DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 16 and 18 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Inventions I (claims 1-3, 5, 7-15) and Inventions II are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed have a materially different design in the type of material of the barrel and the preparation and also the dimensions of the syringe barrel. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 16-18 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 13-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vogt (US 2019/0201630; hereafter Vogt).
In regard to claim 1, Vogt discloses a syringe formulation pre-filled with botulinum toxin (see at least the Abstract), comprising: a syringe (10) comprising a syringe barrel (12), a plunger rod (16), and a plunger stopper (14); and a botulinum toxin liquid preparation filled in the syringe (see par. [0009], [0039]-[0044]), wherein a material of the syringe barrel is glass, COC or COP (see par. [0001], [0040] and [0043]), and wherein the botulinum toxin liquid preparation does not contain albumin (see par. [0123]).
In regard to claim 5, Vogt discloses wherein a material of the plunger stopper is isoprene rubber (IS), butadiene rubber (BR), butyl rubber, halogenated butyl rubber, styrene- butadiene rubber, or a mixture thereof (see par. [0100]).
In regard to claim 7, Vogt discloses wherein the botulinum toxin liquid preparation does not contain any animal component (see par. [0123]).
In regard to claim 8, Vogt discloses wherein the botulinum toxin liquid preparation comprises botulinum toxin, an amino acid, a surfactant, and an isotonic agent (see par. [0118]).
In regard to claim 11, Vogt discloses wherein the botulinum toxin liquid preparation further contains a buffer to maintain a pH of 5.5 to 7.5 (see par. [0121]).
In regard to claim 13, Vogt discloses wherein, upon storage for 2, 4, or 6 months at 25 °C, which is an accelerated test condition, the botulinum toxin liquid preparation shows an LD5o titer recovery rate of 80 % to 125 % relative to an initial value (Vogt discloses the same syringe material and composition and therefore exhibits these features).
In regard to claim 14, Vogt discloses wherein, upon storage for 2, 4, or 6 months at 25 °C, which is an accelerated test condition, the botulinum toxin liquid preparation shows a protease activity recovery rate of 80 % to 125 % relative to an initial value (Vogt discloses the same syringe material and composition and therefore exhibits these features).
In regard to claim 15, Vogt discloses wherein, upon storage for 2, 4, or 6 months at 25 °C, which is an accelerated test condition, the botulinum toxin liquid preparation shows a pH change of ± 1.0 or less relative to an initial value (Vogt discloses the same syringe material and composition and therefore exhibits these features).
In regard to claim 17, Vogt discloses wherein the botulinum toxin liquid preparation comprises botulinum toxin, an amino acid, a surfactant, and an isotonic agent; or stabilizing protein and sugar (see par. [0118]-[0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogt in view of Mudd et al. (US 2019/0308007; hereafter Mudd).
In regard to claims 2-3, Vogt fails to explicitly disclose a ratio of a length to an inner diameter of the syringe barrel is 10 to 22 and wherein the inner diameter of the syringe barrel is 3.5 mm to 6.5 mm, and the length of the syringe barrel is 60 mm to 100 mm.
In a similar art, Mudd discloses a syringe pre-filled with botulinum toxin (see Fig. 1, par. [0014], [0017], and [0078]), wherein the syringe includes a ratio of a length to an inner diameter of the syringe barrel is 10 to 22 (see par. [0065]). Mudd discloses wherein the inner diameter of the syringe barrel is 3.5 mm to 6.5 mm, and the length of the syringe barrel is 60 mm to 100 mm (see par. [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vogt with the ratio of dimensions as disclosed by Mudd because Mudd shows that such dimensions are suitable for pre-filled syringes for botulinum toxin.
Claim(s) 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogt in view of Jarstad et al. (US 2019/0183988; hereafter Jarstad).
In regard to claims 9-10, Vogt is silent as to wherein the amino acid is methionine and wherein the surfactant is polysorbate 20, polysorbate 40, polysorbate 60, polysorbate 80, or poloxamer.
In a similar art, Jarstad discloses a preparation of stable liquid botulinum toxin that includes methionine and polysorbate 20 (see par. [0262]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vogt with the methionine and polysorbate 20 as disclosed by Jarstad because it amounts to selection of a known material based on its known suitability for the purpose.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogt in view of Jarstad et al. (US 2019/0183988; hereafter Jarstad).
In regard to claim 12, Vogt fails to disclose wherein the buffer is citrate, histidine, HEPES, arginine, acetic acid, phosphoric acid, a salt thereof, or a mixture thereof.
In a similar art, Wu discloses a preparation of stable liquid botulinum toxin that includes histidine (see par. [0278]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vogt with the histidine as disclosed by Wu because it amounts to selection of a known material based on its known suitability for the purpose.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THEODORE J. STIGELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/THEODORE J STIGELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783