DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Although the applicant’s amendments changed the scope of the claims, the combination of the references cited in the previous office action still renders obvious the new claim limitations. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: it contains a grammatically incorrect sentence (“starting the DRX retransmission timer for the process cause the first wireless device expiry”). The examiner suggests alternate language based on the similar language included in the other independent claims: “starting the DRX retransmission timer for the process based on both i) expiry of the first wireless device’s DRX HARQ RTT timer ...”. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues on page 6 of their remarks that “Di Girolamo lacks teaching as to the second condition (maximum number of transmissions) [claimed in the new amendment], and thus, fails to teach the noted features of claim 19”. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the applicant is correct that Di Girolamo does not explicitly describe starting the DRX retransmission timer based on reaching a maximum number of PSSCH transmissions in Table 4, Di Girolamo does elsewhere describe implementing a maximum number of PSSCH transmissions (see, for example, paragraph 0196 of Di Girolamo). Thus, the new claim amendments do not distinguish from the prior art of record, and the rejection based on Di Girolamo, Zhao, and Kusashima is properly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-23 and 26-32 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Di Girolamo et al. (US 2023/0014303 A1, hereinafter “Di Girolamo”) in view of Zhao et al. (US 2023/0140680 A1, hereinafter “Zhao”) and further in view of Kusashima et al. (US 2022/0095329 A1, hereinafter “Kusashima”).
As to Claim 19:
Di Girolamo teaches a method for discontinuous sidelink communication to save power.
Specifically, Di Girolamo teaches:
Receiving, by a first wireless device, a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission from a second wireless device
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 1> if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured sidelink grant: 2> start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PSSCH transmission ... drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL (per SL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a SL HARQ feedback is expected by the MAC entity” (Di Girolamo, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “transmit” maps to “receiving” from the perspective of “a peer UE”,
“a peer UE” maps to “a first wireless device”,
“Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH” maps to “a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission”, and
“a source UE” maps to “a second wireless device”).
A hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for the PSSCH transmission from the second wireless device
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... Note that if the SL connection is configured with a fixed number of HARQ retransmissions, the drx-InactivityTimerSL may include the time to receive all retransmissions” (Di Girolamo, 0204, 0307).
Here, “HARQ” maps to “a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback”,
“in the PSSCH” maps to “for the PSSCH”,
“Sidelink Control Information” maps to “the PSSCH transmission”, and
“a souce UE” maps to “the second wireless device”).
Starting, by the first wireless device, a discontinuous reception (DRX) HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer for a process after end of the PSSCH transmission
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 1> if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured sidelink grant: 2> start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PSSCH transmission ... drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL (per SL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a SL HARQ feedback is expected by the MAC entity” (Di Girolamo, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “start” maps to “starting”,
“a peer UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “a discontinuous reception (DRX) HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer”,
“SL HARQ process” maps to “a process”, and
“after the end of the ... corresponding PSSCH transmission” maps to “after end of a the PSSCH transmission”).
Stopping, by the first wireless device, a DRX retransmission timer for the process after starting the DRX HARQ RTT timer
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 2>start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process ... 2>stop the drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process” (Di Girolamo, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “stop” maps to “stopping”,
“a peer UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“the drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL” maps to “a DRX retransmission timer”,
“for the corresponding SL HARQ process” maps to “for the process”,
“the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX HARQ RTT timer”, and
the sequential placement of “stop the drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL” after “start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “after starting the DRX HARQ RTT timer”).
Starting, by the first wireless device, the DRX retransmission timer for the process based on both i) expiry of the DRX HARQ RTT timer, and ii) a number of the PSSCH transmission not reaching a maximum number of transmissions
(“UE 201 may be (pre)configured with a maximum number of sidelink communications. Once UE 201 has established this maximum number of sidelink communications, UE 201 may stop monitoring SCI/PSSCH for other SL communication.... In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 1>if a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL expires: 2>start the drx-RetransmissionTimerSL for the corresponding HARQ process” (Di Girolamo, 0196, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “start” maps to “starting”,
“a peer UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“the drx-RetransmissionTimerSL” maps to “the DRX retransmission timer”,
“for the corresponding HARQ process” maps to “for the process”,
“expires” maps to “expiry”,
“a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX HARQ RTT timer”,
before “UE 201 has established this maximum number of sidelink communications” maps to “a number of the PSSCH transmission not reaching a maximum number of transmissions”, and
before the UE “stop[s] monitoring SCI/PSSCH” also maps to “starting, by the first wireless device, the DRX retransmission timer” because the DRX retransmission timer runs during while the UE monitors PSSCH transmissions).
Discontinuously monitoring, by the first wireless device, control information indicating sidelink transmission in an active time including time while the DRX retransmission timer is running
(“During the OFF portion of the cycle, the UE has the opportunity to go into DRX, as it knows that it will not be scheduled for any DL transmissions. In contrast, during the ON portion of the cycle, the UE may be scheduled for DL transmission, and as a result the UE is required to monitor the PDCCH for every sub-frame ... drxRetransmissionTimerDL Specifies the maximum time the UE should remain active to wait an incoming transmission [sic] ... The Uu DRX will cycle through a number of Active (ON) times or OFF times. The Active time may be defined to allow UE 201 to be monitoring the PDCCH when downlink traffic is most expected. However, the current definition of active time should take into account Uu activities that occur as a result of what is happening on sidelink” (Di Girolamo, 0012, Table 1, 0370).
Here, “DRX” maps to “discontinuously”,
“monitor” maps to “monitoring”,
“the UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“PDCCH” maps to “control information”,
“for every sub-frame” including “what is happening on sidelink” maps to “indicating sidelink transmission”,
“active (ON) times” maps to “an active time”,
“drxRetransmissionTimerDL” maps to “the DRX retransmission timer”, and
“drxRetransmissionTimerDL Specifies the maximum time the UE should remain active” maps to “including time while the DRX retransmission timer is running” since if the retransmission timer runs in active mode, and monitoring for sidelink transmissions occurs in active mode, then the retransmission timer runs while monitoring for sidelink transmissions).
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose:
Based on the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to the second wireless device
Based on i) a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource being configured and ii) the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled or disabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a PUCCH transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to a network
The sidelink HARQ feedback is carried on at least one of a PUCCH from the first wireless device to the network or a PSFCH between the first wireless device and the second wireless device
However, Zhao does describe maintenance methods for DRX timers corresponding to HARQ processes.
Specifically, Zhao teaches:
Based on the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to the second wireless device
(“[T]he maintaining, by the UE, the timer corresponding to the first HARQ process when the TB corresponding to the first HARQ process needs to perform the HARQ feedback includes one of: starting, by the UE, an HARQ round-trip time timer corresponding to the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) ... After the transmission of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH, the HARQ RTT timer corresponding to the process is started” (Zhao, 0008, 0061).
Here, “the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)” maps to “based on the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled”,
“after the transmission of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH, the HARQ RTT timer corresponding to the process is started” maps to “starting ... a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission”,
“the UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process” maps to “a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback”, and
“sidelink” maps to “to the second wireless device”).
Based on i) a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource being configured and ii) the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled or disabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a PUCCH transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to a network
(“[T]he maintaining, by the UE, the timer corresponding to the first HARQ process when the TB corresponding to the first HARQ process needs to perform the HARQ feedback includes one of: starting, by the UE, an HARQ round-trip time timer corresponding to the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) ... Taking downlink as an example, when a first symbol of a relevant process for the UE is started after the transmission of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), the HARQ RTT timer is enabled” (Zhao, 0008, 0041).
Here, “transmission of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)” maps to “based on i) a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource being configured”,
“HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)” maps to “the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled” from the list of “the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled or disabled”,
“after the transmission of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), the HARQ RTT timer is enabled” maps to “starting ... a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a PUCCH transmission”,
“the UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)” maps to “a PUCCH transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to a network”).
And from the list of:
The sidelink HARQ feedback is carried on at least one of a PUCCH from the first wireless device to the network or a PSFCH between the first wireless device and the second wireless device
Zhao at least teaches:
The sidelink HARQ feedback is carried on ... a PSFCH between the first wireless device and the second wireless device
(“After the transmission of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH, the HARQ RTT timer corresponding to the process is started” (Zhao, 0061).
Here, “HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH” maps to “the sidelink HARQ feedback”,
“of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH)” maps to “carried on ... a PSFCH”, and
“sidelink” maps to “the first wireless device and the second wireless device”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Di Girolamo’s and Zhao’s teachings regarding round trip timers for sidelink HARQ feedback. The different sidelink channels that Di Girolamo and Zhao describe monitoring with RTTs are commonly used together for sidelink transmissions, so it would be obvious to apply the different sidelink timers described in each reference to the different channels.
The combination of Di Girolamo and Zhao also does not explicitly disclose:
A hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback ... being disabled
However, Kusashima does teach a method for carrier sensing that includes:
A hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback ... being disabled
(“An example of control in a case where disable HARQ transmission based on an instruction to the terminal device 200 from the base station 100 is applied” (Kusashima, 0139).
Here, “disable HARQ transmission” maps to “a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback ... being disabled”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo’s method for starting a HARQ RTT to begin if HARQ feedback is disabled, as taught in Kusashima. The situation taught in Kusashima where a base station disables HARQ feedback at a terminal represents an alternate situation where a destination device is not expected to send HARQ feedback and it would make sense to start a round trip timer after sending it a transmission.
As to Claim 20:
Di Girolamo teaches:
The DRX HARQ RTT timer starts based on a retransmission of the PSSCH transmission
(“1>if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured sidelink grant: 2>start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PSSCH transmission” (Di Girolamo, Table 4).
Here, “the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX HARQ RTT timer”,
“start” maps to “starts”,
“if” maps to “based on” because these are two ways of indicating a causal relationship,
“repetition of the ... transmission” maps to “retransmission”, and
“the corresponding PSSCH transmission” maps to “the PSSCH transmission”).
As to Claim 21:
Di Girolamo teaches:
The process is one of a HARQ process or a sidelink process
(“[S]tart the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process” (Di Girolamo, Table 4).
Here, “the corresponding SL HARQ prcess” maps to “the process is one of a HARQ process or a sidelink process” because it is in fact both a HARQ and a sidelink process).
As to Claim 22:
Di Girolamo teaches:
The DRX HARQ RTT timer informs a minimum duration before a sidelink retransmission grant is expected by a media access control (MAC) entity for sidelink transmission
(“drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerRXSL (per SL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a SL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity” (Di Girolamo, 0311).
Here, “drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerRXSL” maps to “the DRX HARQ RTT timer”,
“:” maps to “informs” because both indicate a definition is to follow, and
“the minimum duration before a SL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity” maps to “a minimum duration before a sidelink retransmission grant is expected by a media access control (MAC) entity for sidelink transmission”).
As to Claim 23:
Di Girolamo teaches:
The DRX retransmission timer informs a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission grant is received
(“drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL: (per SL HARQ process) the maximum duration until a grant for SL retransmission is received or the maximum duration until HARQ feedback for the Sl retransmission is received” (Di Girolamo, 0310).
Here, “drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX retransmission timer”,
“:” maps to “informs” because both indicate a definition is to follow, and
“the maximum duration until a grant for SL retransmission is received” maps to “a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission grant is received”).
As to Claim 26:
Di Girolamo teaches:
The first wireless device is in communication with at least one of a mobile device, a network, and/or autonomous vehicles other than the first wireless device
(Fig. 26A in Di Girolamo shows an assortment of mobile devices, random access networks, and autonomous vehicles.
Here, element 102c in Fig. 26A maps to “the first wireless device”,
the numerous connections labelled “115c/116c/117c” in Fig. 26A map to “in communication with”,
element 102d in Fig. 26A maps to “a mobile device”,
element 103b/104b/15b in Fig. 26A, the “RAN”, maps to “a network”, and
element 115d/116d/117d in Fig. 26A maps to “autonomous vehicles other than the first wireless device”).
As to Claim 27:
Di Girolamo teaches:
At least one processor; and at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations
(“Computing system 90 may comprise a computer or server and may be controlled primarily by computer readable instructions, which may be in the form of software, wherever, or by whatever means such software is stored or accessed. Such computer readable instructions may be executed within a processor 91, to cause computing system 90 to do work” (Di Girolamo, 0490). Fig. 26G in Di Girolamo also shows a
Here, “a processor 91” maps to “at least one processor”,
element 92 in Fig. 26G, the “Memory Controller”, indicates the presence of “at least one memory”,
the connection between element 92 in Fig. 26G, the “Memory Controller”, and element 91, the “Processor”, maps to “operably connectable to the at least one processor”,
“software is stored” maps to “storing instructions”,
“may be executed ... to cause” maps to “based on being executed”, and
“do work” maps to “perform operations”).
Performing a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission between the first wireless device and a second wireless device
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 1> if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured sidelink grant: 2> start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PSSCH transmission ... drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL (per SL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a SL HARQ feedback is expected by the MAC entity” (Di Girolamo, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “transmit” maps to “performing” from the perspective of “a peer UE”,
“a peer UE” maps to “a first wireless device”,
“Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH” maps to “performing ... a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission”, and
“sidelink” maps to “between the first wireless device and a second wireless device”).
A hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for the PSSCH transmission
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... Note that if the SL connection is configured with a fixed number of HARQ retransmissions, the drx-InactivityTimerSL may include the time to receive all retransmissions” (Di Girolamo, 0204, 0307).
Here, “HARQ” maps to “a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback”,
“in the PSSCH” maps to “for the PSSCH transmission”).
Starting a discontinuous reception (DRX) HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer for a process after end of the PSSCH transmission
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 1> if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured sidelink grant: 2> start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PSSCH transmission ... drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL (per SL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a SL HARQ feedback is expected by the MAC entity” (Di Girolamo, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “start” maps to “starting”,
“drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “a discontinuous reception (DRX) HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer”,
“SL HARQ process” maps to “a process”, and
“after the end of the ... corresponding PSSCH transmission” maps to “after end of the PSSCH transmission”).
Stopping a DRX retransmission timer for the process after starting the DRX HARQ RTT timer
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 2>start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process ... 2>stop the drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process” (Di Girolamo, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “stop” maps to “stopping”,
“a peer UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“the drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL” maps to “a DRX retransmission timer”,
“for the corresponding SL HARQ process” maps to “for the process”,
“the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX HARQ RTT timer”, and
the sequential placement of “stop the drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL” after “start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “after starting the DRX HARQ RTT timer”).
Starting the DRX retransmission timer for the process cause the first wireless device expiry of the DRX HARQ RTT timer, and ii) a number of the PSSCH transmission not reaching a maximum number of transmissions
(“UE 201 may be (pre)configured with a maximum number of sidelink communications. Once UE 201 has established this maximum number of sidelink communications, UE 201 may stop monitoring SCI/PSSCH for other SL communication.... In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 1>if a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL expires: 2>start the drx-RetransmissionTimerSL for the corresponding HARQ process” (Di Girolamo, 0196, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “start” maps to “starting”,
“the drx-RetransmissionTimerSL” maps to “the DRX retransmission timer”,
“for the corresponding HARQ process” maps to “for the process”,
“expires” maps to “cause ... expiry”,
“a peer UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX HARQ RTT timer”,
before “UE 201 has established this maximum number of sidelink communications” maps to “a number of the PSSCH transmission not reaching a maximum number of transmissions”, and
before the UE “stop[s] monitoring SCI/PSSCH” also maps to “starting, by the first wireless device, the DRX retransmission timer” because the DRX retransmission timer runs during while the UE monitors PSSCH transmissions).
Discontinuously monitoring, via the at least one transceiver, control information indicating sidelink transmission in an active time including time while the DRX retransmission timer is running
(“During the OFF portion of the cycle, the UE has the opportunity to go into DRX, as it knows that it will not be scheduled for any DL transmissions. In contrast, during the ON portion of the cycle, the UE may be scheduled for DL transmission, and as a result the UE is required to monitor the PDCCH for every sub-frame ... drxRetransmissionTimerDL Specifies the maximum time the UE should remain active to wait an incoming transmission [sic] ... The Uu DRX will cycle through a number of Active (ON) times or OFF times. The Active time may be defined to allow UE 201 to be monitoring the PDCCH when downlink traffic is most expected. However, the current definition of active time should take into account Uu activities that occur as a result of what is happening on sidelink” (Di Girolamo, 0012, Table 1, 0370).
Here, “DRX” maps to “discontinuously”,
“monitor” maps to “monitoring, via the at least one transceiver”,
“PDCCH” maps to “control information”,
“for every sub-frame” including “what is happening on sidelink” maps to “indicating sidelink transmission”,
“active (ON) times” maps to “an active time”,
“drxRetransmissionTimerDL” maps to “the DRX retransmission timer”, and
“drxRetransmissionTimerDL Specifies the maximum time the UE should remain active” maps to “including time while the DRX retransmission timer is running” since if the retransmission timer runs in active mode, and monitoring for sidelink transmissions occurs in active mode, then the retransmission timer runs while monitoring for sidelink transmissions).
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose:
Based on the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to the second wireless device
Based on i) a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource being configured and ii) the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled or disabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a PUCCH transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to a network
The sidelink HARQ feedback is carried on at least one of a PUCCH from the first wireless device to the network or a PSFCH between the first wireless device and the second wireless device
However, Zhao does teach:
Based on the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to the second wireless device
(“[T]he maintaining, by the UE, the timer corresponding to the first HARQ process when the TB corresponding to the first HARQ process needs to perform the HARQ feedback includes one of: starting, by the UE, an HARQ round-trip time timer corresponding to the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) ... After the transmission of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH, the HARQ RTT timer corresponding to the process is started” (Zhao, 0008, 0061).
Here, “the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)” maps to “based on the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled”,
“after the transmission of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH, the HARQ RTT timer corresponding to the process is started” maps to “starting ... a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission”,
“the UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process” maps to “a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback”, and
“sidelink” maps to “to the second wireless device”).
Based on i) a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource being configured and ii) the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled or disabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a PUCCH transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to a network
(“[T]he maintaining, by the UE, the timer corresponding to the first HARQ process when the TB corresponding to the first HARQ process needs to perform the HARQ feedback includes one of: starting, by the UE, an HARQ round-trip time timer corresponding to the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) ... Taking downlink as an example, when a first symbol of a relevant process for the UE is started after the transmission of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), the HARQ RTT timer is enabled” (Zhao, 0008, 0041).
Here, “transmission of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)” maps to “based on i) a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource being configured”,
“HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)” maps to “the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled” from the list of “the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled or disabled”,
“after the transmission of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), the HARQ RTT timer is enabled” maps to “starting ... a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a PUCCH transmission”,
“the UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)” maps to “a PUCCH transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to a network”).
And from the list of:
The sidelink HARQ feedback is carried on at least one of a PUCCH from the first wireless device to the network or a PSFCH between the first wireless device and the second wireless device
Zhao at least teaches:
The sidelink HARQ feedback is carried on ... a PSFCH between the first wireless device and the second wireless device
(“After the transmission of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH, the HARQ RTT timer corresponding to the process is started” (Zhao, 0061).
Here, “HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH” maps to “the sidelink HARQ feedback”,
“of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH)” maps to “carried on ... a PSFCH”, and
“sidelink” maps to “the first wireless device and the second wireless device”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Di Girolamo’s and Zhao’s teachings regarding round trip timers for sidelink HARQ feedback. The different sidelink channels that Di Girolamo and Zhao describe monitoring with RTTs are commonly used together for sidelink transmissions, so it would be obvious to apply the different sidelink timers described in each reference to the different channels.
The combination of Di Girolamo and Zhao does not explicitly disclose:
A hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback ... being disabled
However, Kusashima does teach a method for carrier sensing that includes:
A hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback ... being disabled
(“An example of control in a case where disable HARQ transmission based on an instruction to the terminal device 200 from the base station 100 is applied” (Kusashima, 0139).
Here, “disable HARQ transmission” maps to “a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback ... being disabled”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo’s method for starting a HARQ RTT to begin if HARQ feedback is disabled, as taught in Kusashima. The situation taught in Kusashima where a base station disables HARQ feedback at a terminal represents an alternate situation where a destination device is not expected to send HARQ feedback and it would make sense to start a round trip timer after sending it a transmission.
As to Claim 28:
Di Girolamo teaches:
The DRX HARQ RTT timer starts based on a retransmission of the PSSCH transmission
(“1>if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured sidelink grant: 2>start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PSSCH transmission” (Di Girolamo, Table 4).
Here, “the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX HARQ RTT timer”,
“start” maps to “starts”,
“if” maps to “based on” because these are two ways of indicating a causal relationship,
“repetition of the ... transmission” maps to “retransmission”, and
“the corresponding PSSCH transmission” maps to “the PSSCH transmission”).
As to Claim 29:
Di Girolamo teaches:
The process is one of a HARQ process or a sidelink process
(“start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process” (Di Girolamo, Table 4).
Here, “the corresponding SL HARQ prcess” maps to “the process is one of a HARQ process or a sidelink process” because it is in fact both a HARQ and a sidelink process).
As to Claim 30:
Di Girolamo teaches:
The DRX HARQ RTT timer informs a minimum duration before a sidelink retransmission grant is expected by a media access control (MAC) entity for the sidelink transmission
(“drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerRXSL (per SL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a SL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity” (Di Girolamo, 0311).
Here, “drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerRXSL” maps to “the DRX HARQ RTT timer”,
“:” maps to “informs” because both indicate a definition is to follow, and
“the minimum duration before a SL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity” maps to “a minimum duration before a sidelink retransmission grant is expected by a media access control (MAC) entity for the sidelink transmission”).
As to Claim 31:
Di Girolamo teaches:
The DRX retransmission timer informs a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission grant is received
(“drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL: (per SL HARQ process) the maximum duration until a grant for SL retransmission is received or the maximum duration until HARQ feedback for the Sl retransmission is received” (Di Girolamo, 0310).
Here, “drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX retransmission timer”,
“:” maps to “informs” because both indicate a definition is to follow, and
“the maximum duration until a grant for SL retransmission is received” maps to “a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission grant is received”).
As to Claim 32:
Di Girolamo teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium (CRM) storing instructions that, based on being executed by at least one processor, cause a first wireless device to perform operations
(“Computing system 90 may comprise a computer or server and may be controlled primarily by computer readable instructions, which may be in the form of software, wherever, or by whatever means such software is stored or accessed. Such computer readable instructions may be executed within a processor 91, to cause computing system 90 to do work” (Di Girolamo, 0490). Fig. 26G in Di Girolamo also shows a
Here, “computer readable instructions ... may be executed ... to cause computing system 90 to do work” map to “a non-transitory computer-readable medium (CRM) storing instructions that, based on being executed ... cause a first wireless device to perform operations”, and
“a processor 91” maps to “at least one processor”).
A sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission between the first device and a second wireless device
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... Note that if the SL connection is configured with a fixed number of HARQ retransmissions, the drx-InactivityTimerSL may include the time to receive all retransmissions” (Di Girolamo, 0204, 0307).
Here, “HARQ” for “the SL connection” maps to “a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback”,
“in the PSSCH” maps to “for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)”,
“Sidelink Control Information” maps to “the PSSCH transmission”, and
“sidelink” maps to “between the first device and a second wireless device”).
Starting a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer for a process after end of the PSSCH transmission
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 1> if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured sidelink grant: 2> start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PSSCH transmission ... drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL (per SL HARQ process): the minimum duration before a SL HARQ feedback is expected by the MAC entity” (Di Girolamo, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “start” maps to “starting”,
“drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “a sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer”,
“SL HARQ process” maps to “a process”, and
“after the end of the ... corresponding PSSCH transmission” maps to “after end of a the PSSCH transmission”).
Stopping a DRX retransmission timer for the process after starting the DRX HARQ RTT timer
(“In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 2>start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process ... 2>stop the drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process” (Di Girolamo, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “stop” maps to “stopping”,
“the drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL” maps to “a DRX retransmission timer”,
“for the corresponding SL HARQ process” maps to “for the process”,
“the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX HARQ RTT timer”, and
the sequential placement of “stop the drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL” after “start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “after starting the DRX HARQ RTT timer”).
Starting, the DRX retransmission timer for the process based on both i) expiry of the DRX HARQ RTT timer, and ii) a number of the PSSCH transmission not reaching a maximum number of transmissions
(“UE 201 may be (pre)configured with a maximum number of sidelink communications. Once UE 201 has established this maximum number of sidelink communications, UE 201 may stop monitoring SCI/PSSCH for other SL communication.... In a sidelink communication, a source UE may transmit traffic to a peer UE by sending Sidelink Control Information in the PSCCH ... 1>if a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL expires: 2>start the drx-RetransmissionTimerSL for the corresponding HARQ process” (Di Girolamo, 0196, 0204, Table 4).
Here, “start” maps to “starting”,
“the drx-RetransmissionTimerSL” maps to “the DRX retransmission timer”,
“for the corresponding HARQ process” maps to “for the process”,
“expires” maps to “expiry”,
“a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX HARQ RTT timer”,
before “UE 201 has established this maximum number of sidelink communications” maps to “a number of the PSSCH transmission not reaching a maximum number of transmissions”, and
before the UE “stop[s] monitoring SCI/PSSCH” also maps to “starting, by the first wireless device, the DRX retransmission timer” because the DRX retransmission timer runs during while the UE monitors PSSCH transmissions).
Discontinuously monitoring control information indicating sidelink transmission in an active time including time while the sidelink DRX retransmission timer is running
(“During the OFF portion of the cycle, the UE has the opportunity to go into DRX, as it knows that it will not be scheduled for any DL transmissions. In contrast, during the ON portion of the cycle, the UE may be scheduled for DL transmission, and as a result the UE is required to monitor the PDCCH for every sub-frame ... drxRetransmissionTimerDL Specifies the maximum time the UE should remain active to wait an incoming transmission [sic] ... The Uu DRX will cycle through a number of Active (ON) times or OFF times. The Active time may be defined to allow UE 201 to be monitoring the PDCCH when downlink traffic is most expected. However, the current definition of active time should take into account Uu activities that occur as a result of what is happening on sidelink” (Di Girolamo, 0012, Table 1, 0370).
Here, “DRX” maps to “discontinuously”,
“monitor” maps to “monitoring”,
“PDCCH” maps to “control information”,
“for every sub-frame” including “what is happening on sidelink” maps to “indicating sidelink transmission”,
“active (ON) times” maps to “an active time”,
“drxRetransmissionTimerDL” maps to “the sidelink DRX retransmission timer”, and
“drxRetransmissionTimerDL Specifies the maximum time the UE should remain active” maps to “including time while the sidelink DRX retransmission timer is running” since if the retransmission timer runs in active mode, and monitoring for sidelink transmissions occurs in active mode, then the retransmission timer runs while monitoring for sidelink transmissions).
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose:
Based on the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to the second wireless device
Based on i) a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource being configured and ii) the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled or disabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a PUCCH transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to a network
The sidelink HARQ feedback is carried on at least one of a PUCCH from the first wireless device to the network or a PSFCH between the first wireless device and the second wireless device
However, Zhao does teach:
Based on the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to the second wireless device
(“[T]he maintaining, by the UE, the timer corresponding to the first HARQ process when the TB corresponding to the first HARQ process needs to perform the HARQ feedback includes one of: starting, by the UE, an HARQ round-trip time timer corresponding to the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) ... After the transmission of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH, the HARQ RTT timer corresponding to the process is started” (Zhao, 0008, 0061).
Here, “the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)” maps to “based on the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled”,
“after the transmission of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH, the HARQ RTT timer corresponding to the process is started” maps to “starting ... a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission”,
“the UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process” maps to “a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback”, and
“sidelink” maps to “to the second wireless device”).
Based on i) a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource being configured and ii) the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled or disabled, starting, by the first wireless device, a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a PUCCH transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to a network
(“[T]he maintaining, by the UE, the timer corresponding to the first HARQ process when the TB corresponding to the first HARQ process needs to perform the HARQ feedback includes one of: starting, by the UE, an HARQ round-trip time timer corresponding to the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) ... Taking downlink as an example, when a first symbol of a relevant process for the UE is started after the transmission of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), the HARQ RTT timer is enabled” (Zhao, 0008, 0041).
Here, “transmission of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)” maps to “based on i) a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource being configured”,
“HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)” maps to “the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled” from the list of “the sidelink HARQ feedback for the PSSCH transmission being enabled or disabled”,
“after the transmission of a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH), the HARQ RTT timer is enabled” maps to “starting ... a DRX HARQ RTT timer for a process after end of a PUCCH transmission”,
“the UE” maps to “the first wireless device”,
“the first HARQ process corresponding to a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH)” maps to “a PUCCH transmission carrying the sidelink HARQ feedback to a network”).
And from the list of:
The sidelink HARQ feedback is carried on at least one of a PUCCH from the first wireless device to the network or a PSFCH between the first wireless device and the second wireless device
Zhao at least teaches:
The sidelink HARQ feedback is carried on ... a PSFCH between the first wireless device and the second wireless device
(“After the transmission of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) for an HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH, the HARQ RTT timer corresponding to the process is started” (Zhao, 0061).
Here, “HARQ Process corresponding to the PSSCH” maps to “the sidelink HARQ feedback”,
“of a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH)” maps to “carried on ... a PSFCH”, and
“sidelink” maps to “the first wireless device and the second wireless device”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Di Girolamo’s and Zhao’s teachings regarding round trip timers for sidelink HARQ feedback. The different sidelink channels that Di Girolamo and Zhao describe monitoring with RTTs are commonly used together for sidelink transmissions, so it would be obvious to apply the different sidelink timers described in each reference to the different channels.
The combination of Di Girolamo and Zhao also does not explicitly disclose:
A hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback ... being disabled
However, Kusashima does teach a method for carrier sensing that includes:
A hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback ... being disabled
(“An example of control in a case where disable HARQ transmission based on an instruction to the terminal device 200 from the base station 100 is applied” (Kusashima, 0139).
Here, “disable HARQ transmission” maps to “a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback ... being disabled”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Di Girolamo’s method for starting a HARQ RTT to begin if HARQ feedback is disabled, as taught in Kusashima. The situation taught in Kusashima where a base station disables HARQ feedback at a terminal represents an alternate situation where a destination device is not expected to send HARQ feedback and it would make sense to start a round trip timer after sending it a transmission.
Claim 24 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Di Girolamo (US 2023/0014303 A1) in view of Zhao (US 2023/0140680 A1) and Kusashima (US 2022/0095329 A1) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0275474 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
As to Claim 24
Di Girolamo teaches:
The DRX retransmission timer starts based on ... retransmission of the PSSCH transmission
(“drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL: (per SL HARQ process) the maximum duration until a grant for SL retransmission is received or the maximum duration until HARQ feedback for the SL retransmission is received.... 2>start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerTXSL for the corresponding SL HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the first repetition of the corresponding PSSCH transmission” (Di Girolamo, 0310, Table 4).
Here, “drx-RetransmissionTimerTXSL” maps to “the DRX retransmission timer”,
“start” maps to “starts”,
“after” maps to “based on” because these are two ways of indicating a causal relationship, and
“repetition of the corresponding PSSCH transmission” maps to “retransmission of the PSSCH transmission”).
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose:
No sidelink grant being available for retransmission
However, Chen does describe a method for improved sidelink retransmission.
Specifically, Chen teaches:
No sidelink grant being available for retransmission
(“The UE may stay in a DRX period and will not receive any downlink control signaling from the Base Station (BS). In such case, the BS may need to wait until the next on-duration period to schedule the another [sic] Sidelink (SL) grant for retransmission” (Chen, 0474).
Here, “downlink control signaling” including “another Sidelink (SL) grant” maps to “sidelink grant”,
“will not receive any ... Sidelink (SL) grant” maps to “no sidelink grant being available”, and
“for retransmission” maps to “for retransmission”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to start the sidelink DRX retransmission timer taught in Di Girolamo in the scenario taught in Chen where the UE receives no sidelink grant. Starting the retransmission timer upon not receiving a sidelink grant allows it to measure “the maximum duration until a grant for SL retransmission is received” as taught in Girolamo.
Claim 25 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Di Girolamo (US 2023/0014303 A1) in view of Zhao (US 2023/0140680 A1) and Kusashima (US 2022/0095329 A1) and further in view of Ganesan et al. (US 2022/0353020 A1, hereinafter “Ganesan”).
As to Claim 25:
Di Girolamo does not explicitly disclose:
The PSSCH transmission is performed based on a configured sidelink grant
However, Ganesan teaches a method for responding to a new data indicator for a hybrid automatic repeat request process.
Specifically, Ganesan teaches:
The PSSCH transmission is performed based on a configured sidelink grant
(“In response to determining that the first positive acknowledgement was transmitted, clear ... a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) duration corresponding to retransmission of a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) from the current sidelink grant” (Ganesan, Claim 1).
Here, “physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) ... corresponding to retransmission” maps to “the PSSCH transmission”,
“retransmission” maps to “transmission ... is performed”, and
“from the current sidelink grant” maps to “based on a configured sidelink grant”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the MAC PDU on the PSSCH, as taught in Di Girolamo, based on a configured sidelink grant, as taught in Ganesan. Transmitting based on a configured sidelink grant gives the base station that sent the grant control over when sidelink transmission occurs and saves the UE time by having to configure a sidelink channel on its own.
Conclusion
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477