DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-13, 16-17, 20, 22, 25 and 27 are pending wherein claim 1 is amended and claims 2, 4, 7, 14-15, 18-19, 21, 23-24, 26 and 28-30 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-13, 16-17, 20, 22, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichitani et al. (US 2008/0257462) in view of Doroshenko et al. (Effect of Calcium and Zinc on the Structure and Phase Composition of Casting Aluminum-Magnesium Alloys).
In regard to claim 1, Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses aluminum base alloys having compositions relative to that of the instant invention as set forth below (claim 10).
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
Ichitani et al. (‘462)
(mass percent)
Overlap
Mg
1 – 2.5
2 – 8
2 – 2.5
Si
0.2 – 3
0.06 – 0.4
0.2 – 0.4
Fe
0.15 – 0.50
0.06 – 0.4
0.15 – 0.4
Cu
0.001 – 0.90
0.05 – 1
0.05 – 0.90
Mn
0.20 – 0.80
0.05 – 1
0.20 – 0.80
Cr
0 – 0.15
0.05 – 0.5
0.05 – 0.15
Ti
0 – 0.10
0.001 – 0.1
0.001 – 0.1
V
0 – 0.08
0.01 – 0.1
0.01 – 0.08
Zn
0.001 – 0.50
-
-
Al
Balance
Balance
Balance
The Examiner notes that the amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, and vanadium disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462) overlap the amounts of the instant invention, which is prima facie evidence of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to select the claimed amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium and vanadium from the amounts disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462) because Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
With respect to the impurities up to 0.15 weight percent, Ichitani et al. (‘462) also disclosed the presence of impurities and since the lower limit of impurities in both the instant invention and Ichitani et al. (‘462) would be no impurities, Ichitani et al. (‘462) would read on the instant claim (claim 10).
With respect to the recitation “for automotive part” in claim 1, the Examiner considers this an intended use of the aluminum alloy that would not further limit the structure of the alloy. MPEP 2111.02 II.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy has a ratio of the wt.% of Si:Mg being from 0.05:1 to 0.60:1, and Si+Mn-(Fe/2) being from 0.60 to 1.20” in claim 1, the Si:Mg in Ichitani et al. (‘462) would range from 0.0075:1 to 0.2:1, which would overlap the range of the instant invention. Additionally, the Si+Mn-(Fe/2) would range from -0.09 to 1.37, which would encompass the range of the instant invention.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy has a total elongation of at least 15%” in claim 1, Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses elongations at or above 124%.
With respect to the claimed content of zinc, Ichitani et al. (‘462) does not specify adding zinc.
Doroshenko et al. teaches adding amounts of zinc up to 1 atomic percent in order to strengthen alloy (page 817, left column and page 820).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to add up to 1 atomic percent zinc (about 2.5 weight percent), as disclosed by Doroshenko et al., to the aluminum-magnesium alloys, as disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462), in order to strengthen the alloy, as disclosed by Doroshanko et al. (page 817, left column and page 820).
In regard to claim 3, Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses aluminum base alloys having compositions relative to that of the instant invention as set forth below (claim 10).
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
Ichitani et al. (‘462)
(mass percent)
Overlap
Mg
1.4 – 2.4
2 – 8
2 – 2.4
Si
0.3 – 2.5
0.06 – 0.4
0.3 – 0.4
Fe
0.20 – 0.40
0.06 – 0.4
0.20 – 0.4
Cu
0.05 – 0.75
0.05 – 1
0.05 – 0.75
Mn
0.40 – 0.70
0.05 – 1
0.40 – 0.70
Cr
0 – 0.1
0.05 – 0.5
0.05 – 0.1
Ti
0 – 0.05
0.001 – 0.1
0.001 – 0.05
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
Ichitani et al. (‘462)
(mass percent)
Overlap
V
0 – 0.05
0.01 – 0.1
0.01 – 0.05
Zn
0.005 – 0.40
-
-
Al
Balance
Balance
Balance
The Examiner notes that the amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, and vanadium disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462) overlap the amounts of the instant invention, which is prima facie evidence of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to select the claimed amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium and vanadium from the amounts disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462) because Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
With respect to the claimed content of zinc, Ichitani et al. (‘462) does not specify adding zinc.
Doroshenko et al. teaches adding amounts of zinc up to 1 atomic percent in order to strengthen alloy (page 817, left column and page 820).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to add up to 1 atomic percent zinc (about 2.5 weight percent), as disclosed by Doroshenko et al., to the aluminum-magnesium alloys, as disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462), in order to strengthen the alloy, as disclosed by Doroshanko et al. (page 817, left column and page 820).
In regard to claim 5, Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses aluminum base alloys having compositions relative to that of the instant invention as set forth below (claim 10).
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
Ichitani et al. (‘462)
(mass percent)
Overlap
Mg
1.25 – 2.5
2 – 8
2 – 2.5
Si
0.2 – 0.8
0.06 – 0.4
0.2 – 0.4
Fe
0.15 – 0.50
0.06 – 0.4
0.15 – 0.4
Cu
0.01 – 0.30
0.05 – 1
0.05 – 0.30
Mn
0.20 – 0.80
0.05 – 1
0.20 – 0.80
Cr
0 – 0.15
0.05 – 0.5
0.05 – 0.15
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
Ichitani et al. (‘462)
(mass percent)
Overlap
Ti
0 – 0.10
0.001 – 0.1
0.001 – 0.10
V
0 – 0.05
0.01 – 0.1
0.01 – 0.05
Zn
up to 0.50
-
-
Al
Balance
Balance
Balance
The Examiner notes that the amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, and vanadium disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462) overlap the amounts of the instant invention, which is prima facie evidence of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to select the claimed amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium and vanadium from the amounts disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462) because Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
With respect to the claimed content of zinc, Ichitani et al. (‘462) does not specify adding zinc.
Doroshenko et al. teaches adding amounts of zinc up to 1 atomic percent in order to strengthen alloy (page 817, left column and page 820).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to add up to 1 atomic percent zinc (about 2.5 weight percent), as disclosed by Doroshenko et al., to the aluminum-magnesium alloys, as disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462), in order to strengthen the alloy, as disclosed by Doroshanko et al. (page 817, left column and page 820).
regard to claim 6, Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses aluminum base alloys having compositions relative to that of the instant invention as set forth below (claim 10).
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
Ichitani et al. (‘462)
(mass percent)
Overlap
Mg
1.6 – 2.4
2 – 8
2 – 2.4
Si
0.3 – 0.6
0.06 – 0.4
0.3 – 0.4
Fe
0.20 – 0.40
0.06 – 0.4
0.20 – 0.4
Cu
0.05 – 0.20
0.05 – 1
0.05 – 0.20
Mn
0.40 – 0.70
0.05 – 1
0.40 – 0.70
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
Ichitani et al. (‘462)
(mass percent)
Overlap
Cr
0 – 0.1
0.05 – 0.5
0.05 – 0.1
Ti
0 – 0.05
0.001 – 0.1
0.001 – 0.05
V
0 – 0.03
0.01 – 0.1
0.01 – 0.03
Zn
up to 0.50
-
-
Al
Balance
Balance
Balance
The Examiner notes that the amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, and vanadium disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462) overlap the amounts of the instant invention, which is prima facie evidence of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to select the claimed amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium and vanadium from the amounts disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462) because Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
With respect to the claimed content of zinc, Ichitani et al. (‘462) does not specify adding zinc.
Doroshenko et al. teaches adding amounts of zinc up to 1 atomic percent in order to strengthen alloy (page 817, left column and page 820).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to add up to 1 atomic percent zinc (about 2.5 weight percent), as disclosed by Doroshenko et al., to the aluminum-magnesium alloys, as disclosed by Ichitani et al. (‘462), in order to strengthen the alloy, as disclosed by Doroshanko et al. (page 817, left column and page 820).
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy has an excess Si content from -1.70 to 0.10” in claim 8, the range of excess silicon in Ichitani et al. (‘462) is -7.6227 to -1.2827, which overlaps the range of the instant invention. MPEP 2144.05 I.
In regard to claim 9, Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses 0.05 to 1 mass percent copper, which overlpas the range of the instant invention. Additionally, Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses the Si:Mg would range from 0.0075:1 to 0.2:1, which would overlap the range of the instant invention. Additionally, the range of excess silicon in Ichitani et al. (‘462) is -7.6227 to -1.2827, which overlaps the range of the instant invention. MPEP 2144.05 I.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy comprises up to 100% recycled scrap, and wherein the recycled scrap comprises at least 50% of used beverage can scrap, based on the total weight of the recycled scrap” in claim 10, due to the “up to” language, no recycled scrap would be required. Additionally, as long as the composition of the prior art overlaps the composition of the claim, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the recycled scrap comprises at least 25% of mixed alloy scrap” in claim 11, as long as the composition of the prior art overlaps the composition of the claim, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the mixed alloy scrap comprises one or more of a 5xxx series aluminum alloy, a 6xxx series aluminum alloy, and a 7xxx series aluminum alloy” in claim 12, as long as the composition of the prior art overlaps the composition of the claim, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the mixed alloy scrap comprises a ratio of the 5xxx series aluminum alloy to the 6xxx series aluminum alloy from 1:3 to 3:1” in claim 13, as long as the composition of the prior art overlaps the composition of the claim, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy, when in a T4 temper, has a yield strength (Rp0.2) of from 160 MPa to 250 MPa when tested according to ISO 6892-1 (2016) after paint baking at a temperature of 185°C for 20 minutes and 2% pre-straining” in claim 16, Ichitani et al. (‘462) in view of Doroshenko et al. discloses a substantially similar composition. Therefore, the laimed property would be expected. MPEP 2112.01 I.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy has a total elongation of at least 15%, wherein the aluminum alloy has a r(10) value of at least 0.40 in all directions (longitudinal (L), diagonal (D), and/or transverse (T) to a rolling direction), wherein the aluminum alloy has a β bend angle from 40° to 100° for bendability testing according to Specification VDA 238-100” in claim 17, the Examiner notes that Ichitani et al. (‘462) in view of Doroshenko et al. discloses a substantially similar composition. Therefore, the claimed properties would be expected. MPEP 2112.01 I.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy excludes any primary aluminum alloy” in claim 20, [0006] of the instant specification indicates “primary aluminum alloy” to be an alloy made of new materials and thus exclusion of primary aluminum alloy would mean that the alloy is 100% recycled materials. However, this is a processing limitation that would not further limit the composition of the aluminum alloy. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy is produced from a process comprising homogenization, hot rolling, cold rolling, solution heat treatment, pre-aging, and artificial aging” in claim 22, Ichitani et al. (‘462) discloses homogenization, hot rolling, cold rolling, recrystallization (annealing) which is substantially similar to the instant invention (Example 1-1). Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy comprises recycled scrap from one or more of end-of life aluminum articles, mixed automotive scrap, UBC scrap, twitch, and heat exchanger scrap” in claim 25, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the recycled scrap comprises 100% of scrap derived from the end-of life aluminum articles” in claim 27, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-13, 16-17, 20, 22, 25 and 27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
In regard to instant claim 1, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses aluminum base alloys having compositions relative to that of the instant invention as set forth below.
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924
(weight percent)
Overlap
Mg
1 – 2.5
1.1 – 1.6
1.1 – 1.6
Si
0.2 – 3
0.2 – 0.5
0.2 – 0.5
Fe
0.15 – 0.50
0.01 – 1
0.15 – 0.5
Cu
0.001 – 0.9
0.01 – 0.50
0.01 – 0.50
Mn
0.20 – 0.80
0.01 – 0.50
0.20 – 0.50
Cr
0 – 0.15
0.005 – 0.3
0.005 – 0.15
Ti
0 – 0.10
0.01 – 0.30
0.01 – 0.10
V
0 – 0.08
0
0
Zn
0.001 – 0.5
0 – 0.5
0.001 – 0.5
Imp
0 – 0.15
0 – 0.25
0 – 0.15
Al
Balance
Balance
Balance
The Examiner notes that the amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, vanadium, zinc and impurities in the aluminum base alloys disclosed by U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 overlap the amounts of the instant invention, which is prima facie evidence of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the invention to have selected the claimed amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, vanadium, zinc and impurities from the amounts disclosed by U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 because U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy has a ratio of the wt.% of Si:Mg being from 0.05:1 to 0.60:1 and Si + Mn – (Fe/2) being from 0.60 to 1.2” in claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses aluminum alloy compositions such as one comprising 0.3 weight percent silicon, 1.1 weight percent magnesium and 0.50 weight percent iron, which would give a ratio of 0.3:1.1 for Si:Mg and a Si + Mn – (Fe/2) value of 1.15.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy has a total elongation of at least 15%, since the alloy in U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses a substantially similar composition, the claimed elongation would be expected. MPEP 2112.01 I.
In regard to instant claim 3, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses aluminum base alloys having compositions relative to that of the instant invention as set forth below.
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924
(weight percent)
Overlap
Mg
1.4 – 2.4
1.1 – 1.6
1.4 – 1.6
Si
0.30 – 2.5
0.2 – 0.5
0.3 – 0.5
Fe
0.2 – 0.4
0.01 – 1
0.2 – 0.4
Cu
0.05 – 0.75
0.01 – 0.50
0.05 – 0.50
Mn
0.40 – 0.70
0.01 – 0.50
0.40 – 0.50
Cr
0 – 0.1
0.005 – 0.3
0.005– 0.1
Ti
0 – 0.05
0.01 – 0.30
0.01 – 0.05
V
0 – 0.05
0
0
Zn
0.005 – 0.40
0 – 0.5
0.005 – 0.40
Imp
0 – 0.15
0 – 0.25
0 – 0.15
Al
Balance
Balance
Balance
The Examiner notes that the amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, vanadium, zinc and impurities in the aluminum base alloys disclosed by U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 overlap the amounts of the instant invention, which is prima facie evidence of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the invention to have selected the claimed amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, vanadium, zinc and impurities from the amounts disclosed by U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 because U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
In regard to claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses aluminum base alloys having compositions relative to that of the instant invention as set forth below.
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924
(weight percent)
Overlap
Mg
1.25 – 2.5
1.1 – 1.6
1.25 – 1.6
Si
0.2 – 0.8
0.2 – 0.5
0.2 – 0.5
Fe
0.15 – 0.50
0.01 – 1
0.15 – 0.50
Cu
0.01 – 0.30
0.01 – 0.50
0.01 – 0.30
Mn
0.20 – 0.80
0.01 – 0.50
0.20 – 0.50
Cr
0 – 0.15
0.005 – 0.3
0.005 – 0.15
Ti
0 – 0.1
0.01 – 0.30
0.01 – 0.1
V
0 – 0.05
0
0
Zn
0 – 0.50
0 – 0.5
0 – 0.50
Imp
0 – 0.15
0 – 0.25
0 – 0.15
Al
Balance
Balance
Balance
The Examiner notes that the amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, vanadium, zinc and impurities in the aluminum base alloys disclosed by U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 overlap the amounts of the instant invention, which is prima facie evidence of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the invention to have selected the claimed amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, vanadium, zinc and impurities from the amounts disclosed U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 because U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
In regard to claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses aluminum base alloys having compositions relative to that of the instant invention as set forth below
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924
(weight percent)
Overlap
Mg
1.6 – 2.4
1.1 – 1.6
1.6
Si
0.3 – 0.6
0.2 – 0.5
0.3 – 0.5
Fe
0.20 – 0.40
0.01 – 1
0.20 – 0.40
Cu
0.05 – 0.20
0.01 – 0.50
0.05 – 0.20
Mn
0.40 – 0.70
0.01 – 0.50
0.40 – 0.50
Element
Instant Claim
(weight percent)
U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924
(weight percent)
Overlap
Cr
0 – 0.1
0.005 – 0.3
0.005 – 0.1
Ti
0 – 0.05
0.01 – 0.30
0.01 – 0.05
V
0 – 0.03
0
0
Zn
0 – 0.20
0 – 0.5
0 – 0.20
Imp
0 – 0.15
0 – 0.25
0 – 0.15
Al
Balance
Balance
Balance
The Examiner notes that the amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, vanadium, zinc and impurities in the aluminum base alloys disclosed by U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 overlap the amounts of the instant invention or would be close enough to the instant invention to establish prima facie evidence of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the invention to have selected the claimed amounts of magnesium, silicon, iron, copper, manganese, chromium, titanium, vanadium, zinc and impurities from the amounts disclosed U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 because U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
In regard to claim 8, based on the formula for excess silicon at [0093] of the specification, the range of excess silicon within U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 would be from -1.395 to -0.2994 which would be within the range of the instant invention. MPEP 2144.05 I.
In regard to claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses 0.01 to 0.50 mass percent copper, which overlaps the claimed range; U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses 1.1 to 1.6 mass percent magnesium and 0.2 to 0.5 mass percent silicon and thus the ratio would be from 0.2:1.6 to 0.5:1.1, which would overlap the range of the instant invention; and U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 would be from -1.395 to -0.2994, which would overlap the range of the instant invention.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy comprises up to 100% recycled scrap, and wherein the recycled scrap comprises at least 50% of used beverage can scrap, based on the total weight of the recycled scrap” in claim 10, due to the “up to” language, no recycled scrap would be required. Additionally, as long as the composition of the prior art overlaps the composition of the claim, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the recycled scrap comprises at least 25% of mixed alloy scrap” in claim 11, as long as the composition of the prior art overlaps the composition of the claim, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the recycled scrap comprises at least 25% of mixed alloy scrap” in claim 11, as long as the composition of the prior art overlaps the composition of the claim, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the mixed alloy scrap comprises one or more of a 5xxx series aluminum alloy, a 6xxx series aluminum alloy, and a 7xxx series aluminum alloy” in claim 12, as long as the composition of the prior art overlaps the composition of the claim, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the mixed alloy scrap comprises a ratio of the 5xxx series aluminum alloy to the 6xxx series aluminum alloy from 1:3 to 3:1” in claim 13, as long as the composition of the prior art overlaps the composition of the claim, the prior art would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy, when in a T4 temper, has a yield strength (Rp0.2) of from 160 MPa to 250 MPa when tested according to ISO 6892-1 (2016) after paint baking at a temperature of 185°C for 20 minutes and 2% pre-straining” in claim 16, the Examiner notes that U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses a substantially similar composition. Therefore, the claimed properties would be expected. MPEP 2112.01 I.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy has a total elongation of at least 15%, wherein the aluminum alloy has a r(10) value of at least 0.40 in all directions (longitudinal (L), diagonal (D), and/or transverse (T) to a rolling direction), wherein the aluminum alloy has a β bend angle from 40° to 100° for bendability testing according to Specification VDA 238-100” in claim 17, the Examiner notes that U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 discloses a substantially similar composition. Therefore, the claimed properties would be expected. MPEP 2112.01 I.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy excludes any primary aluminum alloy” in claim 20, [0006] of the instant specification indicates “primary aluminum alloy” to be an alloy made of new materials and thus exclusion of primary aluminum alloy would mean that the alloy is 100% recycled materials. However, this is a processing limitation that would not further limit the composition of the aluminum alloy. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy is produced from a process comprising homogenization, hot rolling, cold rolling, solution heat treatment, pre-aging, and artificial aging” in claim 22, U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 would read on this limitation because even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the aluminum alloy comprises recycled scrap from one or more of end-of life aluminum articles, mixed automotive scrap, UBC scrap, twitch, and heat exchanger scrap” in claim 25, U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
With respect to the recitation “wherein the recycled scrap comprises 100% of scrap derived from the end-of life aluminum articles” in claim 27, U.S. Patent No. 11,932,924 would read on the claim at least in terms of obviousness and using recycled scrap would be a processing limitation that not further limit the composition of the final product specified in the claim. MPEP 2113.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/JESSEE R ROE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759