DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyers (US 4289239 A) in view of Brandt (US 11208232 B2).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-9, Meyers discloses a carton having novel end panel construction comprising a pair of side walls (11/21); a top wall (12) or a bottom wall (not shown; see Col 2 lines 10-30); an end wall (24); and a tear away section (15/24; see Fig. 3) extending across the pair of sidewalls, the top wall or the bottom wall and the end wall (Examiner considers the tear away section to extend across 11 and 21); wherein the tear away section defines a tab section along the top wall or the bottom wall (23; Col 2 lines 35-50; Examiner notes that an edge of tab 23 abuts a corner inner surface of the top wall, therefore, Examiner considers tab 23 to be “along the top wall”), a notch on the end wall adjacent an intersection of the end wall and a first sidewall of the pair of sidewalls (see illustration below).
Meyers lacks teaching that the tear away section is defined by a plurality of perforations and a plurality of longer slits.
Brandt teaches a multivariable perforated box wherein the cuts, slits, and perforations along a tear line are varied (see Figures 7A-K). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Meyers’ tear line to have variable perforations, cuts, and slits in order to enhance the structural strength and separability of the container (Brandt; Col 1 lines 45-50 and Col 2 lines 3-30). Examiner notes that a longer slit could easily be positioned along the tear line 26 opposite the V-shaped notch identified above. Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have Stewart’s cuts be about 1/16 of an inch to about 7/8 of an inch with a gap of about 3/32 of an inch in between to alter the ease of which the dispensing panel is removed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyers in view of Brandt as applied to claims 1-9 above, and further in view of Connerat et al. (US 20170015542 A1; hereinafter Connerat).
Regarding claim 10, Meyers, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the contents of the carton being a pouch with micro-ingredients therein. Connerat teaches a beverage dispenser and carton therefore wherein one or more products within the carton comprise a pouch with a micro-ingredient therein (see Par. 0034-0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Meyers’ carton to be used to hold pouches of micro-ingredients for dispensing ingredients in a beverage dispensing system, as taught by Connerat.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner acknowledges that the limitations of previously presented Claim 3 were indicated allowable and are now included in amended Claim 1. However, upon further review, Examiner notes that Meyers indeed does disclose a “tab section”, as claimed, given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. Examiner notes that an edge of tab 23 abuts a corner inner surface of the top wall, therefore, Examiner considers tab 23 to be “a tab section along the top wall”. Examiner apologizes for the oversight and holds the current rejection as non-final.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734