DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-33 are pending.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112b are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
The previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 stand.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 3 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 19, 23, 25, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Verbunt (US 2004/0152303) and alternatively, claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 19, 23, 25 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303)
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 25 Verbunt discloses an electrolytic copper bath composition and method (title) (= a method of electroplating a metal into features of a substrate), the method comprising:
An aqueous plating solution (abstract, [0044]) with a pH between 10 and 14 [0028] (= an aqueous solution of pH greater than 7),
Copper in the amount of 2 to 20 g/L ([0025], [0044] (= about 0.1 to 60 g/L copper salt dissolved in the aqueous solution),
EDTA [0029] (= a copper (II) complexing ligand),
Thiourea [0013], [0016], [0032] (= an accelerator comprising a thiocyanate salt or a thiourea), and
Hydroxypyridine [0013], [0016], [0031] (= a suppressor that is complementary to the accelerator comprising the thiocyanate salt or the thiourea, wherein the suppressor is selected from a group consisting of polyallylamine, polyacrylamide, a pyridine, an imidazole, or any combination thereof);
Performing a plating operation [0033] to fill openings including vias and trenches [0004], [0035] (= and electroplating copper metal from the electroplating solution into features of the substrate).
All the ranges of Verbunt fall within the claimed ranges. The claimed “a suppressor that is complementary to the accelerator” does not further limit the claimed method or composition. Verbunt discloses the claimed chemical compounds therefore reads on the claimed phrase. Regarding the phrase “wherein the accelerator and suppressor are configured to modify the local polarization in the feature to superconformally electroplate into the feature” while Verbunt does not specifically address the claim limitation “superconformal fill”, this is considered to be an intrinsic property resulting from following the method steps taught by the reference(s), which meet the instantly claimed method steps (as applied to claim 1), absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. As a reasonable anticipation rejection has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise. Alternatively, the superconformal fill would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to fill trenches of integrated circuits as described by Verbunt [0011]. Moreover, the claimed superconformal fill does not set forth specific parameters, dimensions, plating rate, etc. Since Verbunt comprises the same electrolyte as claimed, the electrolyte of Verbunt would necessarily modify the local polarization. There is nothing claimed in the electrolyte that varies from the electrolyte of Verbunt. The instant claim does not include any electroplating parameters such as current density, etc. The phrasing does not further limit the electrolyte composition of claim 25.
Regarding claim 5, Verbunt discloses flowing the plating solution through the electroplating tank (11) (Figure 1) from the opening [0036].
Regarding claim 8, Verbunt discloses alkaline cleaning and borane solution for 1 minute prior to plating [0045].
Regarding claim 10, Verbunt discloses electroless plating bath (= pre-treatment) having a composition with constituent chemicals that are also present in the electroplating solution [0045].
Regarding claim 19, Verbunt discloses initially placing the substrate in the plating solution without current [0045].
Regarding claim 23, Verbunt discloses that the applied current can be pulsed [0036]-[0037].
Regarding claim 27, Verbunt discloses preventing the precipitation using a complexing agent and therefore discloses the ligand present in the solution at a concentration sufficient to prevent copper hydroxide precipitation.
Regarding claim 28, Verbunt discloses the inclusion of hydroxide ions [0012]-[0013] and a pH within the claimed range [0028]-[0029].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303).
Regarding claim 12, Verbunt discloses features including 250 nm [0045] and submicron openings 0.5 micron or lower [0004].
Regarding claims 13-14, Verbunt discloses a 25 nm tantalum barrier [0045]. Although the thickness of the tantalum barrier is outside the claimed thickness, they are close enough that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the same or similar predictable result. Verbunt discloses tantalum nitride [0006].
Regarding claim 20, Verbunt discloses using a current density between 0.01 and about 5 A/dm2 [0033]. The range of Verbunt overlaps the claimed range therefore a prima face case of obviousness exists.
Claim(s) 2, 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303) in view of Shi (CN 107604393).
Regarding claims 2 and 26, Verbunt discloses the inclusion of thiourea. Verbunt fails to disclose the method and composition comprising thiocyanate.
In the same or similar field of alkaline copper electroplating, Shi discloses a method of electroplating copper comprising copper sulfate (15-17 g) [0012], tartrate [0011], pH 9.5-10.5 [0021] and a brightener (i.e. accelerator) including any one of polyethyleneimine, thiocyanate, thiourea, etc. [0014]. Shi discloses that the brightener is an electroplating additive and its main function is to adsorb on the surface of the electrode to form an extremely thin adsorption layer, which increases the number of metal nuclei [0060]-[0061].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute one known accelerator for another to produce the same or similar predictable result. The subject matter of Verbunt and Shi overlap in several aspects including the composition of the copper electrolyte.
Regarding claim 29, Shi discloses the copper electroplating solution comprising a leveler [0011], [0088]. A plating leveler provides leveling uniformity to the electroplating method within features according to Shi [0064].
Claim(s) 4 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303) in view of Josell et al. (“Superconformal Copper Electrodeposition in Complexed Alkaline Electrolyte”, JES, 161, D287, 2014).
Regarding claim 4, Verbunt fails to disclose rotating the substrate.
Josell discloses superconformal copper electrodeposition into trenches of wafers (title, page D288, left column, 2nd paragraph), contacting wafers with an electrolyte (title) comprising an aqueous electrolyte of pH between 12.4 to 12.5 (page D287, Experimental; water based mixtures added together, Experimental), 0.1 mol/L copper surface (appx. 17.7 g/L) (= about 0.1 to 60 g/L copper salt dissolved in the aqueous solution, CuSO4·H2O (~177g/mol) ), tartrate (= a copper (II) complexing ligand), polyethyleneimine (PEI) (= an accelerator), and SPS (= a suppressor that is complementary to the accelerator) (Experimental, page D287-D288, Figure 3); and feature filling copper into trenches of wafers (Figure 6-8). Josell discloses rotating around a vertical axis (D288, left column, last paragraph). Josell discloses the current density varying based on rotation rate (Figure 1b).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising rotating a substrate because Josell discloses that the rotation rate controls and/or effects the current density.
Regarding claim 24, Josell discloses controlling the voltage of the substrate (D289, Figure 3).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303) in view of Ponnuswamy et al. (US 7,964,506).
Regarding claim 6, Verbunt fails to disclose an annealing step as claimed.
In the same or similar field of endeavor, Ponnuswamy discloses a pretreatment step of annealing from 100-400 ℃ for about 1 to 5 minutes in a nitrogen or argon atmosphere. Ponnuswamy discloses annealing to reduce oxides or contaminants on the surface prior to electroplating (Col. 13 lines 6-20).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising annealing because Ponnuswamy discloses annealing to reduce oxides or contaminants on the surface prior to electroplating (Col. 13 lines 6-20).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303) in view of Doubina et al. (US 2015/0299886).
Regarding claim 7, Verbunt fails to disclose the claimed remote plasma.
In the same or similar field of endeavor, Doubina discloses a pretreament step of treating the substrate with a remote plasma at elevated temperatures (e.g. 250 ℃) abstract, [0176]. Doubina teaches that the pretreatment provides a seed layer with higher conductivity. Doubina discloses that the duration of pretreatment can be adjusted by increasing plasma power with a duration in the seconds to minutes range for reducing the oxide on the surface [0088].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising annealing in the presence of a remote plasma because Doubina discloses pretreatment with a remote plasma power for reducing the oxide on the surface [0088].
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303) in view of Mayer et al. (US 8,962,085).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Josell in view of Shi fails to disclose the claimed pretreatment.
In the same or similar field of endeavor, Mayer discloses contacting the substrate with a pre-wetting fluid to form a layer of pre-wetting fluid on the wafer substrate which includes water and copper ions and is substantially free of additives (Col. 3 lines 9-11, Col. 34 lines 37-54). Mayer teaches additionally polarizing the pre-wetted wafer (claim 24) (as applied to claim 9). Mayer discloses sufficient time of pre-wetting process including for example 5 seconds to 1 minute (Col. 23 lines 14-31). Mayer discloses that the pre-wetting prevents corrosion of a seed layer on the wafer and also to improve the filling rate of the features (abstract). Mayer optionally discloses the pre-wetting solution being the same or slightly different than the electroplating solution, thus the slight modification of the pre-wetting solution to obtain the electroplating solution would have been an obvious engineering design choice (Col. 8 line 44 – Col. 9 line 4; as applied to claim 11).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising a pretreatment step in a bath because Mayer discloses that the pre-wetting prevents corrosion of a seed layer on the wafer and also to improve the filling rate of the features (abstract).
Claim(s) 15-16, 21 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303) in view of Josell et al. (US 2015/0345039).
Regarding claims 15-16, Verbunt discloses initially forming a Cu seed layer [0001], [0045]. Verbunt is silent in regards to the thickness of the seed layer.
In the same or similar field of copper electroplating, Josell (‘039) discloses a method of electroplating a metal (e.g. copper, [0022]-[0023]) into features (e.g. vias, [0068]) of a substrate (abstract), the method comprising contacting a substrate with an electroplating solution comprising (abstract), an aqueous solution of pH greater than 7 (i.e. alkaline, abstract, [0035]), about 0.1 to 60 g/L copper salt dissolved in aqueous solution (1 to 100 mmol/L) [0054], a copper (II) complexing ligand (e.g. EDTA, [0028], [0032]), thiourea [0038]-[0039] or thiocyanate [0045] and saccharin [0046] and electroplating copper metal from the electroplating solution into features of the substrate (abstract). Josell discloses a cobalt seed layer (as applied to claim 16) comprising 1 to 200 nm which overlaps the claimed range therefore a prima facie case of obviousness exists [0057].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising a conductive liner that is about 1 to 5 nm thick because in the same field of endeavor, Josell (‘039) discloses a workable thickness range including 1 to 200 nm.
Regarding claims 21, Josell (‘039) discloses pulsed or periodic current waveform which vary from 0 to the set current density [0067].
Regarding claims 30-31, Josell (‘039) discloses the solution comprising iodide, chloride, ([0037], claim 12), imidazole [0043], etc. Since Josell (‘039) discloses the claimed copper complexing ligand, Josell necessarily discloses the copper complexing ligand stabilizes copper (I) thereby causing Cu(II) reduction to occur more readily during electroplating.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303) in view of Reid et al. (US 2010/0032310).
Regarding claims 17-18, Verbunt fails to disclose the claimed copper pseudoreference electrode and holding at an electrical potential as claimed.
In the same or similar field of endeavor, Reid discloses a process of potentiostatic entry wherein the potential between the substrate and a reference electrode (e.g. copper) carrying no current, is maintained at a fixed value and the current increases approximately linearly with increasing wetted area of the substrate [0013]. Reid teaches that the process allows for diverting the current from near-edge regions of the substrate [0015] and avoiding substrate burning [0026]. Reid discloses a potential between 0.35 to about 1.4 V [0104] for a duration in the milliseconds (e.g. 75-300 ms) [0105]. Reid discloses a copper reference electrode [0134]. Reid discloses the current initially zero and then gradually increasing [0012] (Figure 12).
Before the effect filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising holding an electrical potential as claimed because Reid teaches that the potential controlled process allows for diverting the current from near-edge regions of the substrate [0015] and avoiding substrate burning [0026].
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303), in view of Josell et al. (US 2015/0345039) and in further view of Gonzalez (WO 2011/018478, Cited as Alchimer et al. in the IDS dated 22 December 2022).
Regarding claim 22, Verbunt in view of Josell (‘039) disclose the claimed invention as applied to claim 21. Josell (‘039) discloses pulsed or periodic current waveform which vary from 0 to the set current density [0067] as described above. The combination fails to disclose the claimed period.
In the same or similar field of endeavor, Gonzalez discloses pulsed current in seconds and milliseconds (page 21 lines 16-20). Control of the current necessarily includes control of the voltage according to Ohm’s law (V = iR). Gonzalez discloses 0.6 mA/cm2 – 10 mA/cm2 (page 21, line 19).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising applying a current density for a period of about 0.1 to about 10 seconds because Gonzalez discloses pulsed current in the seconds and milliseconds range. As described above, Josell (‘039) discloses a pulsed or periodic waveform [0067].
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303) in view of Brogan et al. (US 2018/0119305).
Regarding claim 32, Verbunt fails to disclose the claimed sacrificial oxidant.
In the same or similar field of endeavor, Brogan discloses that a copper electroplating solution [0028] may comprise a sacrificial oxidant which when present is used to develop a differential current efficiency within a feature compared to the field region (abstract), [0005].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising a sacrificial oxidant because Brogan discloses that a copper electroplating solution [0028] may comprise a sacrificial oxidant which when present is used to develop a differential current efficiency within a feature compared to the field region to improve the filling (abstract), [0005].
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbunt (US 2004/0152303) in view of Webb et al. (US 2010/0276292).
Regarding claim 33, Verbunt discloses the electrolyte comprising hydroxypyridine [0031]. Verbunt does not disclose the electrolyte comprising polyallylamine or polyacrylamide.
In the same or similar field of electroplating copper into features for producing circuits or other electronic devices, Webb discloses an electrolyte comprising polyacrylamide, polymer pyridine derivatives and other nitrogen containing organic compounds [0002], [0018].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute one known organic nitrogen containing compound with another to produce the same or similar predictable result. Further, Webb recognizes that polyacrylamide and polymer pyridine derivatives are art recognized equivalents.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 9 the argument states that Verbunt discloses electroless plating and not electrolytic plating. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this analysis. Verbunt unambiguously discloses electrolytic plating (title, abstract). Verbunt uses the electrolyte to perform both electroless plating and electrolytic plating. The use of the electrolyte also for electroless plating does not negate the use of the electrolyte for electrolytic plating.
On page 9 the argument states that Verbunt refers to thiourea as a catalyst and therefore does not disclose the claimed invention. In response, the description of a chemical compound does not change the chemical composition.
On page 9 the argument states that electroless plating is a purely chemical process without applying external current or potential. It is noted that the instant claims do not recite applying any current or potential. Moreover, Verbunt explicitly discloses electrolytic plating.
On page 9 the argument states that Verbunt teaches away from including a catalyst in a conventional electroplating solution. The statement is unclear in regards to the instant claims and the teachings of Verbunt. The chemical composition of Verbunt is the same as claimed and therefore is not teaching away.
On page 10 the argument states that Verbunt refers to the thiourea as a catalyst and therefore would not be motivated to substitute with a different chemical. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this analysis. The description or designation of a chemical does not alter the chemical composition. Shi identifies thiocyanate and thiourea as known chemical equivalents in the same field of endeavor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795