DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s filing dated March 3rd, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on September 27th, 2023. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's amendment of claims 1-21; and cancelation of claims 22-38.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on March 3rd, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-17 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 3rd, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of CAS RN: 2714391-79-2 shown below in the reply filed on March 3rd, 2026 is acknowledged:
Which is a compound of Formula (I) wherein R1, R2, R3, R4 and R5 are D.
A prior art search was conducted for CAS RN: 2714391-79-2.
This search retrieved prior art.
Therefore, the Examiner’s search will not be extended unnecessarily to additional species in/for/during this Office action.
Claims 1-3 and 18-20 read on the elected species and will be examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fude et al (CN 108721622 A); in view of Meanwell (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, (2011), 54, 2529–2591).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 18, Fude teaches phenylarsine oxide (PAO) shown below (Description, page 6, Table 1, Compound 1; Claims 6-8)
which Fude teaches is a PI4KIIIα inhibitor (Description, page 5, lines 45-48). Fude further teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising phenylarsine oxide and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (Description, page 3, lines 26-27; Claims 9-10).
The phenylarsine oxide of Fude has a similar structure to the instantly claimed elected compound, CAS RN: 2714391-79-2; differing only by the bioisosteric substitution of H for D around the phenyl ring of the phenylarsine oxide of Fude in the instantly claimed compound.
Fude does not teach a deuterated phenylarsine oxide.
Meanwell teaches “Substituting a H atom by D represents the most conservative example of bioisosterism given the similarities between the two isotopes, but there are circumstances in drug design where this change can offer a significant advantage” (page 2529, right column, last sentence; page 2530, left column, first sentence). It is well known in drug discovery that replacing H with D is a useful strategy to improve the pharmacokinetic properties of drug candidates when incorporated at sites relevant to metabolic modification; with potential for increasing compound stability and reducing toxicity (page 2530, left column, last sentence; right column first paragraph).
MPEP 2144.09 states:
“Claimed and prior art compounds used in a method would have been expected to have similar activity because the structural difference between the compounds involved a known bioisosteric replacement” In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very
close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on
similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the
art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in
structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245,
254 (CCPA 1979).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the phenylarsine oxide of Fude by substituting the H atoms on the phenyl ring with D to arrive at the instantly claimed compound CAS RN: 2714391-79-2. As taught by Meanwell, replacement of H with D is a well-established medicinal chemistry strategy used to improve metabolic stability and enhance pharmacokinetic properties. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply this deuteration strategy to the phenylarsine oxide of Fude in order to improve its metabolic stability and pharmacokinetic properties, as these modifications routinely applied at sites relevant to metabolic modification. Given the close structural similarity between compounds, and thus their shared utility, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the modified compound to retain similar biological properties while potentially exhibiting improved performance. The instantly claimed compound CAS RN: 2714391-79-2 thus represents a predictable variation of the prior art compound phenylarsine oxide, achieved through the routine substitution of one known substituent for another known bio-isosteric equivalent.
“[T]he rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Taken together, all of this would result in the compound and pharmaceutical composition of instant claims 1-3 and 18 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fude et al (CN 108721622 A); in view of Meanwell (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, (2011), 54, 2529–2591); further in view of Cheresh et al (US 2016/0015709 A1).
Regarding claims 19-20, Fude and Meanwell render obvious the compound and pharmaceutical composition of claims 1-3 and 18 as described above.
Fude and Meanwell do not teach a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a drug for treating a tumor, wherein that drug for treating a tumor is selected from paclitaxel, gemcitabine, cyclophosphamide or temozolomide.
Cheresh teaches that phenylarsine oxide is an NFkB inhibitor (page 19, Table 1, 18th compound listed); and further teaches a therapeutic combination of drugs comprising of an NFkB inhibitor and gemcitabine or paclitaxel (pages 7-8, paragraphs [0115-0116, 0124 and 0132-0133]). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the phenylarsine oxide of Fude, as modified by deuteration at sites relevant to metabolic modification in view of Meanwell, into the combination therapy taught by Cheresh in order to achieve the known benefits associated with NFkB inhibition in cancer treatment. Cheresh teaches that penylarsine oxide is an NFkB inhibitor, and is useful in combination with gemcitabine or paclitaxel. Meanwell teaches that deuteration, particularly at sites relevant to metabolic modification, exhibits improve metabolic stability and enhanced pharmacokinetic properties. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the modified compound to retain similar biological properties while potentially exhibiting improved performance.
“[T]he rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Taken together, all of this would result in the composition of instant claims 19-20 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 18-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 18-19 of copending Application No. 18/697,015 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the deuterated compounds of Formula (I) overlap with the reference application. For instance, the compound
is found in claim 4 of the reference application on page 7, line 7 as the 5th compound listed. This compound is also present in the instant claims as a compound of Formula (I) wherein R1 and R5 are F; and wherein R2, R3 and R4 are D. Moreover, the pharmaceutical composition of claims 18-19 of the reference application have the same requirements (e.g. a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, and a second agent such as paclitaxel) as the instantly claimed pharmaceutical composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3 and 18-20 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
/C.L.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691