DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on March 10, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
3. Claims 3, 4 and 6-24 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 10, 2026.
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1-24 are pending. Claims 1, 2 and 5 are elected and under examination. Claim 1 is independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 10, 2022 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98. The IDS was considered. A signed copy of form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1, 2 and 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims refer to a crystalline form of the chemical Compound 1 which is characterized by powder X-ray diffraction pattern having one or more peaks selected from various peaks as listed. The limitation that one or more peaks must be selected from the various peaks as listed does not distinctly claim the crystalline form. For example, the specification provides a different crystalline form (see also claim 3 of the present application) with a different X-ray diffraction pattern. However, this different crystalline form contains the one or more peaks selected from various peaks as listed: eg. 8.09 of the different crystalline form corresponds to the peak at 8.00 + 0.2 degrees theta.
The claims refer to a crystalline form of the chemical Compound 1 which is characterized by powder X-ray diffraction pattern having peaks at 8.81 and 14.51 + 0.2 degrees theta. The two peak requirements does not distinctly claim the crystalline form. For example, see prior art rejection on Sections 8 and 14. The references of WO2019171222 and WO2012071336 describe crystalline forms of the claimed chemical compound that have an X-ray diffraction pattern that have the two peaks at 8.81 and 14.51 degrees theta.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2019135253. The reference has a publication date of July 11, 2019 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract, page 10. The reference teaches crystalline form M23 which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 17.57, which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 17.68 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
8. Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2019171222. The reference has a publication date of September 12, 2019 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract, page 4. The reference teaches, for example, form A which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 9.0 and 14.5, which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 8.82 and 14.51 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
9. Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2018157803. The reference has a publication date of July 9, 2018 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract. The reference teaches, for example, form CS1 which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 19.0 which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 19.04 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
10. Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2018069941. The reference has a publication date of April 19, 2018 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract, claims. The reference teaches, for example, form M9 which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 19.15 which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 19.04 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
11. Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2017212431. The reference has a publication date of December 14, 2017 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract, claims. The reference teaches, for example, form B2 which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 19.37 which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 19.51 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
12. Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2017156398. The reference has a publication date of September 14, 2017 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract, claims. The reference teaches, for example, form 1 which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 19.2 which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 19.04 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
13. Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2017063572. The reference has a publication date of April 20, 2017 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract. The reference teaches, for example, form B which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 20.6 which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 20.61 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
14. Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2012071336. The reference has a publication date of May 31, 2012 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract. The reference teaches, for example, form A which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 9.0 and 14.5 which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 8.81 and 14.51 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
15. Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3333167. The reference has a publication date of June 13, 2018 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract. The reference teaches, for example, form S which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 14.3 which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 14.51 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
16. Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CZ2017762. The reference has a publication date of November 28, 2017 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract. The reference teaches, for example, form JR which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 8.7 which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 8.81 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
17. Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CZ201769. The reference has a publication date of June 2, 2017 which antedates the present claims having an effective filing date of April 9, 2021 and priority claim to provisional application dated April 10, 2020.
The reference teaches polymorphic forms of venetoclax
and pharmaceutical compositions thereof, eg. abstract. The reference teaches, for example, form which has PXRD pattern with peaks at 2 theta angles such as 20.5 which corresponds to the present claims of crystalline form characterized by a PXRD pattern with one or more peaks selected from, for example, 20.61 + 0.2 degrees 2 theta.
Conclusion
/SUN JAE YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621