DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 2, 6-13, in the reply filed on 9/2/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s election of:
(i-b) COVID-19;
(ii) trans sodium crocetinate (TSC);
(iii) IV;
(iv-a) treatment of hypoxemia,
in the reply filed on 9/2/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4, 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/2/2025.
Claims 6-7, 9, 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/2/2025.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, 10, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gainer et al. (WO 2015/028411 A1; 2015); in view of Wang et al. (“Comorbidities and multi-organ injuries in the treatment of COVID-19”; the lancet.com; 3/21/2020; Published Online March 9, 2020; https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(20)30558-4).
Gainer teaches bipolar trans carotenoid salts and their uses (title); these compounds are useful in improving diffusivity of oxygen between red blood cells and body tissues in mammals including humans (abstract). Among the compounds taught are trans sodium crocetinate, TSC (4: 3rd paragraph). TSC has been found to increase the diffusivity of oxygen through liquids (7: 3rd paragraph), by about 30%; TSC increases survival in mammals following hypoxia, increases oxygen consumption following hypoxia, decreases organ damage following hypoxia; the compounds of the invention are useful for treating mammal (including human) diseases/conditions characterized by low oxygen (hypoxia) such as respiratory diseases, and multiple organ failure, among conditions taught (15: 3rd paragraph).
The structure of TSC (1) is depicted on p. 21, 1st compound, and on p. 24:
.
Regarding Applicant elected IV administration, Gainer teaches IV administration is advantageous (16: 1st paragraph).
Thus, Gainer teaches a method of treatment of hypoxemia; treating respiratory diseases, including multiple organ failure, by administering Applicant elected TSC, of claim 12 (a bipolar trans carotenoid salt). Gainer does not teach the respiratory disease is Applicant elected COVID-19, which was not known in 2005.
Wang, published online 3/9/2020, teaches comorbidities and multi-organ injuries in the treatment of COVID-19, that potential multi-organ injuries is one cause of death in COIVID-19, and should result in paying attention to potential multi-organ injuries and protection and prevention thereof in treatment of COVID-19.
The skilled artisan, with knowledge of the benefit of TSC in treating hypoxemia, and respiratory diseases, and specifically multiple organ failure, would have found it obvious to administer TSC via IV to a human with COVID-19, reasonably expected to provide added oxygen benefit in a patient with multiple organ failure, rendering the elected embodiment of the claimed method as prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
TIMOTHY P. THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1614
/TIMOTHY P THOMAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614