DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
Claims 1 and 4-5, 8-10, 13-14 are pending. Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 4-5, 8-10, 13-14 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed with respect to the rejection of present claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagata et al. (US 5,302,749; “Nagata”) in view of JP 2018-177273 to Toshihiko et al. (“Toshihiko”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made based on Toshihiko in view of newly Nagata as discussed in details in the body of the rejections below.
Any rejections and/or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated in the present Office Action, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018-177273 to Toshihiko et al. (“Toshihiko”) in view of Nagata et al. (US 5,302,749; “Nagata”).
Regarding claim 1, Toshihiko teaches a container suitable for containing dissocyanate resin (para [0016]), of which the container of Toshihiko (Fig. 1, container 2, para [0050]) includes a container body including a metal plate (the metal plate 3, para [0050]); and a resin layer provided on an inner surface of the container body (para [0017] [0050] [0051] [0052], Fig. 1, the resin layer 4 of the inner surface of the container for stabilizing the storage of the dissocyanate resin), and wherein the resin layer contains an epoxy phenol resin (para [0052], Toshihiko teaches the suitable materials for the resin layer include epoxy phenol resin).
As discussed above, Toshihiko teaches a container suitable for containing various dissocyanate resins (para [0016] [0061]), and Toshihiko teaches a container meeting the same structural and material limitations as the instantly claimed container. Toshihiko teaches its container having the inner surface of epoxy phenol resin suppresses poor appearance and coloration during storage (para [0017] [0023] [0024]), and provides the storage stability of the diisocyanate compositions (para [0016]).
But Toshihiko does not specifically teach the inclusion of the specific xylylene diisocyanate composition in which a purity of xylylene diisocyanate is 95% by mass or more, as instantly claimed.
In the same field of dissocyanate resin composition, Nagata teaches a stabilized xylylene diisocyanate composition comprising a xylylene diisocyanate composition in which a purity of xylylene diisocyanate is 99.8% (col. 4, lines, 54-60, col. 5, lines 4-10, Table 1, Examples 1-3), which xylylene diisocyanate composition having purity % overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 95% by mass or more. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Toshihiko in view the teachings of Nagata, to store the xylylene diisocyanate (XDI) composition taught by Nagata in the container taught by Toshihiko (i.e., including the metal container body having a resin layer on an inner surface thereof containing epoxy phenol resin), because Toshihiko teaches its container having a resin layer of epoxy phenol resin on the inner surface provides the storage stability of the diisocyanate compositions and suppresses poor appearance and coloration during storage (para [0017] [0023] [0024] of Toshihiko), motivated by the desire to provide a container package containing a xylylene diisocyanate composition (in which a purity of xylylene diisocyanate is 99.8%, as taught by Nagata) which container package suppresses discoloration and maintains the appearance of the diisocyanate composition during storage, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success of such modification because Toshihiko does not limit the diisocyanate compositions applicable to its container, rather Toshihiko teaches its container is suitable for containing and storing diisocyanate compositions generally, which would have predictably arrived at a satisfactory xylylene diisocyanate composition-containing container that is the same as instantly claimed.
Conclusion
/YAN LAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782