DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2022 was received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: The word “with” is omitted between the words “accordance” and “claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Examiner has used drawings from the PCT filling PCT/EP2021/059231 associated with this application to facilitate understanding of this invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pacala et.al. US 20190011567 A1, (“Pacala”).
Regarding claim 1, Pacala discloses a method for acquiring image data ([0007]), the method comprising the following steps:
a) providing a transmission unit comprising a plurality of transmission elements arranged in at least one row ([0072] light transmission module 106), a reception unit comprising reception pixels arranged in rows and columns ([0073] light sensing module 108), and at least one reception optics arranged between the transmission unit and the reception unit ([0073] receiver bulk optic 140);
b) illuminating a first partial scene of a field of view using a first transmission element during a first time window ([0086] Fig 2B-2D, emitter column 214(1) as first transmission element);
c) illuminating a further partial scene of the field of view using another transmission element during a further time window ([0086] emitter column 214(2) as second transmission element); wherein
d) light reflected by an object in the respective partial scene is projected simultaneously onto all the reception pixels by the reception optics during each time window ([0073] receiver bulk optic 140, Figure 5);
e) the image data received successively in time by the reception pixels in the time windows are read out and combined to form a total image ([0086] image capturing sequence as total image read out); and
f) no moving parts are used in an optical path between the field of view and the reception unit ([0071] Figure 1, Light detection system 136).
Regarding claim 2, Pacala discloses the method in accordance with claim 1, characterized in that wherein the reflected light of all the partial scenes is superposed and projected onto a single imaging region by the reception optics in order to increase the resolution ([0073] sensor array 126 as imaging region).
Regarding claim 3, Pacala discloses the method in accordance with claim 1, wherein at least two part regions of a partial scene arranged next to one another are projected onto the reception pixels of the reception unit by the reception optics such that they are arranged there beneath one another and/or spaced apart ([0088] examiner notes photosensors can be read out row by row).
Regarding claim 4, Pacala discloses the method in accordance with claim 1, wherein at least two part regions of a partial scene arranged beneath one another are projected onto the reception pixels of the reception unit by the reception optics such that they are arranged there next to one another and/or spaced apart ([0086] Fig 2B-2D).
Regarding claim 5, Pacala discloses the method in accordance with claim 1, wherein adjacent part regions of a partial scene are projected onto a different number of reception pixels by the reception optics ([0127] emitter array corresponds to mxn number of photosensors).
Regarding claim 6, Pacala discloses the method in accordance with claim 1, wherein adjacent partial scenes are successively illuminated ([0086] examiner notes sequential emission of emitter columns 214).
Regarding claim 7, Pacala discloses the method in accordance with claim 1, wherein a facet lens, in particular a single piece facet lens, is used as the reception optics ([0073] receiver bulk optic 140).
Regarding claim 8, Pacala discloses the method in accordance with claim 1, wherein the number of illuminated partial scenes corresponds to the number of transmission elements ([0086] column of emitters 214(m) correspond to photosensors 224(m)).
Regarding claim 12, Pacala discloses the method in accordance claim 1, wherein at least one partial scene of the field of view is covered in the reception optics or in the optical path between the field of view and the reception optics ([0086] image capturing sequence as total image read out to form a single imaging region).
Regarding claim 13, Pacala discloses the method in accordance with claim 1, wherein during each time window, only the reflected light of a predetermined part region of an illuminated partial scene is directed onto the reception pixels ([0086] last column of emitters 214(m) is activated concurrently with the last column of photosensors 224(m) being read…).
Regarding claim 14, Pacala discloses an apparatus, comprising a transmission unit comprising a plurality of transmission elements arranged in at least one row ([0072] light transmission module 106 as transmission unit), a reception unit comprising reception pixels arranged in rows and columns ([0073] light sensing module 108 as reception unit), and at least one reception optics that is arranged between the transmission unit ([0073] Figure 5, Bulk receiver optic 502 as reception optics) and the reception unit and that detects a plurality of partial scenes of the light reflected by an object ([0074], [0074], [0084] in a field of view and superposes them to form a single imaging region ([0086] image capturing sequence as total image read out to form a single imaging region).
Regarding claim 15, Pacala discloses the apparatus in accordance with claim 14, wherein the reception optics simultaneously projects the imaging region onto all the reception pixels ([0073] receiver bulk optic 140).
Regarding claim 18, Pacala discloses the apparatus in accordance with claim 14, wherein the reception optics is configured such that at least two part regions of a partial scene arranged next to one another are arranged beneath one another ([0088] examiner notes photosensors can be read out row by row) and/or spaced apart on the reception pixels of the reception unit), or in that at least two part regions of a partial scene arranged beneath one another are arranged next to one another and/or spaced apart on the reception pixels of the reception unit ([0086] Fig 2B-2D).
Regarding claim 19, Pacala discloses the apparatus in accordance with claim 14, wherein a control is provided that controls the transmission elements in an alternating and successive manner in a predetermined sequence ([0075] emitter controller 115).
Regarding claim 20, Pacala discloses the apparatus in accordance with claim 14, wherein the reception optics comprises a facet lens, in particular a single piece facet lens ([0073] receiver bulk optic 140).
Regarding claim 21, Pacala discloses the apparatus in accordance with claim 14, wherein it has no moving components in the optical path between the field of view and the reception unit (([0071] Figure 1, Light detection system 136).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala.
Regarding claim 9, Pacala teaches the method in accordance with claim 1.
The referenced embodiment of Pacala does not expressly teach wherein the number of transmission elements is larger and in particular twice as large than the number of illuminated partial scenes.
However, Pacala in a separate embodiment teaches wherein the number of transmission elements is larger and in particular twice as large than the number of illuminated partial scenes ([0209] the emitter array can be formed of two emitter arrays).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Pacala with the separate embodiment of Pacala to add additional emitter arrays with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of improving the overall resolution, while ensuring that the sensor array receives enough light (See Pacala – [0209]).
Regarding claim 10, Pacala, as modified by Pacala teaches the method in accordance with claim 9, wherein different part regions of a partial scene are successively illuminated by a first and a second transmission element during two consecutive time windows ([0086] Figure 2B-2D, emitter column 214(1) of emitter array 210)…), with only some of the reception pixels being read out in each time window ([0086] last column of emitters 214(m) is activated concurrently with the last column of photosensors 224(m) being read…).
Regarding claim 11, Pacala, as modified by Pacala teaches the method in accordance with claim 10, wherein a first contiguous region of the reception pixels is read out in a first time window and another contiguous region of the reception pixels, which is adjacent to the first region, is read out in a subsequent time window ([0086] Figure 2B-2D, photosensors 224(1), 224(2) as first and second region of reception pixels).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala in view of Steever et.al., US 20180143320 A1, (“Steever”).
Regarding claim 16, Pacala teaches the apparatus in accordance with claim 14, further comprising an evaluation device is provided that combines image data received successively in time by the reception unit to form a total image having an x direction and a y direction ([0174] – [ 175].
Pacala fails to teach with the reception optics being configured such that the assembled total image has a different resolution in the x direction and/or the y direction.
However, Steever teaches with the reception optics being configured such that the assembled total image has a different resolution in the x direction and/or the y direction ([0079] – [ 0080] panoramic annular lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Pacala receiver optics with the lens as taught by Steever with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of improving the overall resolution of the entire image, ensuring that peripheral regions of the detector array receive light.
Regarding claim 17, Pacala, as modified by Steever teaches the apparatus in accordance with claim 16, wherein the reception optics is configured such that the assembled total image has an increased resolution in the y direction at its two side margins (Steever [0079]- [0080] Examiner notes symmetry of detector optics to increase resolution).
Claims 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacala in view of Donovan et.al., US 20190302246 A1, (“Donovan”).
Regarding claim 22, Pacala discloses the apparatus in accordance with claim 14.
Pacala fails to teach further comprising a cover device in the reception optics or in the optical path between the field of view and the reception optics, the cover device, covering at least one partial scene of the field of view.
However, Donovan teaches further comprising a cover device in the reception optics or in the optical path between the field of view and the reception optics ([0035] Figure 2), the cover device, covering at least one partial scene of the field of view ([0045], [0052] optical shutter as cover device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Pacala with the optical shutter as taught by Donovan with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of limiting light from specific portions of the field of view allowing detection of only the desired portion (See Donovan – [0035]).
Regarding claim 23, Pacala discloses the apparatus in accordance with claim 14.
Pacala fails to teach further comprising a cover device in the reception optics or in the optical path between the field of view and the reception optics, the cover device transmitting the reflected light from only one partial scene of the field of view to the reception device.
However, Donovan teaches further comprising a cover device in the reception optics or in the optical path between the field of view and the reception optics ([0035] Figure 2), the cover device transmitting the reflected light from only one partial scene of the field of view to the reception device ([0045], [0052] optical shutter as cover device).
Regarding claim 24, Pacala, as modified by Donovan teaches the apparatus in accordance with claim 22, wherein the cover device comprises a mechanical or electronic aperture (Donovan [0045] liquid crystal shutter).
Regarding claim 25, Pacala, as modified by Donovan teaches the apparatus in accordance with claim 22, wherein the cover device is synchronized in time with a control of the transmission elements (Donovan [0070] – [0071] examiner notes illumination pattern with controlled adaptive shutter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Pacala with the optical shutter as taught by Donovan with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of limiting light from specific portions of the field of view with controlled light emission (See Donovan – [0035]).
Regarding claim 26, Pacala, as modified by Donovan teaches the apparatus in accordance with claim 23, wherein the cover device is synchronized in time with a control of the transmission elements (Donovan [0070] – [0071] examiner notes illumination pattern with controlled adaptive shutter).
Regarding claim 27, Pacala, as modified by Donovan teaches the apparatus in accordance with claim 14.
Pacala fails to explicitly teach wherein at least two part regions of a partial scene arranged beneath one another are arranged next to one another and/or spaced apart on the reception pixels of the reception unit.
However, Donovan teaches wherein at least two part regions of a partial scene arranged beneath one another are arranged next to one another and/or spaced apart on the reception pixels of the reception unit ([0070] illumination pattern over row-by-row or pseudo random).
Regarding claim 28, Pacala, as modified by Donovan teaches the apparatus in accordance with claim 23, wherein the cover device comprises a mechanical or electronic aperture (Donovan [0045] liquid crystal shutter).
Conclusion
/ANDREA MARIA BACA/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645