DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 recites “the visible light pixel includes a red (R) pixel, a green (G) pixel, and a blue (B) pixel, and the invisible light pixel is arranged at a position of the G pixel in a Bayer array.” Recommended to change the last instance of “G pixel” to “green (G) pixel” to keep terms consistent.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-7, 9-10, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims will be examined as best understood.
Claim 2 recites “the invisible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels correlated with enable signals of which phase difference with respect to the light emission control signal differs from each other”. Not clear. Are the enable signals for each of the pixels? What device are the enable signals for?
Claim 5, 9 recites a similar limitation as above and is similarly rejected.
Those claims dependent upon claims 2, 5, 9 are rejected as based upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al (US 20190068908).
In regards to claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a sensing system comprising:
a light emitting unit configured to apply invisible light in synchronization with a predetermined light emission control signal (Fig. 4C ref. 409IR “infrared light emitting unit”);
an invisible light pixel configured to photoelectrically convert reflected light with respect to the invisible light to generate a pulse signal as an invisible light pulse signal ([0096] “The pixel 810c is provided with a color filter that transmits infrared light, i.e. is an IR pixel”);
a visible light pixel configured to photoelectrically convert visible light to generate a pulse signal as a visible light pulse signal ([0096] discloses pixels 810a, b, d corresponding to visible wavelength, “The pixel 810a is an R pixel, and is provided with a color filter that transmits light in a predetermined wavelength range corresponding to R (red)”); and
a counting unit (Fig. 8 ref. 114) configured to perform processing for counting a number of the visible light pulse signals and perform processing for counting, in synchronization with the light emission control signal, a number of the invisible light pulse signals (abstract “a counter that can operate in a first mode of counting the number of pulses of a signal generated by the sensor unit”, [0005] “According to an aspect of the present invention, there is provided a solid-state image sensor comprising: a plurality of pixels each including a sensor unit that generates a pulse with a frequency that is based on a reception frequency of a photon”, Figs. 2, 6 display light emission process in synchronization with counting process).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-6, 9-14, 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Masuda et al (US 20220294990).
In regards to claim 2, Kobayashi discloses the sensing system according to claim 1, wherein the visible light pixel includes first, second, and third visible light pixels that photoelectrically convert visible light different from each other (Kobayashi [0096] discloses pixels 810a, b, d corresponding to visible wavelength, “The pixel 810a is an R pixel, and is provided with a color filter that transmits light in a predetermined wavelength range corresponding to R (red)”),
Kobayashi does not expressly disclose: the invisible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels correlated with enable signals of which phase difference with respect to the light emission control signal differs from each other,
Masuda teaches a pixel device comprising first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels (Fig. 5 plurality of IR pixels) which are impinged/pulsed in different order such that a phase difference of the enable/actuation signals for the light emitter is different from one the signal from the pixels (Fig. 6, [0084] disclose the pixel array made of different regions which may receive reflected light at different orientations).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Kobayashi with Masuda by providing the invisible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels correlated with enable signals of which phase difference with respect to the light emission control signal differs from each other in order to allow a greater accuracy in determining distance.
Kobayashi as combined further discloses: the first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels are arranged adjacent to each other (Kobayashi as combined, Masuda Fig. 8 orientation of IR pixels), and the first, second, and third visible light pixels are arranged near the first invisible light pixel (Kobayashi Fig. 8 refs. 810).
In regards to claim 3, Kobayashi as combined discloses the sensing system according to claim 2, wherein the counting unit includes a counter configured to perform, in a predetermined order, processing for counting the number of the visible light pulse signals of each of the first, second, and third visible light pixels (Kobayashi abstract “a counter that can operate in a first mode of counting the number of pulses of a signal generated by the sensor unit” ref. 114) and perform processing for counting the number of the invisible light pulse signals (Kobayashi abstract discloses counting the number of pulses).
In regards to claim 4, Kobayashi as combined discloses the sensing system according to claim 2, wherein the counting unit includes a first counter configured to count the number of the visible light pulse signals of the first visible light pixel (Kobayashi at least Figs. 5, 8, ref. 114 for each three visible light pixel)
a second counter configured to count the number of the visible light pulse signals of the second visible light pixel (Kobayashi at least Figs. 5, 8, ref. 114 for each three visible light pixel),
a third counter configured to count the number of the visible light pulse signals of the third visible light pixel (Kobayashi at least Figs. 5, 8, ref. 114 for each three visible light pixel), and
a fourth counter configured to count the number of the invisible light pulse signals in synchronization with the light emission control signal (Kobayashi at least Figs. 5, 8, ref. 114 for IR light pixel).
In regards to claim 5, Kobayashi discloses the sensing system according to claim 1, wherein the visible light pixel includes first, second, and third visible light pixels that photoelectrically convert same visible light (Kobayashi Fig. 8 refs. 810),
Kobayashi does not expressly disclose: the invisible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels correlated with enable signals of which phase difference with respect to the light emission control signal differs from each other,
Masuda teaches a pixel device comprising first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels (Fig. 5 IR pixels) which are impinged/pulsed in different order such that a phase difference of the enable/actuation signals for the light emitter is different from one the signal from the pixels (Fig. 6, [0084] disclose the pixel array made of different regions which may receive reflected light at different orientations).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Kobayashi with Masuda by providing the invisible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels correlated with enable signals of which phase difference with respect to the light emission control signal differs from each other in order to allow a greater accuracy in determining distance.
Kobayashi as combined further discloses:
the first, second, and third visible light pixels are arranged near the first invisible light pixel (Kobayashi as seen at least in Figs. 8, pixels arranged in close contact with each other).
In regards to claim 6, Kobayashi as combined discloses the sensing system according to claim 5, wherein the counting unit includes a selector configured to sequentially select, as an input signal, the visible light pulse signal of each of the first, second, and third visible light pixels, a first counter configured to count a number of the input signals, and a second counter configured to count a number of the invisible light pulse signals in synchronization with the light emission control signal (Kobayashi ref. 115, input selector switch, ).
In regards to claim 9, Kobayashi as combined discloses the sensing system according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the invisible light pixel includes a plurality of invisible light pixels correlated with enable signals of which phase difference with respect to the light emission control signal differs from each other,
Masuda teaches a pixel device comprising first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels (Fig. 5 IR pixels) which are impinged/pulsed in different order such that a phase difference of the enable/actuation signals for the light emitter is different from one the signal from the pixels (Fig. 6, [0084] disclose the pixel array made of different regions which may receive reflected light at different orientations).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Kobayashi with Masuda by providing the invisible light pixel includes a plurality of invisible light pixels correlated with enable signals of which phase difference with respect to the light emission control signal differs from each other in order to allow a greater accuracy in determining distance.
Kobayashi as combined further discloses: the plurality of invisible light pixels is arranged in a predetermined direction (Kobayashi Figs. 7, 8 refs. 810 arranged in pixel array in predetermined direction).
In regards to claim 10, Kobayashi as combined discloses the sensing system according to claim 9, wherein the visible light pixel is inserted between each of the plurality of invisible light pixels (Kobayashi Fig. 8, ref. 810c inserted between visible light pixel 810a, b, d, Fig. 5 Masuda).
In regards to claim 11, Kobayashi discloses the sensing system according to claim 1, wherein the visible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth visible light pixels that are arranged adjacent to each other (Kobayashi as seen at least in Fig. 8 for refs. 110a, b, d),
Kobayashi does not expressly disclose:
the invisible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels that are arranged adjacent to each other,
Masuda teaches a pixel device comprising first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels adjacent to each other in an array (Fig. 5 IR pixels).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Kobayashi with Masuda by providing the invisible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels that are arranged adjacent to each other in order to allow a greater accuracy in determining distance.
Kobayashis as combined further discloses: the first, second, third, and fourth visible light pixels photoelectrically convert visible light different from each other (Kobayashi as combined, the pixels convert different light photons).
In regards to claim 12, Kobayashi discloses the sensing system according to claim 11, wherein the counting unit includes a plurality of counters that counts the number of the invisible light pulse signals in synchronization with enable signals of which phase difference with respect to the light emission control signal differs from each other (Kobayashi Fig. 8 refs. 114, count pulse signals, abstract “a counter that can operate in a first mode of counting the number of pulses of a signal generated by the sensor unit”).
In regards to claim 13, Kobayashi discloses the sensing system according to claim 11, wherein the counting unit includes a selector configured to select, as an input signal, any of the visible light pulse signal of each of the first, second, and third visible light pixels (Kobayashi Fig. 8 ref. 115 input selection switch, [0032] “If the input selection switch 115 is set so that the node PLSd is connected to an input terminal of the counter 114, the number of pulses of the pulse signal PLS output from the inverter 113 is counted by the counter 114”), and a counter configured to count a number of the input signals (Kobayashi ref. 114).
In regards to claim 14, Kobayashi discloses the sensing system according to claim 11, wherein the counting unit includes a first counter configured to count a number of the invisible light pulse signals in synchronization with a first enable signal in which a phase difference with respect to the light emission control signal is set at 0 degrees or 180 degrees (Kobayashi Fig. 8 disclose plurality of ref. 114), and a second counter configured to count a number of the invisible light pulse signals in synchronization with a second enable signal in which a phase difference with respect to the light emission control signal is set at 90 degrees or 270 degrees (Kobayashi Fig. 8 disclose plurality of ref. 114).
In regards to claim 18, Kobayashi discloses the sensing system according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the visible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth visible light pixels that are arranged adjacent to each other, the invisible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels that are arranged adjacent to each other,
Masuda teaches a pixel device comprising first, second, third, and fourth visible light pixels (as seen at least in Fig. 5) and first, second, third, and fourth visible light invisible light pixels arranged adjacent (as seen at least in Fig. 5 IR pixels).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Kobayashi with Masuda by providing the visible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth visible light pixels that are arranged adjacent to each other, the invisible light pixel includes first, second, third, and fourth invisible light pixels that are arranged adjacent to each other in order to allow a greater sensor area for determining distance and imaging.
Kobayashi as combined further discloses: the first, second, third, and fourth visible light pixels photoelectrically convert visible light different from each other (Kobayashi as combined, the pixels convert different light photons).
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi Masuda as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al (US 20200358972).
In regards to claim 7, Kobayashi as combined discloses the sensing system according to claim 5, wherein the counting unit includes a logical sum gate configured to output a logical sum of the invisible light pulse signal of each of the first, second, and third visible light pixels,
Suzuki teaches an image pixel system comprising a logical sum gate ([0115] “the signal /EN2 is a signal representing a logical sum of the signal D1 …and the signal D2”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Kobayashi with Suzuki by providing the counting unit includes a logical sum gate configured to output a logical sum of the invisible light pulse signal of each of the first, second, and third visible light pixels as the logical sum gate is well known in the operation counters and selectors systems.
Kobayashi as combined further discloses:
a selector configured to select, as an input signal, any of the invisible light pulse signal of each of the first, second, and third visible light pixels, the logical sum, and the visible light pulse signal (Kobayashi ref. 115 selection switch), and a counter configured to count a number of the input signals (Kobayashi ref. 114 counter).
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Tashiro (US 20140333814).
In regards to claim 8, Kobayashi discloses the sensing system according to claim 1, wherein the visible light pixel includes a red (R) pixel, a green (G) pixel, and a blue (B) pixel (Kobayashi [0096] discloses visible pixels 810a, b, d are R, G, B pixels).
Kobayashi does not expressly disclose: the invisible light pixel is arranged at a position of the G pixel in a Bayer array.
Tashiro teaches a Bayer color filter array in which an IR pixel can replace the G pixel ([0022] “In a smallest unit of a Bayer arrangement, that is, a unit of one R pixel, one B pixel, and two G pixels, for example, an IR pixel can be arranged instead of one of the G pixels”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Kobayashi with Tashiro by providing the invisible light pixel is arranged at a position of the G pixel in a Bayer array as this array is well known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15-17, 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The primary reason for indicating claims as allowable are the limitations which detail a logical circuit in cooperation with a selector and counters. The selector selecting an inviable light pulse signal, the counters counting pulse signals from individual selected pixels.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure cited on PTO 892. The cited references display distance measurement systems using pixel arrays having visible and IR pixels with sense emitted and reflected light from a target.
/V.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642