally, when used to treat other indications.
There is no evidence in the specification or in the prior art that the particular dosage form of orally administered nafamostat is critical: it is the oral route of administration itself that delivers nafamostat to the GI tract and reduces viral load in the GI tract without achieving a therapeutically effective plasma concentration, regardless of how it is formulated.
Thus, these limitations merely recite the intrinsic results of orally administering nafamostat to a subject to treat a viral infection, and as such, are not limiting.
As recognized by MPEP § 2111.04, claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. The above-cited “wherein” clauses simply describe what the active step of administering a modified release solid oral dosage form is supposed to accomplish, and thus fail to further limit the scope of independent claims 1, 16, and 35, and claims dependent thereon.
"A whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited." Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
Thus, for examination purposes, the claimed physiological results and/or effects of administering the claimed dosage forms are construed as intended use limitations and are given no patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10-13, 16-20, 24-26, 29-32, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi (WO 2022/065789, cited on PTO-892).
Choi discloses oral formulations in a sustained release form or a controlled release form, comprising nafamostat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and a water-soluble sustained-release polymer (abstract). The formulations can efficiently control the release rate (or dissolution rate) of nafamostat or salt thereof, and are useful as an antiviral pharmaceutical composition for treating or preventing coronavirus infection (COVID-19) (para. [0014]).
The formulations of Choi are exemplified in the form of a tablet (a solid dosage form) (Examples 1-20), prepared by wet granulation, dry granulation, or direct tableting (para. [0033]).
Thus, Choi discloses a method of treating or preventing a viral infection in a subject comprising orally administering a modified-release solid oral dosage form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nafamostat or a salt thereof to a subject in need thereof, as
recited by claims 1-3, 6, 17-20, 24, 25, and 40.
Choi exemplifies modified-release oral tablets comprising 100 mg nafamostat mesylate (Examples 1-5), which falls within the range of about 50 mg to about 200 mg of nafamostat mesylate, as recited by claim 7.
The formulations of Choi may contain nafamostat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in an amount ranging from 10 to 200 mg per unit formulation, e.g., 10, 20, 30, 50, 75, 100, 150, or 200 mg, and may be in a form administered orally once a day (para. [0022]); or
in an amount ranging from 30 to 600 mg per unit formulation and may be administered orally three times a day (para. [0020]), which reads on:
a total daily dose administered of about 100 mg to about 1500 mg of nafamostat mesylate, as recited by claim 4;
about 50 mg to about 500 mg nafamostat mesylate administered once, twice, or three times per day, as recited by claim 10;
at least about 0.1 mg/kg/day nafamostat mesylate, as recited by claims 11 and 30;
about 0.75 mg/kg/day to about 20 mg/kg/day, as recited by claims 12 and 31; and
about 1 mg/kg/day to about 10 mg/kg/day, as recited by claims 13 and 32;
about 50 mg to about 600 mg of nafamostat mesylate or an equivalent amount of nafamostat or a salt thereof, as recited by claim 26; and
in an amount equivalent to about 200 mg to about 500 mg nafamostat mesylate once, twice, or three times per day to the subject, as recited by claim 29.
The oral formulations of Choi are disclosed for preventing or treating Coronavirus Disease-19 (COVID-19), caused by infection with the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus. Choi teaches that the oral formulations exhibit antiviral activity by degrading the TMPRSS2 enzyme protein, which helps the coronavirus bind to ACE2 when entering a host cell (paras. [0007], [0040]).
Thus, Choi discloses a method of inhibiting a viral infection in a subject comprising orally administering a modified release solid oral dosage form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nafamostat or a salt thereof, as recited by independent claim 16..
For the foregoing reasons, Choi anticipates claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10-13, 16-20, 24-26, 29-32, and 38-40.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10-13, 16-26, 29-32, 35, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (WO 2022/065789, cited on PTO-892).
Choi discloses oral formulations in a sustained release form or a controlled release form, comprising nafamostat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and a water-soluble sustained-release polymer (abstract). The formulations can efficiently control the release rate (or dissolution rate) of nafamostat or salt thereof, and are useful as an antiviral pharmaceutical composition for treating or preventing coronavirus infection (COVID-19) (para. [0014]).
The formulations of Choi are exemplified in the form of a tablet (a solid dosage form) (Examples 1-20), prepared by wet granulation, dry granulation, or direct tableting (para. [0033]).
Thus, Choi discloses a method of treating or preventing a viral infection in a subject comprising orally administering a modified-release solid oral dosage form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nafamostat or a salt thereof to a subject in need thereof, as recited by claims 1-3, 6, 17-20, 24, 25, and 40.
Choi exemplifies modified-release oral tablets comprising 100 mg nafamostat mesylate (Examples 1-5), which falls within the range of about 50 mg to about 200 mg of nafamostat mesylate, as recited by claim 7.
The formulations of Choi may contain nafamostat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in an amount ranging from 10 to 200 mg per unit formulation, e.g., 10, 20, 30, 50, 75, 100, 150, or 200 mg, and may be in a form administered orally once a day (para. [0022]); or
in an amount ranging from 30 to 600 mg per unit formulation and may be administered orally three times a day (para. [0020]), which reads on:
a total daily dose administered of about 100 mg to about 1500 mg of nafamostat mesylate, as recited by claim 4;
about 50 mg to about 500 mg nafamostat mesylate administered once, twice, or three times per day, as recited by claim 10;
at least about 0.1 mg/kg/day nafamostat mesylate, as recited by claims 11 and 30;
about 0.75 mg/kg/day to about 20 mg/kg/day, as recited by claims 12 and 31; and
about 1 mg/kg/day to about 10 mg/kg/day, as recited by claims 13 and 32;
about 50 mg to about 600 mg of nafamostat mesylate or an equivalent amount of nafamostat or a salt thereof, as recited by claim 26; and
in an amount equivalent to about 200 mg to about 500 mg nafamostat mesylate once, twice, or three times per day to the subject, as recited by claim 29.
The oral formulations of Choi may be administered once or several times a day, which may be adjusted according to the form of the formulation, the patient's age, weight, gender, pathological condition, food, responsiveness, etc., and a person skilled in the art may appropriately adjust the content of nafamostat or salt thereof per unit formulation and the frequency of administration (para. [0022]).
This implicitly discloses the patient population aged 65 or older, as recited by claim 21; and patient populations with a pathological condition as recited by claims 22-23.
The oral formulations of Choi are disclosed for preventing or treating Coronavirus Disease-19 (COVID-19), caused by infection with the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus. Choi teaches that the oral formulations exhibit antiviral activity by degrading the TMPRSS2 enzyme protein, which helps the coronavirus bind to ACE2 when entering a host cell (paras. [0007], [0040]).
Thus, Choi discloses a method of inhibiting a viral infection in a subject comprising orally administering a modified release solid oral dosage form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nafamostat or a salt thereof, as recited by independent claim 16; and
wherein the administering occurs before a symptom of a viral infection is observed in the subject, as recited by claim 17.
Choi disclose that intravenous administration of nafamostat may risk contamination or infection in the process of dissolution or administration process (para. [0006]).
Thus, Choi implicitly discloses that orally administering a modified release solid oral dosage form comprising a therapeutically effective amount of nafamostat mesylate reduces the risk of an adverse event associated with intravenous administration of nafamostat mesylate in a subject having a viral infection, as recited by independent claim 35.
It would have been predictable to an ordinarily skilled clinician as of the filing date to modify the methods of Choi by administering a modified release solid oral dosage form to treat a viral infection in patients over age 65, patients with cancer, or immunocompromised patients, as recited by claims 21-23, or to reduce the risk of adverse events, as recited by claim 35, with a reasonable expectation of success, because patients of all ages and underlying conditions are susceptible to viral infections and side effects of systemic administration; and Choi teaches that administration may be adjusted according to the patient's age or pathological condition. A skilled artisan routinely selects and adjusts the optimal treatment protocol for a given patient population, e.g., to enhance patient compliance, which can be modified by routine experimentation.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 11-13 be found allowable, claims 30-32 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being substantial duplicates thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Citation of Additional Prior Art
Additional references made of record are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WO 2021/261837 and WO 2022/080798 (cited on PTO-892).
CONCLUSION
No claims are allowed.
/SARA E. TOWNSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1629