DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 08/18/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 and 7 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9-14 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moa et al. (US 5,193,532) in view of Nilsson et al. (US 2013/0327332).
Regarding claim 1, Moa discloses a device for positive pressure ventilation (PPV) and continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) treatment (fig. 6) comprising:
a body (fig. 6, plastic body 19A), said body comprising:
a singular fresh gas flow inlet (fig. 4, connection tube 21), arranged to receive a fresh gas flow (col. 3 lines 26-31 states that channel 20 receives fresh-gas supply from a hose via connection tube 21) from a fresh gas flow tube connectable thereto (fig. 4, connection tube 21 allows attachment to a hose that supplies a fresh gas supply, see col. 3 lines 26-31);
an outlet (fig. 3, second branch-channel 12 opens to the atmosphere, see col. 2, lines 44-47) having an open end (fig. 4, breathing-channel 10 is shown with an opening on the plastic body 19A);
a variable flow CPAP generator (fig. 3, breathing-channel 10) comprising first, second, and third connection portions, wherein the first connection portion is connected with the singular fresh gas flow inlet (fig. 3, shows inlet 20 feeding into breathing-channel 10 via channel 13), the second connection portion is connected with the patient interface end (fig. 4, channels 11 are attachable with a patient interface via connection tubes 22), and the third connection portion is connected with the outlet (fig. 3, channel 12 goes out into the atmosphere, see col. 2, lines 43-47), wherein the device is configured such that a CPAP level generated by the variable flow CPAP generator is adjustable by varying the fresh gas flow to the singular fresh gas flow inlet and thereby to the variable flow CPAP generator (col. 4, lines 9-13 states that the flow provided via the inlet channel may be adjusted to obtain an adjustable positive pressure within the breathing channel); and further discloses multiple breathing channels (fig. 3, 10), but does not expressly disclose:
a leakage channel extending entirely internally within the body between the singular fresh gas flow inlet and at least one of the patient interface end and the outlet, such to create an internal fresh gas leakage flow there between, the leakage channel bypassing the first connection portion of the variable flow CPAP generator, which internal fresh gas leakage flow is added to the fresh gas flow provided by the variable flow CPAP generator in the PPV mode, wherein the internal leakage channel extends between the singular fresh gas flow inlet and the second connection portion.
However, Nilsson teaches of a device for resuscitating neonatal infants that allows switching between a CPAP and PPV mode ([0003]-[0007]) that uses a second fresh gas flow tube or bypass line to increase pressure and generate an inspiration in a PPV mode ([0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Moa with the bypass line as taught by Nilsson to allow quick switching between PPV and CPAP modes which allows higher quality resuscitation and respiratory support (Nilsson [0016]).
The modified device of Moa reads on a leakage channel (Nilsson fig. 8, bypass flow tube 2) extending internally within the body between the singular fresh gas flow inlet and at least one of the patient interface end and the outlet (see annotated Moa fig. 3 below, where bypass line extends between channel 20 which is attached to inlet 21 and channels 11 and 12), such to create an internal fresh gas leakage flow there between (Nilsson [0014]-[0015] states the second fresh gas flow tube, which is synonymous to bypass line according to [0019], provides a second fresh gas flow), the leakage channel bypassing the first connection portion of the variable flow CPAP generator (see annotated Moa fig. 3 below, where the bypass channel bypasses channel 13), which internal fresh gas leakage flow is added to the fresh gas flow provided by the variable flow CPAP generator in the PPV mode (see annotated Moa fig. 3 below, where when channel 12 is occluded, the gas from the bypass line and channel 13 will both flow towards channel 11), wherein the internal leakage channel extends between the singular fresh gas flow inlet and the second connection portion or the third connection portion (see annotated Moa fig. 3 below, the bypass line provides another channel that feeds into channels 11 and 12 which are considered the second and third connection portions).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Moa reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on the internal leakage channel (see annotated Moa fig. 3 above) partially extends through the second connection portion of the variable flow CPAP generator to the patient interface end of the device (see annotated Moa fig. 3 above, where the bypass line provides another gas flow path that extends from channel 20 through channel 11 to the patient interface, see Moa figs. 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Moa reads on the limitations of claim 1 and further reads on the internal leakage channel (see annotated Moa fig. 3 above) partially extends through the third connection portion of the variable flow CPAP generator to the outlet of the device (see annotated Moa fig. 3 above, where the bypass line provides another gas flow path that extends from channel 20 through channel 12 to the outlet of the device, see Moa col. 2, lines 43-49 which states channel 12 opens to the atmosphere).
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Moa reads on the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly read on a pressure release connection portion and that the internal leakage channel partially extends through the pressure release connection portion to the patient interface end of the device.
However, Nilsson (fig. 4) teaches of a pressure release connection portion (fig. 4, connection portion 9) which connects to a pressure release valve (fig. 4, 6) and pressure measuring device (fig. 4, 7). The bypass channel 2 of Nilsson feeds into the connection portion 9.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified device of Moa with the pressure release valve as taught by Nilsson to maintain a max pressure (Nilsson [0054]) and prevent excessive positive pressure in a PPV mode (Nilsson [0013]).
The modified device of Moa reads on the internal leakage channel partially extends through the pressure release connection portion to the patient interface end of the device (see annotated Moa fig. 3 below, where the bypass line feeds into channels 11 and 12 which are connected to pressure valve 6 and therefore constitute a pressure release connection portion).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Moa reads on the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly state that the fresh gas flow provided to the variable flow CPAP generator is 5-15 liters per minute.
However, Nilsson teaches of providing a fresh gas flow between 10-15 liters per minute ([0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Moa with a fresh gas flow rate of between 10-15 liters per minute as taught by Nilsson to prevent rebreathing, achieve adequate inspiration, and allow leakage in the device (Nilsson [0054]).
The modified device of Moa reads on the fresh gas flow provided to the variable flow CPAP generator is 5-15 liters per minute (Nilsson [0053] states that the fresh gas flow of each line can be between 3-12 liters/min while the sum of the flows is typically between 10-15 liters/min which is within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 10, Moa reads on a system for PPV and CPAP treatment comprising a device according to claim 1 (see annotated fig. 3 of the modified device of Moa above), a fresh gas flow tube (fig. 4, connection tube 21 allows attachment of a hose for fresh gas supply, see col. 3, lines 28-29), a pressure release valve (Nilsson fig. 4, 6) arranged to prevent an excessive positive pressure in a PPV mode (Nilsson [0054]), and further discloses the associated fresh gas channel allows the adjustment of pressure within the breathing-channel by adjusting the flow of fresh gas (col. 1, lines 13-18), but does not expressly disclose a fresh gas source.
However, Nilsson teaches of a device for positive pressure ventilation (fig. 8) that includes a fresh gas source ([0029] states that a fresh gas source connects with connection unit 11) that can be split and is adjustable ([0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Moa with the gas source and method for adjusting the flow as taught by Nilsson to provide a source for the adjustable fresh gas flow (Moa col. 3, lines 28-29 states a hose provides a gas flow).
Regarding claim 11, the modified system of Moa reads on the limitations of claim 10 and further reads on the system arranged such that when the open end of the outlet of the device is occluded, the pressure will increase from the variable flow CPAP generator until an opening pressure of the pressure release valve is reached, which increase in pressure results in an inspiratory flow, whereby the pressure in the system will remain at the set PPV pressure until the occlusion is removed from the outlet, and when the occluded outlet is opened, the pressure will return to the set CPAP level, whereby the reduction in pressure leads to an expiratory flow (see Nilsson [0030] which recites the claim language, and the structure of the modified system of Moa can allow the same function).
Regarding claim 12, the modified system of Moa reads on the limitations of claim 10 and further reads on the system arranged such that during spontaneous breathing, the flow from the patient interface end (Moa fig. 4, channel 11 is located where the patient interface is) and the fresh gas flow leaves the system through the variable flow CPAP generator keeping the positive pressure within the airway stable (Moa fig. 2, shows inlet flow 16 and expired flow 17 being directed out of channel 12, see arrows 18), by varying the flow that generates the CPAP (Nilsson [0053] states that the fresh gas flow is adjustable, and the gas flow is provided from the gas source, see Nilsson [0050]), whereby the CPAP in the airway can be adjusted as needed (Nilsson [0031] recites the same language).
Regarding claim 13, the modified system of Moa reads on the limitations of claim 10 and further reads on the system wherein the pressure release valve (Nilsson fig. 4, 6) is connected with the patient interface end (see annotated Moa fig. 3 above, where valve 6 is connected to channel 11 which is at the patient interface end).
Regarding claim 14, the modified system of Moa reads on the limitations of claim 10, but does not expressly read on the system comprising a pressure measuring device.
However, Nilsson teaches of a pressure measuring device (fig. 8, pressure measuring device 7) to monitor operation of the device and make desirable adjustments ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified system of Moa with the pressure measuring device as taught by Nilsson to allow monitoring of the device (Nilsson [0027]).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see paragraph 3 of page 6 of “remarks,” that the device of Moa in view of Nilsson would utilize inlet ports to connect to a source of fresh gas flow, and there is no teaching or suggestion that an entirely internal leakage channel would be the result of Moa hypothetically combine with Nilsson. However, the device of Moa already discloses an inlet for fresh gas that leads to the two parallel channels (Moa fig. 4, channel 20 has a connection tube 21 for attachment of a hose for fresh-gas supply, see col. 3, lines 26-31). In view of the defined inlet and outlet of Moa (Moa fig. 3, second branch-channel 12 opens to the atmosphere, see col. 2, lines 44-47), the leakage channel of Nilsson (Nilsson fig. 8, bypass tube 2) which connects between an inlet (Nilsson fig. 8, fresh gas connection unit 11) and outlet (Nilsson fig. 8, outlet 4) would have been obvious to be provided entirely internally to provide a similar configuration as the one suggested in Nilsson (see the rejection to claim 1 above and annotated fig. 3 of Moa).
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS Z CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785