DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1 and 4-5, 8-10, 13-14 are pending.
Claims 4-5, 8-10, 13-14 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the rejection of present claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018-177273 to Toshihiko et al. (“Toshihiko”) in view of Nagata et al. (US 5,302,749; “Nagata”) have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons.
Applicant contends (1) that a person of ordinary skill would have had no motivation to select epoxy phenol resin over the more preferred polyolefin or epoxy resins disclosed in Toshihiko (remarks, page 2, page 3, first para), and (2) the present Application demonstrates, through Tables 1 and 2 in the Examples, that the epoxy phenol resin can particularly excel in suppressing not only the coloring of the polyisocyanate composition itself but also the discoloration of optical lenses produced therefrom, that is not disclosed in Toshihiko or Nagata (remarks, page 3).
In response to applicant’s contention (1), Applicant's arguments have been carefully studied and fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Toshihiko teaches a container suitable for containing dissocyanate resin (para [0016]), of which the container of Toshihiko (Fig. 1, container 2, para [0050]) includes a resin layer provided on an inner surface of the container body (para [0017] [0050] [0051] [0052], Fig. 1, the resin layer 4 of the inner surface of the container for stabilizing the storage of the dissocyanate resin). Toshihiko teaches multiple suitable materials for the resin layer, including epoxy phenol resin and polyolefin (para [0052]). There is no dispute that polyolefin resin is taught as being preferred for particular performance objectives, i.e., low colorability and storage stability (para [0054]). However, such is not a teaching in Toshihiko that epoxy phenol resin is unsuitable for its disclosed resin layer, incompatible with the container, or to be avoided. A preference for one disclosed alternative does not negate that reference’s express teaching another identified alternative may be used, contrary to applicant’s assertion. In the present case, Toshihiko clearly teaches the suitable materials for the resin layer include epoxy phenol resin (para [0052]), and further teaches the listed suitable resins may be used alone or in combination (para [0053]).
In response to applicant’s contention (2), Applicant's arguments and the Examples in Tables 1 and 2 of the present specification have been carefully studied and fully considered, but they are not found persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that Toshihiko and Nagata both fail to recognize that the epoxy phenol resin can particularly excel in suppressing not only the coloring of the polyisocyanate composition itself but also the discoloration of optical lenses produced therefrom, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In summary, in the present case, for the reasons discussed above, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness. Applicant has not demonstrated sufficient objective evidence to show the asserted unexpected advantage of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018-177273 to Toshihiko et al. (“Toshihiko”) in view of Nagata et al. (US 5,302,749; “Nagata”).
Regarding claim 1, Toshihiko teaches a container suitable for containing dissocyanate resin (para [0016]), of which the container of Toshihiko (Fig. 1, container 2, para [0050]) includes a container body including a metal plate (the metal plate 3, para [0050]); and a resin layer provided on an inner surface of the container body (para [0017] [0050] [0051] [0052], Fig. 1, the resin layer 4 of the inner surface of the container for stabilizing the storage of the dissocyanate resin), and wherein the resin layer contains an epoxy phenol resin (para [0052], Toshihiko teaches the suitable materials for the resin layer include epoxy phenol resin).
As discussed above, Toshihiko teaches a container suitable for containing various dissocyanate resins (para [0016] [0061]), and Toshihiko teaches a container meeting the same structural and material limitations as the instantly claimed container. Toshihiko teaches its container having the inner surface of epoxy phenol resin suppresses poor appearance and coloration during storage (para [0017] [0023] [0024]), and provides the storage stability of the diisocyanate compositions (para [0016]).
But Toshihiko does not specifically teach the inclusion of the specific xylylene diisocyanate composition in which a purity of xylylene diisocyanate is 95% by mass or more, as instantly claimed.
In the same field of dissocyanate resin composition, Nagata teaches a stabilized xylylene diisocyanate composition comprising a xylylene diisocyanate composition in which a purity of xylylene diisocyanate is 99.8% (col. 4, lines, 54-60, col. 5, lines 4-10, Table 1, Examples 1-3), which xylylene diisocyanate composition having purity % overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 95% by mass or more. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Toshihiko in view the teachings of Nagata, to store the xylylene diisocyanate (XDI) composition taught by Nagata in the container taught by Toshihiko (i.e., including the metal container body having a resin layer on an inner surface thereof containing epoxy phenol resin), because Toshihiko teaches its container having a resin layer of epoxy phenol resin on the inner surface provides the storage stability of the diisocyanate compositions and suppresses poor appearance and coloration during storage (para [0017] [0023] [0024] of Toshihiko), motivated by the desire to provide a container package containing a xylylene diisocyanate composition (in which a purity of xylylene diisocyanate is 99.8%, as taught by Nagata) which container package suppresses discoloration and maintains the appearance of the diisocyanate composition during storage, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success of such modification because Toshihiko does not limit the diisocyanate compositions applicable to its container, rather Toshihiko teaches its container is suitable for containing and storing diisocyanate compositions generally, which would have predictably arrived at a satisfactory xylylene diisocyanate composition-containing container that is the same as instantly claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YAN LAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782