Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, submitted on 10/09/2025, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 20200313932).
Regarding claim 1, Sun discloses a determination method, comprising:
determining a comb and an orthogonal cover code of a positioning reference signal (a comb structure may be used in which SRS is transmitted in one or more REs within a symbol. UE may be configured to transmit SRS with OCC to support larger multiplexing capacity. For downlink channel estimation with uplink channel reciprocity or uplink positioning, the UE 115 may need to transmit a legacy SRS waveform; [0055, 0097]); and
determining, based on a value of the comb and a feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal (UE may have a second SRS pattern 925 in which the second UE may use the same comb4 pattern that has SRS REs 930 every 4th RE and SRS REs 930 included in each of the first symbol 910 and the second symbol 915 at a same RE offset as the first UE. In such cases, for each OFDM symbol in an SRS resource, the SRS may be expanded to K symbols and the K-symbol time domain OCC may be applied. Accordingly, the first UE may transmit SRS REs 920 in the same resource location (e.g., within the same symbols and REs) as the second UE may transmit SRS REs 930, however, by using the OCC mask, the SRS transmissions from the first UE and the second UE may avoid interfering with each other; [0108]).
Regarding claim 3, Sun discloses wherein the feature of the orthogonal cover code comprises at least one of a type, a time domain length, a time domain interval, and a frequency domain length; and the type comprises at least one of a time domain orthogonal cover code, a frequency domain orthogonal cover code, and a time-frequency domain orthogonal cover code (When frequency hopping or repetition is used for SRS with staggered SRS symbols or SRS using time domain OCC, the repetitions and hopping is applied in groups of SRS where each group of SRS includes all SRS transmissions belonging to one set of staggered SRS and/or covering all symbols spanning one time-domain OCC; [0095]).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Frenne et al. (US 20210328846).
Regarding claim 8, Sun does not expressly disclose wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 1, 1; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 2, 2, 1, 1, 3, 3; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 6, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 3, 3, 1, 1, 4, 4, 2, 2, 5, 5; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 8, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 4, 4, 2, 2, 6, 6, 1, 1, 5, 5, 3, 3, 7, 7; and in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 12, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 6, 6, 3, 3, 9, 9, 1, 1, 7, 7, 4, 4, 10, 10, 2, 2, 8, 8, 5, 5, 11, 11.
In an analogous art, Frenne discloses wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 1, 1; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 2, 2, 1, 1, 3, 3; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 6, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 3, 3, 1, 1, 4, 4, 2, 2, 5, 5; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 8, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 4, 4, 2, 2, 6, 6, 1, 1, 5, 5, 3, 3, 7, 7; and in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 12, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 6, 6, 3, 3, 9, 9, 1, 1, 7, 7, 4, 4, 10, 10, 2, 2, 8, 8, 5, 5, 11, 11 (FIG. 3 illustrates NR mapping of four DM-RS ports on a resource block and on a single OFDM symbol, where the orthogonal cover codes (OCCs) of length-2 are used within each CDM group to orthogonalize the DM-RS sequences that are mapped on the same subcarriers. As seen in FIG. 3, Type 1 mapping of the DM-RS sequence (r(m), m=0, 1, . . . ) has a comb structure with two CDM groups, and further, has a denser pattern in the frequency-domain than the Type 2 mapping, which use three CDM groups; [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Frenne into the system of Sun in order to allow for toggling the SCID to use by DCI even though more than one CDM group is used for the DM-RS for the UE (Frenne; [0061]).
Regarding claim 10, Sun does not expressly disclose wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 1, 0, 1; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 2, 1, 3, 0, 2, 1, 3; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 6, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5, 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 8, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 4, 2, 6, 1, 5, 3, 7, 0, 4, 2, 6, 1, 5, 3, 7; and in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 12, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 6, 3, 9, 1, 7, 4, 10, 2, 8, 5, 11, 0, 6, 3, 9, 1, 7, 4, 10, 2, 8, 5, 11.
In an analogous art, Frenne discloses wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 1, 0, 1; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 2, 1, 3, 0, 2, 1, 3; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 6, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5, 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 8, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 4, 2, 6, 1, 5, 3, 7, 0, 4, 2, 6, 1, 5, 3, 7; and in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 12, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 6, 3, 9, 1, 7, 4, 10, 2, 8, 5, 11, 0, 6, 3, 9, 1, 7, 4, 10, 2, 8, 5, 11 (FIG. 3 illustrates NR mapping of four DM-RS ports on a resource block and on a single OFDM symbol, where the orthogonal cover codes (OCCs) of length-2 are used within each CDM group to orthogonalize the DM-RS sequences that are mapped on the same subcarriers. As seen in FIG. 3, Type 1 mapping of the DM-RS sequence (r(m), m=0, 1, . . . ) has a comb structure with two CDM groups, and further, has a denser pattern in the frequency-domain than the Type 2 mapping, which use three CDM groups; [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Frenne into the system of Sun in order to allow for toggling the SCID to use by DCI even though more than one CDM group is used for the DM-RS for the UE (Frenne; [0061]).
Claim(s) 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Xiong et al. (US 20210014011).
Regarding claim 9, Sun does not expressly disclose wherein, wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 1, 1; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 0, 0, 2, 2, 2, 2, 1, 1, 1, 1, 3, 3, 3, 3; and in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 6, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 0, 0, 3, 3, 3, 3, 1, 1, 1, 1, 4, 4, 4, 4, 2, 2, 2, 2, 5, 5, 5, 5.
In an analogous art, Xiong discloses wherein, wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 1, 1; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 0, 0, 2, 2, 2, 2, 1, 1, 1, 1, 3, 3, 3, 3; and in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 6, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 0, 0, 3, 3, 3, 3, 1, 1, 1, 1, 4, 4, 4, 4, 2, 2, 2, 2, 5, 5, 5, 5 (the DMRS port configuration information may include at least one of: a sequence type, for example, indicating whether it is a ZC sequence, a gold sequence and the like; a cyclic shift interval; a sequence length (i.e., the subcarriers occupied by a DMRS sequence); a time domain orthogonal cover code (TD-OCC), for example, the TD-OCC having a length of 2 may be [+1 −1], [−1,+1]; a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC), for example, the FD-OCC having a length of 2 may be [+1 −1], [−1,+1]; and a comb configuration, which may include a comb size and/or a comb shift, for example, if the comb size is 4, and the offset is 0, it indicates the 0th RE of every 4 REs in the DMRS sequence, and if the offset is 1, it indicates the 1st RE of every 4 REs in the DMRS sequence; [0639]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Xiong into the system of Sun in order to reduce signaling overhead by allowing the UE to reuse the defined mapping relation between the preamble and the PUSCH resources in the contention-based two-step random access (Xiong; [0679]).
Regarding claim 11, Sun does not expressly disclose wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 1, 0, 1, 0, 1, 0, 1; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 2, 1, 3, 0, 2, 1, 3, 0, 2, 1, 3, 0, 2, 1, 3; and in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 6, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5, 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5, 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5, 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5.
In an analogous art, Xiong discloses wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 1, 0, 1, 0, 1, 0, 1; in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 2, 1, 3, 0, 2, 1, 3, 0, 2, 1, 3, 0, 2, 1, 3; and in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 4 and the value of the comb being 6, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5, 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5, 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5, 0, 3, 1, 4, 2, 5 (the DMRS port configuration information may include at least one of: a sequence type, for example, indicating whether it is a ZC sequence, a gold sequence and the like; a cyclic shift interval; a sequence length (i.e., the subcarriers occupied by a DMRS sequence); a time domain orthogonal cover code (TD-OCC), for example, the TD-OCC having a length of 2 may be [+1 −1], [−1,+1]; a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC), for example, the FD-OCC having a length of 2 may be [+1 −1], [−1,+1]; and a comb configuration, which may include a comb size and/or a comb shift, for example, if the comb size is 4, and the offset is 0, it indicates the 0th RE of every 4 REs in the DMRS sequence, and if the offset is 1, it indicates the 1st RE of every 4 REs in the DMRS sequence; [0639]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Xiong into the system of Sun in order to reduce signaling overhead by allowing the UE to reuse the defined mapping relation between the preamble and the PUSCH resources in the contention-based two-step random access (Xiong; [0679]).
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Shin et al. (US 20200146000).
Regarding claim 12, Sun does not expressly disclose wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the frequency domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 2; and in response to the frequency domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 4, 2.
In an analogous art, Shin discloses wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the frequency domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 2; and in response to the frequency domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 4, 2 (DMRS type A (d-10) is a type that supports up to four orthogonal DMRS ports with a cyclic shift (CS) length 2 structure in Comb 2 structure. A DMRS type B (d-30) is a structure in which an orthogonal cover codes (OCC) is applied in two REs adjacent to a frequency axis and an FDM is applied to support up to six orthogonal DMRS ports. Both patterns may be used in the sidelink, or only one of the two types of patterns may be selected and supported. If both two patterns are supported, the configuration for the two patterns may be pre-configured in the resource pool. If the fixed DMRS pattern is configured to be used for the resource pool configuration, the DMRS pattern in time in a PSSCH region may be determined as a DMRS pattern corresponding to dmrs-AdditionalPosition=3 by a “duration in sidelink symbol” based on Table 24 in consideration of a high-speed transmission environment of the sidelink. If dmrs-AdditionalPosition is 0, 1, 2, and 3, it indicates that the DMRS is transmitted with 1, 2, 3, and 4 symbols, respectively; [0228-0231]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Shin into the system of Sun in order to effectively perform automatic gain control for control and data signal reception by a UE in an environment in which a variety of numerologies are supported (Shin; [0027]).
Regarding claim 13, Sun does not expressly disclose wherein the determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 2, 2; and in response to the type of the orthogonal cover code being time-frequency domain orthogonal cover code, the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 4, 4, 2, 2.
In an analogous art, Shin discloses disclose wherein, determining, based on the value of the comb and the feature of the orthogonal cover code, a resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal, comprises at least one of: in response to the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 2, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 2, 2; and in response to the type of the orthogonal cover code being time-frequency domain orthogonal cover code, the time domain length of the orthogonal cover code being 2 and the value of the comb being 4, the resource element offset corresponding to each symbol corresponding to the positioning reference signal is successively 0, 0, 4, 4, 2, 2 (DMRS type A (d-10) is a type that supports up to four orthogonal DMRS ports with a cyclic shift (CS) length 2 structure in Comb 2 structure. A DMRS type B (d-30) is a structure in which an orthogonal cover codes (OCC) is applied in two REs adjacent to a frequency axis and an FDM is applied to support up to six orthogonal DMRS ports. Both patterns may be used in the sidelink, or only one of the two types of patterns may be selected and supported. If both two patterns are supported, the configuration for the two patterns may be pre-configured in the resource pool. If the fixed DMRS pattern is configured to be used for the resource pool configuration, the DMRS pattern in time in a PSSCH region may be determined as a DMRS pattern corresponding to dmrs-AdditionalPosition=3 by a “duration in sidelink symbol” based on Table 24 in consideration of a high-speed transmission environment of the sidelink. If dmrs-AdditionalPosition is 0, 1, 2, and 3, it indicates that the DMRS is transmitted with 1, 2, 3, and 4 symbols, respectively; [0228-0231]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Shin into the system of Sun in order to effectively perform automatic gain control for control and data signal reception by a UE in an environment in which a variety of numerologies are supported (Shin; [0027]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 14, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Dependent Claim 4, if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, would comprise a combination of elements which is not taught by the prior art of record. The same remarks apply to dependent claims 5-7, 14, and 18 mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Frank et al. (US 20130315168), “Method And Apparatus For Generating Reference Signals For Accurate Time-Difference Of Arrival Estimation.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413