DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 9/17/26, amended claim(s) 1 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0271419 to Varghese et al. (hereinafter “Varghese”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0170646 to Fiolka.
For claim 1, Varghese discloses a tissue excision apparatus (Abstract) comprising:
a laser (105) (Fig. 2) (para [0026]) configured for (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) emission of a beam of electromagnetic energy (106) (Fig. 2) (para [0026]);
optical components (109a, 109b, 112, and/or 124) (Fig. 2) (para [0026]-[0028]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) modify the beam of electromagnetic energy to form an annular converging beam (as can be seen in Fig. 3B) (also see para [0037] and [0043]); and
a control system (123) (Fig. 2) (para [0026]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language, i.e., capable of) limit the emission of the beam of electromagnetic energy to a duration between 10 picoseconds and 10 milliseconds (para [0026]).
Varghese does not expressly disclose a collection device comprising a cover slip configured to collect a portion of tissue ejected by the formed annular converging beam onto the cover slip, wherein the tissue portion collected on the cover slip forms a biopsy sample.
However, Fiolka teaches a collection device comprising a cover slip (Examiner’s Note: interpreted in view of the 112(f) invocation above) (170) (Fig. 1) (para [0050]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) collect a portion of tissue ejected by a formed annular converging beam onto the cover slip (para [0077]) (also see para [0078]), wherein the tissue portion collected on the cover slip forms a biopsy sample (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) (para [0077]) (also see para [0078]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Varghese to include a collection device comprising a cover slip configured to collect a portion of tissue ejected by the formed annular converging beam onto the cover slip, wherein the tissue portion collected on the cover slip forms a biopsy sample, in view of the teachings of Fiolka, for the obvious advantage of providing a means to capture the sample so that it may be later analyzed/interrogated so that an analysis of the sample may be had.
For claim 3, Varghese further discloses wherein the emission of the beam of electromagnetic energy has a pulse energy between 10 mJ and 10 J (para [0034]).
Claim(s) 2, 4, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese in view of Fiolka, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0101748 to Hiereth et al. (hereinafter “Hiereth”).
For claim 2, Varghese and Fiolka do not expressly disclose wherein the laser is configured to emit the beam of electromagnetic energy at a wavelength between 1.2 µm and 2.5 µm.
However, Hiereth teaches wherein the laser is configured to emit the beam of electromagnetic energy at a wavelength between 1.2 µm and 2.5 µm (para [0037]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Varghese wherein the laser is configured to emit the beam of electromagnetic energy at a wavelength between 1.2 µm and 2.5 µm, in view of the teachings of Hiereth, for the obvious advantage of using a wavelength that is highly absorbed by water.
For claim 4, Varghese and Fiolka do not expressly disclose wherein the laser is a Ho: YAG laser.
However, Hiereth teaches wherein the laser is a Ho: YAG laser (para [0037]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Varghese wherein the laser is a Ho: YAG laser, in view of the teachings of Hiereth, for the obvious advantage of using a laser that is highly absorbed by water.
For claim 10, Varghese and Fiolka do not expressly disclose wherein the beam of electromagnetic energy is directed through an optical fiber.
However, Hiereth teaches wherein the beam of electromagnetic energy is directed through an optical fiber (para [0013]).
It would have obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Varghese wherein the beam of electromagnetic energy is directed through an optical fiber, in view of the teachings of Hiereth, for the obvious advantage of being able to direct and control the application of the laser energy to the target.
For claim 11, Varghese and Fiolka do not expressly disclose wherein the optical fiber is a multimode fiber.
However, Hiereth teaches wherein the optical fiber is a multimode fiber (para [0013]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Varghese wherein the optical fiber is a multimode fiber, in view of the teachings of Hiereth, for the obvious advantage of reducing manufacturing costs (as opposed to a monomode fiber).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese in view of Fiolka, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,613,965 to Muller.
For claim 12, Varghese and Fiolka do not expressly disclose wherein the annular converging beam comprises a peripheral portion and a central portion and wherein the central portion of the annular converging beam has lower electromagnetic energy fluence than the peripheral portion.
However, Muller teaches wherein the annular converging beam comprises a peripheral portion and a central portion and wherein the central portion of the annular converging beam has lower electromagnetic energy fluence than the peripheral portion (as can be seen in Fig. 9) (col. 13, line 61 – col. 14, line 2).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Varghese wherein the annular converging beam comprises a peripheral portion and a central portion and wherein the central portion of the annular converging beam has lower electromagnetic energy fluence than the peripheral portion, in view of the teachings of Muller, for the obvious advantage of reducing energy consumption (which is what Muller already wants to do) by using less energy in the central portion, but still get a electromagnetic effect.
Claim(s) 14-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese in view of Fiolka, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0119828 to Nelson et al. (hereinafter “Nelson”).
For claim 14, Varghese and Fiolka do not expressly disclose wherein the tissue excision apparatus further comprises a cooling device configured to direct a coolant toward the beam of electromagnetic energy.
However, Nelson teaches wherein the tissue excision apparatus further comprises a cooling device configured to direct a coolant toward the beam of electromagnetic energy (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Varghese wherein the tissue excision apparatus further comprises a cooling device configured to direct a coolant toward the beam of electromagnetic energy, in view of the teachings of Nelson, for the obvious advantage of reducing pain.
For claim 15, Varghese and Fiolka do not expressly disclose wherein the control system is configured to synchronize an application of the coolant with the emission of the beam of electromagnetic energy.
However, Nelson teaches wherein the control system is configured to synchronize an application of the coolant with the emission of the beam of electromagnetic energy (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Varghese wherein the control system is configured to synchronize an application of the coolant with the emission of the beam of electromagnetic energy, in view of the teachings of Nelson, for the obvious advantage of reducing pain.
For claim 18, Varghese and Fiolka do not expressly disclose wherein the cooling device is configured to direct 1,1,1,2-Tetrafluoroethane or CO2 toward the beam of electromagnetic energy.
However, Nelson teaches wherein the cooling device is configured to direct 1,1,1,2-Tetrafluoroethane or CO2 toward the beam of electromagnetic energy (para [0088] and [0092]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Varghese wherein the cooling device is configured to direct 1,1,1,2-Tetrafluoroethane or CO2 toward the beam of electromagnetic energy, in view of the teachings of Nelson, for the obvious advantage of reducing pain.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese in view of Fiolka and Nelson, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,632,219 to Baranov et al. (hereinafter “Baranov”).
For claim 16, Varghese and Fiolka do not expressly disclose wherein the cooling device comprises a solenoid valve and a nozzle.
However, Nelson teaches wherein the cooling device comprises a nozzle (para [0018]).
Additionally, Baranov teaches wherein a cooling device comprises a solenoid valve (50).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Varghese wherein the cooling device comprises a solenoid valve and a nozzle, in view of the teachings of Nelson and Baranov, for the obvious advantage of controlling the application of coolant from the cooling device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/17/26 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. The argument focuses on the Office action “has not identified where Fiolka teaches or suggests collection of a tissue portion ejected by the formed annular converging beam onto the cover slip” (see page 7 of the response filed 9/17/26). However, collecting a tissue portion ejected by a formed annular converging beam describes what the cover slip does, not what the cover slip is and claim 1 is an apparatus-type claim, not a method claim. Method claims are defined by steps and/or manipulations (i.e., such as collecting a tissue portion) and apparatuses are defined by structure. The “configured to” language in claim 1 is treated as functional language in the apparatus-type claim of claim 1. So while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here, Fiolka still teaches all the structural limitations of the claim and the “configured to collect…” part of the claim language is treated as functional language of the claimed “cover slip.” Therefore, if Fiolka’s cover slip is capable of collecting a portion of tissue ejected by the formed annular converging beam, then Fiolka teaches the claimed subject matter. The examiner submits that Fiolka’s cover slip is capable of such a function because Fiolka contemplates imaging tissue and cells on Fiolka’s cover slip, as evidenced by para [0077]-[0078] of Fiolka.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791