Response After Non-Final
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 4/10/2026.
Claims 1-5 and 11-38 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-5 and 11-38 are rejected.
Claims 1-5 and 11-38 are is currently amended.
Claims 6-10 are canceled.
Claims 33-38 are new.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed April 10, 2026 have been fully considered
and are respectfully found persuasive in part and unpersuasive in part.
The applicant argues the following:
[1] Drawing, title and claim objections and 112 rejection have been addressed and should be withdrawn.
[2] Prior art of record fails to teach “a direct mechanical connection between a cross-sectional annular face of each dielectric microfiber and an electromechanical contact” in Claim 1.
[3] Prior art of record fails to teach the newly admitted claim limitations.
Regarding [1], the examiner respectfully agrees and the drawing, title, and claim objections and the 112 rejection raised in the most recent office action are hereby withdrawn.
Regarding [2], the examiner respectfully disagrees because Alvarez discloses a direct mechanical connection (Figs. 2-5, direct mechanical connection between cross-sectional annular face of each EPFT 420 core 422 in a BEPFT 400 and 402; [Column 30, lines 6-17] – “…suitable cross sections of the fiber bundle…”; [Column 35, lines 12-28] – “…contact 404 serves as an electrical and mechanical connection. The specific geometry of cap 402 may be such that there is an inner compartment 414 through which electrical contact 404 transfers electrical charge to inner electrodes 422. Such compartment is necessary and serves as a manifold for the embodiment in which contact 404 is permeable. In yet another embodiment in which contact 404 completely seals the inner electrode fluid 422, compartment 414 may serve as an equalizing cavity to ensure that the individual inner cores 422 of each EPFT form one single volume. In this way, compartment 414 serves as an equalizing chamber by which the pressure of the entire fluid volume 414 and 422 is maintained. In yet another embodiment where compartment 414 is non-existent, individual EPFTs can be in electrical contact with each other, through electrical connection 404, but each will have its own independent fluid core 422.”; [Column 36, lines 14-19] – “For simplicity FIG. 4C illustrates a single capped EPFT, but the same principal applies for a BEPFT. In this embodiment the coupling mechanism 404, which can be used for electrical and mechanical connections does not have an access port to the EPFT conductive core 422. Instead connection 404 is in direct contact with 422.”; [Column 36, lines 25-29] – “FIG. 4E is another extension of FIG. 4C. In this embodiment, the coupling mechanism 404 achieves a better electrical connection with the EPFT conductive core by using a pointed surface geometry to penetrate into the core 422 of the EPFT 420, thus exposing a larger surface area.”) between (Fig. 4) a cross-section annular face (Figs. 2-5, cross-sectional annular face of each EPFT 420 core 422 in a BEPFT; [Column 30, lines 6-17]) of each dielectric elastomeric microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420 in a BEPFT 400) and an electromechanical contact (Figs. 2-5, 402). Mechanical connections require physical contact, and here, the prior art of record clearly discloses physical contact between each cross-section annular face of each dielectric elastomeric microfiber and an electromechanical contact (Alvarez, [Column 35, lines 12-28] – “…contact 404 serves as an electrical and mechanical connection. The specific geometry of cap 402 may be such that there is an inner compartment 414 through which electrical contact 404 transfers electrical charge to inner electrodes 422.”). Each EPFT is a part of the BEPFT. As the applicant’s representative notes, “Alvarez expressly describes in col. 34. Lines 7-8 that, "in particular, the electroactive polymer sheath of each individual EPFT 420 is coupled mechanically to the main body 408 of cap 402." The sheath is the outer part of each cross-section annular face of each dielectric elastomeric microfiber, and so, the cross-section annular face of each dielectric elastomeric microfiber is in direct mechanical contact with an electromechanical contact (Alvarez, Figs. 2-5, 402).
Regarding [3], the examiner respectfully agrees and has applied new art accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated
by Alvarez Icaza Rivera et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,834,527; hereinafter “Alvarez”).
Regarding claim 1, Alvarez discloses an electromechanically connected bundle of dielectric elastomeric microfibers, comprising: a. a direct mechanical connection (Figs. 2-5, direct mechanical connection between cross-sectional annular face of each EPFT 420 core 422 in a BEPFT 400 and 402; [Column 30, lines 6-17] – “…suitable cross sections of the fiber bundle…”; [Column 35, lines 12-28] – “…contact 404 serves as an electrical and mechanical connection. The specific geometry of cap 402 may be such that there is an inner compartment 414 through which electrical contact 404 transfers electrical charge to inner electrodes 422. Such compartment is necessary and serves as a manifold for the embodiment in which contact 404 is permeable. In yet another embodiment in which contact 404 completely seals the inner electrode fluid 422, compartment 414 may serve as an equalizing cavity to ensure that the individual inner cores 422 of each EPFT form one single volume. In this way, compartment 414 serves as an equalizing chamber by which the pressure of the entire fluid volume 414 and 422 is maintained. In yet another embodiment where compartment 414 is non-existent, individual EPFTs can be in electrical contact with each other, through electrical connection 404, but each will have its own independent fluid core 422.”; [Column 36, lines 14-19] – “For simplicity FIG. 4C illustrates a single capped EPFT, but the same principal applies for a BEPFT. In this embodiment the coupling mechanism 404, which can be used for electrical and mechanical connections does not have an access port to the EPFT conductive core 422. Instead connection 404 is in direct contact with 422.”; [Column 36, lines 25-29] – “FIG. 4E is another extension of FIG. 4C. In this embodiment, the coupling mechanism 404 achieves a better electrical connection with the EPFT conductive core by using a pointed surface geometry to penetrate into the core 422 of the EPFT 420, thus exposing a larger surface area.”) between (Fig. 4) a cross-section annular face (Figs. 2-5, cross-sectional annular face of each EPFT 420 core 422 in a BEPFT; [Column 30, lines 6-17]) of each dielectric elastomeric microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420 in a BEPFT 400) and an electromechanical contact (Figs. 2-5, 402); and b. a direct electrical connection (Figs. 2-5, direct electrical connection between cross-sectional annular face of each EPFT 420 core 422 in a BEPFT 400 and contact 404; [Column 35, lines 12-28]; [Column 36, lines 14-19]; [Column 36, lines 25-29]) between a core (Figs. 2-5, 422 of each EPFT 420 in the BEPFT 400) of each dielectric elastomeric microfiber (Figs. 2-5, BEPFT 400) and the electromechanical contact (Figs. 2-5, 402).
Regarding claim 2, Alvarez discloses the electromechanically connected bundle of dielectric elastomeric microfibers of claim 1, wherein each of the direct mechanical connection (Figs. 2-5, direct mechanical connection between cross-sectional annular face of each EPFT 420 core 422 in a BEPFT 400 and 402; [Column 35, lines 12-28] ; [Column 36, lines 14-19]; [Column 36, lines 25-29]) and direct electrical connection (Figs. 2-5, direct electrical connection between cross-sectional annular face of each EPFT 420 core 422 in a BEPFT 400 and contact 404; [Column 35, lines 12-28]; [Column 36, lines 14-19]; [Column 36, lines 25-29]) are both achieved using an electrically conductive adhesive or an electrically conductive bonding material (Figs. 2-5, adhesive/bonding fluid connecting 404 to 420; [Column 20, lines 8-12] – “In many cases, materials used in accordance with the present invention are commercially available polymers. Such polymers may include, for example, any commercially available silicone elastomer, polyurethane, PVDF copolymer and adhesive elastomer.”; [Column 20, lines 29-36] – “Electroactive polymers of the present invention may also include one or more additives to improve their various physical and chemical properties. Examples of suitable classes of materials include plasticizers, antioxidants, and high dielectric constant particulates. Examples of properties that can be controlled/modified by additives include adhesion and the ability of the electroactive polymer to convert between mechanical energy and electrical energy.”; [Column 34, lines 30-43] – “Main body 408 of cap 402 is also coupled mechanically to electrical contacts 406 and 412. This coupling may again be achieved by adhesion, welding, chemical or thermal bond during a curing process or simply mechanical pressure. Main body 408 of cap 402 is also coupled mechanically directly (not shown) or through electrical contact 412 (as shown) to enclosing sheath 418. Once more, this coupling may be achieved by adhesion, welding, chemical or thermal bond during a curing process or simply mechanical pressure. The main body 408 is essentially the glue that holds all other components of the cap 402 together and binds them mechanically while maintaining suitable electrical insulation between the inner electrodes of EPFTs 420 and their outer compliant electrodes.”; [Column 34, lines 50-53] – “Electrical contact 404 provides an electrical current path to access the internal core electrodes 422 of all EPFTs 420 and thus means of electrically connecting these to an external electrical circuit.”; [Column 34, line 59-Column 35, 28] – “…electrical contact 404 may have access port 406 as shown in FIG. 4A to allow for access and fluid transfer to internal core electrodes 422. The purpose of the port may be to transfer fluid during fabrication or operation, as means of heat exchange or to change the chemical environment of the EPFTs. In such an embodiment, overall incompressibility can be achieved by external means, which could in one embodiment be external valves or plugs. Such a valve may be open to allow fluid transfer and then closed again. In other words, even though the inner electrodes 422 may be comprised of a flowing fluid, the overall amount of fluid and thus the volume may be maintained constant by external means the ensure that the amount of fluid delivered on one end is equal to the amount of fluid removed at the other end. In yet another embodiment, electrical contact 404 is non permeable and serves to completely seal in the enclosed inner electrodes 422. Electrical contact 404 may have a dual functionality, as it may also be, in one embodiment, the point of mechanical attachment to the desired feature or load to be transduced. In this way, contact 404 serves as an electrical and mechanical connection.”).
Regarding claim 3, Alvarez discloses the electromechanically connected bundle of dielectric elastomeric microfibers of claim 2, wherein each dielectric elastomeric microfiber (Figs. 2-5, each EPFT 420 in the BEPFT 400) further comprises a cylindrical wall (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420 cylindrical wall) and a fluidic electrode (Figs. 2-5, fluidic electrode in EPFT 420’s core 422) disposed within (Figs. 2-5) the core (Figs. 2-5, 422 of each EPFT 420 in the BEPFT 400), wherein the electrically conductive adhesive or the electrically conductive bonding material (Figs. 2-5, fluid adhering/bonding 404 to 420; [Column 20, lines 8-12]; [Column 20, lines 29-36]; [Column 34, lines 30-43]; [Column 34, lines 50-53]; [Column 34, line 59-Column 35, 28]) physically bonds (Figs. 2-5; [Column 20, lines 8-12]; [Column 20, lines 29-36]; [Column 34, lines 30-43]; [Column 34, lines 50-53]; [Column 34, line 59-Column 35, 28]) the electromechanical contact (Figs. 2-5, 402) to the cylindrical wall (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420 cylindrical wall) while being in electrical communication (Figs. 2-5) with the fluidic electrode (Figs. 2-5, fluidic electrode in EPFT 420’s core 422) within the core (Figs. 2-5, 422 of each EPFT 420 in the BEPFT 400) of each dielectric elastomeric microfiber (Figs. 2-5, each EPFT 420 in the BEPFT 400).
Regarding claim 4, Alvarez discloses the electromechanically connected bundle of dielectric elastomeric microfibers of claim 3, wherein the electrically conductive adhesive or the electrically conductive bonding material (Figs. 2-5, fluid adhering/bonding 404 to 420; [Column 20, lines 8-12]; [Column 20, lines 29-36]; [Column 34, lines 30-43]; [Column 34, lines 50-53]; [Column 34, line 59-Column 35, 28]) physically bonds (Figs. 2-5; [Column 20, lines 8-12]; [Column 20, lines 29-36]; [Column 34, lines 30-43]; [Column 34, lines 50-53]; [Column 34, line 59-Column 35, 28]) comprises one or more of an epoxy resin (Figs. 2-5; [Column 20, lines 48-49] – “…, certain synthetic resins may be added for this purpose.”), cyanoacrylate (Figs. 2-5; [Column 21, lines 7-12] – “Specific materials included to reduce the elastic modulus of an acrylic polymer of the present invention include any acrylic acids, acrylic adhesives, acrylics including flexible side groups such as isooctyl groups and 2-ethylhexyl groups, or any copolymer of acrylic acid and isooctyl acrylate.”) or silicone (Figs. 2-5; [Column 20, lines 8-12] – “In many cases, materials used in accordance with the present invention are commercially available polymers. Such polymers may include, for example, any commercially available silicone elastomer, polyurethane, PVDF copolymer and adhesive elastomer.”; [Column 21, lines 12-24] – “…, plasticizers are often added to polymers. In the context of this invention, the addition of a plasticizer may, for example, improve the functioning of a transducer of this invention by reducing the elastic modulus of the electroactive polymer and/or increasing the dielectric breakdown strength of the electroactive polymer. Examples of suitable plasticizers include high molecular-weight hydrocarbon oils, high molecular-weight hydrocarbon greases, Pentalyne H, Piccovar.RTM. AP Hydrocarbon Resins, Admex 760, Plastolein 9720, silicone oils, silicone greases, Floral 105, silicone elastomers, nonionic surfactants, and the like. Of course, combinations of these materials may be used.”).
Regarding claim 5, Alvarez discloses the electromechanically connected bundle of dielectric elastomeric microfibers of claim 3, wherein each dielectric elastomeric microfiber (Figs. 2-5, each EPFT 420 in the BEPFT 400) comprises a silicone (Figs. 2-5, each EPFT 420 in the BEPFT 400; [Column 20, lines 8-12]; [Column 21, lines 12-24]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Alvarez in view of Iwaguchi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20230112900; hereinafter “Iwaguchi”).
Regarding claim 11, Alvarez teaches a DE microfiber, comprising: a hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422) characterized as having an outer diameter (Figs. 2-5, outer diameter of tube to be filled with 422) and an inner diameter (Figs. 2-5, inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422), an inner fluidic or compliant electrode (Figs. 2-5, 422) deposed within the interior (Figs. 2-5, interior of tube to be filled with 422) of the hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422), and an outer fluidic or compliant electrode (Figs. 2-5, 416) deposed exterior (Fig. 4B) to the hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422), wherein the ratio alpha (Figs. 2-5, ratio of outer to inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422) of the outer diameter (Figs. 2-5, outer diameter of tube to be filled with 422) to the inner diameter (Figs. 2-5, inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422) of the hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422). Alvarez does not teach the ratio alpha is between 1.1 and 6.
Iwaguchi, however, does teach the ratio alpha is between 1.1 and 6 (Fig. 1,
outer/D2; [0029] – outer diameter= 140-220 microns and D2 = 100 to 125 microns where outer/D2 = 1.12-2.2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Alvarez to include the ratio alpha of Iwaguchi because it would achieve peeling resistance and single-fiber separability thereby improving suppression of an increase in transmission loss (Iwaguchi [0014]).
Regarding claim 12, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11, where the ratio alpha (Figs. 2-5, ratio of outer to inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422) is selected to maximize mechanical energy output (Figs. 2-5; [Column 12, lines 26-41]; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 24, lines 57-65]; [Column 44, lines 15-32]).
Regarding claim 13, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11, where the ratio alpha (Figs. 2-5, ratio of outer to inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422) is selected to maximize effective work density (Figs. 2-5; [Column 12, lines 26-41]; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 24, lines 57-65]; [Column 44, lines 15-32]).
Regarding claim 14, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11, where the ratio alpha (Figs. 2-5, ratio of outer to inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422) is selected to maximize effective specific energy (Figs. 2-5; [Column 12, lines 26-41]; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 24, lines 57-65]; [Column 44, lines 15-32]).
Regarding claim 15, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11, where the ratio alpha (Figs. 2-5, ratio of outer to inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422) is selected to maximize mechanical power density (Figs. 2-5; [Column 12, lines 26-41]; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 24, lines 57-65]; [Column 44, lines 15-32]).
Regarding claim 16, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11, where the ratio alpha (Figs. 2-5, ratio of outer to inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422) is selected to maximize mechanical specific power (Figs. 2-5; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 24, lines 57-65]; [Column 44, lines 15-32]).
Regarding claim 17, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the ratio alpha (Figs. 2-5, ratio of outer to inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422) is selected to maximize effective strain (Figs. 2-5; [Column 12, lines 26-41]; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 24, lines 57-65]; [Column 44, lines 15-32]).
Regarding claim 18, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11, where the ratio alpha (Figs. 2-5, ratio of outer to inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422) is selected to maximize effective stress (Figs. 2-5; [Column 12, lines 26-41]; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 24, lines 57-65]; [Column 44, lines 15-32]).
Regarding claim 19, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11, wherein the DE microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420) is characterized as having an electrical time constant (Figs. 2-5, electrical time-constant of EPFT 420) to charge (Figs. 2-5, electrical time-constant to charge EPFT 420) the DE microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420), where the electrical time-constant (Figs. 2-5, electrical time-constant of 420) is lower than 1000 milliseconds (ms).
Regarding claim 20, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the outer diameter (OD) (Figs. 2-5, outer diameter of tube to be filled with 422) is reduced (Figs. 2-5; [Column 12, lines 26-41] – “Where C is the theoretical capacitance of the transducer 152 measured between electrodes 138 and 120 as a function of L, the active length 150 of the transducer. E is the dielectric constant of the electroactive polymer material 116 times the permittivity of free space, b is the outer radius of polymer 116 and a is the internal radius of polymer 116, the ratio of which (b/a) remains constant independent of length L based on the incompressibility assumption. It is of great interest to note that in this modality, the baseline capacitance as well as the gain of capacitance versus the length of the transducer 152 is determined by the ratio b/a such that a transducer 152 may be customized to a desired behavior by setting such ratio during fabrication. One skilled in the art can generalize the above relation in terms of linear strain. In short, the capacitance of transducer 152 behaves linearly in relation to the length of transducer 152.”) to implement a failure rate (Figs. 2-5, failure rate of BEPFT 400; [Column 16, lines 33-35]) of less than 1 in 1000 DE microfibers (Figs. 2-5, failure rate; [Column 16, lines 33-35] – “There may be situations where one or a plurality of EPFTs in a BEPFT undergo electrical breakdown and allow charge provided by the coupling mechanism 404 to flow directly to the outer compliant electrode 416 in a short circuit.”) within a bundle (Figs. 2-5, BEPFT 400 420) at a target operating voltage (Figs. 2-5, BEPFT 400 target operating voltage).
Regarding claim 21, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11, wherein the DE microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420) is characterized as having an electrical time constant (Figs. 2-5, electrical time-constant of EPFT 420) to charge (Figs. 2-5, electrical time-constant to charge EPFT 420) the DE microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420), where a resistivity of the inner fluidic or compliant electrode (Figs. 2-5, 422) is selected (Figs. 2-5; [Column 61, lines 8-20]) so that the electrical time constant is below about 200 milliseconds (ms) (Figs. 2-5; [Column 61, lines 8-20]).
Regarding claim 22, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11, wherein the DE microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420) is characterized as having an electrical time constant (Figs. 2-5, electrical time-constant of EPFT 420) to charge (Figs. 2-5, electrical time-constant to charge EPFT 420) the DE microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420), where the outer diameter (OD) (Figs. 2-5, scale of outer diameter of tube to be filled with 422), ratio alpha (Figs. 2-5, ratio of outer to inner diameter of tube to be filled with 422) and resistivity (Figs. 2-5, resistivity of 422; [Column 16, lines 33-35] – “a suitable electroactive polymer may include one of a high-volume resistivity and low mechanical damping for maximizing energy efficiency for an application.”) of the inner fluidic or compliant electrode Figs. 2-5, resistivity of 422) are selected (Figs. 2-5; [Column 12, lines 26-41]; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 24, lines 57-65]; [Column 44, lines 15-32]) so that the electrical time constant (Figs. 2-5, electrical time-constant of 420) matches a mechanical time constant (Figs. 2-5, mechanical time-constant of external device connected to 420) of a target system (Figs. 2-5, device external to and connected to 420 with a mechanical time constant that matches 420’s electrical time-constant).
Regarding claim 23, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422) comprises a silicone elastomeric material (Figs. 2-5; [Column 20, lines 8-12] – “In many cases, materials used in accordance with the present invention are commercially available polymers. Such polymers may include, for example, any commercially available silicone elastomer, polyurethane, PVDF copolymer and adhesive elastomer.”; [Column 21, lines 12-24] – “…, plasticizers are often added to polymers. In the context of this invention, the addition of a plasticizer may, for example, improve the functioning of a transducer of this invention by reducing the elastic modulus of the electroactive polymer and/or increasing the dielectric breakdown strength of the electroactive polymer. Examples of suitable plasticizers include high molecular-weight hydrocarbon oils, high molecular-weight hydrocarbon greases, Pentalyne H, Piccovar.RTM. AP Hydrocarbon Resins, Admex 760, Plastolein 9720, silicone oils, silicone greases, Floral 105, silicone elastomers, nonionic surfactants, and the like. Of course, combinations of these materials may be used.”).
Regarding claim 24, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422) comprises a thermoset elastomeric material (Figs. 2-5; [Column 20, lines 8-12] – “In many cases, materials used in accordance with the present invention are commercially available polymers. Such polymers may include, for example, any commercially available silicone elastomer, polyurethane, PVDF copolymer and adhesive elastomer.”; [Column 21, lines 12-24] – “…, plasticizers are often added to polymers. In the context of this invention, the addition of a plasticizer may, for example, improve the functioning of a transducer of this invention by reducing the elastic modulus of the electroactive polymer and/or increasing the dielectric breakdown strength of the electroactive polymer. Examples of suitable plasticizers include high molecular-weight hydrocarbon oils, high molecular-weight hydrocarbon greases, Pentalyne H, Piccovar.RTM. AP Hydrocarbon Resins, Admex 760, Plastolein 9720, silicone oils, silicone greases, Floral 105, silicone elastomers, nonionic surfactants, and the like. Of course, combinations of these materials may be used.”).
Regarding claim 25, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422) comprises a thermoplastic elastomeric material (Figs. 2-5; [Column 19, lines 9-16] – “Exemplary classes of polymer suitable for use with transducers of this invention include silicone elastomers, acrylic elastomers, polyurethanes, thermoplastic elastomers, copolymers comprising PVDF, pressure-sensitive ADHEsives, fluoroelastomers, polymers comprising silicone and acrylic moieties, and the like. Combinations of some of these materials may be used as the electroactive polymer matrix in transducers of this invention.”).
Regarding claim 26, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422) comprises a urethane elastomeric material (Figs. 2-5; [Column 17, lines 29-31] – “In one example, a high dielectric polyurethane may be made from partially fluorinated urethane monomers.”).
Regarding claim 27, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422) comprises a polyester elastomeric material (Figs. 2-5; [Column 19, lines 9-16] – “Exemplary classes of polymer suitable for use with transducers of this invention include silicone elastomers, acrylic elastomers, polyurethanes, thermoplastic elastomers, copolymers comprising PVDF, pressure-sensitive ADHEsives, fluoroelastomers, polymers comprising silicone and acrylic moieties, and the like. Combinations of some of these materials may be used as the electroactive polymer matrix in transducers of this invention.”).
Regarding claim 28, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422) comprises an acrylic elastomeric material (Figs. 2-5; [Column 15, lines 43-50] – “Other exemplary materials suitable for use as a electroactive polymer include, any dielectric elastomeric polymer, silicone rubbers, fluoroelastomers, silicones such as Dow Corning HS3 as provided by Dow Corning of Wilmington, Del., fluorosilicones such as Dow Corning 730 as provided by Dow Corning of Wilmington, Del., and the like, and acrylic polymers such as any acrylic in the 4900 VHB acrylic series as provided by 3M Corp.”; [Column 21, lines 7-12] – “Specific materials included to reduce the elastic modulus of an acrylic polymer of the present invention include any acrylic acids, acrylic adhesives, acrylics including flexible side groups such as isooctyl groups and 2-ethylhexyl groups, or any copolymer of acrylic acid and isooctyl acrylate.”).
Regarding claim 29, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the hollow fiber body (Figs. 2-5, tube to be filled with 422) comprises an elastomeric material (Figs. 2-5, material of tube to be filled with 422) characterized as having a Young's Modulus in a range of between 100 kPa and 5000 kPa (Figs. 2-5; [Column 15, lines 63-67] – “Suitable electroactive polymers can have an elastic modulus below 100 MPa. Suitable electroactive polymers can also be selected having a maximum actuation pressure between about 0.05 MPa and about 10 MPa, and preferably between about 0.3 MPa and about 3 MPa.”; [Column 55, lines 6-8] – “Electroactive polymer fibers can be provided wherein the dielectric elastomer is characterized as having an elasticity modulus smaller than about 10 MPa.”).
Regarding claim 30, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the DE microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420) is characterized as having a passive elasticity constant between 400 kPa and 800 kPa (Figs. 2-5; [Column 15, lines 63-67] – “Suitable electroactive polymers can have an elastic modulus below 100 MPa. Suitable electroactive polymers can also be selected having a maximum actuation pressure between about 0.05 MPa and about 10 MPa, and preferably between about 0.3 MPa and about 3 MPa.”; [Column 55, lines 6-8] – “Electroactive polymer fibers can be provided wherein the dielectric elastomer is characterized as having an elasticity modulus smaller than about 10 MPa.”).
Regarding claim 31, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where a stress (Figs. 2-5; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 29, lines 59-63]) produced (Figs. 2-5; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 29, lines 59-63]) by the DE microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420) decreases to zero (Figs. 2-5; [Column 50, lines 50-55] – “…electroactive fibers 302a can have a voltage applied to it sequentially, e.g., starting with the outermost/longest electroactive fiber, causing each to expand sequentially. Each subsequent electroactive fiber can initially have a slack (i.e., less than zero strain or stress) initially which becomes taut upon actuation of a prior muscle.”) when electrically activated (Figs. 2-5; [Column 50, lines 50-55]) using an activation voltage (Figs. 2-5; [Column 50, lines 55-Column 51, line 2] – “Voltage can then be sequentially applied to the previously tightened electroactive fiber to create additional motion. Continuing to do this in series allows the range of motion to increase beyond the strain actuation limit for any one fiber at maximum voltage. For example, under a maximum applied voltage of 7000 V that gives rise to a maximum 10% strain elongation due to electrostatic potential, but such a fiber can be readily stretched further to strains of 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%, or more under mechanical stress, which can be applied by other electroactive fibers or other stressing means. In concert with actuation of electroactive fibers 302a, electroactive fibers 302b can have the voltage removed in a sequentially opposite manner to give rise to a corresponding motion of mechanical linkage 304 contracting and causing additional motion.”) between (Figs. 2-5) the inner fluidic or compliant electrodes (Figs. 2-5, 422) and outer fluidic or compliant electrodes (Figs. 2-5, 416).
Regarding claim 32, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11 where the DE microfiber (Figs. 2-5, EPFT 420) is pre-stressed (Figs. 2-5; [Column 16, lines 13-35]; [Column 29, lines 59-63] – “…EPFTs are bundled under the same pre-straining conditions,…EPFTs are prestressed…”) to produce (Figs. 2-5) a desired baseline stress (Figs. 2-5, desired baseline stress of EPFT 420) when there is no activation voltage (Figs. 2-5; [Column 13, lines 10-22] – stress when voltage is zero –“…Where Y is the modulus of elasticity of polymer 116 and E is its dielectric constant times the permittivity of free space, bo is the outer radius of polymer 116 in an initial passive state and ao is the internal radius of polymer 116 in the same passive state. S is the axial strain of transducer 152 in direction 110 when activated by a voltage V. One skilled in the art can specify the above relation in terms of specific length. The above relation may be manipulated to obtain a closed form solution of the strain as a function of the voltage by one skilled in the art devoted to solving the cubic form of the equation. However, for simplicity's sake, the above relation may be computed and plotted with the axes inverted to imply the proper causality.”; [Column 61, lines 8-20] – “A suitable electroactive polymer fiber transducer can be provided wherein application of a voltage gives rise to an axial strain, wherein such strain is achieved in less than 10 seconds, less than 1 second, less than 100 milliseconds, less than 10 milliseconds, or less than 1 millisecond. A suitable electroactive polymer fiber transducer can be provided wherein removal of a voltage gives rise to an elastic return from an axial strain, wherein such return is achieved in less than 10 seconds. Electroactive polymer fiber transducers can also be provided wherein application of a voltage having an absolute value of about 5000 V gives rise to an axial strain of at least about 3 percent relative to the length of the electroactive polymer fiber transducer at zero voltage.”) between (Figs. 2-5) the inner fluidic or compliant electrodes (Figs. 2-5, 422) and outer fluidic or compliant electrodes (Figs. 2-5, 416).
Regarding claim 33, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11. Alvarez does not teach the ratio alpha (OD/ID) of the outer diameter to the inner diameter of the hollow fiber body is between 1.1 and 3.
Iwaguchi, however, does teach the ratio alpha is between 1.1 and 3 (Fig. 1, outer/D2; [0029] – outer diameter= 140-220 microns and D2 = 100 to 125 microns where outer/D2 = 1.12-2.2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Alvarez to include the ratio alpha of Iwaguchi because it would achieve peeling resistance and single-fiber separability thereby improving suppression of an increase in transmission loss (Iwaguchi [0014]).
Regarding claim 34, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11. Alvarez does not teach the ratio alpha (OD/ID) of the outer diameter to the inner diameter of the hollow fiber body is between 1.5 and 2.5.
Iwaguchi, however, does teach the ratio alpha is between 1.5 and 2.5 (Fig. 1, outer/D2; [0029] – outer diameter= 140-220 microns and D2 = 100 to 125 microns where outer/D2 = 1.12-2.2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Alvarez to include the ratio alpha of Iwaguchi because it would achieve peeling resistance and single-fiber separability thereby improving suppression of an increase in transmission loss (Iwaguchi [0014]).
Regarding claim 35, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11. Alvarez does not teach the ratio alpha (OD/ID) of the outer diameter to the inner diameter of the hollow fiber body is between 1.7 and 2.2.
Iwaguchi, however, does teach the ratio alpha is between 1.7 and 2.2 (Fig. 1, outer/D2; [0029] – outer diameter= 140-220 microns and D2 = 100 to 125 microns where outer/D2 = 1.12-2.2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Alvarez to include the ratio alpha of Iwaguchi because it would achieve peeling resistance and single-fiber separability thereby improving suppression of an increase in transmission loss (Iwaguchi [0014]).
Regarding claim 36, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11. Alvarez does not teach the ratio alpha (OD/ID) of the outer diameter to the inner diameter of the hollow fiber body is between 1.8 and 2.1.
Iwaguchi, however, does teach the ratio alpha is between 1.8 and 2.1 (Fig. 1, outer/D2; [0029] – outer diameter= 140-220 microns and D2 = 100 to 125 microns where outer/D2 = 1.12-2.2).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Alvarez to include the ratio alpha of Iwaguchi because it would achieve peeling resistance and single-fiber separability thereby improving suppression of an increase in transmission loss (Iwaguchi [0014]).
Regarding claim 37, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11. Alvarez does not teach the ratio alpha (OD/ID) of the outer diameter to the inner diameter of the hollow fiber body is 1.9.
Iwaguchi, however, does teach the ratio alpha is 1.9 (Fig. 1, outer/D2; [0029] – outer diameter= 190 microns and D2 = 100 microns where outer/D2 = 1.9).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Alvarez to include the ratio alpha of Iwaguchi because it would achieve peeling resistance and single-fiber separability thereby improving suppression of an increase in transmission loss (Iwaguchi [0014]).
Regarding claim 38, Alvarez as modified teaches the DE microfiber of claim 11. Alvarez does not teach the ratio alpha (OD/ID) of the outer diameter to the inner diameter of the hollow fiber body is 2.1.
Iwaguchi, however, does teach the ratio alpha is 2.1 (Fig. 1, outer/D2;
[0029] – outer diameter= 210 microns and D2 = 100 microns where outer/D2 = 2.1).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Alvarez to include the ratio alpha of Iwaguchi because it would achieve peeling resistance and single-fiber separability thereby improving suppression of an increase in transmission loss (Iwaguchi [0014]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
17 June 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837