DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/08/2026 regarding claims 18-32 in the remarks are fully considered but moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 18-22, 24-30 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0400490) in view of Agiwal (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0219346) and further in view of Park (US PG Pub. No. 2024/0357702) and Hosseini (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0297971).
As per claim 18:
Ji teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Figure 3b, paragraph [0108], apparatus 20 could be wireless handheld device, wireless plug-in accessory or the like) comprising at least one processor (see Figure 3b, processor 22) configured to:
determine a first resource allocation for a first mode of operation and a second resource allocation for second mode of operation (see paragraph [0035], sidelink transmitter (TX) UE can use different modes for the same or different SL LCHs, e.g., as one example, NR mode 1 could be used for SL LCH 1, NR mode 2 could be used for SL LCH 2 and/or mode 1 and 2 could be used for SL LCH3), wherein in the first mode of operation, a network node schedules resources to be used by the WTRU for sidelink transmissions (see paragraph [0038], for a SL LCH configured for SL mode 1, the UE will request for transmission of resources from the NW), and wherein in the second mode, the WTRU schedules resources to be used for sidelink transmission (paragraph [0037], disclose if a single-mode SL LCH is configured to only use SL mode 2, a UE selects the transmission resources based on channel sensing/measurement results);
assign each of one or more logical channels a channel mode type (see paragraph [0041], each sidelink logical channel, SL LCH, in a V2X TX UE can be configured with its SL resource allocation mode), wherein the channel mode type indicates whether the logical channel is configured for use in the first mode of operation or the second mode of operation (see paragraph [0041], from among the SL LCHs, some may be configured to support one single-mode (mode 1 or mode 2), while others may be configured to be dual-mode SL LCHs (mode 1 and mode 2));
assign each of one or more grants a grant mode type, wherein the grant mode type indicates whether the grant is associated with the first mode of operation or the second mode of operation (see paragraph [0043], the NW may configure the rule and/or criteria regarding how the dual-mode SL LCH may use the SL grant of mode 1. For example, the maximum/minimum number of bits may be configured for the dual-mode LCH to set as the limitation on use of SL grant of mode 1. Paragraphs [0047]-[0048], disclose SL TX UE receiving SL grant of mode 1 and selecting the proper MCS from the configured set of feasible MCSs to form the MAC PDU/TB according to the configuration from NW).
Ji does not clearly teach select a destination having a logical channel with a channel mode type that matches the grant mode type of the grant;
select, based on the destination and the grant mode type of the grant, logical channels, of the one or more logical channels, to be transmitted over the grant.
Agiwal select a destination having a logical channel with a channel mode type that matches the grant mode type of the grant (see Figure 4, paragraph [0173], disclose there are four sidelink logical channels (i.e., LCH A, LCH B, LCH C and LCH D) associated with a destination (or source and destination pair). LCH A and LCH B are associated with scheduling mode M1 while LCH C and LCH D are associated with scheduling mode M2. Since the UE has a grant for scheduling mode M1, the UE generates SL MAC PDU using SL grant for M1 from LCH A and LCH B which are associated with scheduling mode M1. Therefore, LCH A and LCH B are selected for the matching grant for scheduling mode M1. Note: As explained earlier, LCH A and LCH B are associated with destination or source and destination pair);
select, based on the destination and the grant mode type of the grant, logical channels, of the one or more logical channels, to be transmitted over the grant (paragraphs [0167]-[0172] disclose scheduling data from SL LCH(s) by allocating resources to SL MAC CE(s) of selected destination (or source and destination pair) then allocating resources to SL LCHs. The SL LCHs scheduled for transmitting data are associated with a scheduling mode of the SL grant. Therefore, the SL LCHs of a given scheduling mode of SL grant are selected based on the destination (or source and destination pair)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the scheduling of sidelink logical channels associated with a destination for a scheduling mode (as disclosed in Agiwal) into Ji) as a way of serving the remaining sidelink logical channels in strict decreasing order until data for the logical channel or the sidelink grant is exhausted (please see paragraph [0172] of Agiwal). Therefore, scheduling sidelink resources this way reduces resource wastage (please see paragraph [0015] of Agiwal).
The combination of Ji and Agiwal do not clearly teach and if a sidelink physical uplink control channel is configured, and sidelink feedback is received for a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) transmitted using the first resource allocation, signal a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to the network node.
Park teaches and if a sidelink physical uplink control channel is configured (see paragraph [0090], step s600, base station may transmit information related to SL resource(s) and/or information related to UL resource(s) to a first UE. For example, the UL resource(s) may include PUCCH resource(s) and/or PUSCH resource(s). Thus, PUCCH resource(s) are configured), and sidelink feedback is received for a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) transmitted using the first resource allocation (see paragraph [0092], step 2610, the first UE may transmit a PSCCH (e.g., sidelink control information (SCI) to a second UE based on the resource scheduling. In step s620, the first UE may transmit a PSSCH related to the PSCCH to the second UE and in step s630 first UE may receive PSFCH related to the PSCCH/PSSCH from the second UE. For example, HARQ feedback information (e.g., NACK information or ACK information) may be received from the second UE through the PSFCH), signal a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to the network node (see paragraph [0092], step s640, the first UE may transmit/report HARQ feedback information to the base station through the PUCCH or the PUSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the UE operation related to a transmission mode (as disclosed in Park) into both Ji and Agiwal as a way of enabling transmission of HARQ feedback information on the allocated resource (please see paragraph [0092] of Park). Therefore, implementing such transmission method based on resource allocation helps to reduce signaling overhead (please see paragraph [0225] of Park).
The combination of Ji Agiwal and Park do not clearly teach wherein a grant received on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is assigned the grant mode type associated with the first mode of operation.
Hosseini teaches wherein a grant received on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is assigned the grant mode type associated with the first mode of operation (see paragraph [0087], in the first mode, the BS 110 may provide a resource grant 630 to a relay UE 120 and the relay UE 120 may perform sidelink communications 640 with the remote UE 120 using the resource grant 630. In some aspects, the resource grant 630 is a dynamic grant (construed as a grant mode type for the first mode). The resource grant 630 may comprise a dynamic resource allocation via a SL-RNTI on a PDCCH to the relay UE 120).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of a resource grant for a given resource allocation mode (as disclosed in Hosseini) into Ji, Agiwal and Park as a way of providing a configured sidelink channel (such as PSCCH/PSSCH) for sidelink communication (please see paragraph [0087] of Hosseini). Therefore, using the first mode of resource allocation may involve less overhead associated with sensing and resource reservation techniques (please see paragraph [0088] of Hosseini).
As per claim 19:
Ji in view of Agiwal and further in view of Park and Hosseini teaches the WTRU of claim 18, wherein the first mode of operation comprises 3GPP new radio sidelink resource allocation mode 1, and wherein the second mode of operation comprises 3GPP new radio sidelink resource allocation mode 2 (Ji, see paragraph [0032], for 3GPP release-16, new radio (NR) vehicle-to-anything (V2X), UE can simultaneously operate in both network scheduled resource allocation mode (i.e., mode 1) and UE autonomous resource allocation mode (i.e., mode 2)).
As per claim 20:
Ji in view of Agiwal and further in view of Park and Hosseini teaches the WTRU of claim 18, wherein the network node comprises a base station (Ji, see Figure 3a, paragraph [0086], apparatus 10 may be base station).
As per claim 21:
Ji in view of Agiwal and further in view of Park and Hosseini teaches the WTRU of claim 18, wherein processor is further configured to generate a MAC PDU for the grant using logical channel restrictions (Ji, see paragraph [0044], the NW may configure a dual-mode SL LCH with two sets of logical channel prioritization (LCP) configurations, in which one LCP configuration may be related to mode 1 and another may LCP configuration may be related to mode 2. Then, when buffered data in dual-mode SL LCH are multiplexed into a MAC packet data unit (PDU)/transmission block (TB) using SL grant mode 1, the LCP configuration related to mode 1 should be applied).
As per claim 22:
Ji in view of Agiwal and further in view of Park and Hosseini teaches the WTRU of claim 18, wherein each of the logical channels has an associated priority (Ji, see paragraph [0006], the method may include configuring each dual-mode SL LCH(s) with two sets of logical channel prioritization (LCP) configurations, where one LCP configuration is for mode 1 operation and the other LCP configuration is for mode 2 operation).
As per claim 24:
Ji in view of Agiwal and further in view of Park and Hosseini teaches the WTRU of claim 18, wherein the WTRU is within a coverage area of the network node (Ji, see paragraph [0039] discloses a UE in RRC connected state can be configured by the network to use either the network scheduled resource allocation mode or UE autonomous resource allocation mode for transmitting its V2X packets. Thus, since the UE is in RRC connected state, it is evident that the UE is in coverage with the network).
As per claim 25:
Ji in view of Agiwal and further in view of Park and Hosseini teaches the WTRU of claim 18, wherein the WTRU is configured for operation in the first mode and the second mode via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Ji, see paragraph [0039], discloses a UE in RRC connected state can be configured by the network to use either the network scheduled resource allocation mode or UE autonomous resource allocation mode for transmitting its V2X packets. Paragraph [0047] also discloses dual mode SL LCHs related configurations as provided above may be configured using the RRC signaling in either broadcast way or dedicated way (e.g., using dedicated RRC signaling). Paragraph [0006] refers to said dual-mode SL LCHs refers to LCP configuration for mode 1 operation and another LCP configuration for mode 2 operation).
As per claim 26:
Ji teaches a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), (see abstract), the method comprising:
determining a first resource allocation for a first mode of operation and a second resource allocation for second mode of operation (see paragraph [0035], sidelink transmitter (TX) UE can use different modes for the same or different SL LCHs, e.g., as one example, NR mode 1 could be used for SL LCH 1, NR mode 2 could be used for SL LCH 2 and/or mode 1 and 2 could be used for SL LCH3), wherein in the first mode of operation, a network node schedules resources to be used by the WTRU for sidelink transmissions (see paragraph [0038], for a SL LCH configured for SL mode 1, the UE will request for transmission of resources from the NW), and wherein in the second mode, the WTRU schedules resources to be used for sidelink transmission (paragraph [0037], disclose if a single-mode SL LCH is configured to only use SL mode 2, a UE selects the transmission resources based on channel sensing/measurement results);
assigning each of one or more logical channels a channel mode type (see paragraph [0041], each sidelink logical channel, SL LCH, in a V2X TX UE can be configured with its SL resource allocation mode), wherein the channel mode type indicates whether the logical channel is configured for use in the first mode of operation or the second mode of operation (see paragraph [0041], from among the SL LCHs, some may be configured to support one single-mode (mode 1 or mode 2), while others may be configured to be dual-mode SL LCHs (mode 1 and mode 2));
assigning each of one or more grants a grant mode type, wherein the grant mode type indicates whether the grant is associated with the first mode of operation or the second mode of operation (see paragraph [0043], the NW may configure the rule and/or criteria regarding how the dual-mode SL LCH may use the SL grant of mode 1. For example, the maximum/minimum number of bits may be configured for the dual-mode LCH to set as the limitation on use of SL grant of mode 1. Paragraphs [0047]-[0048], disclose SL TX UE receiving SL grant of mode 1 and selecting the proper MCS from the configured set of feasible MCSs to form the MAC PDU/TB according to the configuration from NW).
Ji does not clearly teach select a destination having a logical channel with a channel mode type that matches the grant mode type of the grant;
select, based on the destination and the grant mode type of the grant, logical channels, of the one or more logical channels, to be transmitted over the grant.
Agiwal select a destination having a logical channel with a channel mode type that matches the grant mode type of the grant (see Figure 4, paragraph [0173], disclose there are four sidelink logical channels (i.e., LCH A, LCH B, LCH C and LCH D) associated with a destination (or source and destination pair). LCH A and LCH B are associated with scheduling mode M1 while LCH C and LCH D are associated with scheduling mode M2. Since the UE has a grant for scheduling mode M1, the UE generates SL MAC PDU using SL grant for M1 from LCH A and LCH B which are associated with scheduling mode M1. Therefore, LCH A and LCH B are selected for the matching grant for scheduling mode M1. Note: As explained earlier, LCH A and LCH B are associated with destination or source and destination pair);
select, based on the destination and the grant mode type of the grant, logical channels, of the one or more logical channels, to be transmitted over the grant (paragraphs [0167]-[0172] disclose scheduling data from SL LCH(s) by allocating resources to SL MAC CE(s) of selected destination (or source and destination pair) then allocating resources to SL LCHs. The SL LCHs scheduled for transmitting data are associated with a scheduling mode of the SL grant. Therefore, the SL LCHs of a given scheduling mode of SL grant are selected based on the destination (or source and destination pair)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the scheduling of sidelink logical channels associated with a destination for a scheduling mode (as disclosed in Agiwal) into Ji) as a way of serving the remaining sidelink logical channels in strict decreasing order until data for the logical channel or the sidelink grant is exhausted (please see paragraph [0172] of Agiwal). Therefore, scheduling sidelink resources this way reduces resource wastage (please see paragraph [0015] of Agiwal).
The combination of Ji and Agiwal do not clearly teach and if a sidelink physical uplink control channel is configured, and sidelink feedback is received for a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) transmitted using the first resource allocation, signaling, by the WTRU, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to the network node.
Park teaches and if a sidelink physical uplink control channel is configured (see paragraph [0090], step s600, base station may transmit information related to SL resource(s) and/or information related to UL resource(s) to a first UE. For example, the UL resource(s) may include PUCCH resource(s) and/or PUSCH resource(s). Thus, PUCCH resource(s) are configured), and sidelink feedback is received for a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) transmitted using the first resource allocation (see paragraph [0092], step 2610, the first UE may transmit a PSCCH (e.g., sidelink control information (SCI) to a second UE based on the resource scheduling. In step s620, the first UE may transmit a PSSCH related to the PSCCH to the second UE and in step s630 first UE may receive PSFCH related to the PSCCH/PSSCH from the second UE. For example, HARQ feedback information (e.g., NACK information or ACK information) may be received from the second UE through the PSFCH), signaling, by the WTRU, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to the network node (see paragraph [0092], step s640, the first UE may transmit/report HARQ feedback information to the base station through the PUCCH or the PUSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the UE operation related to a transmission mode (as disclosed in Park) into both Ji and Agiwal as a way of enabling transmission of HARQ feedback information on the allocated resource (please see paragraph [0092] of Park). Therefore, implementing such transmission method based on resource allocation helps to reduce signaling overhead (please see paragraph [0225] of Park).
The combination of Ji Agiwal and Park do not clearly teach wherein a grant received on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is assigned the grant mode type associated with the first mode of operation.
Hosseini teaches wherein a grant received on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is assigned the grant mode type associated with the first mode of operation (see paragraph [0087], in the first mode, the BS 110 may provide a resource grant 630 to a relay UE 120 and the relay UE 120 may perform sidelink communications 640 with the remote UE 120 using the resource grant 630. In some aspects, the resource grant 630 is a dynamic grant (construed as a grant mode type for the first mode). The resource grant 630 may comprise a dynamic resource allocation via a SL-RNTI on a PDCCH to the relay UE 120).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the allocation of a resource grant for a given resource allocation mode (as disclosed in Hosseini) into Ji, Agiwal and Park as a way of providing a configured sidelink channel (such as PSCCH/PSSCH) for sidelink communication (please see paragraph [0087] of Hosseini). Therefore, using the first mode of resource allocation may involve less overhead associated with sensing and resource reservation techniques (please see paragraph [0088] of Hosseini).
Claim 27 is rejected in the same scope as claim 19.
Claim 28 is rejected in the same scope as claim 20.
Claim 29 is rejected in the same scope as claim 21.
Claim 30 is rejected in the same scope as claim 22.
Claim 32 is rejected in the same scope as claim 25.
5. Claims 23 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji in view of Agiwal and further in view of Park, Hosseini and Loehr (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0305169).
As per claim 23:
Ji in view of Agiwal and further in view of Park and Hosseini teaches the WTRU of claim 18 with the exception of:
wherein the processor is further configured to:
select, from a plurality of grants associated with the first mode of operation and the second mode of operation that are overlapping or collided, a grant to use in a slot;
and send, to the network node, an indication when the selected grant is associated with the second mode of operation.
Loehr teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
select, from a plurality of grants associated with the first mode of operation and the second mode of operation that are overlapping or collided, a grant to use in a slot (see paragraph [0063], the V2X transmitting UE is configured to receive a sidelink grant dynamically on a PDCCH (e.g., scheduled resource allocation mode 1) and is simultaneously configured with an autonomous allocation mode (i.e., mode 2), the UE performs both resource allocation relation operations in parallel. The UE is only enabled and/or capable of performing (e.g., in a serving cell in one slot) one SL transmission on a SL-SCH. For cases if the UE has for the same slot (e.g., partially or fully overlapping) with a SL grant allocated by the PDCCH as well as SL grant selected autonomously);
and send, to the network node, an indication when the selected grant is associated with the second mode of operation (see paragraph [0052] discloses there may be an indication about whether data of a corresponding SL LCH and/or SLRB may be transmitted on the SL-SCH using a SL grant allocated by a network entity such as gNB (e.g., mode 1), a SL grant autonomously selected by UE (e.g., mode 2) or both).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of one or more grants based on the resource allocation mode (as disclosed in Loehr) into Ji, Agiwal and Park as a way of achieving an resource efficient sidelink data transmission for configurations in which the UE is configured with two resource allocation modes concurrently (please see paragraph [0050] of Loehr).
Claim 31 is rejected in the same scope as claim 23.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474