DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Based to the Applicant’s REMARKS and Amendment filed on 03/05/2026, this office action considers -
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-22, 25-26, 29-39, and 55-58 are pending.
Claims 5-6, 9-10, 23-24, 27-28, 40-54, and 59-72 are canceled.
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11-14, 16-17, 19-22, 25-26, 29-32, 34-35, 37-39, and 55-58 are rejected.
Claims 15, 18, 33 and 36 are objected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks, filed 03/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 11- 22, 25, 26, 29-39, and 55-58 has been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presented argument that GO and ZHANG do not disclose "receiving configuration information indicating that the UE is configured to identify a default uplink beam or a default pathloss reference signal (PL RS); identifying one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for a first component carrier of a communication link," as recited in amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, and presents that GO discloses-
[0283] The present disclosure describes a variety of examples that a base station configures/updates to a terminal a default spatial relation (or a default beam) and/or a default pathloss RS (PL RS) for uplink transmission and reception (e.g., an uplink channel and/or an uplink RS).
[0293] A base station may configure a DL RS (i.e., a PL RS) as an open-loop power control parameter for pathloss compensation for uplink transmission of a terminal. …… In addition, in order to improve efficiency through simplification of a terminal operation, ….. a default spatial parameter (or a default beam) may be defined. Further, a default PL RS may be also defined.
[0294] Additionally, in order to reduce an overhead of beam management for a dedicated-PUCCH and a dedicated-SRS, a ‘default PL RS’ based operation that a PL RS for an uplink is determined by spatial parameter (e.g., DL beam or DL RS) information for a PDCCH or a PDSCH may be defined. In addition, a base station may also configure whether a default PL RS based operation is enabled to a terminal.
In [0283, 0293, 0294], GO explicitly discloses terminal or UE receives from base station configuration information indicating that the UE is configured to identify a default uplink beam or a default pathloss reference signal (PL RS).
GO further discloses –
[0278] iv) At least when a pathloss RS is not configured by RRC, a default spatial relation for a dedicated-PUCCH/SRS may be determined as follows.
[0279] When CORESET(s) are configured on a CC, a TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID (a PL RS to be used is a QCL-TypeD RS of the same TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID),
[0281] It may apply at least beam correspondence to UE.
[0282] It may be applied at least in case of a single TRP.
[0283] The present disclosure describes a variety of examples that a base station configures/updates to a terminal a default spatial relation (or a default beam) and/or a default pathloss RS (PL RS) for uplink transmission and reception (e.g., an uplink channel and/or an uplink RS).
[0321] When specific uplink transmission of a multi-panel terminal (e.g., a dedicated-PUCCH, a dedicated-SRS, a PUSCH (e.g., a PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0) which does not include spatial parameter indication information)) is for STRP transmission, a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission as the same one spatial parameter and the same one PL RS for all (transmission) panels.
The above obviously disclosing that a default uplink beam or spatial relation and a default pathloss reference signal (PL RS) for a first CC or component carrier is assumed/ identified by UE 100 when a PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_0 which does not include spatial parameter indication,
Accordingly independent claim 1 and similarly independent claims 19, 37, and 55 are rejected.
Dependent claims are rejected for the same reason as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 11-14, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 29-32, 34, 35, 37, 39, 55, 57 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (US 20230189250 A1, with priority of us-provisional-application US 63029549, of record, hereinafter ‘GO’) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20220279460 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘ZHANG’).
Regarding claim 1, GO teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 13 First Device 100/UE communication with Second Device 200/Base Station,
[0409] Operations of a base station/a terminal according to the above-described examples (e.g., an operation related to STRP/MTRP uplink transmission based on one or more of embodiment 1/2/3 and detailed examples thereof) may be processed by a device of FIG. 13 which will be described later (e.g., a processor 102 and 202 of FIG. 13).
[0410] In addition, operations of a base station/a terminal according to the above-described embodiment (e.g., an operation related to STRP/MTRP uplink transmission based on one or more of embodiment 1/2/3 and detailed examples thereof) may be stored in a memory (e.g., 104 and 204 in FIG. 13) in a form of a command/a program (e.g., an instruction, an executable code) for driving at least one processor (e.g., 102 and 202 in FIG. 13).
[0428] the above-described operation that UE (100 … in FIG. 13) in S120/S125 receives DCI from a BS (200 …. in FIG. 13) may be implemented by a device in FIG. 13.
Supported in US 63029549 Fig. X1 Page 113), comprising:
receiving configuration information indicating that the UE is configured to identify a default uplink beam or a default pathloss reference signal (PL RS) (
[0283] The present disclosure describes a variety of examples that a base station configures/updates to a terminal a default spatial relation (or a default beam) and/or a default pathloss RS (PL RS) for uplink transmission and reception (e.g., an uplink channel and/or an uplink RS).
[0293] A base station may configure a DL RS (i.e., a PL RS) as an open-loop power control parameter for pathloss compensation for uplink transmission of a terminal. …… In addition, in order to improve efficiency through simplification of a terminal operation, ….. a default spatial parameter (or a default beam) may be defined. Further, a default PL RS may be also defined.
[0294] Additionally, in order to reduce an overhead of beam management for a dedicated-PUCCH and a dedicated-SRS, a ‘default PL RS’ based operation that a PL RS for an uplink is determined by spatial parameter (e.g., DL beam or DL RS) information for a PDCCH or a PDSCH may be defined. In addition, a base station may also configure whether a default PL RS based operation is enabled to a terminal.
Also disclosed in US 63029549 Pages 91-92);
identifying one or more of the default uplink beam or the default pathloss reference signal (PL RS) for a first component carrier of a communication link (
[0278] iv) At least when a pathloss RS is not configured by RRC, a default spatial relation for a dedicated-PUCCH/SRS may be determined as follows.
[0279] When CORESET(s) are configured on a CC, a TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID (a PL RS to be used is a QCL-TypeD RS of the same TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID),
[0281] It may apply at least beam correspondence to UE.
[0282] It may be applied at least in case of a single TRP.
[0283] The present disclosure describes a variety of examples that a base station configures/updates to a terminal a default spatial relation (or a default beam) and/or a default pathloss RS (PL RS) for uplink transmission and reception (e.g., an uplink channel and/or an uplink RS).
[0321] When specific uplink transmission of a multi-panel terminal (e.g., a dedicated-PUCCH, a dedicated-SRS, a PUSCH (e.g., a PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0) which does not include spatial parameter indication information)) is for STRP transmission, a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission as the same one spatial parameter and the same one PL RS for all (transmission) panels.
(It is obvious that a default uplink beam or spatial relation and a default pathloss reference signal (PL RS) for a first CC or component carrier is assumed/ identified by UE 100 when a PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_0 which does not include spatial parameter indication)
Supported in US 63029549 (Page 92 Paragraph 1, Page 100 Agreement @RAN1#98, Agreement @RAN1#98bis, Page 101 Agreement @RAN1#98bis, Agreement @RAN1#99, Pages 103-104 Proposal 1-1)).
GO does not explicitly disclose transmitting a communication via a second component carrier of the communication link, wherein transmitting the communication via the second component carrier is based at least in part on application of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS to a second component carrier of the communication link, wherein the application of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS is based at least in part on the second component carrier having no currently indicated PL RS or spatial relation \
(Although GO teaches -
Claims
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein: when a control resource set (CORESET) is not configured in one or more of a CC (Component Carrier), a BWP (BandWidth Part), or a cell in which the uplink transmission is performed, the plurality of spatial parameter candidates are configured based on the second configuration information for at least one of the CC, the BWP, or the cell in which the uplink transmission is scheduled.)
In an analogous art, ZHANG teaches transmitting a communication via a second component carrier of the communication link, wherein transmitting the communication via the second component carrier is based at least in part on application of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS to a second component carrier of the communication link, wherein the application of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS is based at least in part on the second component carrier having no currently indicated PL RS or spatial relation (
Fig. 11, [0108] As shown in FIG. 11, a base station, such as base station 102 and/or gNB 604, may configure multiple component carriers (CC1 to CC4, for example) for a UE, such as UE 106. Thus, for CC1, the UE may be configured to not monitor any CORESETs or active TCI states. ….. Similarly, the UE may be configured to monitor, for CC2, a CORESET with an ID of 2 and a TCI state corresponding to a value of 2. …. As shown, the UE may select a CC with a monitored CORESET and/or active TCI state with a lowest ID, e.g., CC 2.
See Fig. 13 Steps 1302_>1306->1308->1314,
[0118] At 1314, in response to determining that no CORESETs and/or TCI states have been configured in the CC, the UE may determine the default transmission beam (e.g., for dedicated PUCCH and/or SRS transmission in a CC) based on a default beam from another CC…
[0125] In some embodiments, responsive to determining that the pathloss RS has not been configured in the CC, the UE may determine whether any control resource sets (CORESETs) and/or transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the CC have been configured by the base station. In some embodiments, responsive to determining that no CORESESTs and/or TCI states have been configured in the CC, the UE may determine a pathloss RS for power control for a dedicated physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a sounding reference signal (SRS) based, at least in part, on a downlink RS used to determine a default spatial relationship, a synchronization signal block (SSB) associated with a most recent random-access channel (RACH) procedure in the CC, in a CC in a same band as the CC, in a CC in a same band group as the CC, and/or in a CC in a same cell group as the CC, a pathloss RS used for a most recent transmission on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in the CC, in a CC in a same band as the CC, in a CC in a same band group as the CC, and/or in a CC in a same cell group as the CC, a pathloss RS used for a most recent transmission of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in the CC, in a CC in a same band as the CC, in a CC in a same band group as the CC, and/or in a CC in a same cell group as the CC, and/or a pathloss RS used for a most recent transmission of an SRS in the CC, in a CC in a same band as the CC, in a CC in a same band group as the CC, and/or in a CC in a same cell group as the CC.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of determine a default beam for a dedicated PUCCH and/or an SRS in a CC of ZHANG to the system of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO in order to take the advantage of method for achieving higher throughputs and capacity with multiple CCs (ZHANG: [0008, 0096, 0107]).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 55, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link are based at least in part on one or more of:
a first reference signal associated with a control resource set of a lowest control resource set identification, or
a second reference signal associated with an active physical downlink shared channel ([0278] iv) At least when a pathloss RS is not configured by RRC, a default spatial relation for a dedicated-PUCCH/SRS may be determined as follows.
[0279] When CORESET(s) are configured on a CC, a TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID (a PL RS to be used is a QCL-TypeD RS of the same TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID and a PL RS may be a periodic RS), or
[0280] When a CORESET is not configured on a CC, an activated TCI state having the lowest ID which may be applied to a PDSCH in an activated DL-BWP of a CC).
Regarding claim 4, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the first reference signal comprises a quasi-co-location (QCL) TypeD reference signal of a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) or QCL of a control resource set that has a lowest control resource set identification, or
wherein the second reference signal comprises a QCL TypeD reference signal of a second TCI or QCL of an active physical downlink shared channel TCI identification (
See GO [278-280] presented above for Claim 3).
Regarding claim 11, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the communication link includes a multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) communication link with a multiple downlink control information (DCI) configuration or a single DCI configuration (
[0330] Hereinafter, examples of multiple DCI based uplink transmission and single DCI based uplink transmission are described.
Embodiment 1-2-1
[0331] When MTRP uplink transmission is performed based on multiple DCI, based on a CORESET group to which a CORESET belongs that DCI scheduling/triggering/indicating/configuring uplink transmission is received/monitored, a terminal may recognize a TRP for which corresponding uplink transmission heads.
[0332] It assumes a case in which a specific CORESET (or a specific CORESET group) and a specific TRP (or TO) are associated/mapped.
[0333] For example, for uplink transmission like a PUSCH/an aperiodic (AP)-SRS, based on a CORESET (or a CORESET group) in which DCI scheduling a PUSCH or triggering an AP-SRS is received/monitored, a terminal may recognize a TRP/TO to which target uplink transmission corresponds.
[0336] In this case, a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of specific uplink transmission for each TRP/TO may be determined based on one or more of i) a specific CORESET in a CORESET group associated with/configured for each TRP/TO, or ii) a specific CORESET configured for a specific cell among cell(s) configured for each TRP/TO.
[0338] In addition, cell(s) configured for each TRP/TO may be cell(s) that a different CORESET group (or a CORESET pool having a different index) is configured together and/or cell(s) related to a CORESET group associated with/configured for a corresponding TRP/TO. In other words, one or more cells configured for each TRP/TO may be related to a different CORESET or may be related to the same CORESET.
[0339] For example, a specific cell may be a cell having the lowest ID.
Embodiment 1-2-2
[0358] When MTRP uplink transmission is performed based on single DCI, a spatial parameter may be preconfigured for each TRP/TO and a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS based on a preconfigured spatial parameter.
[0361] Alternatively, one SRI/UL-TCI field may be included in DCI (i.e., single DCI) for scheduling/triggering/indicating MTRP uplink transmission. In this case, one SRI/UL-TCI field may indicate one codepoint among a plurality of codepoints and each of a plurality of codepoints may include one or a plurality of spatial parameters. In other words, N transmission beams for N TOs/towards N TRPs may be indicated through one SRI/UL-TCI field. One codepoint may link/connect a reference RS (e.g., a DL RS/an UL RS) for N transmission beams (in a form of an ordered pair) through a higher layer (e.g., a RRC/a MAC CE) configuration/description.
[0374] If a CORESET is not configured in a corresponding CC/BWP (that MTRP uplink transmission is performed), a terminal may utilize a transmission and reception beam reference DL RS/UL RS of 2 or more TCI states corresponding to a codepoint of the lowest index among one or more codepoint candidates related to a TCI field of DL grant DCI as a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS in a CC/a BWP scheduling corresponding uplink transmission.
[0376] Even when a TO that a single-panel terminal performs MTRP uplink transmission is TDM-ed, the above-described examples may be also applied to a configuration/an assumption of a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS for uplink transmission for each TRP/TO.), and
wherein application of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS to a second component carrier is based at least in part on the first component carrier and the second component carrier being associated with a same TRP ([0321] When specific uplink transmission of a multi-panel terminal (e.g., a dedicated-PUCCH, a dedicated-SRS, a PUSCH (e.g., a PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0) which does not include spatial parameter indication information)) is for STRP transmission, a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission as the same one spatial parameter and the same one PL RS for all (transmission) panels.).
Regarding claim 12, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein identification of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link comprises one or more of:
identifying the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link based at least in part on a first quasi-co-location (QCL) TypeD reference signal of a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) or QCL that has a lowest control resource set identification of component carriers associated with the same TRP, or
identifying the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier of the communication link based at least in part on a second QCL TypeD reference signal of a second TCI or QCL of an active physical downlink shared channel associated with the same TRP (
([0279] When CORESET(s) are configured on a CC, a TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID (a PL RS to be used is a QCL-TypeD RS of the same TCI state/QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID and a PL RS may be a periodic RS), or
[0280] When a CORESET is not configured on a CC, an activated TCI state having the lowest ID which may be applied to a PDSCH in an activated DL-BWP of a CC
[0281] It may apply at least beam correspondence to UE.
[0282] It may be applied at least in case of a single TRP.
[0321] When specific uplink transmission of a multi-panel terminal (e.g., a dedicated-PUCCH, a dedicated-SRS, a PUSCH (e.g., a PUSCH scheduled by fallback DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0) which does not include spatial parameter indication information)) is for STRP transmission, a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of corresponding uplink transmission as the same one spatial parameter and the same one PL RS for all (transmission) panels.).
Regarding claim 13, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the communication link includes the single DCI configuration ([0358] When MTRP uplink transmission is performed based on single DCI, a spatial parameter may be preconfigured for each TRP/TO and a terminal may configure/assume a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS based on a preconfigured spatial parameter.), and
wherein identification of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier comprises:
identifying the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS for the first component carrier based at least in part on a QCL TypeD reference signal of a single TCI state of multiple TCI states that are mapped to a same TCI codepoint ([0361] Alternatively, one SRI/UL-TCI field may be included in DCI (i.e., single DCI) for scheduling/triggering/indicating MTRP uplink transmission. In this case, one SRI/UL-TCI field may indicate one codepoint among a plurality of codepoints and each of a plurality of codepoints may include one or a plurality of spatial parameters. In other words, N transmission beams for N TOs/towards N TRPs may be indicated through one SRI/UL-TCI field. One codepoint may link/connect a reference RS (e.g., a DL RS/an UL RS) for N transmission beams (in a form of an ordered pair) through a higher layer (e.g., a RRC/a MAC CE) configuration/description.
[0374] If a CORESET is not configured in a corresponding CC/BWP (that MTRP uplink transmission is performed), a terminal may utilize a transmission and reception beam reference DL RS/UL RS of 2 or more TCI states corresponding to a codepoint of the lowest index among one or more codepoint candidates related to a TCI field of DL grant DCI as a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS in a CC/a BWP scheduling corresponding uplink transmission.).
Regarding claim 14, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 13, wherein a TCI codepoint of the single TCI state is mapped with multiple TCI states and comprises:
a lowest TCI codepoint identification among TCI codepoints mapped to the multiple TCI states,
a highest TCI codepoint identification among the TCI codepoints mapped to the multiple TCI states, or
a designated TCI codepoint identification of the TCI codepoints mapped to the multiple TCI states (
[0374] If a CORESET is not configured in a corresponding CC/BWP (that MTRP uplink transmission is performed), a terminal may utilize a transmission and reception beam reference DL RS/UL RS of 2 or more TCI states corresponding to a codepoint of the lowest index among one or more codepoint candidates related to a TCI field of DL grant DCI as a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS in a CC/a BWP scheduling corresponding uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 16, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising:
identifying a default downlink beam per TRP based at least in part on a TCI or QCL of a control resource set of a lowest control resource set identification, of the same TRP, in a most recently monitored slot, wherein the communication link includes a multiple DCI configuration (
[0330] Hereinafter, examples of multiple DCI based uplink transmission and single DCI based uplink transmission are described.
Embodiment 1-2-1
[0331] When MTRP uplink transmission is performed based on multiple DCI, based on a CORESET group to which a CORESET belongs that DCI scheduling/triggering/indicating/configuring uplink transmission is received/monitored, a terminal may recognize a TRP for which corresponding uplink transmission heads
(Construed as identifying control information on in a most recently monitored slot for a TRP, wherein the communication link includes a multiple DCI configuration).
[0332] It assumes a case in which a specific CORESET (or a specific CORESET group) and a specific TRP (or TO) are associated/mapped.
[0333] For example, for uplink transmission like a PUSCH/an aperiodic (AP)-SRS, based on a CORESET (or a CORESET group) in which DCI scheduling a PUSCH or triggering an AP-SRS is received/monitored, a terminal may recognize a TRP/TO to which target uplink transmission corresponds.
[0336] In this case, a default spatial parameter and a default PL RS of specific uplink transmission for each TRP/TO may be determined based on one or more of i) a specific CORESET in a CORESET group associated with/configured for each TRP/TO, or ii) a specific CORESET configured for a specific cell among cell(s) configured for each TRP/TO.
[0338] In addition, cell(s) configured for each TRP/TO may be cell(s) that a different CORESET group (or a CORESET pool having a different index) is configured together and/or cell(s) related to a CORESET group associated with/configured for a corresponding TRP/TO. In other words, one or more cells configured for each TRP/TO may be related to a different CORESET or may be related to the same CORESET.
[0339] For example, a specific cell may be a cell having the lowest ID.
(Construed identifying a default downlink beam per TRP based at least in part on a TCI or QCL of a control resource set of a lowest control resource set identification)).
Regarding claim 17, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising:
identifying a default downlink beam per TRP based at least in part on a single TCI state of multiple TCI states that are mapped to a same TCI codepoint that has a lowest TCI codepoint identification among TCI codepoints mapped to multiple TCI states (
[0374] If a CORESET is not configured in a corresponding CC/BWP (that MTRP uplink transmission is performed), a terminal may utilize a transmission and reception beam reference DL RS/UL RS of 2 or more TCI states corresponding to a codepoint of the lowest index among one or more codepoint candidates related to a TCI field of DL grant DCI as a default spatial parameter/a default PL RS in a CC/a BWP scheduling corresponding uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 11.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 12.
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 13.
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 14.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 16.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 17.
Regarding claim 39, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 57, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 58, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Claims 2, 7, 8, 20, 25, 26, 38 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (US 20230189250 A1, with priority of us-provisional-application US 63029549, of record, hereinafter ‘GO’) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20220279460 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘ZHANG’) and with further in view of LG Electronics (R1-1913453 “Feature lead summary#4 of Enhancements on Multi-beam Operations”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘LG’).
Regarding claim 2, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein application of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS to the second component carrier of the communication link is based at least in part indicates to apply the one or more of the default uplink beam or the PL RS to the second component carrier of the communication link (
[0248] iii) When PUCCH resource(s) are a configured RRC-connected mode and any spatial relation is not configured for all configured PUCCH resource(s) in supporting PUSCH scheduling by DCI format 0_0 on a CC in FR2, a spatial relation and a PL RS for a PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_0 may follow a default spatial relation and a default pathloss RS for the PUCCH resource(s), respectively.
[0249] iv) In order to enable an UE operation for a default spatial relation and pathloss RS, a RRC parameter for enabling a default spatial relation and PL RS operation such as a enableDefaultBeamPlForPUSCH0 parameter for a PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_0, a enableDefaultBeamPlForPUCCH parameter for a dedicated PUCCH and a enableDefaultBeamPlForSRS parameter for a dedicated SRS may be introduced.
Supported in US 63029549 (Page 102 Agreement@RAN 1 #99, Agreement (RRC impact)@RAN 1 #99).
GO and ZHANG do not explicitly disclose wherein application of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS to the second component carrier of the communication link is based at least in part on the second component carrier being indicated within an uplink component carrier list that indicates to apply the one or more of the default uplink beam or the PL RS to the second component carrier of the communication link.
In analogous art, LG teaches wherein application of the one or more of the default uplink beam or the default PL RS to the second component carrier of the communication link is based at least in part on the second component carrier being indicated within an uplink component carrier list that indicates to apply the one or more of the default uplink beam or the PL RS to the second component carrier of the communication link (
Page 19, Agreement@RAN1#98
For latency/overhead reduction across multiple CCs/BWPs, support single MAC-CE to activate at least the same set of PDSCH TCI state IDs for multiple CCs/BWPs
Example 1: Reuse Rel-15 MAC-CE to activate same set of TCI state IDs for all active BWPs in same band or cell group(s) on FR2
Support of this mode can be indicated by UE capability
To operate in this mode, UE may expect the same QCL-TypeD RS is configured for same TCI state ID for all BWPs in each band or cell group(s)
Agreement@RAN1#98bis
When a set of TCI-state IDs for PDSCH are activated by a MAC CE for a set of CCs/BWPs at least for the same band, where the applicable list of CCs is indicated by RRC signalling, the same set of TCI-state IDs are applied for the all BWPs in the indicated CCs.
Pages 25-26, Agreement
The following working assumption is confirmed with revision in red
The default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS for a CC in FR2, at least when no pathloss RSs are configured by RRC is determined by
- in case when CORESET(s) are configured on the CC, the TCI state / QCL assumption of the CORESET with the lowest ID, or
• The PL RS to be used is the QCL-TypeD RS of the same TCI state / QCL assumption of the CORESET with the lowest ID
Pages 26, Remaining issues based on the above agreement made in RAN1#99
Offline proposal#1: Support default spatial relation and default pathloss RS of PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_0 when there is no PUCCH resources configured on the CC in FR2 and in RRC-connected mode, for UEs supporting the feature of the default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS in Rel-16.
The default spatial relation is the TCI state / QCL assumption of the CORESET with the lowest ID.
The default pathloss RS is the QCL-TypeD RS of the same TCI state / QCL assumption of the CORESET with the lowest ID.
(It is obvious from Page 19, Agreement@RAN1#98 and Agreement@RAN1#98bis, and Pages 25-26, Issue#2.5: Spatial relation for PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_0 in FR2, that –
For default spatial relation of uplink transmission determined from PL RS to be used is the QCL-TypeD RS of the same TCI state / QCL assumption of the CORESET with the lowest ID and the same TCI state ID is assumed for one or more CCs, including first CC and second CC, included in a list of CCs indicated by RRC, indicating same default PL RS is to be applied based on same TCI state ID for first CC and second CC, which teaches wherein application of the one or more of …. the default PL RS to the second component carrier of the communication link is based at least in part on the second component carrier being indicated within an uplink component carrier list that indicates to apply the one or more of …. the PL RS to the second component carrier of the communication link.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of RRC provided list for configured component carriers of LG to the system of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO and ZHANG in order to take the advantage of method for latency/overhead reduction across multiple CCs/BWPs determining default spatial relationship and PL RS for CC (LG: Pages 19, 25, 26 Agreements).
Regarding claim 7, GO, in view of ZHANG, teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising:
identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for multiple component carriers in an uplink component carrier list based at least in part on an updated TCI or QCL for a single component carrier of the multiple component carriers in a downlink component carrier list (
[0194] In NR MIMO Rel-15, in an uplink (UL channel)/RS (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS) of a terminal, a base station may configure a DL RS (i.e., pathloss reference RS, or pathloss RS or PL RS in short) by using an open loop power control parameter for pathloss compensation. In addition, only for a PUCCH, the pathloss RS may be updated by updating a PUCCH spatial relation information identifier (PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfoId) through a MAC control element (CE) message for each PUCCH resource.
[0210] After that, in Rel-16 eNR MIMO, standardization was performed to update a pathloss RS for a PUSCH and a SRS through individual MAC CE messages. In addition, standardization was progressed to increase the number of pathloss RS pools configurable by RRC signaling from 8 to 64. This will be described in detail……
[0211] i) Pathloss reference RS for PUSCH can be activated/updated via a MAC CE…
[0346] Additionally or alternatively, serving cells including CORESETPoolIndex 0 for TRP1 are cell #0, #1, #2 and 3 and among them, a serving cell having the lowest ID is cell #0. Accordingly, it may be configured/assumed that a CORESET having the lowest ID among CORESET(s) of CORESETPoolIndex 0 is used in cell #0. In addition, serving cells including CORESETPoolIndex 1 for TRP2 are cell #1 and #3 and among them, a serving cell having the lowest ID is cell #1. Accordingly, it may be configured/assumed that a CORESET having the lowest ID among CORESET(s) of CORESETPoolIndex 1 is used in cell #1.
Supported in US 63029549 (Pages 90-92 Section 4.2, Page 94 Agreement, and Page 105).
GO and ZHANG do not explicitly disclose identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for multiple component carriers in an uplink component carrier list based at least in part on an updated TCI or QCL for a single component carrier of the multiple component carriers in a downlink component carrier list.
LG teaches identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for multiple component carriers in an uplink component carrier list based at least in part on an updated TCI or QCL for a single component carrier of the multiple component carriers in a downlink component carrier list (
Page 16, Proposal 2: For the supported feature of the default spatial relation for dedicated-PUCCH/SRS, when pathloss RSs are configured by RRC, the default spatial relation is determined by
Alt.2: following the pathloss RS (e.g., for PUCCH, the configured pathloss RS with the lowest ID is applied, and for SRS, the pathloss RS updated by MAC-CE in Rel-16 is applied)
See also Page 19, Agreement@RAN1#98, Agreement@RAN1#98bis, and Pages 25-26, Agreement, presented above for claim 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of RRC provided list for configured component carriers of LG to the system of determining default spatial relation and pathloss RS for CC of GO and ZHANG in order to take the advantage of method for latency/overhead reduction across multiple CCs/BWPs determining default spatial relationship and PL RS for CC (LG: Pages 19, 25, 26 Agreements).
Regarding claim 8, GO, in view of ZHANG and LG, teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the single component carrier of the multiple component carriers in the downlink component carrier list comprises:
a component carrier having a lowest control resource set identification of component carriers that are in both of the downlink component carrier list and the uplink component carrier list, a component carrier having a highest control resource set identification of component carriers that are in both of the downlink component carrier list and the uplink component carrier list, or
a designated component of component carriers that are in both of the downlink component carrier list and the uplink component carrier list (
[0346] Additionally or alternatively, serving cells including CORESETPoolIndex 0 for TRP1 are cell #0, #1, #2 and 3 and among them, a serving cell having the lowest ID is cell #0. Accordingly, it may be configured/assumed that a CORESET having the lowest ID among CORESET(s) of CORESETPoolIndex 0 is used in cell #0. In addition, serving cells including CORESETPoolIndex 1 for TRP2 are cell #1 and #3 and among them, a serving cell having the lowest ID is cell #1. Accordingly, it may be configured/assumed that a CORESET having the lowest ID among CORESET(s) of CORESETPoolIndex 1 is used in cell #1.
Supported in US 63029549 (Page 105).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 56, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 18, 33 and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and in intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, GO, ZHANG, LG, or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the method of claim 11, further comprising:
identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for the same TRP for multiple component carriers associated with the same TRP in an uplink component list, and
identifying the multiple component carriers as associated with the same TRP based at least in part on having a same control resource set pool index or a same TCI state order in a codepoint.
Regarding claim 18, GO, ZHANG, LG, or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the method of claim 11, further comprising:
identifying one or more of an updated uplink beam or an updated PL RS for the same TRP for multiple component carriers associated with the same TRP in a downlink component list, and
identifying the multiple component carriers as [[are]] associated with the same TRP based at least in part on having a same control resource set pool index or a same TCI state order in a TCI codepoint.
Regarding claim 33, the claim with similar limitations as in claim 15, is also interpreted same as claim 15.
Regarding claim 36, the claim with similar limitations as in claim 18, is also interpreted same as claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhang et al., (US 20230083208 A1), describing DEFAULT BEAMS FOR PDSCH, CSI-RS, PUCCH AND SRS
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413