The amendment filed 6/8/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-13, 18-27 and 31-37 are pending.
Claims 14-17 and 28-30 are canceled.
Claims 1-13, 18-27 and 31-37 stand rejected.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-10, 18-19, 21, 23-24, 26-27, 31-32, 34 and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (Patent No.: US 7813324 B1) in view of Baek et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200059817 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Goel and Baek.
In regard to Claim 1, Goel teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a receiver (Node A 602, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), comprising: determining that a quantity of a first plurality (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) of radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) packets (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. Each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 32-35, FIG. 6), received from a transmitter (Node B 604, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), satisfies a first quantity threshold (The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8), wherein the first quantity threshold (The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) comprises a threshold quantity (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) of RLC PDU packets (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. Each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 32-35, FIG. 6).
Goel teaches performing a decoding attempt for the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6) based at least in part on determining that the quantity of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Goel teaches transmitting, to the transmitter (Node B 604, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), an RLC layer feedback report for the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6) after receiving a second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), wherein the second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) are received after the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), and wherein the RLC layer feedback report is based at least in part on the decoding attempt (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6).
Goel teaches, wherein a quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) satisfies a second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) comprising a second threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8), wherein the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) and the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) are configured together in a same RLC configuration (designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Although Goel teaches a quantity of a first plurality of radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) packets, Goel fails to teach a quantity of a first plurality of packets within an RLC service data unit (SDU), and although Goel teaches the first quantity threshold comprises a threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets, Goel fails to teach wherein the first quantity threshold is signaled to the receiver by the transmitter, and wherein a value of the first quantity threshold is based at least in part on a size of the RLC SDU.
Baek teaches a quantity of a first plurality of packets within an RLC (RLC sublayer, Para. 105. In a system supporting ultra-high-speed transmission such as a 5G communication system, multiple packets may be multiplexed, IP-concatenated, and RLC-concatenated during a TTI as a scheduling unit, Para. 169) service data unit (SDU) (the receiver receives an SDU as concatenated IP packets, Para. 111, FIG. 6. The terminal may decode the total length field (L field) of received downlink packets to recover individual IP packets IP-concatenated in an SDU, Para. 120, 125. After receiving an SDU of concatenated IP packets, the receiver may decode a total length field of the IP header to determine whether the packets are ID-concatenated, Para. 142. The concatenation number denotes a number of IP packets concatenated in the corresponding SDU, Para. 151).
Baek teaches wherein the first quantity threshold is signaled to the receiver by the transmitter (The threshold value may be preconfigured or transmitted from the base station to the terminal, Para. 153, FIG. 19), and wherein a value of the first quantity threshold is based at least in part on a size of the RLC SDU (FIG. 19, the receiver decodes the total length field of an IP header to recover the IP packets only if the size of the received packets (SDU) is less than a predetermined threshold value. In this case, the transmitter is not allowed to perform IP concatenation producing an SDU of a size that is equal to or greater than the threshold value. If the size of the SDU received by the receiver is greater than the threshold value, the receiver may determine that IP concatenation has not been performed, Para. 153, FIG. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baek with the teachings of Goel since Baek provides a technique to inform terminals of threshold values for received SDUs related to decoding packets within SDUs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel to permit terminals to benefit from concatenated packets within SDUs and to obtain threshold values from base stations for decoding the concatenated packets.
In regard to Claim 2, Goel teaches each of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) includes a plurality of forward error correction (FEC) encoded packets (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. The slot based mode of operation may occur when the FEC block size equals a slot, Col. 8, lines 23-25).
In regard to Claim 4, Goel teaches determining that the quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) satisfies the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8); and wherein transmitting the RLC layer feedback report comprises: transmitting, to the transmitter, the RLC layer feedback report (In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6) based at least in part on determining that the quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
In regard to Claim 6, Goel teaches the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) and the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) are correlated (In the MAC layer, slots are numbered and each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 28-32. The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8. Node B identifies slot 606, 640 as requiring acknowledgement, Col. 8, lines 32-35, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 7, Goel teaches a value of the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) is based at least in part on the value of the first quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
In regard to Claim 9, Goel teaches a value of the second quantity threshold is 0 RLC PDU packets (In FIG. 4, Node B 404 sends a slot 406 with a group of ten cells 450 (i.e., cells 1-10) to Node A 402, Col. 6, lines 52-54, FIG. 4). [the examiner notes that no second slot with its own group of cells is sent after slot 406 and before receiving slot 408].
In regard to Claim 10, Goel teaches the RLC layer feedback report includes information identifying an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) for an RLC PDU packet (In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6. In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6) of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 18, Goel teaches An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for determining that a quantity of a first plurality (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) of radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) packets (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. Each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 32-35, FIG. 6), received from a transmitter (Node B 604, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), satisfies a first quantity threshold (The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8), wherein the first quantity threshold (The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) comprises a first threshold quantity (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) of RLC PDU packets (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. Each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 32-35, FIG. 6).
Goel teaches means for performing a decoding attempt for the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6) based at least in part on determining that the quantity of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Goel teaches means for transmitting, to the transmitter (Node B 604, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), an RLC layer feedback report for the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6) after receiving a second plurality of RLC PDU packets from the transmitter (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), wherein the second plurality of RLC PDU packets are received from the transmitter (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) after receiving the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), wherein the RLC layer feedback report is based at least in part on the decoding attempt (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6).
Goel teaches, wherein a quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) satisfies a second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) comprising a second threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8), wherein the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) and the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) are configured together in a same RLC configuration (designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Although Goel teaches a quantity of a first plurality of radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) packets, Goel fails to teach a quantity of a first plurality of packets within an RLC service data unit (SDU), and although Goel teaches the first quantity threshold comprises a threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets, Goel fails to teach wherein the first quantity threshold is signaled to the receiver by the transmitter, and wherein a value of the first quantity threshold is based at least in part on a size of the RLC SDU.
Baek teaches a quantity of a first plurality of packets within an RLC (RLC sublayer, Para. 105. In a system supporting ultra-high-speed transmission such as a 5G communication system, multiple packets may be multiplexed, IP-concatenated, and RLC-concatenated during a TTI as a scheduling unit, Para. 169) service data unit (SDU) (the receiver receives an SDU as concatenated IP packets, Para. 111, FIG. 6. The terminal may decode the total length field (L field) of received downlink packets to recover individual IP packets IP-concatenated in an SDU, Para. 120, 125. After receiving an SDU of concatenated IP packets, the receiver may decode a total length field of the IP header to determine whether the packets are ID-concatenated, Para. 142. The concatenation number denotes a number of IP packets concatenated in the corresponding SDU, Para. 151).
Baek teaches wherein the first quantity threshold is signaled to the receiver by the transmitter (The threshold value may be preconfigured or transmitted from the base station to the terminal, Para. 153, FIG. 19), and wherein a value of the first quantity threshold is based at least in part on a size of the RLC SDU (FIG. 19, the receiver decodes the total length field of an IP header to recover the IP packets only if the size of the received packets (SDU) is less than a predetermined threshold value. In this case, the transmitter is not allowed to perform IP concatenation producing an SDU of a size that is equal to or greater than the threshold value. If the size of the SDU received by the receiver is greater than the threshold value, the receiver may determine that IP concatenation has not been performed, Para. 153, FIG. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baek with the teachings of Goel since Baek provides a technique to inform terminals of threshold values for received SDUs related to decoding packets within SDUs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel to permit terminals to benefit from concatenated packets within SDUs and to obtain threshold values from base stations for decoding the concatenated packets.
In regard to Claim 19, Goel teaches each of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) includes a plurality of forward error correction (FEC) encoded packets (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. The slot based mode of operation may occur when the FEC block size equals a slot, Col. 8, lines 23-25).
In regard to Claim 21, Goel teaches means for determining that the quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) satisfies the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8); and wherein the means for transmitting the RLC layer feedback report comprise: means for transmitting, to the transmitter, the RLC layer feedback report (In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6) based at least in part on determining that the quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
In regard to Claim 23, Goel teaches the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) and the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) are correlated (In the MAC layer, slots are numbered and each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 28-32. The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8. Node B identifies slot 606, 640 as requiring acknowledgement, Col. 8, lines 32-35, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 24, Goel teaches a value of the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) is based at least in part on the value of the first quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
In regard to Claim 26, Goel teaches the second quantity threshold is 0 RLC PDU packets (In FIG. 4, Node B 404 sends a slot 406 with a group of ten cells 450 (i.e., cells 1-10) to Node A 402, Col. 6, lines 52-54, FIG. 4). [the examiner notes that no second slot with its own group of cells is sent after slot 406 and before receiving slot 410].
In regard to Claim 27, Goel teaches the RLC layer feedback report includes information identifying an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) for an RLC PDU packet (In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6. In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6) of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6).
In regard to Claim 31, Goel teaches A receiver (Node A 602, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (memory 210, Col. 3, lines 65-67); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Control circuit 208 may execute sequences of instructions contained in memory 210, Col. 3, lines 65-67), which are configured, individually or in any combination, to: determine that a quantity of a first plurality (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) of radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) packets (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. Each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 32-35, FIG. 6), received from a transmitter (Node B 604, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), satisfies a first quantity threshold (The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8), wherein the first quantity threshold (The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) comprises a first threshold quantity (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) of RLC PDU packets (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. Each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 32-35, FIG. 6).
Goel teaches perform a decoding attempt for the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6) based at least in part on determining that the quantity of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Goel teaches transmit, to the transmitter (Node B 604, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), an RLC layer feedback report for the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6) after receiving a second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), wherein the second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) are received after the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), wherein the RLC layer feedback report is based at least in part on the decoding attempt (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6).
Goel teaches, wherein a quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) satisfies a second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) comprising a second threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8), wherein the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) and the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) are configured together in a same RLC configuration (designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Although Goel teaches a quantity of a first plurality of radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) packets, Goel fails to teach a quantity of a first plurality of packets within an RLC service data unit (SDU), and although Goel teaches, the first quantity threshold comprises a threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets, Goel fails to teach wherein the first quantity threshold is signaled to the receiver by the transmitter, and wherein a value of the first quantity threshold is based at least in part on a size of the RLC SDU.
Baek teaches a quantity of a first plurality of packets within an RLC (RLC sublayer, Para. 105. In a system supporting ultra-high-speed transmission such as a 5G communication system, multiple packets may be multiplexed, IP-concatenated, and RLC-concatenated during a TTI as a scheduling unit, Para. 169) service data unit (SDU) (the receiver receives an SDU as concatenated IP packets, Para. 111, FIG. 6. The terminal may decode the total length field (L field) of received downlink packets to recover individual IP packets IP-concatenated in an SDU, Para. 120, 125. After receiving an SDU of concatenated IP packets, the receiver may decode a total length field of the IP header to determine whether the packets are ID-concatenated, Para. 142. The concatenation number denotes a number of IP packets concatenated in the corresponding SDU, Para. 151).
Baek teaches wherein the first quantity threshold is signaled to the receiver by the transmitter (The threshold value may be preconfigured or transmitted from the base station to the terminal, Para. 153, FIG. 19), and wherein a value of the first quantity threshold is based at least in part on a size of the RLC SDU (FIG. 19, the receiver decodes the total length field of an IP header to recover the IP packets only if the size of the received packets (SDU) is less than a predetermined threshold value. In this case, the transmitter is not allowed to perform IP concatenation producing an SDU of a size that is equal to or greater than the threshold value. If the size of the SDU received by the receiver is greater than the threshold value, the receiver may determine that IP concatenation has not been performed, Para. 153, FIG. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baek with the teachings of Goel since Baek provides a technique to inform terminals of threshold values for received SDUs related to decoding packets within SDUs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel to permit terminals to benefit from concatenated packets within SDUs and to obtain threshold values from base stations for decoding the concatenated packets.
In regard to Claim 32, Goel teaches each of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) includes a plurality of forward error correction (FEC) encoded packets (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. The slot based mode of operation may occur when the FEC block size equals a slot, Col. 8, lines 23-25).
In regard to Claim 34, Goel teaches the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver to: determine that the quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) satisfies the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8); and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the receiver to transmit the RLC layer feedback report, are configured to cause the receiver to: transmit, to the transmitter, the RLC layer feedback report (In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6) based at least in part on determining that the quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
In regard to Claim 36, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Goel teaches a method.
Goel fails to teach wherein a set of multiple packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) PDUs is concatenated into the RLC SDU based at least in part on a size of the set of multiple PDCP PDUs being less than or equal to a size threshold.
Baek teaches wherein a set of multiple packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) PDUs is concatenated into the RLC SDU based at least in part on a size of the set of multiple PDCP PDUs being less than or equal to a size threshold (FIG. 20 is a diagram illustrating an exemplary format of a PDCP header (L2 Header) including a concatenation indicator (CI) and a concatenation number (number of concatenated packets (NCP)), Para. 163, FIG. 20. Perform an IP-concatenated packet de-concatenation procedure if a size of received packets (SDU) is greater than a threshold value, Para. 155. Perform an IP-concatenated packet de-concatenation procedure if a size of received packets (SDU) is less than a threshold value, Para. 156).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baek with the teachings of Goel since Baek provides a technique to inform terminals of threshold values for received SDUs related to decoding packets within SDUs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel to permit terminals to benefit from concatenated packets within SDUs and to obtain threshold values from base stations for decoding the concatenated packets.
In regard to Claim 37, Goel teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions (sequences of instructions contained in memory 210, Col. 3, lines 65-67) for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a receiver (Control circuit 208 may execute sequences of instructions contained in memory 210, Col. 3, lines 65-67), cause the receiver to: determine that a quantity of a first plurality (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) of radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) packets (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. Each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 32-35, FIG. 6), received from a transmitter (Node B 604, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), satisfies a first quantity threshold (The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8), wherein the first quantity threshold (The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) comprises a first threshold quantity (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) of RLC PDU packets (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. Each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 32-35, FIG. 6).
Goel teaches perform a decoding attempt for the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6) based at least in part on determining that the quantity of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Goel teaches transmit, to the transmitter (Node B 604, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), an RLC layer feedback report for the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6) after receiving a second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), wherein the second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) are received after the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6), wherein the RLC layer feedback report is based at least in part on the decoding attempt (a Forward Error Correction (FEC) technique implemented in node 200 (shown in FIG. 2). The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6).
Goel teaches, wherein a quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) satisfies a second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) comprising a second threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8), wherein the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) and the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6. The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8) are configured together in a same RLC configuration (designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Although Goel teaches a quantity of a first plurality of radio link control (RLC) protocol data unit (PDU) packets, Goel fails to teach a quantity of a first plurality of packets within an RLC service data unit (SDU), and although Goel teaches wherein the first quantity threshold comprises a threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets, Goel fails to teach wherein the first quantity threshold is signaled to the receiver by the transmitter.
Baek teaches a quantity of a first plurality of packets within an RLC (RLC sublayer, Para. 105. In a system supporting ultra-high-speed transmission such as a 5G communication system, multiple packets may be multiplexed, IP-concatenated, and RLC-concatenated during a TTI as a scheduling unit, Para. 169) service data unit (SDU) (the receiver receives an SDU as concatenated IP packets, Para. 111, FIG. 6. The terminal may decode the total length field (L field) of received downlink packets to recover individual IP packets IP-concatenated in an SDU, Para. 120, 125. After receiving an SDU of concatenated IP packets, the receiver may decode a total length field of the IP header to determine whether the packets are ID-concatenated, Para. 142. The concatenation number denotes a number of IP packets concatenated in the corresponding SDU, Para. 151).
Baek teaches wherein the first quantity threshold is signaled to the receiver by the transmitter (The threshold value may be preconfigured or transmitted from the base station to the terminal, Para. 153, FIG. 19), and wherein a value of the first quantity threshold is based at least in part on a size of the RLC SDU (FIG. 19, the receiver decodes the total length field of an IP header to recover the IP packets only if the size of the received packets (SDU) is less than a predetermined threshold value. In this case, the transmitter is not allowed to perform IP concatenation producing an SDU of a size that is equal to or greater than the threshold value. If the size of the SDU received by the receiver is greater than the threshold value, the receiver may determine that IP concatenation has not been performed, Para. 153, FIG. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baek with the teachings of Goel since Baek provides a technique to inform terminals of threshold values for received SDUs related to decoding packets within SDUs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel to permit terminals to benefit from concatenated packets within SDUs and to obtain threshold values from base stations for decoding the concatenated packets.
Claim(s) 3, 20 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel in view of Baek, and further in view of Kimura et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220131559 A1), hereafter referred to as Kimura.
In regard to Claim 3, Goel teaches the plurality of FEC encoded packets (The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6), included in each of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6).
Goel in view of Baek fails to teach FEC encoded using a rateless network code.
Kimura teaches the plurality of FEC encoded packets are FEC encoded using a rateless network code (For FEC in the upper layer by the upper layer FEC encoding unit 301, it is desirable to apply the FEC belonging to types of FEC codes having a capability of erasure correction, rate-less codes (Rateless Codes), Para. 59, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kimura with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Kimura provides a technique for utilizing rateless codes of FEC codes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit efficient coding and decoding for prompt FEC processing in wireless conditions that are provided by rateless codes.
In regard to Claim 20, Goel teaches the plurality of FEC encoded packets (The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6), included in each of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6).
Goel in view of Baek fails to teach FEC encoded using a rateless network code.
Kimura teaches the plurality of FEC encoded packets are FEC encoded using a rateless network code (For FEC in the upper layer by the upper layer FEC encoding unit 301, it is desirable to apply the FEC belonging to types of FEC codes having a capability of erasure correction, rate-less codes (Rateless Codes), Para. 59, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kimura with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Kimura provides a technique for utilizing rateless codes of FEC codes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit efficient coding and decoding for prompt FEC processing in wireless conditions that are provided by rateless codes.
In regard to Claim 33, Goel teaches the plurality of FEC encoded packets (The FEC is an error control system that can correct corrupted data on the receiving end of a data transmission and works on fixed-size blocks of bits. An uncorrected error is detected by the FEC in a slot that includes a RACK (i.e., the slot includes one or more cells that require ARQ), Col. 5, lines 35-46, FIGS. 2, 6. In slot 606, cell 2 is corrupted, Col. 8, lines 27-29, FIG. 6), included in each of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6).
Goel in view of Baek fails to teach FEC encoded using a rateless network code.
Kimura teaches the plurality of FEC encoded packets are FEC encoded using a rateless network code (For FEC in the upper layer by the upper layer FEC encoding unit 301, it is desirable to apply the FEC belonging to types of FEC codes having a capability of erasure correction, rate-less codes (Rateless Codes), Para. 59, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kimura with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Kimura provides a technique for utilizing rateless codes of FEC codes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit efficient coding and decoding for prompt FEC processing in wireless conditions that are provided by rateless codes.
Claim(s) 5, 22 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel in view of Baek, and further in view of Sammour et al. (Pub. No.: US 20090149189 A1), hereafter referred to as Sammour.
In regard to Claim 5, Goel teaches the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) and the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) are associated with an RLC layer configuration (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. The scalable and adaptive ARQ is accomplished at the Media Access Control (MAC) layer of the data transmission protocol. In the MAC layer, slots are numbered and each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 28-32. The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Goel in view of Baek fails to teach wherein the RLC layer configuration is configured at a radio resource control (RRC) layer for the receiver.
Sammour teaches wherein the RLC layer configuration is configured at a radio resource control (RRC) layer for the receiver (The RRC sublayer provides PDCP and RLC configuration parameters for the SRB and data radio blocks (DRBs) as part of the radio resource configuration for configuration of the PDCP and RLC, Para. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sammour with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Sammour provides a technique for utilizing RRC to configure RLC parameters, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit configuration of characteristics in the link layer communications to be optimized according to wireless radio conditions.
In regard to Claim 22, Goel teaches the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) and the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) are associated with an RLC layer configuration (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. The scalable and adaptive ARQ is accomplished at the Media Access Control (MAC) layer of the data transmission protocol. In the MAC layer, slots are numbered and each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 28-32. The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Goel in view of Baek fails to teach wherein the RLC layer configuration is configured at a radio resource control (RRC) layer for the apparatus.
Sammour teaches wherein the RLC layer configuration is configured at a radio resource control (RRC) layer for the apparatus (The RRC sublayer provides PDCP and RLC configuration parameters for the SRB and data radio blocks (DRBs) as part of the radio resource configuration for configuration of the PDCP and RLC, Para. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sammour with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Sammour provides a technique for utilizing RRC to configure RLC parameters, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit configuration of characteristics in the link layer communications to be optimized according to wireless radio conditions.
In regard to Claim 35, Goel teaches the first quantity threshold (slot 606, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) and the second quantity threshold (slot 640, with ten (10) cells, Col. 8, lines 25-27, FIG. 6) are associated with an RLC layer configuration (Each node in network 100 may be a software defined radio (SDR), Col. 3, lines 37-38. The scalable and adaptive ARQ is accomplished at the Media Access Control (MAC) layer of the data transmission protocol. In the MAC layer, slots are numbered and each slot includes a group of data link frames (or cells), Col. 4, lines 28-32. The values for the number of cells in a slot may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN), Col. 6, lines 5-8).
Goel in view of Baek fails to teach wherein the RLC layer configuration is configured at a radio resource control (RRC) layer for the receiver.
Sammour teaches wherein the RLC layer configuration is configured at a radio resource control (RRC) layer for the receiver (The RRC sublayer provides PDCP and RLC configuration parameters for the SRB and data radio blocks (DRBs) as part of the radio resource configuration for configuration of the PDCP and RLC, Para. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sammour with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Sammour provides a technique for utilizing RRC to configure RLC parameters, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit configuration of characteristics in the link layer communications to be optimized according to wireless radio conditions.
Claim(s) 8 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel in view of Baek, and further in view of Chun et al. (Pub. No.: US 20090103512 A1), hereafter referred to as Chun.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Goel in view of Baek teaches the second quantity threshold.
Goel in view of Baek teach fails to teach a value of the second quantity threshold is 6 RLC PDU packets.
Chun teaches a value of the second quantity threshold is 6 RLC PDU packets (in FIG. 8, sum of data exceeds the threshold value at the time when PDU 6 to PDU 13 are transmitted after the polling procedure is performed through PDU 5, Para. 71, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chun with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Chun provides a technique for a threshold for data that can be crossed at 6 PDUs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit management of link layer communications with respect to 6 PDUs of data.
In regard to Claim 25, as presented in the rejection of Claim 18, Goel in view of Baek teaches the second quantity threshold.
Goel in view of Baek teach fails to teach a value of the second quantity threshold is 6 RLC PDU packets.
Chun teaches a value of the second quantity threshold is 6 RLC PDU packets (in FIG. 8, sum of data exceeds the threshold value at the time when PDU 6 to PDU 13 are transmitted after the polling procedure is performed through PDU 5, Para. 71, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chun with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Chun provides a technique for a threshold for data that can be crossed at 6 PDUs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit management of link layer communications with respect to 6 PDUs of data.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel in view of Baek, and further in view of Avudainayagam et al. (Pub. No.: US 20150138999 A1), hereafter referred to as Avudainayagam.
In regard to Claim 11, Goel teaches the RLC layer feedback report (In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6).
Goel in view of Baek fails to teach the feedback report includes information identifying a quantity of failed RLC PDU packets, of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets, for the decoding attempt.
Avudainayagam teaches the feedback report includes information identifying a quantity of failed RLC PDU packets (The ACK data 280 may be referred to as a selective acknowledgement (SACK) message. The SACK message may comprise of a block acknowledgement (BA) bitmap where each bit represents an acknowledgment or negative acknowledgment of one or more FEC encoded blocks. In the BA bitmap, a "1" may indicate successful reception and a "0" may indicate an error in that FEC encoded block, Para. 36, FIG. 2), of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (A communication system may limit a burst of PPDUs to 50 FEC encoded blocks, Para. 72), for the decoding attempt (a receiving device to selectively acknowledge which of the FEC encoded blocks has been decoded correctly, Para. 36, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Avudainayagam with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Avudainayagam provides a technique for selectively acknowledging or negatively acknowledging a number of FEC encoded blocks through bits within a single message, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit a node specify a number of cells within a slot that are corrupted and failed to be decoded.
In regard to Claim 12, Goel teaches the RLC layer feedback report (In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6).
Goel in view of Baek fails to teach the feedback report includes information identifying a quantity of failed forward error correction (FEC) encoded packets, included in an RLC PDU packet of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets, for the decoding attempt.
Avudainayagam teaches the feedback report includes information identifying a quantity of failed forward error correction (FEC) encoded packets (The ACK data 280 may be referred to as a selective acknowledgement (SACK) message. The SACK message may comprise of a block acknowledgement (BA) bitmap where each bit represents an acknowledgment or negative acknowledgment of one or more FEC encoded blocks. In the BA bitmap, a "1" may indicate successful reception and a "0" may indicate an error in that FEC encoded block, Para. 36, FIG. 2), included in an RLC PDU packet (a physical layer (PHY) protocol data unit (PPDU) that includes multiple FEC encoded blocks, Para. 5) of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (A communication system may limit a burst of PPDUs to 50 FEC encoded blocks, Para. 72), for the decoding attempt (a receiving device to selectively acknowledge which of the FEC encoded blocks has been decoded correctly, Para. 36, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Avudainayagam with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Avudainayagam provides a technique for selectively acknowledging or negatively acknowledging a number of FEC encoded blocks through bits within a single message, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit a node specify a number of cells within a slot that are corrupted and failed to be decoded.
In regard to Claim 13, Goel teaches the RLC layer feedback report (In the next transmission opportunity, e.g., slot 608, from Node A to Node B, Node A indicates that slot 606 was not correctly received, e.g., nextExpectedSlot=11 via the field 616, Col. 8, lines 35-38, FIG. 6).
Goel in view of Baek fails to teach the feedback report includes information identifying an index associated with a failed forward error correction (FEC) encoded packet, included in an RLC PDU packet of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets, for the decoding attempt.
Avudainayagam teaches the feedback report includes information identifying an index associated with a failed forward error correction (FEC) encoded packet (The ACK data 280 may be referred to as a selective acknowledgement (SACK) message. The SACK message may comprise of a block acknowledgement (BA) bitmap where each bit represents an acknowledgment or negative acknowledgment of one or more FEC encoded blocks. In the BA bitmap, a "1" may indicate successful reception and a "0" may indicate an error in that FEC encoded block, Para. 36, FIG. 2), included in an RLC PDU packet (a physical layer (PHY) protocol data unit (PPDU) that includes multiple FEC encoded blocks, Para. 5) of the first plurality of RLC PDU packets (A communication system may limit a burst of PPDUs to 50 FEC encoded blocks, Para. 72), for the decoding attempt (a receiving device to selectively acknowledge which of the FEC encoded blocks has been decoded correctly, Para. 36, FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Avudainayagam with the teachings of Goel in view of Baek since Avudainayagam provides a technique for selectively acknowledging or negatively acknowledging a number of FEC encoded blocks through bits within a single message, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Goel in view of Baek to permit a node specify a number of cells within a slot that are corrupted and failed to be decoded.
Response to Arguments
I. New Citations of Reference Responsive to Amendment
Goel teaches in Col. 8, lines 25-27 and FIG. 6: “As shown in FIG. 6, Node B 604 sends four consecutive slots 606, 640, 650, and 660, each with ten (10) cells to Node A 602” (emphasis added). Goel teaches in Col. 6, lines 5-8: “The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN)” (emphasis added). A slot 640 with ten cells where the number of cells in the slot is the same as a value designated in a communications plan, is substantively the same as a quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies a second quantity threshold comprising a second threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets of Claim 1.
Goel teaches in Col. 8, lines 25-27 and FIG. 6: “As shown in FIG. 6, Node B 604 sends four consecutive slots 606, 640, 650, and 660, each with ten (10) cells to Node A 602” (emphasis added). Goel teaches in Col. 6, lines 5-8: “The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN)” (emphasis added). A slot 606 with ten cells where the number of cells in the slot is the same as the number of cells in slot 640 and is the value designated in a communications plan, is substantively the same as the first quantity threshold and the second quantity threshold are configured together in a same RLC configuration of Claim 1.
II. Statement Regarding Substance of Interview
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Pages 12-13 of the Remarks present the argument that The Examiner agreed that the proposed amendments, substantially included in this response, overcome the applied references. This argument is not persuasive. During the interview, the examiner presented that a first quantity threshold and a second quantity threshold having values that are different, do not appear to be taught by the references applied in the previous office action. The current amendment does not positively recite this aspect of the proposed amendment. The current amended Claim 1 recites: “wherein the first quantity threshold and the second quantity threshold are configured together in a same RLC configuration” (emphasis added). This permits the possibility where the “first quantity threshold” and the “second quantity threshold” are the same quantity threshold.
III. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 13 of the Remarks presents the argument that Applicant respectfully submits that GOEL and BAEK do not disclose or suggest each and every feature recited in amended claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. Goel teaches in Col. 8, lines 25-27 and FIG. 6: “As shown in FIG. 6, Node B 604 sends four consecutive slots 606, 640, 650, and 660, each with ten (10) cells to Node A 602” (emphasis added). Goel teaches in Col. 6, lines 5-8: “The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN)” (emphasis added). A slot 640 with ten cells where the number of cells in the slot is the same as a value designated in a communications plan, is substantively the same as a quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies a second quantity threshold comprising a second threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets of Claim 1.
Goel teaches in Col. 8, lines 25-27 and FIG. 6: “As shown in FIG. 6, Node B 604 sends four consecutive slots 606, 640, 650, and 660, each with ten (10) cells to Node A 602” (emphasis added). Goel teaches in Col. 6, lines 5-8: “The values for the number of cells in a slot and the number of cells in a group (i.e., the number of cells per ACK) may be designated in a communications plan (COMPLAN)” (emphasis added). A slot 606 with ten cells where the number of cells in the slot is the same as the number of cells in slot 640 and is the value designated in a communications plan, is substantively the same as the first quantity threshold and the second quantity threshold are configured together in a same RLC configuration of Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
OREN (Pub. No.: US 20170171069 A1) teaches wherein a quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies a second quantity threshold comprising a second threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets, wherein the first quantity threshold and the second quantity threshold are configured together in a same RLC configuration (Control processing circuit 306 may utilize a set of PERMSDU thresholds in a similar capacity as to lookup table 500, such as by assigning a set of PERMSDU thresholds where every pair of PERMSDU thresholds defines an AMSDU size “region” and each region is assigned a specific integer-valued x consistent with the optimal AMSU size x for PERMSDU values within the AMSDUD size region (i.e. falling between the pair of PERMSDU thresholds). Control processing circuit 306 may then compare the observed PERMSDU to the set of thresholds to determine which pair of thresholds the observed PERMSDU value falls between and subsequently select the assigned x value as the AMSDU size, Para. 96, FIGS. 3, 5).
Liu (Pub. No.: US 20120314696 A1) teaches wherein a quantity of the second plurality of RLC PDU packets satisfies a second quantity threshold comprising a second threshold quantity of RLC PDU packets, wherein the first quantity threshold and the second quantity threshold are configured together in a same RLC configuration (different fragmentation thresholds are utilized for the regular mode and the VLR mode, Para. 103, FIG. 2. At block 254, an MSDU is received, Para. 105, FIG. 4. At block 262, it is determined whether a length of the MSDU exceeds the first fragmentation threshold corresponding to the regular mode, Para. 106, FIG. 4. At block 274, it is determined whether a length of the MSDU exceeds the second fragmentation threshold corresponding to the VLR mode, Para. 107, FIG. 4).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
8-8-2026
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477