DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 17-27 are pending. Claims 21 and 23 have been amended. Claims 17-27 are being examined in this application.
Duplicate claims
Applicant is advised that should claims 17 and 20 be found allowable, claims 21 and 23 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k).
Claim Objections
Claims 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 should be rewritten to recite “…having a VIPR2 antagonist activity and a conformational….”. With respect to claim 20, periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995); See also MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim 20 should be rewritten to recite “..represented by any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1 to 10….”. Appropriate correction is required.
Sequence Compliance
Applicant is advised that the application is not in compliance with 37 CFR §§ 1.821-1.825.
This application contains sequence disclosures that are encompassed by the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR § 1.821(a)(1) and (a)(2). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR §§ 1.821-1.825. Applicant must comply with the requirements of the sequence rules (37 CFR §§ 1.821-1.825) in order to completely respond to this office action.
Specifically, the amino acid sequence presented in Fig. 2 requires a sequence identifier. In order to satisfy the sequence rules requirements, Applicant needs to provide an amendment to the instant claims, specification and drawings to include reference to the appropriate sequence identifier “SEQ ID NO:” in parenthesis next to each of the sequences having 4 or more amino acids. Please confirm that all peptides having 4 or more than 4 amino acid residues have sequence identifiers and are included in the sequence listing.
In case of any new sequences not properly identified in the instant specification, Applicant is required to provide a substitute computer readable form (CRF) copy of a “Sequence Listing” which includes all of the sequences that are present in the instant application and encompassed by these rules, a new or substitute paper copy of that “Sequence Listing”, an amendment directing the entry of that paper copy into the specification, and a statement that the content of the paper and computer readable copies are the same and, where applicable, include no new matter, as required by 37 C.F.R. § 1.821(e) or 1.821(f) or 1.821(g) or 1.825(d). The instant specification will also need to be amended so that it complies with 37 C.F.R. § 1.821(d) which requires a reference to a particular sequence identifier (SEQ ID NO:) be made in the specification and claims wherever a reference is made to that sequence. For rules interpretation Applicant may call (571) 272-2533. See M.P.E.P. 2422.04.
Please direct all replies to the United States Patent and Trademark Office via one (1) of the following:
1. Electronically submitted through EFS-Bio (<http://www.uspto.gov/ebc/efs/downloads/documents.htm>, EFS Submission User Manual - ePave)
2. US Postal Service:
Commissioner for Patents
PO Box 22313-1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
3. Hand carry, Federal Express, United Parcel Service, or other delivery service:
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Mail Stop Sequence
Customer Window, Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 23 under 35 USC 112(a) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
This is a new rejection.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The MPEP states:
“There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue.” These factors include, but are not limited to: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.”
(A) The breadth of the claims; and (B) The nature of the invention;
The claim is drawn to a method for treating or preventing central nervous system diseases involving VIPR2 activation, comprising administering a pharmaceutical or diagnostic reagent comprising a cyclic peptide of formula (17).
The instant specification teaches that central nervous system diseases involving VIPR2 activation include, but are not limited, mental disorders (schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, schizophreniform, delusional disorder, etc.), pediatric mental disorders (attention deficit disorder, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, conduct disorder, autism, etc.), neurodegenerative disorders, neural stem cell disorders, neural precursor disorders, ischemic disorders, neurotraumatic disorders, affective disorders, psychomotor disorders, sleep disorders (hypersomnia, circadian rhythm sleep disorders, insomnia, abnormal sleep behavior, sleep deprivation, etc.) mental disorders such as anxiety (acute stress disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, social anxiety disorder, panic disorder, posttraumatic stress disorder, square fear, obsessive-compulsive disorder, etc.), false psychiatric disorders (acute hallucinatory mania, etc.), impulse control disorders (compulsive gambling, intermittent explosive disorder, etc.), mood disorders (bipolar I type I disorder, bipolar II disorder, mania, mixed affective states, etc.), major depression, chronic depression, seasonal depression, psychotic depression, seasonal depression, cognitive disorders (amnesia, geriatric dementia, HIV-related dementia, Alzheimer's disease, Alzheimer's disease, etc.) HIV-related dementia, Alzheimer's disease, Huntington's disease, dementia with Lewy bodies, vascular dementia, drug-related dementia, late onset dyskinesia, clonic muscle spasms, dystonia, delirium, Pick's disease, Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease, HIV disease, Gilles de la Tourette syndrome, epilepsy, muscle spasticity, mild cognitive impairment, etc.), mental lability (spasticity, Down syndrome, fragile X syndrome, etc.); premenstrual syndrome (PMS), premenstrual dysphoric mood disorder (PDD), postpartum depression, neuronal damage disorders (eye damage, retinopathy or macular degeneration of the eye, tinnitus, hearing Parkinson's disease, Parkinson's-like disorder, migraine, epilepsy, Alzheimer's disease, brain injury, stroke, cerebrovascular disease (cerebral atherosclerosis, cerebral amyloid angiopathy, hereditary cerebral hemorrhage, cerebral hypoxia-ischemia, etc.), drug addiction (drug addiction, alcoholism, amphetamine dependence, cocaine addiction, nicotine dependence, drug withdrawal syndrome, etc.), and eating disorders (anorexia, bulimia, distracted eating disorder, polyphagia, obesity, compulsive eating disorder, ice eating disorder, etc.). Additional diseases include, but are not limited to, inhibition of the growth of VIPR2-expressing cancers and use in the activation of immunity through inhibition of VIPR2 function, and the like (para [0086]).
(C) The state of the prior art;
Cleveland Clinic (downloaded from URL:<>) teaches that neurodegenerative diseases are not preventable ” (page 2; “Treatment”).
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
The skill of those skilled in the art is high.
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
Considering that Cleveland Clinic teaches that neurodegenerative diseases are not preventable, the unpredictability of preventing neurodegenerative diseases is very high.
Furthermore, given the different etiology of the enormous list of diseases claimed, the unpredictability of preventing or treating said diseases is very high.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The specification does not provide any examples with respect to the use of the claimed pharmaceutical or diagnostic reagent comprising a cyclic peptide of formula (17) to prevent or treat any of the diseases claimed.
The MPEP (2164.02) states that " The specification need not contain an example if the invention is otherwise disclosed in such manner that one skilled in the art will be able to practice it without an undue amount of experimentation. In re Borkowski, 422 F.2d 904, 908, 164 USPQ 642, 645 (CCPA 1970).” The MPEP further states that
“Lack of a working example, however, is a factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art.”
In the instant application, the specification does not provide any guidance to allow for the prevention or treatment of the diseases claimed.
Working examples are necessary since the art has indicated unpredictability of prevention or treatment of such diseases is very high.
Considering the state of the art as discussed above and the high unpredictability and the lack of guidance provided in the specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would be burdened with undue experimentation to use the invention as claimed.
This is a new rejection.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the prodrug" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 should be rewritten to recite “A prodrug ; or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the prodrug”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 21 and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakamoto et al. is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
This is a new rejection.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakamoto et al. (Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications 503 (2018) 1973-1979, previously cited).
Sakamoto et al. teach the cyclic peptide VIpep-3 (Ac-CPPYLPRRLCTLLLRS-OH) (abstract), which corresponds to the cyclic peptide of claim 19.
Double Patenting
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 17-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4 and 6-8 of copending Application No. 18/841363 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same cyclic peptide.
‘363 teaches a cyclic peptide of formula (1) (claim 1), which corresponds to the claimed cyclic peptide of instant claims 17-21 and 23.
With respect to claims 22 and 24, ‘363 teaches that an N-terminus amino group is acetylated (claim 1). Furthermore, since the teachings of ‘363 relate to a method of treating a subject comprising administering a cyclic peptide of formula (1), one of ordinary skill in the art would have at once envisaged administering a pharmaceutical reagent or a prodrug comprising said cyclic peptide.
With respect to claim 25, the only active step is the administration of the pharmaceutical or diagnostic reagent of the cyclic peptide, which, once administered, would inherently prevent the diseases claimed.
With respect to claim 26, ‘363 teaches that SEQ ID NOs: 1-10, are resistant to protease degradation (para [0074]).
With respect to claim 27, ‘363 teaches that the cyclic peptide is biotin-labeled, fluorescence-labeled, or luminescence-labeled (para [0036]). Please note that it is proper to turn to and rely on the disclosure of a patent application to ascertain what constitutes an obvious modification. This position is supported by the courts. See In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
In the response filed on 12/16/2025, Applicant requested the rejection to be held in abeyance until the claims are otherwise in condition for allowance.
For this reason, the rejection is maintained.
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658