DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Based to the Applicant’s REMARKS and Amendment filed on 06/03/2026 for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 filed on 06/15/2026, this office action considers -
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-22, 25-26, 29-39 and 55-58 are pending; and
Claims 5-6, 9-10, 23-24, 27-28, 40-54, and 59-72 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks, filed 03/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11-22, 25-26, 29-39 and 55-58 has been considered to be persuasive. Accordingly previous rejection under 35 US 103 by Go in view Zhang is withdrawn.
However, after further search and consideration a new rejection under 35 USC 102 as anticipated by Zhang is made for independent claims 1, 19, 37 and 55.
Please see Section 6 presented below.
Dependent claims are rejected for the same reason as above.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 19-21, 37-39 and 55-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20220279460 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘ZHANG’).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3 UE 106, or Fig. 7A UE 106),
receiving, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating that the UE is configured to identify a default uplink beam or a default pathloss reference signal (PL RS) (
Fig. 14, [0120] At 1402, a UE, such as UE 106, may determine whether a pathloss reference signal (RS) has been configured in a component carrier (CC). In some embodiments, the determination may be responsive to the UE determining that spatial relationship information for a default transmission beam has not been configured by a base station, such as base station 102 and/or gNB 604, serving the UE.
[0121] At 1404, the UE may determine the default beam for transmissions based, at least in part, on the (configured) pathloss RS. In some embodiments, the determination may be responsive to determining that the pathloss RS has been configured in the CC. In some embodiments, the default beam for transmissions may be determined based, at least in part, on a beam used for a first, last, or indicated pathloss RS in a pathloss RS list. In some embodiments, the pathloss RS list may be configured via radio resource control (RRC) signaling with the base station.
(Construed a base station, using RRC signalling, may configure a UE with a list of PL RS for a CC, and to a determine an indicated PS RS in the list as the default PL RS for determining a default transmission beam for the CC));
identifying one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for a first component carrier of a communication link (
Fig. 14 1404,
[0121] the determination may be responsive to determining that the pathloss RS has been configured in the CC. In some embodiments, the default beam for transmissions may be determined based, at least in part, on a beam used for a first, last, or indicated pathloss RS in a pathloss RS list.
(Construed determining a default uplink beam for a first component carrier based on a indicated or default beam)
See also [0122] the UE may determine the default beam for transmissions based, at least in part, on a default transmission beam in another CC
(Construed that another CC is a first component carrier)); and
transmitting a communication via a second component carrier of the communication link, wherein transmitting the communication via the second component carrier is based at least in part on application of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS to a second component carrier of the communication link, wherein the application of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS is based at least in part on the second component carrier having no currently indicated PL RS or spatial relation (
[0122] In some embodiments, responsive to determining that the pathloss RS has not been configured in the CC, the UE may determine whether any control resource sets (CORESETs) and/or transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the CC have been configured by the base station. In some embodiments, responsive to determining that no CORESESTs and/or TCI states have been configured in the CC, the UE may determine the default beam for transmissions based, at least in part, on a default transmission beam in another CC.
[0125] responsive to determining that the pathloss RS has not been configured in the CC, the UE the UE may determine whether any control resource sets (CORESETs) and/or transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the CC have been configured by the base station. In some embodiments, responsive to determining that no CORESESTs and/or TCI states have been configured in the CC, the UE may determine a pathloss RS for power control for a dedicated physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a sounding reference signal (SRS) based, at least in part, on … a pathloss RS used for a most recent transmission on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ….. in a CC in a same band as the CC.
See also Fig. 13 1306 [Wingdings font/0xE8] No [Wingdings font/0xE8] 1308 [Wingdings font/0xE8] No [Wingdings font/0xE8] 1314).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 55, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein application of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS to the second component carrier of the communication link is based at least in part on the second component carrier being indicated within an uplink component carrier list that indicates to apply the one or more of the default uplink beam or the PL RS to the second component carrier of the communication link (
See [0121] the default beam for transmissions may be determined based, at least in part, on a beam used for a first, last, or indicated pathloss RS in a pathloss RS list…
[0125] responsive to determining that the pathloss RS has not been configured in the CC, …. the UE may determine a pathloss RS on … a pathloss RS used for a most recent transmission on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ….. in a CC in a same band as the CC.).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link are based at least in part on one or more of:
a first reference signal associated with a control resource set of a lowest control resource set identification, or
a second reference signal associated with an active physical downlink shared channel (
[0123] In some embodiments, to determine the default beam for transmissions based, at least in part, on a default transmission beam in another CC, the UE may determine the default beam for transmissions based, at least in part, on a default physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) beam or a CORESET beam configured in another CC.
See also Fig. 13, 1308 [Wingdings font/0xE8] Yes [Wingdings font/0xE8] 1310).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 39, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 56, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 57, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11-14, 16, 17, 22, 29-32, 34, 35 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220279460 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘ZHANG’) in view of Go et al. (US 20230189250 A1, with priority of us-provisional-application US 63029549, of record, hereinafter ‘GO’).
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG teaches the method of claim 3.
ZHANG does not explicitly teach wherein the first reference signal comprises a quasi-co-location (QCL) TypeD reference signal of a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) or QCL of a control resource set that has a lowest control resource set identification, or
wherein the second reference signal comprises a QCL TypeD reference signal of a second TCI or QCL of an active physical downlink shared channel TCI identification.
In an analogous art, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the first reference signal comprises a quasi-co-location (QCL) TypeD reference signal of a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) or QCL of a control resource set that has a lowest control resource set identification, or
wherein the second reference signal comprises a QCL TypeD reference signal of a second TCI or QCL of an active physical downlink shared channel TCI identification (
[0278] iv) At least when a pathloss RS is not configured by RRC, a default spatial relation for a dedicated-PUCCH/SRS may be determined as follows.
[0279] When CORESET(s) are configured on a CC, a TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID (a PL RS to be used is a QCL-TypeD RS of the same TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID and a PL RS may be a periodic RS), or
[0280] When a CORESET is not configured on a CC, an activated TCI state having the lowest ID which may be applied to a PDSCH in an activated DL-BWP of a CC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO to the system of determining a default beam or PL RS for uplink transmission in a CC of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of method for improving reliability in Multi-TRP (GO: [0129]).
Regarding claim 11, ZHANG teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the communication link includes a multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) communication link with a multiple downlink control information (DCI) configuration or a single DCI configuration (
[0007] LTE defines a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) as a UL channel shared by all devices (user equipment, UE) in a radio cell to transmit user data to the network. The scheduling for all UEs is under control of the LTE base station (enhanced Node B, or eNB). The eNB uses the uplink scheduling grant (DCI format 0) to inform the UE about resource block (RB) assignment.
[0054] In some embodiments, base station 102A may be a next generation base station, e.g., a 5G New Radio (5G NR) base station, or “gNB”. In some embodiments, a gNB may be connected to a legacy evolved packet core (EPC) network and/or to a NR core (NRC) network. In addition, a gNB cell may include one or more transition and reception points (TRPs). In addition, a UE capable of operating according to 5G NR may be connected to one or more TRPs within one or more gNBs.).
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein application of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS to a second component carrier is based at least in part on the first component carrier and the second component carrier being associated with a same TRP.
GO teaches wherein the communication link includes a multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) communication link with a multiple downlink control information (DCI) configuration or a single DCI configuration (
[0330] Hereinafter, examples of multiple DCI based uplink transmission and single DCI based uplink transmission are described.
Embodiment 1-2-1
[0331] When MTRP uplink transmission is performed based on multiple DCI, based on a CORESET group to which a CORESET belongs that DCI scheduling/triggering/indicating/configuring uplink transmission is received/monitored, a terminal may recognize a TRP for which corresponding uplink transmission heads.
[0332] It assumes a case in which a specific CORESET (or a specific CORESET group) and a specific TRP (or TO) are associated/mapped.
[0333] For example, for uplink transmission like a PUSCH/an aperiodic (AP)-SRS, based on a CORESET (or a CORESET group) in which DCI scheduling a PUSCH or triggering an AP-SRS is received/monitored, a terminal may recognize a TRP/TO to which target uplink transmission corresponds.
[0336] In this case, a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of specific uplink transmission for each TRP/TO may be determined based on one or more of i) a specific CORESET in a CORESET group associated with/configured for each TRP/TO, or ii) a specific CORESET configured for a specific cell among cell(s) configured for each TRP/TO.
[0338] In addition, cell(s) configured for each TRP/TO may be cell(s) that a different CORESET group (or a CORESET pool having a different index) is configured together and/or cell(s) related to a CORESET group associated with/configured for a corresponding TRP/TO. In other words, one or more cells configured for each TRP/TO may be related to a different CORESET or may be related to the same CORESET.
[0339] For example, a specific cell may be a cell having the lowest ID.
Embodiment 1-2-2
[0358] When MTRP uplink transmission is performed based on single DCI, a spatial parameter may be preconfigured for each TRP/TO and a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS based on a preconfigured spatial parameter.
[0361] Alternatively, one SRI/UL-TCI field may be included in DCI (i.e., single DCI) for scheduling/triggering/indicating MTRP uplink transmission. In this case, one SRI/UL-TCI field may indicate one codepoint among a plurality of codepoints and each of a plurality of codepoints may include one or a plurality of spatial parameters. In other words, N transmission beams for N TOs/towards N TRPs may be indicated through one SRI/UL-TCI field. One codepoint may link/connect a reference RS (e.g., a DL RS/an UL RS) for N transmission beams (in a form of an ordered pair) through a higher layer (e.g., a RRC/a MAC CE) configuration/description.
[0374] If a CORESET is not configured in a corresponding CC/BWP (that MTRP uplink transmission is performed), a terminal may utilize a transmission and reception beam reference DL RS/UL RS of 2 or more TCI states corresponding to a codepoint of the lowest index among one or more codepoint candidates related to a TCI field of DL grant DCI as a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS in a CC/a BWP scheduling corresponding uplink transmission.
[0376] Even when a TO that a single-panel terminal performs MTRP uplink transmission is TDM-ed, the above-described examples may be also applied to a configuration/an assumption of a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS for uplink transmission for each TRP/TO.), and
wherein application of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS to a second component carrier is based at least in part on the first component carrier and the second component carrier being associated with a same TRP ([0321] When specific uplink transmission of a multi-panel terminal (e.g., a dedicated-PUCCH, a dedicated-SRS, a PUSCH (e.g., a PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0) which does not include spatial parameter indication information)) is for STRP transmission, a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission as the same one spatial parameter and the same one PL RS for all (transmission) panels.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO to the system of determining a default beam or PL RS for uplink transmission in a CC of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of method for improving reliability in Multi-TRP (GO: [0129]).
Regarding claim 12, ZHANG, in view of GO, teaches the method of claim 11.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein identification of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link comprises one or more of:
identifying the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link based at least in part on a first quasi-co-location (QCL) TypeD reference signal of a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) or QCL that has a lowest control resource set identification of component carriers associated with the same TRP, or
identifying the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link based at least in part on a second QCL TypeD reference signal of a second TCI or QCL of an active physical downlink shared channel associated with the same TRP.
GO teaches wherein identification of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link comprises one or more of:
identifying the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link based at least in part on a first quasi-co-location (QCL) TypeD reference signal of a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) or QCL that has a lowest control resource set identification of component carriers associated with the same TRP, or
identifying the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link based at least in part on a second QCL TypeD reference signal of a second TCI or QCL of an active physical downlink shared channel associated with the same TRP (
([0279] When CORESET(s) are configured on a CC, a TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID (a PL RS to be used is a QCL-TypeD RS of the same TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID and a PL RS may be a periodic RS), or
[0280] When a CORESET is not configured on a CC, an activated TCI state having the lowest ID which may be applied to a PDSCH in an activated DL-BWP of a CC
[0281] It may apply at least beam correspondence to UE.
[0282] It may be applied at least in case of a single TRP.
[0321] When specific uplink transmission of a multi-panel terminal (e.g., a dedicated-PUCCH, a dedicated-SRS, a PUSCH (e.g., a PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0) which does not include spatial parameter indication information)) is for STRP transmission, a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission as the same one spatial parameter and the same one PL RS for all (transmission) panels.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO to the system of determining a default beam or PL RS for uplink transmission in a CC of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of method for improving reliability in Multi-TRP (GO: [0129]).
Regarding claim 13, ZHANG, in view of GO, teaches the method of claim 11.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein the communication link includes the single DCI configuration, and
wherein identification of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier comprises:
identifying the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier based at least in part on a QCL TypeD reference signal of a single TCI state of multiple TCI states that are mapped to a same TCI codepoint.
GO teaches wherein the communication link includes the single DCI configuration ([0358] When MTRP uplink transmission is performed based on single DCI, a spatial parameter may be preconfigured for each TRP/TO and a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS based on a preconfigured spatial parameter.), and
wherein identification of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier comprises:
identifying the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier based at least in part on a QCL TypeD reference signal of a single TCI state of multiple TCI states that are mapped to a same TCI codepoint ([0361] Alternatively, one SRI/UL-TCI field may be included in DCI (i.e., single DCI) for scheduling/triggering/indicating MTRP uplink transmission. In this case, one SRI/UL-TCI field may indicate one codepoint among a plurality of codepoints and each of a plurality of codepoints may include one or a plurality of spatial parameters. In other words, N transmission beams for N TOs/towards N TRPs may be indicated through one SRI/UL-TCI field. One codepoint may link/connect a reference RS (e.g., a DL RS/an UL RS) for N transmission beams (in a form of an ordered pair) through a higher layer (e.g., a RRC/a MAC CE) configuration/description.
[0374] If a CORESET is not configured in a corresponding CC/BWP (that MTRP uplink transmission is performed), a terminal may utilize a transmission and reception beam reference DL RS/UL RS of 2 or more TCI states corresponding to a codepoint of the lowest index among one or more codepoint candidates related to a TCI field of DL grant DCI as a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS in a CC/a BWP scheduling corresponding uplink transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO to the system of determining a default beam or PL RS for uplink transmission in a CC of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of method for improving reliability in Multi-TRP (GO: [0129]).
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG, in view of GO, teaches the method of claim 13.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein a TCI codepoint of the single TCI state is mapped with multiple TCI states and comprises:
a lowest TCI codepoint identification among TCI codepoints mapped to the multiple TCI states,
a highest TCI codepoint identification among the TCI codepoints mapped to the multiple TCI states, or
a designated TCI codepoint identification of the TCI codepoints mapped to the multiple TCI states.
GO teaches wherein a TCI codepoint of the single TCI state is mapped with multiple TCI states and comprises:
a lowest TCI codepoint identification among TCI codepoints mapped to the multiple TCI states,
a highest TCI codepoint identification among the TCI codepoints mapped to the multiple TCI states, or
a designated TCI codepoint identification of the TCI codepoints mapped to the multiple TCI states (
[0374] If a CORESET is not configured in a corresponding CC/BWP (that MTRP uplink transmission is performed), a terminal may utilize a transmission and reception beam reference DL RS/UL RS of 2 or more TCI states corresponding to a codepoint of the lowest index among one or more codepoint candidates related to a TCI field of DL grant DCI as a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS in a CC/a BWP scheduling corresponding uplink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO to the system of determining a default beam or PL RS for uplink transmission in a CC of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of method for improving reliability in Multi-TRP (GO: [0129]).
Regarding claim 16, ZHANG, in view of GO, teaches the method of claim 11.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose identifying a default downlink beam per TRP based at least in part on a TCI or QCL of a control resource set of a lowest control resource set identification, of the same TRP, in a most recently monitored slot, wherein the communication link includes a multiple DCI configuration.
GO teaches identifying a default downlink beam per TRP based at least in part on a TCI or QCL of a control resource set of a lowest control resource set identification, of the same TRP, in a most recently monitored slot, wherein the communication link includes a multiple DCI configuration (
[0330] Hereinafter, examples of multiple DCI based uplink transmission and single DCI based uplink transmission are described.
Embodiment 1-2-1
[0331] When MTRP uplink transmission is performed based on multiple DCI, based on a CORESET group to which a CORESET belongs that DCI scheduling/triggering/indicating/configuring uplink transmission is received/monitored, a terminal may recognize a TRP for which corresponding uplink transmission heads
(Construed as identifying control information on in a most recently monitored slot for a TRP, wherein the communication link includes a multiple DCI configuration).
[0332] It assumes a case in which a specific CORESET (or a specific CORESET group) and a specific TRP (or TO) are associated/mapped.
[0333] For example, for uplink transmission like a PUSCH/an aperiodic (AP)-SRS, based on a CORESET (or a CORESET group) in which DCI scheduling a PUSCH or triggering an AP-SRS is received/monitored, a terminal may recognize a TRP/TO to which target uplink transmission corresponds.
[0336] In this case, a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of specific uplink transmission for each TRP/TO may be determined based on one or more of i) a specific CORESET in a CORESET group associated with/configured for each TRP/TO, or ii) a specific CORESET configured for a specific cell among cell(s) configured for each TRP/TO.
[0338] In addition, cell(s) configured for each TRP/TO may be cell(s) that a different CORESET group (or a CORESET pool having a different index) is configured together and/or cell(s) related to a CORESET group associated with/configured for a corresponding TRP/TO. In other words, one or more cells configured for each TRP/TO may be related to a different CORESET or may be related to the same CORESET.
[0339] For example, a specific cell may be a cell having the lowest ID.
(Construed identifying a default downlink beam per TRP based at least in part on a TCI or QCL of a control resource set of a lowest control resource set identification)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO to the system of determining a default beam or PL RS for uplink transmission in a CC of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of method for improving reliability in Multi-TRP (GO: [0129]).
Regarding claim 17, ZHANG, in view of GO, teaches the method of claim 11.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose identifying a default downlink beam per TRP based at least in part on a single TCI state of multiple TCI states that are mapped to a same TCI codepoint that has a lowest TCI codepoint identification among TCI codepoints mapped to multiple TCI states.
GO teaches identifying a default downlink beam per TRP based at least in part on a single TCI state of multiple TCI states that are mapped to a same TCI codepoint that has a lowest TCI codepoint identification among TCI codepoints mapped to multiple TCI states (
[0374] If a CORESET is not configured in a corresponding CC/BWP (that MTRP uplink transmission is performed), a terminal may utilize a transmission and reception beam reference DL RS/UL RS of 2 or more TCI states corresponding to a codepoint of the lowest index among one or more codepoint candidates related to a TCI field of DL grant DCI as a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS in a CC/a BWP scheduling corresponding uplink transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO to the system of determining a default beam or PL RS for uplink transmission in a CC of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of method for improving reliability in Multi-TRP (GO: [0129]).
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 11.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 12.
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 13.
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 14.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 16.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 17.
Regarding claim 58, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Claims 7-8 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220279460 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘ZHANG’)in view of Go et al. (US 20230189250 A1, with priority of us-provisional-application US 63029549, of record, hereinafter ‘GO’) and with further in view of LG Electronics (R1-1913453 “Feature lead summary#4 of Enhancements on Multi-beam Operations”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LG’).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang in view of Go, teaches the method of claim 4.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for multiple component carriers in an uplink component carrier list based at least in part on an updated TCI or QCL for a single component carrier of the multiple component carriers in a downlink component carrier list.
GO teaches identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for multiple component carriers in an uplink component carrier list based at least in part on an updated TCI or QCL for a single component carrier of the multiple component carriers in a downlink component carrier list (
[0194] In NR MIMO Rel-15, in an uplink (UL channel)/RS (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS) of a terminal, a base station may configure a DL RS (i.e., pathloss reference RS, or pathloss RS or PL RS in short) by using an open loop power control parameter for pathloss compensation. In addition, only for a PUCCH, the pathloss RS may be updated by updating a PUCCH spatial relation information identifier (PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfoId) through a MAC control element (CE) message for each PUCCH resource.
[0210] After that, in Rel-16 eNR MIMO, standardization was performed to update a pathloss RS for a PUSCH and a SRS through individual MAC CE messages. In addition, standardization was progressed to increase the number of pathloss RS pools configurable by RRC signaling from 8 to 64. This will be described in detail……
[0211] i) Pathloss reference RS for PUSCH can be activated/updated via a MAC CE…
[0346] Additionally or alternatively, serving cells including CORESETPoolIndex 0 for TRP1 are cell #0, #1, #2 and 3 and among them, a serving cell having the lowest ID is cell #0. Accordingly, it may be configured/assumed that a CORESET having the lowest ID among CORESET(s) of CORESETPoolIndex 0 is used in cell #0. In addition, serving cells including CORESETPoolIndex 1 for TRP2 are cell #1 and #3 and among them, a serving cell having the lowest ID is cell #1. Accordingly, it may be configured/assumed that a CORESET having the lowest ID among CORESET(s) of CORESETPoolIndex 1 is used in cell #1.
Supported in US 63029549 (Pages 90-92 Section 4.2, Page 94 Agreement, and Page 105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO to the system of determining a default beam for a dedicated PUCCH and/or an SRS in a CC of ZHANG in order to take the advantage of method for improving reliability in Multi-TRP (GO: [0129]).
ZHANG and GO do not explicitly disclose identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for multiple component carriers in an uplink component carrier list based at least in part on an updated TCI or QCL for a single component carrier of the multiple component carriers in a downlink component carrier list.
In an analogous art, LG teaches identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for multiple component carriers in an uplink component carrier list based at least in part on an updated TCI or QCL for a single component carrier of the multiple component carriers in a downlink component carrier list (
Page 16, Proposal 2: For the supported feature of the default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS, when pathloss RSs are configured by RRC, the default spatial relation is determined by
Alt.2: following the pathloss RS (e.g., for PUCCH, the configured pathloss RS with the lowest ID is applied, and for SRS, the pathloss RS updated by MAC-CE in Rel-16 is applied)
See also Page 19, Agreement@RAN1#98, Agreement@RAN1#98bis, and Pages 25-26, Agreement, presented above for claim 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of RRC provided list for configured component carriers of LG to the system of determining a default beam or PL RS for uplink transmission in a CC of ZHANG and GO in order to take the advantage of method for latency/overhead reduction across multiple CCs/BWPs determining default spatial relationship and PL RS for CC (LG: Pages 19, 25, 26 Agreements).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang, in view of GO and LG, teaches the method of claim 7.
ZHANG does not explicitly disclose wherein the single component carrier of the multiple component carriers in the downlink component carrier list comprises:
a component carrier having a lowest control resource set identification of component carriers that are in both of the downlink component carrier list and the uplink component carrier list, a component carrier having a highest control resource set identification of component carriers that are in both of the downlink component carrier list and the uplink component carrier list, or
a designated component of component carriers that are in both of the downlink component carrier list and the uplink component carrier list.
GO teaches wherein the single component carrier of the multiple component carriers in the downlink component carrier list comprises:
a component carrier having a lowest control resource set identification of component carriers that are in both of the downlink component carrier list and the uplink component carrier list, a component carrier having a highest control resource set identification of component carriers that are in both of the downlink component carrier list and the uplink component carrier list, or
a designated component of component carriers that are in both of the downlink component carrier list and the uplink component carrier list (
[0346] Additionally or alternatively, serving cells including CORESETPoolIndex 0 for TRP1 are cell #0, #1, #2 and 3 and among them, a serving cell having the lowest ID is cell #0. Accordingly, it may be configured/assumed that a CORESET having the lowest ID among CORESET(s) of CORESETPoolIndex 0 is used in cell #0. In addition, serving cells including CORESETPoolIndex 1 for TRP2 are cell #1 and #3 and among them, a serving cell having the lowest ID is cell #1. Accordingly, it may be configured/assumed that a CORESET having the lowest ID among CORESET(s) of CORESETPoolIndex 1 is used in cell #1.
Supported in US 63029549 (Page 105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO to the system of determining a default beam for a dedicated PUCCH and/or an SRS in a CC of ZHANG and LG in order to take the advantage of method for improving reliability in Multi-TRP (GO: [0129]).
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 18, 33 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and in intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, GO, ZHANG, LG, or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the method of claim 11, further comprising:
identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for the same TRP for multiple component carriers associated with the same TRP in an uplink component list, and
identifying the multiple component carriers as associated with the same TRP based at least in part on having a same control resource set pool index or a same TCI state order in a codepoint.
Regarding claim 18, GO, ZHANG, LG, or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the method of claim 11, further comprising:
identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for the same TRP for multiple component carriers associated with the same TRP in a downlink component list, and
identifying the multiple component carriers as [[are]] associated with the same TRP based at least in part on having a same control resource set pool index or a same TCI state order in a TCI codepoint.
Regarding claim 33, the claim with similar limitations as in claim 15, is also interpreted same as claim 15.
Regarding claim 36, the claim with similar limitations as in claim 18, is also interpreted same as claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
John Wilson et al., (US 20190229792 A1), describing QUASI CO-LOCATION ASSUMPTIONS FOR APERIODIC CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION REFERENCE SIGNAL TRIGGERS
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413