DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The previously applied objections to the drawings are hereby withdrawn based on newly submitted drawings, submitted 3/18/26.
The previously applied 112 rejections are hereby withdrawn based on Applicant’s clarifying remarks and amendments, submitted 3/18/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34, 37, 40, 43, 46, 49, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramamurthy et al. (US 2020/0017772 A1) in view of Keusenkothen et al. (US 2014/0163271 A1).
Regarding Claims 34 and 37, Ramamurthy teaches a process for producing high value products that include a propylene stream, an ethylene stream, and a cumene stream that are converted and created by pyrolysis from recycled plastic waste streams (Ramamurthy, Abstract, [0007], [0012]-[0020], [0029], [0092]-[0100], [0107], [0112]-[0113], [0137]). Ramamurthy additionally teaches that the output stream may include aromatics in an amount of 5 wt% ([0037]). Ramamurthy additionally teaches that the pyrolysis may be done at a temperature of above 450C, which would include temperatures of greater than 775C (including ranges of up to 750C, [0027]; additionally see [0066], wherein cracking at very high temperatures of 800C or more may be implemented). The Examiner notes that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05. Ramamurthy remains silent regarding utilizing the aforementioned product streams in a polymerization reactor to form a propylene-ethylene copolymer. Keusenkothen, however, teaches a process for copolymerizing monomers that include ethylene and propylene in a polymerization reactor after a pyrolysis process to form monomer precursor components (Keusenkothen, Abstract, [0003]-[0010], [0038], [0072]-[0074]). Keusenkothen teaches the process can utilize recycle streams of hydrocarbons into process mixtures (Keusenkothen, [0053], [0112]). Since Ramamurthy and Keusenkothen both disclose pyrolysis processes for producing hydrocarbon products, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have subsequently polymerized Ramamurthy pyrolysis product streams (such as ethylene and propylene) via a method for polymerizing propylene and ethylene in a reactor to form a copolymer as taught by Keusenkothen to yield a process that can operate within a wide range of pyrolysis conditions, that provides conditions able to increase relative amounts of C2 and C3 unsaturated hydrocarbons (i.e., ethylene and propylene), and that operates with residence time conditions that optimize performance and product stream conversions (Keusenkothen, [0034]-[0046]).
Regarding Claim 40, modified Ramamurthy teaches the propylene stream and an ethylene stream are converted and created by pyrolysis from recycled plastic waste streams by cracking a recycled waste pyrolysis gas (Ramamurthy, Abstract, [0001], [0007], [0017]-[0030], [0092]-[0100], [0112]-[0113], [0137]). Modified Ramamurthy teaches at least a portion of the pyrolysis hydrocarbon streams can be recycled back to the pyrolysis unit (Ramamurthy, [0029], [0107], Fig 2).
Regarding Claims 43 and 46, modified Ramamurthy teaches the propylene stream and an ethylene stream are converted and created by pyrolysis from recycled plastic waste streams by cracking a recycled waste pyrolysis oil in a gas cracking furnace (Ramamurthy, Abstract, [0001], [0021], [0026]-[0032], [0047], [0066], [0099]-[0108]).
Regarding Claims 49 and 52, modified Ramamurthy teaches the propylene-ethylene copolymer is formed from the propylene stream and an ethylene streams that are converted and created by pyrolysis from recycled plastic waste streams, where at least a portion of the pyrolysis hydrocarbon streams can also be recycled back to the pyrolysis unit (Ramamurthy, Abstract, [0003], [0007], [0012]-[0020], [0029], [0092]-[0100], [0107], [0112]-[0113], [0137]; Keusenkothen, Abstract, [0003]-[0010], [0038], [0053], [0072]-[0074], [0112]).
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramamurthy in view of Keusenkothen as applied to claim 34, above, and further in view of Ullom et al. (US 2016/0024390, “Ullom”).
Regarding claim 54, the combination remains as applied to claim 34, above, however Ramamurthy fails to specifically teach to dehalogenate the waste plastic prior to the pyrolysis. However, this step is known in the prior art. For example, in the same field of endeavor of recycling systems and methods ([0001] – [0005]), Ullom teaches it is known and helpful to dehalogenate hydrocarbonaceous material prior to pyrolysis as an effective manner of reducing halogens from the raw materials and it therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing to have done so ([0017], [0035]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/18/26 are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Arguments that are relevant to the current rejections are addressed below.
Applicant argues that Ramamurthy does not teach pyrolysis at a temperature reading on the claimed range of from 775C to 1100C. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ramamurthy describes high temperature pyrolysis including ranges of greater than 450C (e.g., [0027], [0066]). The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05. Additionally, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05.
Applicant further argues that aromatics would be present at a higher amount than 5% by weight if the pyrolysis were to be undergone at higher temperatures. The Examiner respectfully disagrees that Ramamurthy teaches that this is necessarily so. Ramamurthy teaches that higher temperature pyrolysis may produce pyrolysis oils rich in aromatics. But Ramamurthy teaches that the content of aromatics in this stream may be as low as 5% by weight ([0037]) and that high severity pyrolysis is preferable for producing propylene ([0027]). “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Please see MPEP §2123.
Therefore, claims 34, 37, 40, 43, 46, 49, 50, and 54 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782