DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 7, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As to Applicant’s argument that Shawver fails to disclose or suggest spraying a large chamber-like space, the Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s assertion, but respectfully disagrees as the invention of Shawver relates to water blasting equipment and more particularly to high pressure water blasting devices adapted to clean equipment such as heat exchangers, falling pressure evaporators, storage tanks, tubes, piping, towers and similar equipment.[0001]
Applicant asserts that a PHOSITA would have no basis to incorporate Shawver's water blasting system into Kotake's structure, because:
(a) Kotake does not recognize cleaning as a solution;
(b) Kotake already provides a non-cleaning solution; and
(c) Incorporating high-pressure cleaning would be inconsistent with Kotake's passive protection design.
There is no suggestion or teaching in Kotake that calls for active liquid spraying.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the instant application is directed towards a method for manufacturing a water-absorbent resin using a heat exchanger, which is taught in Kotake. Shawver relates to water blasting equipment and more particularly to high pressure water blasting devices adapted to clean equipment such as heat exchangers, falling pressure evaporators, storage tanks, tubes, piping, towers and similar equipment.[0001]
As to new claim 24, Petermann is directed towards an automatic spray cleaning apparatus and method wherein figure 2 teaches the cleaning liquid sprayed by nozzles 20 is transmitted through the nozzle support arms 36 and the support shaft 22 from a swivel fitting 68 connected to the top of shaft 22 for cleaning the interior surface of chemical reactive tanks for polymerizing polyvinyl chloride.[col 5 lines 1-15]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-12, 14-16, and 18-21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shawver (US 2016/0243597), and in further view of Kotake (JP 2013-204860 translation cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Shawver figure 10 teaches water blasting equipment for high pressure water blasting devices adapted to clean equipment such as heat exchangers used in polymer forming thereby reading on a cleaning step of cleaning an inside of a heat exchanger.[0001-2]
Shawver is silent to the heat exchanger system being connected to a vessel holding an aqueous gel-like polymer as a precursor of the water-absorbent resin and is configured to cool a gas containing the polymer produced in the vessel, wherein the heat exchanger comprises:
a plurality of pipes that have elongated paths through which the gas passes, and in which the gas is cooled due to heat dissipation during passage through the paths;
a chamber that is arranged above the plurality of pipes and is in communication with openings at upper ends of the plurality of pipes.
Kotake figures 1-3 teach a method for manufacturing a water-absorbent resin, comprising: a heat exchanger (100) that is connected to a vessel (200 polymerization reactor) holding an aqueous gel-like polymer as a precursor of the water-absorbent resin and is configured to cool a gas containing the polymer produced in the vessel, wherein the heat exchanger comprises:
a plurality of pipes (11 inner pipes) that have elongated paths through which the gas passes, and in which the gas is cooled due to heat dissipation during passage through the paths;
a chamber (defined by 41 first partition wall and 22b top plate) that is arranged above the plurality of pipes and is in communication with openings at upper ends of the plurality of pipes.[pages 7-8]
It would have been obvious to provide the heat exchanger configuration as taught in Kotake in the cleaning step of Shawver as Shawver is directed towards cleaning equipment such as heat exchangers.
Therefore, Shawver in view of Kotake teaches a cleaner that sprays a cleaning liquid (water as taught in Shawver) in the chamber, wherein the cleaning step comprises at least cleaning an inside of the chamber by spraying the cleaning liquid from the cleaner in the chamber.
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “a manufacturing a water-absorbent resin” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding claim 2, Shawver figure 9 teaches the water blasting device 140 can be joined with the connector 150 on the track 120 and selectively moved along it. The blasting device 140 can be swiveled and moved relative to the connector 150 and the track 120 to clean a region R2 thereby reading on the cleaner is configured to spray the cleaning liquid toward at least an inner wall surface of the chamber.[0069]
Regarding claim 3, Shawver figure 10 teaches the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby reading on the cleaner is configured to spray the cleaning liquid toward at least a top surface included in the inner wall surface of the chamber.[0070]
Regarding claim 10, Kotake teaches water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer aqueous solution is added to and dispersed in the petroleum-based hydrocarbon dispersion medium preliminarily charged in the polymerization reactor 200 thereby reading on the vessel is a polymerization tank in which monomers serving as a raw material for the water-absorbent resin are polymerized.[page 5]
Regarding claim 11, Kotake teaches water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer aqueous solution is added to and dispersed in the petroleum-based hydrocarbon dispersion medium preliminarily charged in the polymerization reactor 200, the stirring means 201 disperses the water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer aqueous solution thereby reading on the vessel is a polymerization tank in which monomers serving as a raw material for the water-absorbent resin are polymerized.[page 5]
Regarding claim 12, Kotake teaches water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer aqueous solution is added to and dispersed in the petroleum-based hydrocarbon dispersion medium preliminarily charged in the polymerization reactor 200, the stirring means 201 disperses the water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer aqueous solution thereby reading on the vessel is a polymerization tank in which monomers serving as a raw material for the water-absorbent resin are polymerized.[page 5]
Regarding claim 14, Shawver figure 10 teaches the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaning step comprises removing a lump of the polymer that adheres to at least one of the inner wall surface of the chamber and inner wall surfaces of the pipes by spraying the cleaning liquid from the cleaner in the chamber.[0070]
Regarding claim 15, Shawver figure 10 teaches the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaning step comprises removing a lump of the polymer that adheres to at least one of the inner wall surface of the chamber and inner wall surfaces of the pipes by spraying the cleaning liquid from the cleaner in the chamber.[0070]
Regarding claim 16, Shawver figure 10 teaches the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaning step comprises removing a lump of the polymer that adheres to at least one of the inner wall surface of the chamber and inner wall surfaces of the pipes by spraying the cleaning liquid from the cleaner in the chamber.[0070]
Regarding claim 18, Shawver figure 10 teaches the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaning step comprises removing a lump of the polymer that adheres to at least one of the inner wall surface of the chamber and inner wall surfaces of the pipes by spraying the cleaning liquid from the cleaner in the chamber.[0070]
Regarding claim 19, Shawver teaches a water blasting equipment for high pressure water blasting devices adapted to clean equipment such as heat exchangers used in polymer forming. Shawver figures 9-10 teach the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaning step comprises breaking up and knocking off the lump of the polymer adhering to the inner wall surface of the chamber by spraying the cleaning liquid toward the inner wall surface of the chamber.[0001-2][0070]
Regarding claim 20, Shawver teaches a water blasting equipment for high pressure water blasting devices adapted to clean equipment such as heat exchangers used in polymer forming. Shawver figures 9-10 teach the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaning step comprises breaking up and knocking off the lump of the polymer adhering to the inner wall surface of the chamber by spraying the cleaning liquid toward the inner wall surface of the chamber.[0001-2][0070]
Regarding claim 21, Shawver teaches a water blasting equipment for high pressure water blasting devices adapted to clean equipment such as heat exchangers used in polymer forming. Shawver figures 9-10 teach the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaning step comprises breaking up and knocking off the lump of the polymer adhering to the inner wall surface of the chamber by spraying the cleaning liquid toward the inner wall surface of the chamber.[0001-2][0070]
Regarding claim 23, Shawver teaches a water blasting equipment for high pressure water blasting devices adapted to clean equipment such as heat exchangers used in polymer forming. Shawver figures 9-10 teach the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaning step comprises breaking up and knocking off the lump of the polymer adhering to the inner wall surface of the chamber by spraying the cleaning liquid toward the inner wall surface of the chamber.[0001-2][0070]
Claim(s) 4, 8-9, 13, 17, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shawver (US 2016/0243597) and Kotake (JP 2013-204860 translation cited in IDS), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Karasawa (JP 2003-334471 translation cited in IDS) .
Regarding claim 4, Shawver teaches the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaner has a spray nozzle configured to rotate around a first shaft extending in a first direction.[0070]
However, Shawver in view of Kotake is silent to the cleaner has a spray nozzle configured to rotate around a first shaft extending in a first direction while rotating around a second shaft extending in a second direction that intersects the first direction, and configured to spray the cleaning liquid while rotating around the first shaft and the second shaft.
Karasawa is directed towards a three-dimensional rotary nozzle wherein nozzles 7a and 7b having apertures 5a and 5b, respectively in both ends. The apertures 5a, 5b of the nozzles 7a and 7b are opened in mutually opposed directions and a fluid can be jetted in three-dimensional entire directions from the apertures 5a and 5b by the respective rotating movements of the second axial part 3 rotated by the jetting force of the fluid jetted out of the apertures 5a and 5b and of the first axial part 2interlockingly rotated with the rotation of the second axial part 3.[Abstract]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a nozzle configuration as taught by Karasawa for effective rapid cleaning of the inside of a tank of the like.[0002, page 1]
Regarding claim 8, Shawver teaches the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaner has a spray nozzle configured to rotate around a first shaft extending in a first direction.[0070] Karasawa is directed towards a three-dimensional rotary nozzle wherein nozzles 7a and 7b having apertures 5a and 5b, respectively in both ends. The apertures 5a, 5b of the nozzles 7a and 7b are opened in mutually opposed directions and a fluid can be jetted in three-dimensional entire directions from the apertures 5a and 5b by the respective rotating movements of the second axial part 3 rotated by the jetting force of the fluid jetted out of the apertures 5a and 5b and of the first axial part 2interlockingly rotated with the rotation of the second axial part 3.[Abstract] Therefore, Shawver in view of Kotake and Karasawa teach to the cleaner has a spray nozzle configured to rotate around a first shaft extending in a first direction while rotating around a second shaft extending in a second direction that intersects the first direction, and configured to spray the cleaning liquid while rotating around the first shaft and the second shaft.
Regarding claim 9, Shawver teaches the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaner has a spray nozzle configured to rotate around a first shaft extending in a first direction.[0070] Karasawa is directed towards a three-dimensional rotary nozzle wherein nozzles 7a and 7b having apertures 5a and 5b, respectively in both ends. The apertures 5a, 5b of the nozzles 7a and 7b are opened in mutually opposed directions and a fluid can be jetted in three-dimensional entire directions from the apertures 5a and 5b by the respective rotating movements of the second axial part 3 rotated by the jetting force of the fluid jetted out of the apertures 5a and 5b and of the first axial part 2interlockingly rotated with the rotation of the second axial part 3.[Abstract] Therefore, Shawver in view of Kotake and Karasawa teach to the cleaner has a spray nozzle configured to rotate around a first shaft extending in a first direction while rotating around a second shaft extending in a second direction that intersects the first direction, and configured to spray the cleaning liquid while rotating around the first shaft and the second shaft.
Regarding claim 13, Kotake teaches water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer aqueous solution is added to and dispersed in the petroleum-based hydrocarbon dispersion medium preliminarily charged in the polymerization reactor 200, the stirring means 201 disperses the water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer aqueous solution thereby reading on the vessel is a polymerization tank in which monomers serving as a raw material for the water-absorbent resin are polymerized.[page 5]
Regarding claim 17, Shawver figure 10 teaches the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaning step comprises removing a lump of the polymer that adheres to at least one of the inner wall surface of the chamber and inner wall surfaces of the pipes by spraying the cleaning liquid from the cleaner in the chamber.[0070].
Regarding claim 22, Shawver teaches a water blasting equipment for high pressure water blasting devices adapted to clean equipment such as heat exchangers used in polymer forming. Shawver figures 9-10 teach the apparatus 210 includes a water blasting device 240 having a nozzle 242, and the user manually manipulates the water blasting device 240, moving it around relative to the interior of the pipe P3 or other equipment to be cleaned thereby suggesting the cleaning step comprises breaking up and knocking off the lump of the polymer adhering to the inner wall surface of the chamber by spraying the cleaning liquid toward the inner wall surface of the chamber.[0001-2][0070]
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shawver (US 2016/0243597)and Kotake (JP 2013-204860 translation cited in IDS), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Petermann (US 3,985,572).
Regarding claim 24, Shawver in view of Kotake is silent to the cleaning step comprises at least cleaning an inside upper surface of the chamber located above openings to the plurality of pipes by spraying the cleaning liquid from the cleaner in the chamber.
Petermann is directed towards an automatic spray cleaning apparatus and method wherein figure 2 teaches the cleaning liquid sprayed by nozzles 20 is transmitted through the nozzle support arms 36 and the support shaft 22 from a swivel fitting 68 connected to the top of shaft 22 for cleaning the interior surface of chemical reactive tanks for polymerizing polyvinyl chloride.[col 5 lines 1-15]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a nozzle assembly as taught in Petermann for cleaning the interior surface of chemical reactive tanks for polymerizing polyvinyl chloride.[col 5 lines 1-15]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711